USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast South Beach Listing #10086

Surfside Cottage - South Beach, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
64 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Oceanfront, Dog-Friendly Bungalow with Superb Views, Deck, Grill & WiFi

Wake up to spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean every morning when you stay at this delightful South Beach cottage. Perched on an oceanfront bluff just a short distance from the beach, this intimate dog-friendly rental is the perfect destination for a small family or romantic getaway.

The home is located on a quiet stretch of Highway 101 about eight miles south of Newport, making this an ideal choice for anyone hoping to escape the crowds. You'll be less than a mile from beach access at Lost Creek and Brian Booth State Parks, where you can beachcomb, watch for seals, or explore tidal pools. If you're in the mood for an adventure, take a guided kayak tour through the Beaver Creek wetlands or explore the five miles of hiking trails winding through the marsh.

Recently painted and refurnished, this cozy cottage offers a welcome retreat when you're ready for some quiet time. Relax out on the deck and gaze out to sea as the waves crash below, or curl up with a book in the sunny living room. The living area boasts a flatscreen TV and free WiFi for all your entertainment needs, and the kitchen is fully equipped with cookware and modern appliances. And with a dog-friendly policy, you can bring your entire family along to join in the fun! (Please note that there is a small nightly pet fee.)

Treat yourself to a private, tranquil escape to the Oregon Coast. Book your reservation for this lovely home today!

*There is no direct beach access. Do not trespass on the neighbors' property.

County permit number: 347328

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Ocean view


Water view






Netflix streaming


Gas grill : Private


Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

64 reviews

Jon H. Apr 2022
Only 1 complaint! There is no tv at this home. The pictures show a tv on the wall and it is there but it is not hooked up to any cable service or antenna! We were not told this ahead of time, and when i called to management, there was no reply from them!
Manager response:
Your feedback is appreciated thank you for submitting it! We would have loved the opportunity to address the tv for you during your stay! We are so sorry for any communication deficiencies, but feel it necessary to note our records do not show we received any communication attempts during your stay. Please know that our Guest Services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should any questions or concerns arise prior to arrival or during your time with us. We hope for another opportunity to host you again soon, for a much more enjoyable stay!
Penelope L. Apr 2022
The view was worth it. The house could use updating. The place is cozy and close to many things.
Leasa W. Feb 2022
We loved the view & the house but there were some little things we didn't like, very hard to spot the driveway! No regular tv! The queen bed felt more like a full (we're on the larger side but still) & no beach access without a drive. It was a great weekend but not sure if I would recommended this place, I guess it would depended on the people.
Manager response:
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, Leasa. We apologize for the difficulties spotting the driveway on your way in, and the other minor issues that prevented you from having a perfect stay. We make every effort to present to potential guests prior to booking a clear and transparent description of our homes on the website listing, such as, that the parking for this home. We recommend guests use services such as Google or Waze to efficiently navigate to our homes. We hope to have a chance to better impress you in the future!
Michael W. Oct 2021
The beds are horrible and VERY noisy. The screen door was a trip hazard.
All that being said, the view incredible! The shower water pressure almost knocked me over.
Change the mattresses and we'd come back frequently.
Manager response:
Hi, Michael! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We have added mattress padding and checked that the screen door is in good shape. We hope to see you again!
Diana L. Aug 2021
The view is beautiful and the location was very convenient to tide pools and the local parks.
Syl & Jerry C. Aug 2021
The interior was very clean. When we called the manager, repairs were made the next morning, and were well done.
Andrew J P. Jul 2021
Percent hed high above the sandy beach below, this little duplex cottage was perfect for our short getaway in mid-July. The view is wondrous day or night, from the deck/lawn outside to anywhere in the living/kitchen/dining area. We have two small dogs and have often found other pet-friendly rentals to have smells, stains, and other various evidence inside and outside. We were very happy with the hard surface flooring in the living area, seemingly new carpet in the bedrooms, and clean bright bathroom. We couldn’t detect any pet smells and our dogs didn’t seem to be distracted by any inside either. The small fenced lawn provided a chance for the dogs to safely play while we enjoyed the deck. Any prior “piles” had been removed before our arrival. The shower may leave you feeling guilty—it is a total water massage. There was nothing fancy about the place, but it was clean and comfortable, including all the linens in the bedrooms and bathroom. A few minor things need repair, but nothing that affected our stay in any way. We enjoyed getting to know fun neighbors in the connecting unit. We all really enjoyed our stay and will likely return to Surfside Cottage. Thanks—
Doug J. Jul 2021
When we arrived at the cottage it seems real nice. Then we began to see some items throughout the house that needed attention over and above just cleaning.
When opening the bedroom door behind the kitchen the hardware was nearly falling off. I had the tighten the screws just to get the door to latch. We also noticed that the carpet appeared to be recently installed but whoever replaced the mop boards just nailed them and did not putty the holes and the color was off with the rest of the decor.
The counter tops were ceramic tiles and needed the grout fixed. Gaps in places that doesn't allow for proper clean and sanitizing.
The kitchen sink drain plug was broken and nearly impossible to use.
Washer and dryer were extremely nice and easy to use.
The blinds on front windows were hard to operate and the slider blind was missing slats for any kind of privacy.
We found and old bottle of water under one of the beds. Yuck!
The bedroom behind the kitchen had a very noisy mattress or box springs.
The carpet under the sitting area was frayed and needed to be repaired or replaced.
The parking was tough. Had to be real good at maneuvering your car in the area so as to not block next door neighbors.
At over $350.00 a night you should expect impeccable space without ANY defects.
It really shows when all you do to a place is clean between guests.
Really could be better!
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Doug. We are sorry the condition of the home did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the maintenance oversights you found upon your arrival. We have forwarded your review to our home manager to address and we confirm the missing slats have been replaced and the door hinge was repaired. We will check the baseboards and see what can be done about the grout on the tabletops. We have also worked with our housekeeping team to ensure they are paying close attention to detail when preparing the home for our next renters. We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Sarah G. Jun 2021
Great ocean front view.
Has bare essentials for comfort and usefulness. Adequate for long weekend.
Could benefit with some bedside tables, lamps & dollar store/ garage sale kitchen items.
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Carol M. May 2021
No beach access but a gorgeous view and a nice deck to enjoy it from. The cottage was challenging to find and the parking was miserable.
Lucas E. Apr 2021
My family and I rented both sides of the house for four nights. We cooked quite a lot of meals for 7 people and there was plenty of kitchen supplies we were able to utilize. The beds were comfy, there was plenty of blankets to use, board games to play, a t.v., etc... not to mention the amazing view and many windows facing the back. We were able to watch the sunset over the ocean with front row seats.
The water pressure in the showers was AMAZING! And there were small soaps and shampoos and such for us to use provided as well.
My family and I will absolutely be staying here again. We hope to make Surfside Cottage q yearly trip! Thank you Vacasa!
Donna A. Feb 2021
We were there for 3 night's a 4 day's it was wonderful. The house was clean and in a safe area.
Kristen B. Jan 2021
I booked last minute for a weekend getaway with my sisters. We were looking for something around Newport and were impressed with the view of the ocean in the pictures.

