Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Serene Forest Setting on Half an Acre w/ a Spacious Deck - Dogs Welcome!
Whether you simply want to get away or spend quality time with friends, as a couple, or as a family, Sierra Zen awaits on nearly half an acre in a tranquil grove of centuries-old evergreens. This newly renovated mountain escape is cozy, rustic, and offers all sorts of modern amenities, including a recently renovated kitchen, slate and hardwood floors, and a living room with a fireplace and large picture windows. Enjoy an expansive redwood deck with a gas grill and lovely views of the surrounding forest, and create lasting memories with your loved ones in a serene Sierra Nevada setting.
What's nearby: Sierra Zen is located in Arnold, just four miles south of Calaveras Big Trees State Park. It's a wonderful location for those looking to take day trips to explore the area, as you'll be a short drive from Murphys (11 miles), Angels Camp (19 miles), Columbia (24 miles), New Melones Lake (26 miles), Sonora (29 miles), and Jamestown (31 miles) to the south, as well as Bear Valley Mountain Resort (27 miles) and Lake Alpine (30 miles) to the north.
Things to know: Free WiFi Full kitchen Dog-friendly A 4x4 is recommended during the winter season; chains are required in all vehicles Please note that cell phone reception is very spotty in this area, so plan accordingly
The Blue Lake Springs HOA has closed off all amenities to guests (residents only) due to local restrictions and regulations.
Parking Notes: Please park in the driveway.
Other permit number: EXEMPT
County tax number: 355
You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.
Limited mobility access
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Xfinity
Nearby activities & attractions
Gas grill : Private
Boat rental available
Cheryl S.Jun 2021
Very disappointed in our 6-night stay. Main selling point was the hot tub. Owner called night before to tell us it was out of order. Offered only 100 dollars back. This was a major selling point for us, so huge disappointment. When we arrived, it was clear the tub had been drained for more than a week (no water on deck or underneath), so it's likely they knew long before our stay. Felt like a bait and switch. Also, not a wood fireplace, as mentioned in the ad, but gas, and it, too, was out of order. This was a second selling point for us, so another disappointment. No channels on the TV, no cable or satellite. Half the TVs weren't hooked up to DVD players, some had no remotes, and some of the remotes had no batteries. No central heating. Several space heaters, but one smelled strongly of burning plastic and blew half the outlets downstairs. When we called/texted, we got no response at first, then were sent to a voicemail telling us the occupant didn't feel like answering the phone. The emergency number on the fridge gave us a housekeeping service that hadn't worked with this property in 5 years. We ended up leaving without the electrical issue ever being resolved.
There were lots of other minor issues, which wouldn't have been much of a big deal, but they compounded the major issues and resulted in an overall highly disappointing visit. Cannot recommend this property at all.
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. Local staff is always available to assist if there are amenities in the home that fall short. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced.
Jason P.Jun 2021
A nice cabin overall, but the hot tub was completely out of service.
We are very sorry you weren't able to useHot tub. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer.
Melody H.Feb 2021
The Sierra Zen fit our budget, and was perfect for our big family, kids 6 to 9 years of age. Nice and roomy! Great hot tub! All and all it’s pretty clean, had to double check a couple of dishes, but it wasn’t a deal breaker by any means.
Rosanna .Nov 2020
Fabulous location and charming home. Arnold is a unique and lovely area. We had a great stay at the cabin! Would happily return. Good directions too!
Alana J.Oct 2020
We loved this location - but we couldn't enjoy it from this house. The general lack of cleanliness was discomforting - the kitchen is well and truly out-of-date and absolutely not recently remodelled. Multiple electrical issues - non-working lights, dishwasher, fridge functions etc. The balcony area is so pretty but you can't enjoy it as it feels unsafe for pets and small children (large gaps in balcony structure) and the carpeted bathroom with carpet right up to and around the commode was simply gross. We opted to keep shoes on in the bathroom and had to check-out early as we simply could not relax here.
Hi, Alana! We are so sorry to read you were unhappy with your accommodations. The light bulbs have been replaced, the dishwasher was repaired, and the fridge was working well upon inspection. Thank you!
Sarah .Oct 2020
My four friends and I rented Sierra Zen for a girls weekend. It was great! We each had our own bed, there were plenty of bathrooms, and the house was bright and clean. Beautiful setting. Hot tub was lovely in the forest. Close to lots of shops and nice restaurants. Very pretty, quiet and peaceful neighborhood. WiFi was super spotty if your carrier is AT&T.
Robert G.Sep 2020
We ended up not staying as the property had not be properly cleaned beforehand. Too many individuals to deal with to try to resolve the situation. Exceedingly disappointing. Did not feel safe to stay given the COVID situation.
Our apologies to hear about the cleaning details that were amiss. We are working closely with our housekeeping team to ensure that they are paying close attention to detail while preparing for guests and following the current COVID-19 cleaning protocols. We hope you feel satisfied with the concession offered for your troubles. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Louisa .Feb 2020
Nice space close to Arnold and Murphy's. Quick drive up to the big red woods, snow park, and Mercer Caverns. Had a lot of fun with our family and friends. The kitchen could use an upgrade. Especially the dishwasher, which felt like it was falling apart when pulling out the top shelf. Hot tub is very shallow and not comfortable for more than couple people. Overall good for the price though. You can see all the stars and get to some neat attractions nearby.
Katie .Jan 2019
Our stay was very refreshing. We took our 6 children for a family vacation. This was our first AirBNB stay, and what a great experience! We had minor questions during our stay and James responded very quickly. The quality of the bedding, and towels was exceptional. My favorite part was the community pantry. Basic things that may have been forgotten, were left behind for future guests. It was very welcoming, so we made sure to leave some basics behind for the next family as well. Perfect distance from the Moaning Caverns and the snow park. We would stay again! Very Recommend!
Sarah .Oct 2018
Beautiful cabin set in the woods. Especially loved the kitchen and deck/spa area to relax and watch nature with a cup of coffee.