USA Washington Whidbey Island Oak Harbor Listing #15274

Water's Edge on Penn Cove - Oak Harbor, WA

Take a Virtual Tour
25 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Oceanfront Home with Gorgeous Views, Easy Beach Access, Peaceful Location

Washington's Whidbey Island awaits with this oceanfront home, featuring instant access to the beach, panoramic views from inside and from the comfort of the deck, and the warmth of a fireplace back in the living room.

What's nearby:
The pebbly shores of Penn Cove are steps away from the home via a gently sloping path, letting you lounge on the beach or wade in the shallow waters whenever you like. Another option is to visit Fort Ebey State Park to the west. Shopping and dining are south in Coupeville, along with its own beach to explore. To the north, Oak Harbor features even more sights, including the PBY Memorial Foundation.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with dishwasher
No wood provided for fireplace

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules

Not suitable for children

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Sound view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Wave



Wireless router

HBO streaming

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby



25 reviews

Heather K. Sep 2022
The location on the water has a can't beat it view. The home is lovely, very clean and comfortable. Almost every room can see the water. Access down to the water is easy. We enjoyed watching a harbor seal swim about and a blue heron on the dock. Plus there was a bunny family in the front yard.
Kevin C. Sep 2022
The views from the master bedroom, dining room, kitchen and upstairs bedroom were simply wonderful.
Judy P. Aug 2022
Nice location for us. Had all we needed during our 2 night stay
Linda O. Jul 2022
Spent the week at Water’s Edge with my mom and sisters-it was perfect! The house has a great floor plan and beautiful, natural light all throughout. We enjoyed sitting in the kitchen drinking coffee in the morning and then a glass of wine on the deck overlooking Penn Cove. It was the perfect location to tour the island as well as Port Townsend and La Conner. We highly recommend this location.
Jaylene R. Jul 2022
This house has a lovely setting on Penn Cove. We saw a whale go by! The home is clean and comfortable. The grounds need some attention as it is crazy overgrown; but still a nice place.
Janet T. May 2022
Loved the location and the bedroom layout. The kitchen needs a few more items (knife set, leftover dishes, teapot, etc) but overall a beautiful place! First floor bedroom shower water pressure is pretty weak and there was a random rooster next door that made sleeping in impossible. Need to provide TV instructions too. Beautiful setting however!!
Marcella K. Apr 2022
I have gone to stay at this house twice in the last two months because I love it so much. The house is immaculate and tastefully decorated, the kitchen is well stocked and the views are spectacular! I will definitely be back.
Danette M. Feb 2022
This was exactly what we wanted. We were very happy to settle in and enjoythe view, along with comforts of the home. Would absolutely go again! Thank you!!
Diane C. Jan 2022
Very bright, roomy 2 bedroom (3 full baths!) home with non-stop views through giant windows made this a great place to be. Bring your own hairdryer though.
We loved this place. It should be a 5* for any number of reasons. The location is perfect for a vacation like ours centered around hiking Pacific NW Trail sections on Whidbey and Fidalgo Islands. The house is super and was exceptionally clean. It has a wonderful layout for one couple or two, or for a small family. We love the house design -- with the two bedrooms separated, the beautiful wall of windows looking out on the bay (oh the bald eagles!), the furnishings, the cleanliness. All top notch and wonderful. All, by us, 5*

NEEDS: The house does need a couple of things: more pots and pans, cookie sheet or pizza pan, some coffee or tea mugs (say 14-20 oz with big handles); and some lap blankets in the living room.

FOR WHAT IT'S WORTH: (1) We arrived on a cold--for the area--afternoon with temps of ~30 F and big winds. The house was 62F. Even setting the thermostat to 78F it took 24 hours for the temperature to get to 68F (see note about lap blankets above, plus we wore our thin down coats the first 24 hours). (2) The king size bed in the gorgeous main bedroom was too soft for our liking; however, we are backpackers who prefer sleeping on the ground on a 1: pad so we may not be the typical guest!).