We arrived after dark and it was extremely difficult to find. The turn off the highway was not well lit and we missed it twice. The parking area is tight and not easy to navigate, but we were able to finally get there, parked, and went inside. It immediately smelled like cigarette smoke even though the listing and the paperwork in the house said that both the house and the property were "non-smoking". It was pervasive enough that even the towels smelled like smoke.

The house was otherwise very clean and had a well-stocked kitchen. The view is beautiful and the weather cooperated enough that we sat out on the deck enjoying the view several times.

The cell services is spotty in this area and the internet was not consistent. At one point it completed turned off and we could not find a router anywhere on-site to reset. I called the 1-800 number and they indicated they would put in a ticket for someone to come out and fix it. A few minutes later the women in the other half of the duplex caught us outside and let us know that Vacasa had called her because the router was on her side so she reset it. It worked ok after that.

Overall it was a nice weekend, but I probably wouldn't stay again because of the smoke smell.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Kristen. We are so sorry about the smoke odor that came in from the neighbors. All Vacasa properties are non-smoking, and we have aired the home out to remove the smoke odor. Hopefully you'll come try again!
Cherise K. Dec 2020
My family went here during December. While it does have a beautiful view, the house needs updated appliances, shower, and cupboards. The house was also not marked on the road. You’re turning off from Hwy 101 and when we arrived, it was dark, rainy and foggy. We completely missed it and had to get out and walk along the highway to find it. There is some serious safety issues with this that I think need to be addressed. It would be a simple fix. If there are no previous comments about it, I wonder if it’s a new thing. However, if there was an emergency, an ambulance wouldn’t be able to find this house. Please look into this.
Manager response:
Hi, Cherise! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful view from this home. We apologize for the maintenance details that were missed and we have passed your feedback to our local manager to address. We have added detailed notes on the check-in instructions explaining where to turn to access the house and will work on getting signs for the driveway. We hope to see you again!
Tami E. Nov 2020
The unit was not cleaned very well. There was a lot of animal hair left from whoever stayed before us. I would definitely bring your own dishes and cook wear because there is no dishwasher and with COVID people need to know everything is super clean. It was not. This could be a really cute unit with a little TLC and a great house cleaner. It felt sad knowing it has such potential. 😞
Manager response:
Hi Tami! Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We have implemented a Premium Clean program so we can continue to strive to provide our guests with fulfilling experiences; We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Brandan R. Oct 2020
Pro: The view was amazing, the house was quiet, the shower water pressure was astounding, and there's a firepit in the backyard overlooking the ocean.

