USA Michigan Lake Michigan Douglas Listing #38688

The Resting Place - Douglas, MI

Take a Virtual Tour
6 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3.5 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly, contemporary home w/ a private, heated pool - walk to the river!

Spend your next Lake Michigan vacation in style! This historic farmhouse was fully updated by a local builder and includes a detached carriage house that ensures room for the whole family. An enclosed backyard lets the kids and your four-legged family members run freely while you take a well-deserved dip in the heated, outdoor pool! A full kitchen and gas grill make it easy to diversify your meals that you can then enjoy al fresco on the furnished, back patio. This home also includes a warming, wood-burning fireplace for those chilly nights.

What's nearby:
Centrally located, you'll be just a short walk from downtown where you'll find the city's most popular restaurants, shops, and more. Take a brief stroll towards the water and you'll find Wade's Bayou Memorial Park, a lovely place to relax and watch the ducks. For a day at the beach, head two miles west to find Douglas Beach or Oval Beach just another mile north of there. And if you fancy a round of golf, the Ravines and Clearbrook courses can both be found in the area.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
The family dogs are welcome with a small, nightly fee
Furniture is being upgraded and may not match photos

This property is managed by Vacasa Michigan LLC

Parking Notes: Driveway holds maximum of four vehicles. Guest Entry Instructions: This rental utilizes an E-lock, a digital lock that requires an unique code to enter. This code is reset after each guest's stay.

1 day notification is required in order to heat the pool. An additional pool heat fee of USD25 per day must be paid prior to check-in. Guests can contact Vacasa after booking to purchase pool heat for the home.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view




Cable : Xfinity

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

HBO streaming

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Pool : Private

Heated pool

Ping-pong table


Gas grill : Private



Enclosed yard



6 reviews

Anthony R. Jul 2021
Had a wonderful week of vacation at The Resting Place. Very comfortable and clean main house and carriage house, on a beautifully landscaped property. All amenities as expected and the heated pool was a favorite too! And just a block from downtown. I highly recommend it.
Kate A. May 2021
Very clean and beautiful home. We felt very comfortable here. They did have blinds on the windows, as I read in prior reviews that they didn’t. Everything was perfect except one thing. The pool heater was not working. So the pool was too cold for us to use, which was essentially why we wanted to rent this house was for our child to use the pool. So that was a big bummer. It ended up being fixed the night before we left. I wish we were told that prior to coming. But other than that, everything else was great!
Robbie R. Jul 2020
Wasn't sure what to expect as there were no reviews when we first booked this rental and there were no pictures of the pool or garden in summertime. It turned out to be a wonderful choice and we will definitely return. There are so many positive things to say about it - great location, wonderful reno to the house (great lighting, decor and very well stocked with high end amenities), one of the best stocked kitchens we've ever rented, amazing hot water capacity, lots of space for family/friends to spread out. We loved the brightness and contemporary elements of the house but yet stays true to the farmhouse feel with wide plank floors etc. The fenced yard area is wonderful and pool is small but perfect. Areas for improvement... there were only two chaise lounges in pool area and only two pool towels. Would add at least two more of each or be sure to bring your own. Also, the garden is a bit overgrown. This wasn't a negative to us as we found it charming but it may not be suitable to all people as leaves etc fall into the pool. We were sad to have to leave and cannot wait to return.
William H. Jun 2020
Clean, airy, comfortable home with a heated pool, just steps from “downtown” Douglas. We’d definitely come again.
Suzanne S. Jun 2020
It really was a wonderful home and beautiful location. But be warned - if you anything comes up at the rental (which happens as we all know) you will be hard pressed to find anyone to speak to. Be prepared to wait on the phone an hour or more and hope for a call back before the end of the day. The stove broke, the pool needed cleaning, the power went out, the fridge was leaking water all over the floor and the sumo pump alarm was going off and in each instance it was very difficult to get a hold of anyone. Ultimately we left early after spending a day and half with no power and no help from the management company. We will never rent through Vacasa again.
Manager response:
We are happy to hear you enjoyed both the property & location, but are disappointed with your negative experience related to contacting customer service. Due to the the pandemic and attempting to service all of our guests safely, there is a higher than normal call volume which can result in longer wait times. With that said, there was an issue with the stove that required a contractor and it was resolved within an hour of receiving the call. As you know, all other issues were related to a power outage after severe storms ravaged the area, unfortunately the timing of the power coming back on is out of our control. We did send someone out to silence the alarm and clean up water leaking from the fridge due to the lack of power right away, but did have to wait for the power company to repair the lines. I do apologize that you had to deal with this unfortunate situation and hope you will allow us the opportunity to make up for it in the future.