USA Massachusetts Cape Cod Nantucket Listing #39002

Sconset shACK - Nantucket, MA

Take a Virtual Tour
5 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Rustic, sunny cottage w/ deck & W/D - walk to the beach & town, dogs welcome!

With a wonderful location on the edge of Siasconset, within walking distance of the beach, the historic district, and the unrivaled 'Sconset Bluff Walk, this two-bedroom home provides all the simple charms of a beach escape to Nantucket. The interior living space is casual and unfussy, with plenty of windows to let in the summer sunshine and natural wood walls, ceilings, and cabinetry that contribute to the home's rustic feel. You'll be able to take daily walks and bike rides to the beach and the nearby golf course, with an outdoor shower and a private washer/dryer waiting at home to refresh you and your clothes each afternoon. Spend summer evenings outside on the wrap-around deck, where you can prepare your barbecue favorites on the grill as your dogs stretch their legs in the yard.

What's nearby:
This home is located in Siasconset, a picturesque former fishing village affectionately known as 'Sconset on the eastern shores of Nantucket. 'Sconset Beach, famous for its significant surf, is less than half a mile east, as is the oceanfront 'Sconset Bluff Walk - the most scenic path on Nantucket that passes some of the island's grandest homes on its way to the Sankaty Head Lighthouse (a mile and a half north). Within a half-mile walk, you'll find the Siasconset Old Historic District, a market, a sandwich shop, and a playground, while the Siasconset Golf Course is less than a mile west. The island's main hub, Nantucket Town, is seven miles west, easily reached on the Milestone and Polpis Bike Paths.

Things to know:
No WiFi
Full kitchen
Dog-friendly for a nightly fee
Outdoor shower

Parking Notes: There is parking in the lot off of sunset ridge lane enough for 2 cars

State/province tax number: C0286081970

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Beach access






Step-free access


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels


Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

5 reviews

Ozge K. Oct 2021
It was a very neat cabin...that said the owner provided very bare minimum of everything..soap...towels (limited number and in really really bad shape falling apart)...I was surprised. I guess s/he is trying to save costs. But for us really declined the value of our stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Ozge! We are glad you enjoyed the cabin. We do provide a starter supply of toilet paper, paper towels, and dish soap to ensure our guest's first night is smooth. We encourage any guests anticipating needing additional supplies to bring their preferred items. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we may have the opportunity to host you and impress you in the future!
Genevieve B. Jul 2021
Lovely place, perfect location
Katherine W. Jul 2021
The good: Great location if you like the quieter side of the island; short walk to Sconset Market was wonderful. The house has all the essentials (kitchen appliances, washer/dryer, enough seating indoors and on the porch to lounge around, window AC units in each room). The house overall has a nice beach shack feel to it--very casual.

The bad: When we arrived, the lockbox was already open and had no keys in it, and both doors were unlocked and there was no way to fully secure the house. It took much pleading and many hours on the phone with Vacasa, the caretaker and regional manager to get locks on the doors and keys provided. It was frustrating but the caretaker couldn't have been nicer and the regional manager also took action once we were able to get in touch; Vacasa was not helpful (and actually cancelled our reservation without our knowledge/consent which required us to rebook it; it was needlessly chaotic but got sorted out in the end after two days of back and forth). We were not provided with enough towels (for 4 people) and were left with less than half a role of toilet paper. There are also two unmarked cars parked on the property that we weren't expecting and made us uncomfortable at first until it was explained to us that the cars belong to the owners and they apparently sit there permanently. Some of the furniture is stained--including the linens on one bed--and one chair was broken. Many of the window and door screens have holes so the house got pretty buggy especially at night. There is also a sort of creepy open space/loft that can be viewed from the kitchen, and on the outside of the house the crawl space was just open and a little creepy. There was some abandoned half-drunk alcohol in one of the closets, which was sort of odd.

Overall: Not a bad place, but the pictures do make it seem nicer than it actually is. Going through Vacasa instead of having direct access to the host was a big hassle. Only rent this place if you are down with a very casual/bare bones (in a charming way) Nantucket experience.
Manager response:
Katherine, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about the issues you had with the locks upon your arrival. Our records show that our team was in contact with you the whole time and offered to change the locks and fix the issues you encountered. We are glad that once these issues were resolved you were able to enjoy your stay at our home. We hope we can have another chance to host you for a much more enjoyable experience in the future!
Sean M. Jul 2021
Location/price/accurate pictures check. Bigger than it looks. THERE IS WIFI and AC. Service, if anything comes up is non existent. You are own your own. We were there 2 weeks and had a broken toilet seat for 6 days. The help line was a ZERO and it took almost a week to get it fixed. It does have running water (both kinds hot and cold). Bring flash lights. Not a lot of lamps. Also expect 2 cars parked (no plates) parked in the yard which makes parking awful. Also it’s overgrown with plants in the yard. Good no great news at night as you sip a night cap you can hear the waves crashing. We would rent for the summer but it’s booked through 2022.
Aline S. Jun 2021
Great location in Sconset and dog-friendly! We loved the privacy of the back deck and yard. We walked to the Sconset Market daily and enjoyed exploring the island with our rental car. Definitely rustic and could use more kitchen supplies, towels, more comfortable linens, full length mirror and a toilet seat that is actually attached to the toilet… Would recommend to others if you don’t mind a no frills place!