Con: The parking is horrible and impossible if you have a large vehicle, no immediate beach access, the couch was broken, the television was TINY which sucked on the night the weather was bad, there was only one end table in the rooms and it wasn't in the room with the only lamp in any bedroom, so we had to use the kitchen chairs for end tables, the water heater had very small amount of hot water, and the mattresses were worse than anything I've ever slept on. The floor would have been more comfortable.

The neighbor next door (attached is another Vacasa rental) fell through the deck while using the BBQ. It made us a little apprehensive about being on the deck on our side.

I spent a lot of money for 4 nights and while the view saved the trip, the rest was a lot to deal with, especially the mattresses. I honestly would have spent a lot more to stay somewhere else with better beds. The view though...
Manager response:
We appreciate your input, Brandan. The mattresses are brand new, so we are extremely disappointed to read you found them so uncomfortable; we will purchase toppers for them. The broken deck has been repaired, and we will get the couch repaired or replaced as soon as possible. Thank you!
Cameron C. Sep 2020
The view is amazing and the home is spacious and clean. The kitchen was fairly well stocked. Would definitely stay here again. Biggest issues were the stickiness of the back sliding door, biggest bed was a double, and a fairly small tv. Definitely a great spot though. Miss it already
Danna B. Aug 2020
We loved the view and it was great having a washer and dryer to keep clothes clean. The hot water gets boiling hot, so watch out for that. Also bring a fan since there is no AC, it can get stuffy but since its right on the beach there's a lot of cool air coming through the windows.

The only downside is there isn't exactly a quick way down to the beach, you're practically on a cliff and the only way to get to the beach on foot is to walk a block down the highway, which is dangerous. You'd have to get into a vehicle to avoid that. But thats just a minor inconvenience for a great place, a great view and having so many great beaches within a minutes drive.
Roxanne F. Aug 2020
Can’t beat that view. Inside needs some updating, but it worked for us.
Danielle C. Jul 2020
Kitchen was spacious, shower had great water pressure,
David C. Jul 2020
Loved this spot, wonderful cool breeze right on the edge of the beach. Great spot and I enjoyed my time here.
Beach access down a little path to the south but you do have to walk on the edge of the 101 (I carried my little dog just to be cautious).
During the week there was rarely another soul for miles up or down this stretch of sand.
parking was snug but no problem (be careful backing out), Inside the home was fine; beds a bit squeaky but the view from the deck and back lawn area delivered everything I needed. Would come here again for sure.
Curtis G. Jul 2020
The view was spectacular! Sitting on the bluff right above the beach, you can't ask for a better view. We enjoyed sitting in the back yard, soaking up the sound and view of the waves. It was exactly what we needed for a beach getaway where we could keep to ourselves while decompressing on a tranquil escape to the coast.

The parking is tight and you can hear highway 101 if the windows at the front are open, but this really wasn't a big deal. If I can park a Dodge Ram 1500 there, your car will fit just fine. While there is no beach access from this property, there are several nearby beach access points. We were there for the view and the sound of the waves, and it did not was fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
KRISTINA W. Dec 2019
The view, ocean sounds and smells can not be beat. Great little deck & green space. Kitchen is modestly stocked with everything you need. Very hot water & baseboard heating works really well. The beds are not high quality- squeaky & small (full size) in both rooms. Beach access was a quick walk down the road. Nice & easy path to the beach!
Mary W. Oct 2019
Only one wine glass, so unable to share a bottle of wine with my husband. No kettle to heat hot water for tea every morning, and some dog hair left on floors and furniture after unit was cleaned. No ice trays.
Manager response:
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are so sorry that the housekeeping did not measure up to your standards. We have informed the manager to review with the housekeeping teams. We hope we can host you again soon!
Phillip M. Oct 2019
Two bedrooms with double bed in each. Spacious kitchen. Great BBQ. The deck overlooks the ocean. If there were steps
down the cliff you could walk straight on to the sand. That would be a nice addition. So very peaceful.
Chris B. Sep 2019
The views here are awesome!! House could be a little more well stocked, but overall Wonderful trip
Clayton L. Sep 2019
Clean place with a lot of ammentities. Close to a lot of attractions. Beach is awesome. View out backyard is excellent allows you to see a beautiful sunset. BBQ was also a plus.
Pratik D. Sep 2019
The unit has an ok living area, with 2 small bedrooms. The beds were on the softer side; but were ok for our taste. However, we booked this unit for the view from the deck, and that did not disappoint.
Elizabeth C. Aug 2019
The unobstructed view of the ocean was our reason for booking and we got just that. The furniture and appliances were fine. The place was spotlessly clean, but could use a few affordable changes like switchplate covers and tables. There are no tables in either bedroom, which means there weren't any table lamps either. It also doesn't have a deck table or any tables to put stuff in the dining room besides the dining table. It was just odd, like they hate tables or something. lol.
Shyla M. Aug 2019
My family absolutely loved this beach house. It was very nice. Clean. Bedrooms were perfect for us. The view was amazing. It was nice having the washer and dryer. Very beautiful place
Donald B. Jul 2019
The beach runs for miles very little people.
Colleen R. May 2019
This house was great, just how the pictures looked. The parking was tight, but our minivan fit fine. There was room to turn around.
Ann H. Apr 2019
Cozy place right on the coast. Great views of the ocean and nicely furnished.
amanda l. Apr 2019
This place was like a little piece of paradise for our family. Its not a fancy place but it's comfy, conveniently located and the view is outstanding! Aside from the screen door needing fixed, (It would stick) it was perfect. Our family of 4 will definitely return for another stay.
Tammy J. Mar 2019
Awesome view! We could see whales 🐳 in the distance. It was a cute little place. The parking was super tight.
Samantha R. Mar 2019
This duplex is a perfect getaway for a small group or couple. The views are perfect! There is no direct beach access from the house but the closest place is a mile or so down the road at Lost Creek State park or at Ona beach State park.

