USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #21205

Bon Fir Cabin - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
59 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom Sleeps 2 comfortably  4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

1930s cabin with wraparound deck, wood stove, free WiFi & firepit - dogs welcome

Located in the foothills of Mt. Hood, this classic cabin, featuring a wood stove and firepit, is the perfect destination for your next Oregon getaway. Spin a record or two while sipping your coffee, play some board games, read one of the provided books, or gather outside on the wrap-around deck and enjoy the surrounding forest.

What's nearby:
This cabin is just a short drive from all the quaint little villages near the base of Mt. Hood. The Zigzag River is right outside your door, so you're only moments from hiking, fishing, and sightseeing, while the slopes of the Timberline Lodge and Ski Area are just 17 miles away. There are plenty of local eats and shops along the byway, or you can head into Portland for an urban adventure, only 45 miles from your front door.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
Please note that firewood is not provided
A 4x4 vehicle is recommended in winter

Bedding set-up:
1 queen bed

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining









DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games



59 reviews

Sara Vandepas, Geoffrey Taylor and Martin V. Aug 2022
We had a marvelous and relaxing stay at Bon Fir! The cabin was clean, cozy and just what we needed for our stay near Mt. Hood. Great dining options nearby and it’s tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. Perfect for a mountain getaway!
my n. Jun 2022
After the first day we had 5-star experience, but there was just one item where we couldn't give them 5-stars.

Just to get it out of the way first:
There is a sign in front that says keep the lid on the garbage cans to prevent bears from getting in and keeping bears safe. I agree, we don't want to feed/attract bears. But the problem is bears are large and smart. A simple plastic snap-on lid doesn't do the job. It is the owner's responsibility to provide a suitable anti-bear solution to their garbage, and they don't provide one. It is a "red-herring" to say that all you have to do is keep the lids on. Well, the first night we were there, we saw the sign and didn't even stay long enough to take out any trash (The lids looked secure to me, and I had no reason to inspect them since we didn't use them). Sure enough around bedtime, we were spooked by the crashing noises on the porch, sure enough, it was a bear. It threw both garbage cans on the deck, the lids to both cans were off, and it made away with some garbage. I caught some of the act on my phone which I can share. We ended up having to clean up the previous stays trash to keep the bears from coming back; this included dirty diapers and such that were scattered around by the bear, not the ideal start to our trip.

Long story, short: Dear owners of this place, please install some bear-proof garbage containment, such as the kind where you can put a piece of lumber over the lids that can be latched into place and something to keep them from getting toppled over. The bears can open the existing lids to the garbage cans.

Now the good:
This has a nice rustic cabin when updated stuff where needed. Plenty of logs were provided for the wood-stove. The kitchen has a newish electric oven and range that works well. There is plenty of space to cook in the kitchen and a decent amount of pots, pans, and utensils. Has good Wifi. There is a record player and some records to create a nice ambiance with the fire. The property is surrounded by lush greenery. In the community, there are some nice walks and access to the river nearby. Good size for 2 people, I think there is a pull-out bed too in the living room for more.

Overall we had a relaxing experience and would probably come back too.
Manager response:
My, thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the home. We always appreciate guests' feedback as a means to continually improve. So we will be sure to pass your comments regarding the garbage cans over to staff who will work with the homeowner to make the necessary upgrades. We cant wait to host you again soon!
James D. Apr 2022
Well we've been using vacasa for several years now and have never been let down. And this time is no different. This is a cute little house tucked away in the forest and a nice place to relax. The only thing that was disappointing this time was it was very cold inside. And even the instructions for the wood stove indicate that it is not for heating. Other than that we were quite satisfied and will definitely be using vacasa in the near future.
Kristin Y. Apr 2022
Super clean. Chilly, though, till you get the fire going. I would be careful about using the space heaters. The plugs get very hot in the outlets. I hope they will upgrade those soon to something safer. Neighborhood is very quiet. Quite a few good restaurants nearby. Spacious kitchen. We really enjoyed our time there.
Lisa M. Mar 2022
Very cute homey cabin. Loved the claw foot bathtub! Was very cold at first but got the fire going and was comfortable.
Danny L. Jan 2022
We loved almost everything about the Bon Fir Cabin, the rustic furniture, the games, record player, and old school TV/DVDs. The kitchen was excellent, we cooked dinner here each night. The bathroom was really nice (except the toilet see was broken). The worst part of the cabin was the temperature. It was COLD to say the least. They provide heaters, but the fuse kept blowing when we would try to run them in the bed room. We'd go to sleep warm, but wake up in the middle of the night freezing due to the power to the cabin going out.

