USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake Swanton Listing #18909

Monkey Lodge Hill - Swanton, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
30 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 1 King Bed, 4 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy cabin-style home with private hot tub & entertainment - dogs welcome

Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

Enjoy the secluded nature of this cozy home, complete with comfortable furnishings, an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings and many picture windows, plus plenty of space for the whole family to spread out! You'll also enjoy a comfortable hammock to lie on, a private hot tub to soak in, and a gas grill for barbecuing tasty meals.

What's nearby:
The home is located just a few miles from Deep Creek Lake State Park, where you can swim, fish, kayak, and canoe in Maryland's largest lake, or spend your day hiking and viewing wildlife. Located 11 miles northwest of Wisp Resort, you can enjoy skiing and snowboarding in the winter, or a round of golf and the Mountain Coaster the rest of the year.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dog friendly for a nightly pet fee
WiFi may be slow at times due to the remote location of this house

4WD/traction is required in winter.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining








Cable : Direct TV

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private





30 reviews

Amanda M. Jul 2022
Monkey Lodge Hill was a beautiful house with plenty of room for all your friends and family! Clean and well kept. Definitely buy everything you need before getting there though because there are not many stores available in the area.
Gail C. Jul 2022
House was well equipped. Beautiful views. Close to attractions. Plenty of space.
Marcello L. Jul 2022
We had plenty of room to hang out and enjoy each other’s company. Also it was quite far from other people so we did not have to worry about hearing other people.
Brandy M. Jun 2022
House is clean and comfortable. Books, games and FULL kitchen were all there. Close to town, restaurants, boating ect. Would highly recommend this home and we look forward to returning some day!
Leah M. Mar 2022
My family and I stayed at Monkey Lodge Hill this past weekend, with 8 adults and 1 child. The home is absolutely beautiful and very well remodeled. It was very clean! The 4 nice sized bedrooms were perfect and the bathrooms were nicely updated. The beds were on the firmer side, which half of us loved and half of us hated! The kitchen was well equipped and we cooked all of our meals with no issues. We got snowed in on Saturday but it made for some spectacular views and fun times in the hot tub. The outdoor firepit space is very nice and had several comfortable adirondack chairs. Would highly recommend staying here! They aren't lying about potentially needing 4 wheel drive...the driveway is small gravel and pretty steep, as well as where you park.
Megan D. Oct 2021
Working with Vacasa has been wonderful. They have great response time and our place was amazing, just what we needed for a family weekend away. Only negative is to be prepared to bring extra drinking water as it is well water, most likely due to the remote location. Otherwise, a great place and great company to book a getaway!
Dina B. Oct 2021
The house itself was very nice, but the sulfur smell of the water was absolutely awful. Could not cook, or even brush your teeth. Had to buy cases of water. Check before you book about the water. The house was very nice and clean though.
angela m. Aug 2021
Loved this cabin in every way! Will definitely stay there again!
Holly L. Aug 2021
This home is quite lovely. It is spacious and has ample amenities to keep you entertained while you are there. It is secluded in the woods, but not far from everything you would need or want to do.
melissa d. Aug 2021
What a fun week. Private lot with lots of wildlife. Beautiful fire pit, beautiful house. Other than the cable not working and not getting the shower to work on the main floor, we had a wonderful time. Can't wait to come back
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Melissa. We are so glad you had such a fun week at this home! Thank you for letting us know the cable and shower may be in need of attention. We will work diligently to address your concerns appropriately for future guests. We hope we have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Steven D. Jun 2021
What a beautiful home. Even on a rainy day there is something fun to do! We have to purchase ladder ball because my kids enjoyed playing it so much. This place a a hidden gem and we are looking foward to our next vacation at Monkey Lodge Hill!
Joan M. Oct 2020
We stayed at Monkey Lodge Hill and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. First, it was VERY clean and the beds were very comfortable. They provided many supplies like dish soap, dishwashing detergent, hand soap, salt and pepper, great selection of pots and pans, silverware and dishes and LOTS of towels, Due to COVID we brought our own blankets, etc. as instructed. We didn't need the AC or heat while there but did turn on the fireplace to warm the living room which it did nicely. The area is very quiet and we could let our dog out without a leash. The only negative was that the red deck chairs as shown in the picture, or any outside chairs, were absent.
Bradley Y. Oct 2020
The house was very clean and organized. It has a great hot tub and a lot of privacy.
Allison G. Oct 2020
Such a wonderful house, all the things we needed, sweet decor, plenty of room. Loved the location, so private, and loved the hot tub!
Heather B. Oct 2020
