USA Colorado Rocky Mountain National Park Grand Lake Listing #13229

Whispering Aspen - Grand Lake, CO

Take a Virtual Tour
22 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 1 King Bed, 5 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lake-front family-friendly home w/ scenic deck, fire pit & dock!

If you're looking for the ideal spot for your next group getaway, fishing adventure, or family retreat, then look no further than this waterfront Grand Lake home. Offering up to 12 guests the chance to relax while taking in sweeping lake views, magical nights by the outdoor firepit, and plenty of room to spread out, this is the perfect home for outdoor lovers! Nestled on the shores of Sun Valley Lake and about two miles to the entrance of the Rocky Mountain National Park, this home puts you right in the heart of the outdoor action. Step out onto the deck with a could of ice-cold brews and fire up the gas grill while you watch the waves roll in on the lake. Break out the board games to fill the home with laughter before heading out the fire pit to roast some marshmallows. No matter what time of year you come to visit, every season will make sure you have plenty of excursions to enjoy and relaxation around every corner.

What's Nearby:
Rocky Mt National Park (RMNP) is walkable from the cabin and is great for hiking, fishing and animal spotting! Sun Valley Lake, located on the property, is great for paddleboarding, boating, and fishing. Grand Lakes are great for renting motorboats, sailing, fishing, and swimming. Winding River Resort, just down the road, has great activities for kids like horseback riding, trail rides, and hay-rides. The Grand Lake golf course is beautiful for playing golf and Grand Lake Lodge is a perfect place for a meal in the summer. We also recommend the Grand Lake Theater, as it is a great little theater and so fun for kids. Granby Ranch ski hill is 15 minutes away and Winter Park/Mary Jane is 40 mins away as well! There is a great tubing hill right next to the cabin as well, so you don't have to go far for a packed day of adventure!

Things To Know:
Free Wifi
Firepit (bring wood)
Abundant Wildlife
Private Dock
*Four-wheel drive may be necessary during winter months*
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Up to six vehicles may park in the driveway. There is no garage access. 4x4 is recommended in the winter.

Dock Details:

Water Access: Sun Valley Lake does NOT allow motor boats. Guests can use a canoe, rowboat, kayak, or other non-motor water vehicles. The lake's water adjacent to the home is between 3-15 feet. This is a private lake only available to owners and Vacasa guests.
Grand Lake, Shadow Mountain Lake, and Granby Lake are less than a mile away where people can use their motorboats or rent them.

Other permit number: BCA-100227

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





Children's games

Common areas

Game room


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining







Water view


Mountain View




DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private





22 reviews

Derek H. Sep 2020
Great house and a great location. Kids loved the bunk bed room!
Diana B. Aug 2020
This place is a gem. Picture windows bring the outside in. Wildlife abounds, open kitchen to dinning and living is key for family togetherness. Bunk room is perfect for kids. This place is a winner!
James T. Jul 2020
This home was built for the lake and we enjoyed it immensely. The wonderful open plan allows for easy flow and relaxing atmosphere.
Michele M. Jul 2020
We loved the location, thanks to the owners who have curated a great place, The calm private lake, the abundance of moose, the open living space with lots of windows to the lake and forest. The house was really unique, however the amount of fees we paid to a third-party property management agency (Vacasa) who wasn't even familiar with the property when we called in advance to confirm certain things was disconcerting. And when we arrived, the grill looked liked it hadn't been cleaned in months, the screen door was broken and therefore didn't work, we had to replace several dead light bulbs, only one toilet paper roll per bathroom for a six day stay and eight people was poor planning, the rugs were screens on windows in main living area which attracted many insects. The faucet knob was broken in one of the bathrooms, and the deck shed was trashed and dirty. I spent at least two hours cleaning the grill, making the shed look presentable and other areas to make it welcoming to our guests. I have rented so many places in Grand Lake and this place was unique which I credit the owners but the property management is abysmal. We not only had to buy a bunch of toilet paper, we had to buy two new Adirondack chairs because two were broken and one guest injured themselves trying to get out of one of the broken chairs, So with our own money we bought two new chairs and toilet paper, because frankly I didn't want to deal with Vacasa based on my two experiences leading up to this trip..
Manager response:
Hi, Michele! We are so sorry you did not receive better service with your stay due to our staff being stretched thin. We have hired a new property manager to assist in managing the homes and helping our guests in the area. There are several Adirondack chairs at this home that are all in great condition, and we have brought the stained rugs and screen door to the owner's attention. The lights bulbs and toilet paper are consistently checked and restocked between guests, and the grill is cleaned weekly. Thank you!
Nicole M. Jul 2020
We seen a deer near the fire pit and a moose walked across the lake, it was a great house to stay in and it was just our family of 4! The bigger canoe leaked slowly so we couldn’t use that but the littler canoe was great!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Nicole. We are glad you enjoyed this home and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We will work with our local team to ensure these items are corrected for future guests, and we hope to host you again in the near future!
Marc C. Jun 2020
this is our second year of spending a weekend there and loved it as much as the first time. the house is great. the dock accommodated our 6 paddle boards. the fire pit is a great bonus too. and what beautiful surroundings! loved the moose who swam right in front of me as I was paddling on the lake!
Ashlee K. Dec 2019
We loved everything about this house.
All the rooms were perfect especially the master loft it was great having out own space. The kids room was fantastic , the set up of all the bunks was perfect. Our most favorite part of the house was all the window and natural light it offered. We had the most beautiful views no matter where you were, it was stunning !
Jovana I. Nov 2019
Perfect location, stunning views, we even saw momma moose and baby whilst sitting in the living room!