Overall, would I stay there again? Absolutely. 4/5 stars from my wife and I.
Meredith C. Aug 2021
The setting of the cabin, the quaintness, and the proximity to activities, groceries and restaurants.
Kristen C. Jul 2021
We thought this home was exceptionally secluded and quiet, and loved the peaceful, low key neighborhood. Great backyard patio space! Walked 2 minutes down the road and found the Zig Zag River. All the local places to eat are full of character, and this place is really close to tons of outdoor activities, Government Camp, and Mount Hood!
Michael B. May 2021
This is a nice getaway tucked in the woods. I enjoyed my short visit, and would definitely return.
Melissa K. Mar 2021
My goal was for filled. This was a cute little cabin in the woods with a hot tub.
Israel F. Mar 2021
The home itself is lovely and clean. I enjoyed using the wood stove and the dark and quiet at night. However, I do not ski, I was planning my whole vacation rental around the hot tub amenity. The hot tub did not work, and it was not as advertised by the photos. I took my own photos, the lid/cover was falling apart and molded, the water inside was definitely warm but murky and brown. It looked like no one had cleaned it in a long while. Suffice to say, I didn’t end up “enjoying” a relaxing soak, especially because the cabin is surrounded by other nearby properties. Not as secluded as I’d have liked. Without the hot tub, it’s just a cute little house and not worth the nightly fare.

Additionally, about an hour into our trip I decided to boil some water in the kettle for tea. Once we used the stove, the timer button on the stove was having some kind of sensor malfunction and began beeping repeatedly intermittently. We would press off/stop but as long as the stove was being used, the beeping would begin and stop frequently. However, on the second evening of our stay, we could not get the beeping to stop. Due to the vaulted ceilings, the cabin is basically a giant studio with a few compartmentalizing walls but has no buffer for sound to travel. My partner and I had terrible sleep the night before we left due to the incessant beeping all through the night. It continued to beep as we checked out the next morning.