This was our first trip to Deep Creek and after an issue with another rental company days before we were leaving, we found Monkey Hill Lodge! I’m so glad my previous rental got cancelled because this was the BEST switch in locations! We were back in the trees where it was quiet but close enough to the stores and parks to enjoy them! Also, we packed so much stuff not knowing what would be available at the rental but it was like staying in a nice hotel! Clean sheets and pillows, lots of towels, and the kitchen was fully stocked! Including dish soap, paper towels, toilet paper, and garbage bags! We were super impressed and checking in and out was a breeze! The WiFi was also had a good connection which was important because I had a possible work project to take care of! My husband and I really enjoyed our time here and will definitely consider Monkey Hill Lodge in the future and Vacasa for the wonderful stay!
Neil M. Jul 2020
Loved the private location. This home was clean and well appointed. Kitchen had all we needed! Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. We loved dinner at the farm table with the huge windows! Negatives to mention is there is no outdoor seating with the exception of one chair; so we couldn’t enjoy the FirePit. Also there were many ants. We sent multiple emails to the company and nobody responded. Other than those concerns we would recommend staying at this home- it’s location felt remote and private. Great for a family! There’s a small trail near the house and you can hear all the cows mooing! We wish there was outdoor seating on the front porch to enjoy coffee and listen to the birds. The hammock is fun but not made for coffee talk :) we also enjoyed all the games and the little area on the loft with chess game. Perfect desk area to get catch up on emails. We also were able to access the WiFi, a bit slow, but nothing too concerning. We did want to watch our favorite preacher on Sunday; all the Christian channels were blocked. Thank you for making this beautiful home available to our family!
Manager response:
We are so pleased to know that you and your family had a great visit and were able to really settle in and enjoy the comforts of the home and its surrounding area. We are sorry to hear that you had reached out to us with no response. You definitely have 24hr customer support while staying at the unit. We could assist with most needs including chairs or pest problems. You can call in direct or even email. Again all apologies, as this may have been a time when we were backlogged with emails but since have resolved. Thank you again for your stay, and for taking the time to leave this review and feedback.
Veronica S. Jun 2020
The house was just the right size for my friends and I. The house is in the perfect location. It’s secluded yet close to the water. There’s also a little market just down the street. Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t the best while we were there so the front porch was the perfect spot to play cornhole.
Cindy S. Jun 2020
Perfect escape for a family getaway. House had everything we could have wanted a more! Stocked kitchen, spacious bedrooms, large table with lots of seating for games and meal time. Plus they provided plenty of towels, bedding, mini soaps, shampoo and conditioners in the bathrooms. Location was just 15 minutes from where we rented a boat on deep creek. There is a small country store less than 2 minutes from the house stocked with everything you could need. We all enjoyed our stay and would go back.
Amanda S. Jan 2020
We had a great weekend away and would definitely stay again. The cell service was not great and the internet was slow at times, so be prepared. The house was very comfortable, everything was clean and well maintained.
L M. Oct 2019
Had a great time in this quiet house! We loved relaxing in the hot tub and cooking in the fully equipped kitchen!
Kevin A. Sep 2019
The house was nice and it was clean. The air conditioning units throughout the house were very nice. The hot tub was nice but it was a little dirty. Overall very nice stay.
Manager response:
We are glad you had a great stay! We apologize that the hot tub was not cleaned properly prior to your arrival. We will follow up with our housekeeping team. We hope to host you again soon!
Crystal J. Feb 2019
We loved the seclusion, the views, the closeness to Wisp Ski resort (about 20-25 min) and very spacious for a good price!
Cindy L. Nov 2018
Our mini-vacation was great! Cabin was clean, convenient, peaceful. Loved waking up every morning to a few deer friends in the yard! The only thing I would change is to leave directions on how to turn on the fireplace and the mattresses were so uncomfortable. Some people may like a hard mattress but it was really uncomfortable for us! Other than that it was a beautiful cabin. Thank you!
Manager response:
Thanks for staying with us Cindy! We appreciate your feedback. Our local operations manager is dropping by the property to leave a note with the fireplace, and he will check the beds to see if they need replacing. Hope to host you again soon!
Lauren S. Nov 2018
Love the remote location. Everything was provided in the home. The kids had a blast with the unfinished basement and space throughout- we have FIVE kids! We prefer not staying in town close to Wisp so the location was just perfect for our family. We brought our two labs and they enjoyed some freedom in the woods. Hiking trails around are awesome. Swallow Falls is only 15 minutes away and 5 minutes to the State Park. The hot tub was conveniently located for the cold exit into the home.

Vacasa Recommendation: Maybe put something down on the stairs outside the hot tub - it can get icy!

Renter Recommendation: The closest grocery store is 2 minutes away if you need anything; however, it’s VERY expensive ($6.00 for a small kraft salad dressing). Bring as much as you can in terms of food from home!

Great stay - thank you!
Gustavo F. Sep 2018
The stay was excellent!! We only stayed 4 night due to hurricane Florence but great getaway for the price. Our host Jay from Vacasa was very helpful as well. Definitely doing it again!!