USA South Carolina Coastal South Carolina Kiawah Island Listing #33210

Mariner's Watch 4205 - Kiawah Island, SC

Take a Virtual Tour
15 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Second floor oceanfront villa w/screened porch, deck, & great views + Free WiFi!

Located on the second floor, this Mariners Watch villa has amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean, and its screened porch and deck are the perfect places to get in some quality time with the people you love. Inside, you'll notice smart, attractive floors, super comfortable furniture, and a nice, familiar atmosphere that your guests will feel right at home in. When you're not using the kitchen to cook up today's catch of the day, spend some time in the large living area to catch up on your favorite novel, binge-watch a great show on the flatscreen cable TV, or just enjoy a good nap while everyone else is down at the water.

What’s nearby:
The Night Heron Park (700 yards away) offers lots of recreational options for friends and family to enjoy like a playground, picnic areas, and a basketball court. If you're feeling like some good exercise, take a long walk or run over 10 miles of Kiawah Beach or explore over 30 miles of paved biking trails for some beautiful nature scenes. If you plan a day trip in downtown historic Charleston, only 25 miles away, the family can spend the day checking out art museums, pirate tours, live concerts, and attractive landscaped gardens. Cougar Point Golf Course is just over two miles away and features a great fairway for the avid golfer. Foodies should try out local favorites such as Loggerhead Grill, just under two miles away, or Hege's, just four miles away.

Things to know:
Complex parking lot - 2 spaces available
Free Wi-Fi
Ocean view

This property is managed by Vacasa South Carolina LLC

Business License: LIC-1-20-221272

This rental is located on floor 2.
Parking Notes: A maximum of two vehicles per unit are allowed and is enforced by the complex.

Other permit number: RBL20-000184

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Ocean view

Oceanfront

Gulf-front

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

On-site activities

Tennis court : Shared

Outdoor

Deck

15 reviews

Cathy B. Dec 2021
This place had such a great view of the beach...you could see the sunrise to the left of balcony and the sunset to the right of the balcony. It was so nice to hear waves all night and day! Easy access to the beach and short drive to shops and grocery store. The beds were comfortable but they really need to get new pillows as those were really bad....and a few other things to fix that would make this a 10 if the scale went higher...but still a 5 due to location!
Manager response:
Hi Cathy, we're ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at Mariner's Watch 4205 and took advantage of the stunning views and seamless beach access that this home boasts! We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback on your experience and letting us know that the pillows could use improvement. We apologize for any discomfort as a result. We look forward to hosting you again for a future visit!
Karla Z. Dec 2021
Wooden floors in living room, cathedral ceilings, a d of course that view of the ocean right in front of you
Benton D. Jun 2021
Awesome location on the beach, really close to Night Heron Park, which was great for my kids. Condo could use some updating but everything worked and we had a great time.
Phuong N. Jun 2021
The location of condo is very good but furniture and everything inside are too old and very dirty. You should invest to replace all furniture, the carpet. It is very dirty and low quality
Manager response:
Hello Phuong! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Chris H. Aug 2020
The view over the beach and ocean is wonderful
Heather P. Aug 2020
The only positive things about this property are the cold air, hot water, and view. I am surprised that my reviews left online have not been published and we were incredibly disappointed with the photos, which clearly do not represent the state of this condo. I have sent messages and received no reply. This was not a great first impression of Vacasa’s standards. Not to mention the very unsafe nature we found the condo in. Front door wide open and back sliding door has no lock.
Manager response:
Hi Heather, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced and the difficulty you had reaching a member of our team. We have been heavily impacted by COVID-19 outreach and have experienced record numbers of phone calls and emails. We also are sorry to hear that you felt this home was misrepresented. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we make every effort to accurately represent our homes. We have surfaced your concerns with our local team who will appropriately address the issues in an effort to ensure a comfortable stay for future guests. Again, we are very sorry for this disappointing stay and hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you in the future. Thank you.
Christian I. Aug 2020
Love the view of the ocean and the space of the unit!
ian b. Aug 2020
Dump. Disgusting. Nasty. These are the three words I heard from my family about the place I booked for our summer vacation.

- the pictures dont reflect the place at all. It not just dirty, tired or even outdated...it looks like it hasnt been touched or cared for in about 10 years. no exaggeration. there was a phone book sitting there from 2009! I cant imagine someone from Vacasa has been inside this unit. I actually invited someone to come but no one showed.
- the back bathroom had a terrible stench of urine
- we had visions of sitting outside on the balcony and eating. not an option. its filthy, the floor is a mess, the table is broken, screens falling out. The Vacasa agent mentioned she would come by with a table and chairs. Never happened and she never came by
- bugs, mold throughout
- when you take a shower in the master the water doesnt drain, rather fills up past your ankles
- we found dirty dishes with food caked on them in the cupboards.
- the storage for beach stuff looks like a trash dump. it hasntt been touched or cared for in years
- window in the master bedroom wont shut and the AC doesnt seem to work in that room.
- the garage disposal had a rotting egg in it when he arrived
- the fridge has a glass shelf in it from another fridge...doesnt even fit and is a danger if you put too much on it

Great vacation right? exactly what you look forward to with your family.

I was proactive reaching out to the agent from our arrival. No options to move units and frankly no apology or attempt to make it right. Never came by to see this place or us. A discount was offered and while a nice gesture, we still don’t believe what we paid reflected our experience.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Ian! The home has been deep cleaned since your stay, the shower has been cleared, the window has been shut, and a new fridge shelf has been ordered. We are working on getting new balcony furniture and taking care of the floors. We hope to see you again!
Matthew S. Jun 2020
It’s tired. It has a great view and great location, but in addition to some updating, some care would go along way to justify the price.

I’m pretty comfortable with basic and don’t normally need much more than a view. But unit needs new mattresses, deal cleaning, paint peeling in places, and basic upkeep.
Manager response:
Matthew, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and we will certainly work with your comments to enhance the experience for our guests. Thank you for staying with us!
Katrina F. Jun 2020
Great location and the house is ok but a definitely needs some maintenance. Overhead lights and TVs didn’t work. We enjoyed our stay a lot but it’s a pity they don’t keep up the house better.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Katrina. We are so sorry that the overhead lights and TVs did not work during your stay. We are disappointed to see that we did not receive a call regarding these issues. Our local field staff would have been happy to assist during your time with us. The TV and overhead lights have since been addressed. Thank you!
William R. Aug 2018
Love the location and area. The unit needs updating as the furniture has seen better days. There were ripped screens and broken chair in the screened porch which we were compensated for via a rebate from the rental manager. (that was much appreciated). Coffee maker glass carafe was totally broken, which really makes you question the cleaning crews abilities.
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
LISA H. Jan 2018
We’ve been staying in this townhouse for 3 years. Nothing has changed. Paintings are still on floor in master bedroom closet. We love location but are growing tired of worn out furnishings and finishings. Rental company is great though
Manager response:
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at this home, but are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world-class service.
WILLIAM R. Aug 2017
most was very good, screen porch area had not been cleaned, needs some updating but overall very good
Manager response:
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at this home, but are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world-class service.
WILLARD S. Nov 2016
On site agent did not seem knowledgeable about boardwalk situation or how to rent beach umbrellas.
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.