All home comforts there a really lovely property.
cheralyn l. Sep 2019
What a perfect spot in the world and a gorgeous home! We loved the open, airy feeling and all the windows overlooking the lake. The house is close to trails and close to town so it’s the best of both worlds. The decorating and thoughtful amenities (crockpot, sharp knifes, extra towels) were much appreciated. I highly recommend this for your vacation home. My only suggestion is more paddles for the canoes (we saw only 1 paddle for each) and one window is fogged. But those things are minor. The fire pit, dock, trees and porch made up for those minor things. We just loved it! It was very clean too! Thank you so much!
Manager response:
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, Cheralyn. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to host you again soon!
Lori J. Jun 2019
The house is right on a cute lake and there was a lot of wildlife on the property, we saw many moose! The rooms are set up nicely and the kid room is great.
Lovely weekend with family in quiet peaceful spot. House was beautiful.
Sarah K. Sep 2018
Rented for a bachelorette weekend - even more beautiful than the photos. Very clean, sunny, beautiful view of the lake. Would definitely rent again! There was not propane for the grill though, so plan accordingly if you plan to cook outside.
Katharin R. Jul 2018
The house is beautiful and fit our family but it is advertised as lake front. I personally wouldn't call the water lakefront. Definitely more of a pond with shallow water filled with weeds. If swimming with the kids is your plan, this isn't the best choice.
Manager response:
The house is on a designated lake (small, high altitude, mountain lake) that is stocked fish. We agree it is not a great lake for swimming. Thanks!
Michelle F. Jun 2018
It was absolutely beautiful. The inside is completely updated. The beds are very comfortable. I can’t say enough about the location. If you’re looking for peace and quiet, this is the place. The only tv is in the bunk room and no one ever turned it on. We were to busy hiking and sitting out on the deck. We even watched a moose swim across the lake. Now that’s something you don’t see everyday.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
Paula C. May 2018
The home was the perfect size for our family. Plenty of beds for everyone. It was comfortable, inviting and felt like home. It had everything we needed. The house is unassuming at first glance but once inside it is quite lovely. Open kitchen, dining and living areas are perfect for gathering. Master bedroom and bath were beautiful. The bunk room was a hit with our kids and was finished out very nicely. We Loved being on the lake with access to the private dock. Great location. We would definitely return.
Taylor F. Apr 2018
Everything we could have imagined. Very peaceful given the time of the year. Plenty of space to accommodate.
Micaela L. Mar 2018
We traveled from Austin and Denton, TX to stay at this beautiful house for spring break and loved every single second of it. The house and view were beautiful. The hot water heater is kinda wonky so we had to take turns showering because there were nine total of us but it didn't affect our stay at all. During our time there, we went to the hot springs and Adam's waterfall in Grand Lake. It was a great time and definitely would come back!
Pero V. Feb 2018
Don't expect a modern home. It's old but very nice and cozy.
The bedroom upstairs is excellent as is the bunk beds room. The other two rooms are small but we didn't care as we only slept there and used the huge living room during the day. Kitchen is big but the stove is horrible. Takes 15+ minutes to boil 3-4 quarts of water. Heat is finicky - some rooms are smoldering hot while other areas are very cold. Water heater is good for two showers then it needs time to warm up again. No hair dryer on site but we bought one at a local store. No TVs either but we didn't care. It was nice not having a TV.
Great view of the lake even though ours was frozen solid. Excellent hill on property for sledding. Roads are very well maintained so much so that we didn't need 4x4 vehicles.
Overall it was a great property and we will definitely be going back there.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were some disappointments with this stay. The water heater is very new and working well. If guests are taking long showers, back to back, the hot water probably seems to not last very long. The two large TVs are smart TVs and are working well. There is no cable, but there is Netflix streaming. The stove is new and working well, and we have put a hair dryer in the home. The heat is in two locations, one for each half of the house, and both are working as they should. The home has had a lot of recent upgrades and is in a great location in the Rocky Mountain National Park, and we look forward to sharing it with our guests!