USA Blue Ridge Mountains North Carolina Sugar Mountain Listing #41291

Sugar Mountain - Sugar Mountain, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
12 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 5 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-Friendly Mountain Retreat w/ Wood-Burning Stove & Dreamy Gazebo!

Surrounded by lush foliage, this charming mountain home is waiting for your next vacation to Sugar Mountain. Boasting rustic touches throughout, the house has the character of a woodsy cabin yet it's filled with all of the modern comforts of home.

Before heading out for a full day of hiking or skiing nearby, hop into the fully equipped kitchen and take advantage of granite countertops and modern appliances to whip up a hearty breakfast. You won't have to go far to soak in the natural landscape, as this retreat has a detached gazebo amongst beautiful trees and trickling creeks - a wonderful spot to enjoy with a cup of coffee and a good book. Regardless of how you spend your days, you'll love returning home to the cozy glow of the wood-burning stove. There's also a flatscreen TV in the living area for movie nights and weekend ballgames.

What's nearby:
Perched less than a mile from Sugar Mountain Resort, this home will spoil the skiers in your group. This winter wonderland offers fun-filled days of fresh powder, regardless of whether you choose to ski, snowshoe, or tube with the little ones. Come summer, the Mile High Swinging Bridge, Grandfather Mountain State Park, and Hawksnest Snow Tubing and Zipline are all amazing attractions within 10 miles. For a night on the town, make your way four miles north to Banner Elk, which is home to numerous restaurants and shops.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dog-friendly for a nightly fee
Wood-burning fireplace
4WD/traction may be required during winter

Parking Notes: Driveway

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Baby gates

Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private






12 reviews

Barbara S. Sep 2021
Liked working with Vacasa. The home was nice but could have been a little cleaner! The grill is a fire hazard and should be replaced! There were 6 of us and it was so relaxing to sit in the gazebo every morning for coffee and watch the deer and wildlife! Would go back again, but would maybe try another home! Loved the creek running under the deck and enjoying the fire pit! Nice!
Manager response:
Barbara, we thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the house not being cleaned as thoroughly as is our standard. We will pass your comments to our property manager for review and updates. We truly hope to host you again for a more pleasurable stay!
Teresa V. Aug 2021
Great home (if you can ignore the slight cosmetic issues). We had a group of 8 adults and were only issue was that we were only provided one trash bag. The lack of trash bags is a major issue. We recommend replacing the hair pins and qtips for a box of trash bags, especially if you expect guests to drive their trash down to the golf course trash. Other than that we had a great time. The layout is perfect for a big group.
Amato N. Aug 2021
I am going to do my best to provide an honest review, but ultimately it is going to reflect my experience, which, if I am honest, was underwhelming.

Let's start with the good. Sugar mountain is absolutely beautiful: 5/5 stars. My wife and I came from Raleigh and immediately relished the cool mountain air. The natural scenery is amazing. We came with friends and went rafting, hiked trails at nearby Grandfather Mountain, and ate well at the restaurants in Banner Elk. This area is worth the trip.

The house itself is a mixed bag, but mostly accomplishes what you need. My 3/5 stars reflects the quality of the house.

The house has an old, but nice deck that extends off a good two thirds of the exterior. The main areas are nice enough, with decent a sized kitchen and living area. As other reviewers have noted, the house is rough around the edges. Door handles are coming off, small patches of drywall or floor is missing (especially in the bathrooms), and a master bathroom door that won't close properly. Everything feels like it needs some updating. And this house had the worst coffee pot I have ever come across, which is a high bar. Oh yeah, and then there was drama with one of the two showers being broken, which I will get to in a minute. This rental could be great with some investment, but without that just know you might feel a disparity between the price and the overall quality of the place. I did.

Did I mention that we periodically lost internet and power during our five-night stay? I don't know if that was a wider problem in the area or just our location. I asked Vacasa, but never found out.

This brings me to the worst part of our stay, which was dealing with Vacasa. I’d give the company 1/5 stars if it had its own rating system. Unlike other home rental services, Vacasa (not the homeowners) is your point of contact. They appear to be the property managers for their rentals. When you arrive, you'll realize that Vacasa has provided you with the bear minimum of daily necessities. You get one tiny bottle of dish soap, two total trash bags, a roll or two of terrible single ply toilet paper, and that is about it. Given that we were springing $1700+ for this trip, it would have been nice to have felt trusted with a whole roll trash bags or provided some decent toilet paper.