I have a disability and tried to communicate with the rental host on several occasions to clarify some of the accommodations to no avail. I have been on lock down for a year and have rarely left my home. This was a poor experience for my first retreat away. I really want my money back.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Israel. We do wish you had called in during your stay for assistance. The hot tub is cleaned between each guest, and the stove sensor appears to be working as normal. We hope to see you again!
Scott J. Mar 2021
Great hidden cabin perfectly located for a weekend of skiing.
Jessica P. Dec 2020
This cabin was rustic and relaxing. The quirks of an old cabin were just enough to be quaint and authentic. This just what we were looking for in a mini get away! Thanks!
Nancy E. Nov 2020
It's like staying in a museum, in good and bad ways. Charming, but cold and the fuses blow if you try to run multiple space heaters. This is a summer cabin with single pane windows. All the heat goes up into the rafters. NO there is no firewood provided, and NO there is no turntable for spinning vinyl. Fix your ad! All the dishes we took out of the cupboard were wet, so we washed them again. On the other hand, comfortable bed with deluxe comforter, so we didn't freeze in bed, at least. top notch bedding and towels.
Manager response:
Hi, Nancy! We appreciate such great feedback and apologize for the disappointments you experienced. This is a 1930s cabin with old wiring which means you cannot use more than one space heater at the highest temperature. We have updated our guest notes to reflect this, and we have also noted where you can purchase wood. We will look into the turntable and remove it from the listing if it is no longer available for guest use. Housekeeping has been reminded to check all dishes between guests. Thank you!
Ember B. Nov 2020
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful vacation at this house. We will be renting it again! Loved the area, it was so quiet and peaceful. Comfortable and we loved having the wood stove. Stay here for a peaceful vacation
Cheryl P. Nov 2020
Both the front porch, stairs, and back patio get EXTREMELY slick when wet. It's clear they know this, and yet they won't even go as far as to put down anti slip strips. Fell on the back patio despite putting towels down to try and make it less slippery. Now have pain in my right thigh where I fell, despite it being almost a week. Will have to see my doctor. This is a lawsuit waiting to happen.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Cheryl, and are so glad you stayed with us. We sincerely apologize for the slip you had; we will be placing anti-slip strips on the deck and have placed a warning sign as well. Thank you!
Star M. Oct 2020
I booked this little cabin for me and my husband. It was perfect. Very comfy and cozy. There was firewood left for us, so we were eager to start a fire. Warmed the place right up. There were also heaters in each area if needed. The hot tub was so relaxing and hot! The temperature was adjustable, but for me it was perfect. Lots of space in the kitchen to cook and we did just that our first night. Movies and games to watch and play. Many hiking trails nearby to explore. It was hard to leave. I would highly recommend this cabin and we will definitely be back. Thank you.
Patrick H. Oct 2020
Cabin is cozy, cute and comfortable. The basics were clean, but the there were tons of cobwebs, and the porch hadn’t been sweep in a while.
Nancy B. Oct 2020
We loved the quaintness of this cabin. We were looking for a quiet get away and this home fit the bill. It is not fancy but had everything that we really needed. We bought some firelogs and enjoyed the woodstove while watching a movie. The location was perfect for easy access to sightseeing, hiking, and restaurants.
Guy M. Oct 2020
Quaint and cozy with all the conveniences we needed. Though difficult to find (GPS took us to the wrong area) we loved our stay. The only changes I would suggest are for them to leave on a heat source as well as the porch light. Putting in the code requires a flashlight for late arrivals and approaching in the dark caused me to walk through deep puddles. We walked into a dark, cold cabin with a musty smell which Improved after time with the heaters turned on so the initial experience was less than inviting.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with Vacasa and thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Guest's feedback regarding their particular preferences is always considered and passed along to our local manager to review, in order to make necessary upgrades for future guests' pleasures and comforts. We hope you'll give us another chance to host your next stay. Thank you!
Mariah F. Oct 2020
We came up on a Monday. The house was somewhat difficult to find as the roads are hidden and maps take you past the home and isn’t accurate. The hot tub was cold, luckily we found the switch to get it warmed up. Overall our stay was good. The Forrest was shut down due to past fires. So there wasn’t much to do. Happy to have wifi in the house and the hot tub. We also went for a walk and found the River not too far of a walk from the house. Some restaurants and coffee shops were open in the area. So that was nice. The house is well stocked. Everyone is right, being butter / oil. And seasoning are nearly out. But they are there. Plenty of soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. it was hidden behind the tower of TP so I didn’t see it the first day. Bed was so comfortable! Pillows flat- we saw that and brought our own. So glad we did. Heat in the house works good too. It’s very shaded up there due to all the trees so the house rarely gets sunlight / heat during the day. The house was quiet and a nice retreat. Perfect for a couple.
Manager response:
Hi, Mariah! We are so glad you stayed with us and apologize for any issues you encountered. The driving directions will be double-checked and rewritten, and we are discussing the pillows with the homeowner. Thank you!
Shawna W. Aug 2020
We loved our stay at Bon Fir, we wished we could have stayed longer. We took the advice of another reviewer and brought our own pillows and were happy we did. The provided pillows are very flat. We are also people who don't do well in the heat. When we arrived (about 5pm) it was pretty toasty inside. It could have been been from the heat of the day or maybe those who stayed before us had a fire going, we weren't sure. We were hesitant to open a lot of windows since the windows appear to be original and don't have screens. We didn't want to let bugs in so we drove to Sandy and bought a box fan. We were grateful we did and spent the rest of our weekend in comfort. Kitchen has the basic appliances utensils, and seasonings. Plan to bring your own cooking oil. This cabin is absolutely charming and we would happily return. Perfect for a couple but wouldn't recommend for any more than that. We got engaged during our getaway and I'm sure we'll be back.
Ian N. Jul 2020
Really enjoyed the stay at Bon Fir, especially the short walk to the Zig Zag River. Comfortable cabin with all we needed to get away for a couple of days.