SUPPLY ODDITIES: I repeat, we love the house and surely would come back if our plans warranted. One oddity--how the house was supplied--however makes us want to drop the rating to a 4*. Upon arrival we learned that the house came with only "3 days worth of toilet paper" (separate all else, of course, begging the question: who decides how many rolls equals 3 days, anyway?!), plus learned that we'd been left just 3 dishwasher sachets and a 98% empty laundry detergent container. The lack of supplies in a gorgeous place is surely a first world problem, fully granted. But given many choices of where to go, and given we spent a lot of money to come for 10 days, it sure seems weird we had to take time (and $) to go purchase such rudimentary supplies. Seems like the management company would supply house staples for the entire stay. Are we missing something about standard practices in the short term rental world?
Myron H. Oct 2021
Beautiful view, very clean unit. We loved the place and will be back next year!!!
Bradly H. Jul 2021
Our 10 year old granddaughter loved the beach. It was extremely peaceful. The beds were very comfortable. Beach views were beautiful. The location was pretty central to our planned activities. Highly recommend.
Jana F. Jun 2021
This home is private with a beautiful view of Penn Cove Bay. The house has everything you need and is located next to the dock with easy access to the beach/water. You'll love it!
Kim O. May 2021
The house was just what we needed for a girls trip away! Access to the beach, quiet neighborhood, and close proximity to shopping/dining. Lots of chairs in the home to pick up a book and relax.
Bruce B. Apr 2021
Facing south on Penn Cove, really nice, roomy, airy, house on low bank beach. Watched huge Hawks and Eagles show the gulls whose boss. 7 minutes from Oak Harbor, 5 minutes from Ebey State park for great hiking. 7 minutes from Coupeville. Loved the location for outdoor activities and the house was very comfortable.
Carmen D. Mar 2021
We had such a wonderful time in this spacious, beautiful home.
Gorgeous views of the bay with windows all around.
Larry R. Oct 2018
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this home to anyone.
Joseph R. Sep 2018
Overall, this place is very solid. Beautiful view, spacious, and a great location. The home was clean and sunny. A few small improvements would make this a stellar 5 Star spot.

-TV: they don’t advertise cable tv, so they are up front about it. That said, a massive non functioning Samsung tv in the middle of the main living space seems like a waste.
-Upstairs bed: mattress was pretty old and uncomfortable. My wife and I both felt back pains after a few nights on it.
-Grill: again, they don’t advertise having one, so they are up front about it. That said, the house is perfectly primed to have one. The deck is beautiful, so why not top it off with a couple salmon slabs or ribeyes grilled to perfection?

Otherwise, this is a nice place to hang for a few days!
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback. The grill has been assembled and is located in the garage. We were unable to find any issues with the TV, but we did provide more thorough instructions to assist any future guests. Thank you!
Erik L. Aug 2018
Great location between Coupeville and Oak Harbor. Clean, plenty of space and great views just about everywhere. Every day we were there a seal or two could be seen in the harbor and I enjoyed relaxing on the deck and watching them play. I would rent this house again.
Laura T. Aug 2018
The house is spacious yet cozy. The kitchen is a bit sparsely furnished. For example, pans and pots are few and rather small. The beach access is great and I wish we would've done some kayaking.
virginia p. Aug 2018
No wifi and vacasa only communicates through email or telephone (guaranteed to be put on hold). Clean sheets and bathrooms, wonderful views and beach access were the saving graces. I'd go back just for that, but w/expectation of spending initial time "debugging", cleaning and reorganizing. Could be a fantastic rental, instead was subpar.
Manager response:
We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this guest may have experienced while visiting us on Penn Cove. Please be assured that we have followed up with an inspection to review the "debugging" and clean mentioned in this review. Had our local operations team been aware of any issues this guest experienced, we could have assisted. We apologize if appropriate contact information was not relayed to this guest. Thank you!
Sean H. Jul 2018
We played cards at night and sat on the balcony watching the sunset over the water. A seal visited us at the dock one day. Perfect space for my group. We'll bring a boat next time!
Julia H. Jul 2018
The view is beautiful but the house needs some love. The carpets are dirty and need a good cleaning. The television doesn't work and there is no wifi. The outlets in the bathrooms don't work. The management company, Vacasa was completely unresponsive. Called several times to resolve issues only to be put on hold for extensive periods of time and never spoke to anyone. Also emailed Vacasa and had no response. Will never rent a property from Vacasa again.
Manager response:
We are sorry our guest experienced so many issues during their stay. Please be assured that we have followed up with an inspection to address the television and the outlets. Every home is a little different, and this home has outlets controlled by switches on the wall. We can see how this could be confusing, so we have taken the opportunity to update instructions for future guests. We will make our local contact information available on site as well, should other guests reach guest services during high call volume episodes. Here at Vacasa, guest feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Thank you!
alison w. Jul 2018
James A. Jul 2018
Quiet,beautiful area that recharged our batteries. Coupeville is a jewel. Their restaurants were fantastic.Views from the house were stunning.