No real complaints about the house itself except for the sliding screen door it could use some lubrication, it was very hard to open and close. The stove also doesn't vent well when cooking. The fan doesn't work well enough and the smallest amount of smoke will set off the fire alarm.

My only other recommendation would be putting up a fence between the cliff and the yard. One false move and down you go. Otherwise really great place to stay. Close to Newport. I would gladly rent this place again!
Phil R. Mar 2019
Cozy whale watching
Charise M. Feb 2019
perfectly located with an amazing view of the ocean. Clean and cozy for 4 adults. Fully equipped kitchen. Had a wonderful time and would absolutely stay here again!
Barbara M. Jan 2019
Gorgeous sunset view of the ocean, and wide-open beach (from a bluff -- not directly accessible). Comfortable, small vacation spot. Lots of windows facing the ocean. Great food in town, 2 very nearby state park beaches. Responsive host.
Susan P. Dec 2018
Great spot.
Madison L. Oct 2018
everything was really nice except the parking is bad, it's a VERY tight squeeze! the beds are ridiculously squeaky and the outlets need replaced. the home itself is so cozy though and has such a perfect view!! no beach access which sucks, stairs should definitely be installed leading to the beach, but there's also tons of parks with beach access all along the road. all in all, it was a very nice stay and we will definitely be back!
Mark S. Oct 2018
Very comfortable and tasteful decor. Only downfall was trying to get in and out of the parking spot w/o damaging your car. They do have space to fix that. Also a queen in the bigger bdrm would be nice. But very comfy and thoroughly enjoyed
Kristina H. Sep 2018
The house was nice and clean, updated, kitchen was very well stocked, lots of linens, the deck and view were fantastic.
Leslie E. Sep 2018
Loved the view.
sonia t. Sep 2018
Beach was accessible
Clean accommodation
Had a lot of fun
Thank you
Kathy M. Jul 2018
The house was very nice it was clean cozy. The deck was a nice place to sit and watch the water. I will rent this place again should be a great place to watch whales
Jimmy S. Jun 2018
Love the little house, perfect for our little family. Loved the view out the living room and kitchen and made much use out of the grill and deck outside. Easy access to all the spots along the coast.

Internet speed was great, TV worked perfect, new grill was very nice and easy to use. Everything we needed was in the kitchen (except our groceries). Exactly what we wanted during our stay, thanks again.
Dustin C. Jun 2018
Loved being right next to the ocean. Perfect spot to watch the sunset. Home seemed to have had some recent upgrades.
Tessa M. May 2018
Petite duplex with private back yard overlooking the most beautiful view of be ocean. Short walk down to the beach. Well taken care of and a truly enjoyable stay.
Jennifer B. Apr 2018
Such a great place on the beach! Smelled great, super comfortable bed. Internet worked great but phone voice service was lacking...which is understandable since I was right on the ocean. I'll definitely be staying again!
Tony L. Apr 2018
This was a nice spot. The only drawbacks are the parking (only one spot that was barely large enough for a midsize SUV) and double beds. If one of rooms had a queen it would be much better.
Rebecca O. Mar 2018
You may not have direct beach access but the view is amazing to wake up to! There are a few beaches not far though!
Sara S. Jan 2018
Wonderful trip with friends