Eric H. Jul 2020
We decided to explore the Mt hood ski bowl area for a few days and picked this cabin to stay at. It was clean, hottub worked and was pretty much perfect. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is the shower head didn't work so we replaced it with one that did so we could shower.
Holly V. Jul 2020
Tucked away in the woods, fairly private hot tub, clean and quiet. It was the perfect place for a much needed get away! Also to note, it is dark and cold inside, and the shower is a big disappointment: very low pressure and getting the right temperature is a nightmare. Best to use the bath tub.
Kevin G. Jul 2020
Super quiet and clean
Amy C. Jun 2020
This cute little one bedroom was perfect for a getaway. It was very clean and had all the supplies and amenities we needed. The hot tub was small but perfect for two people. It was tucked back and very quiet. The bed was comfortable but the pillow options could have been a little better, as they were as flat as pancakes. The backyard table was broken, but it was usable for two. The yard portion containing the fire pit, was unmowed, so it was unusable. The house is 20 min from Timberline Lodge at the top of Mt. Hood, so the location is great. We would definitely go back.
Manager response:
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the disappointments you experienced. The property manager is looking into the pillows, table, and yard so they can be corrected. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Monique J. May 2020
My husband and I spent 2 nights here with our dog. We really enjoyed ourselves. The neighbors were so incredibly friendly and showed a very close spot to get to the river easily. There’s also a great trail nearby. The cabin was very fresh despite the warm weather and kept cool the entire time. The bed is very comfy! We loved how dark the cabin got when all the shades are drawn, perfect for movie watching. The kitchen had all the supplies we needed to cook 2 big dinners while we were there. We brought our own oil and foil. And glad we did. The hot tub was very clean and hot. It was nice to use at night. The backyard gets a really good amount of sun so sunbathing in privacy was a definite plus for me. We had fun and enjoyed our time there.
Cathy C. May 2020
Wonderful rustic cabin. Hot tub is perfect for two.
Katie L. Apr 2020
We really enjoyed our stay at this house: relaxing, playing games, and taking walks along the river. I was a little worried about heating as previous reviews mentioned the wood stove and space heaters as its only heating source, but we arrived to a warm house and had no issues keeping cozy. Thanks for a great stay!
Chris D. Mar 2020
I have stayed multiple times at this place and every time I leave rested and ready to take on what's next in life. Always clean. Always comforting. Always quiet. Nothing like relaxing on the couch. Reading a good book while listening to the fire crackle nearby look forward to going back this year.
Amy C. Mar 2020
Cute little place, cozy, comfy and accommodating. Enjoyed the setting and location, was perfect for a little get away.
Stephanie G. Feb 2020
Everything we needed! It was very relaxing 😎
Dianne S. Jan 2020
We loved this cabin - it has everything you need and so cozy. The hot tub was an added bonus. We ran out of firewood and they came right away and stocked us up. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Claire B. Dec 2019
Cozy, romantic cabin secluded enough to feel like a real getaway, but extremely close to local restaurants, grocery store, and plenty of hikes! The hot tub was clean and HOT, the bed cozy and warm, and the wood fire stove provided cozy evenings. We did blow the fuse a time or two, so it is notable to mention that the house isn't heated (other than the fire and provided heaters), and the house gets cold at night; the heaters can not run all at once (hence the blown fuses), so keep that stove heated! Other than that we really loved our weekend getaway in this wonderful cabin!
Rachelle S. Nov 2019
We had a great stay at Bon Fir. Loved the hut tub and wood stove. Cute, clean and cozy.
Kara M. Nov 2019
Very clean, hot tub was super relaxing, would definitely stay here again
Barbara J. Oct 2019
Love the setting in the forest. Great hot tub. Needs some help on the heating front but I loved it.
Manager response:
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! We let the manager know to check the heat. Please call us next time if you need help. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Amy K. Oct 2019
Perfect get away from the business of life. Been several times and it’s always a special time.
Jennifer T. Sep 2019
This place is adorable. It had everything I needed. I was clean, the hot tub was relaxing. And it had a great kitchen to cook in. Plus the wood burning stove was great on chilly evenings. Thanks for providing the firewood!
Brinda C. Sep 2019
Super cute cabin, very clean and well-kept. Loved the record player and selection of vinyl. Hot tub was great. Would recommend for quiet romantic getaway.
Angelina P. Aug 2019
The cabin was so rustic and comfortable. The views were gorgeous and the house was so clean. It was so much bigger than I expected. The wrap around deck and hot tub definitely put this cabin over the top. My only regret is that I was only able to stay for one night. I can't wait to come back and spend a few days enjoying this home.
Molly L. Aug 2019
The surrounding area and comfy bed, hotub is nice.
Keely C. Jul 2019
My husband and stayed here while we explored the Mt. Hood area. Great location for this cute and cozy cabin! The hot tub on the back deck was great after a long day of hiking! The only thing to mention, which is a pretty minute detail, is that the cabin doesn’t have much in the way of kitchen essentials for cooking like salt, pepper, oil, etc. Other than that, highly recommend!
Luis V. Jul 2019
Samuel J. Jun 2019
Awesome little place in tucked in the woods. Felt like home and the bed was super comfortable. Best sleep ever!
Misty M. May 2019
We really enjoyed the quietness we had even though it's located in a neighborhood of sorts. The inside of the cabin is gorgeous and was set up perfectly for my boyfriend and I. We never stayed in a cabin before but really loved the feeling of this one. If you're looking for a place to get away and relax, this is your place!!
david p. Feb 2019
Cute little cabin. Took a while to heat up. Mouse sighting. Cool record player.
Abbey H. Jan 2019
The cabin looked very different from the pictures and I think the lighting didn't really do it justice at first. After exploring in and around the property we enjoyed the fire place and the hot tub which was super clean upon arrival. They have a large yard down behind the house and our pup loved running around, we could throw the ball from the hottub. All in all cute little cabin.
Candace C. Jan 2019
We really enjoyed our stay at the Bon Fir Cabin. Classic, with a great DVD, book and record collection. The bed was very comfortable. The only thing we wished for was a mixing bowl!