As I noted earlier, one of the showers was broken. I figured this out when I saw that our bill had a $250 reduction. (With the reduced price our final bill for five nights was a little over 1.5K) Originally, no one emailed or contacted me about it this. I also learned that they were taking “20%” off, but that did not include the $400+ in fees that Vacasa charged us for the rental. While I certainly appreciate the price reduction, the refund felt shady—a way to shield itself and still maintain its cut of our rental.

And that was true for the few other interactions I had with Vacasa during our stay. I asked about the power and internet and just got the kind of vague apologies that are deeply unsatisfying. To be honest, I expect to get something like that in response to this review. “We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations…” I’m good Vacasa. You can save the nonspecific apologies for the next reviewer.

Anyway, that was my experience. Hope it helps.
Manager response:
Hello, Amato! Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review with us and bringing up items that need our attention. Please know we take our guests' feedback very seriously and work hard to address and correct the issues they encountered. The shower has been fully repaired and is now usable. Unfortunately, during your stay, there were some area-wide power outages that were out of our control and we apologize that we didn't provide the right information when you reached out to us. Maintenance has been dispatched to the home to fix the doorknobs, drawers, and doors. We are sorry for the miscommunication regarding the number of toiletries, paper, and cleaning products provided in the unit prior to your arrival. We do provide starter packs of these products and anything required beyond this is the responsibility of the guests. We hope to host you again in the future.
Judy J. Jul 2021
A short drive up a curvy road on Sugar Mountain will bring you to your destination. It's close to the ski lift and 3 small mountain towns for dinner, shopping and summer activities. Overall, the house is clean; however, we noted some carpentry issues that need to be attended to such as drywall repairs in bathrooms, removal of paint splatters on the floors, nail holes on trim need to be filled, gaps on baseboards need to be caulked and repainted, remove caulk and neatly recaulk shower or replace it. These minor repairs will make the home a 5 rather than a 4 star home.
Manager response:
Hi, Judy. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement. We have passed your feedback to the homeowners as they have plans to make some renovations and updates to the home in the future. We look forward to hosting you again!
Amber C. Apr 2021
Thank you for a great stay. Great for families. Close to main attractions.
Andrew L. Mar 2021
Down the street from the slopes, restaurants, and grocery stores. Would gladly stay again.
Tina P. Mar 2021
This cabin was surprisingly perfect for our group of 12. There were 3 families with 2 kids each! The kitchen had an easy flow which was one of our selling points when choosing a cabin for this many people.
Sadly, there was only ONE wine glass so we got creative. Suggestion: add 3 more!

Rooms were tiny but it wasn’t a deal breaker. Our teenage boys hung out in one bunk room while the parents hung out in the living room! Beds were decent. Each room had its own heater.

The outside trash had not been emptied so by day 2 and only ONE meal prepped there...we had to call hospitality. That’s how full they were.

Location: was perfect! Not even a mile from the slopes! Grocery store, delicious Italian restaurant and a few others were a 5-7 minute drive away!

All in all we had a great time. Our young girls enjoyed exploring outside on the property and the creek was beautiful to listen to.

We would definitely rebook again! Thanks.
Kayla B. Jan 2021
The house accommodated us well but all of the door knobs in the entire house except for the front door were all loose. The living room and the back room with the queen bed did not have heat. On our final morning there the master bathroom toilet wouldn’t work.
Manager response:
Hi, Kayla! We appreciate you letting us know about the doorknobs, heating, and toilet. Maintenance has been able to address all of those issues. Thank you!
Amy B. Sep 2020
The house was perfect for our group of 10! There was enough space for everyone without feeling crowded. The living room is well planned for seating and play areas. We had card games, board games, computers for remote learning, movies all in the living area, as well as and outdoor fun at the fire pit! The kitchen had tons of room for food to gather around the large island. The bedrooms were perfect, including the 2 bunk rooms for all of the kids! Close enough to stores and activities, yet far enough from things to feel relaxed. A special treat is the brook that runs under the porch. It was a wonderful space for a family get together! Highly recommend!
Julie S. Jul 2020
My husband and I along with my sister and BIL really enjoyed sitting on the deck every morning and evening with a cool breeze and listening to the water from the creek - very peaceful and relaxing!
tiera j. Jul 2020
Cabin was roomy and nice, exactly as it is described. We played games every night. There is a great selection. We had an issue at check in which was taken care of immediately. Would definitely book again!