USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #656

The Sharp Cabin - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
122 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cabin with Private Hot Tub, Deck, & Basketball - Walk to the River, Dogs OK

This cozy 1500 sq.ft. Mt. Hood vacation rental cabin awaits your next ski weekend, golf retreat, or fishing getaway! This charming vacation rental cabin offers the best possible combination of rustic mountain decor and modern comforts and conveniences, all with a fantastic location within easy walking distance of the ZigZag River in the Mt. Hood National Forest.

From its exposed timber beams and warm hardwood floors to its beautiful cozy quilts, this vacation rental cabin will make you feel instantly relaxed and at home on Mt. Hood. Despite its rustic style, the cabin has been recently renovated and features plenty of comforts such as soft sofas, flat-screen TVs, wireless Internet access, private hot tub, and a beautifully equipped kitchen. The shop is open for you to tune and store your mountain equipment and there is also a basketball hoop inside so no matter the weather, 'Game On!'

The living area is open and spacious, and comfortable Pendleton style Sofa and Chair with a large live edge coffee table ready for your card game with an old-fashioned wood stove and large HD flat-screen TV for extra-cozy movie nights. Through a wide open doorway is the newly remodeled kitchen, complete with gas range, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, waffle iron, mixer, coffeemaker, coffee grinder, crockpot and all the cookware, serving ware, and utensils needed to feed a hungry group of hikers or ski/boarders. The breakfast bar has two stools for a quick bite, and a dining table with pull out extendable leafs.

In warmer weather, head out to the wraparound deck perfect for unwinding after a great day on the mountain and have a barbecue on the gas grill. The ZigZag River flows through the quiet neighborhood, beckoning you to walk down to the banks and watch the water pass by.

In the evening, take your pick from three bedrooms. Upstairs, the master bedroom has a handsome queen bed with log-hewn frame. The second bedroom has a queen bed of its own. Downstairs, the third bedroom is a festive bunk room that younger guests will love!

The upstairs loft makes a great spot for playing games or catching up, with a comfortable sitting area and a dedicated game table set for checkers or chess. Leave your mark on the unique chalkboard wall, or settle into one of the little armchairs with a good book for a little alone time while the other guests socialize downstairs. There is also another HD flat screen with DVD in the loft.

This Mount Hood vacation rental home has one full bath with a shower/tub combo, and a mudroom with washer and dryer, making it easy to keep up with hiking clothes or ski gear. While there are neighbors nearby, the cabin is surrounded by pine trees so you'll be able to enjoy plenty of peace and quiet. Walk to the ZigZag River, or head up the mountain to access miles of hiking trails, mountain biking trails, fishing holes, and alpine lakes surrounded by wildflowers. In the winter, skiing and snowboarding is just ten miles away at Skibowl, with Timberline and Mt. Hood Meadows just a bit further on. With so much fresh air, you'll have no problem finding a fun place to take your dog for a walk. Furry friends are welcome for a small nightly fee!

If you seek a cozy mountain getaway without compromising on comfort or convenience, look no further. The Sharp Cabin awaits your next Mt. Hood adventure!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games

Common areas

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining









DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Basketball court : Private


Gas grill : Private


122 reviews

Jessica P. Nov 2022
The experience with Vacasa was so bad it is hard to separate the stay from the Vacasa experience. The house was dirty, it definitely needs a deep cleaning but I also want to honor that everyone has different standards of living and interpretations of clean; I keep my own home cleaner than this one was upon our arrival. The hot tub smelled awfully of mildew. The furnace died while we were there and the zonal heaters weren't kicking on so the house got down to 50. We were told the thermostat is broken and can't be touched but housekeeping cranked it to 90 before our arrival so when we turned it down the furnace broke. Thankfully there was tons of firewood which was delightful and cozy. There are odd things like the washer and dryer are stacked in the opposite direction and the doors open the wrong way. The refrigerator door is also on backwards but again, I suppose these are things I understand only someone with a higher level of home design knowledge would be aware of. When preparing to stay here, definitely consider bringing your own bowls and beverage cups as there us not enough for eight people and consider also bringing a decent frying pan which this home lacks. The location is lovely, we enjoyed part of the original Barlow Pass, sledding, the Cascade Streamwatch and just admiring the trees. Our kids had fun and while we thought they'd enjoy the shop space, it was freezing, very loud, (the threat of the neighbors calling the police scared them) so it wasn't something we took advantage of. In our dealings with Vacasa, whoa, what awful customer service. We booked through them because they charge a few dollars less than other sites but I'll spend the extra money to get better service next time.
Manager response:
We're disappointed to read about your experience with us, Jessica. More kitchen inventory has been purchased, our housekeeping manager has been made aware of your cleanliness concerns, and the flipped breaker for the furnace has been reset. Thank you!
Julie v. Sep 2022
We totally enjoyed the Sharp Cabin. It was very clean and well stocked. The wood stove gave cozy nights. There was cut wood in the back so we had everything we needed. Will certainly stay here again in the future!
Robert A. Jun 2022
Rented the Sharp cabin for a bachelor party weekend. We all love basketball and in early June in Oregon, you never know the weather so was very excited that we would be able to play basketball in doors even if it was raining and cold. Unfortunately, the basketball courts structure is not the most water tight structure you can find. After a little rain a number of puddles started to collect on the court caused by leaking from the roof. This caused the floor to become very slick and for us unable to actually play any real game. This was disappointing. If you are just looking to play horse, then this is not a real problem but if you want to move at all, I would make sure it is going to be dry during your stay.
Other than then wet bball court, the cabin was great and would recommend it if bball is not the star of your stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for reviewing your stay, Robert, we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We sincerely apologize for the condition of the basketball court. We have passed your feedback along to our property manager and they have assured us that they are working with the homeowner to make any necessary updates to this structure. We hope to have the opportunity to truly impress you in the future.
Elena S. Jan 2022
We looked forward to stay at this cabin. It was very comfortable for two families with kids as each room had queen bed and kids room had two sets of bunk beds. Our dog was happy to have the bed provided and the towels. We were lucky to see lots of snow. However there were many things that we were unhappy about. The kitchen needs lots of cleaning, the floor and inside of some cabinets was dirty. The only big pot for a big family had both handles broken. When we arrived at 4pm, we immediately called the management to let them know that we can't open the basketball court (which was the whole reason we wanted that house in particular). No one got back to us. We figured out that the lock is most likely frozen, created the heating pad and were able to open it. For the safety of the guests, I highly recommend remove huge metal seat and other things from the garage, so guests can play without worrying to be injured. Then we found out that snow shovel is not provided, so we had to make our way to the grill, court, and jacuzzi through the snow somehow. We were grateful that someone delivered the shovel next day. Then we found out that fine for not moving the garbage out is $100, but the bin is full with garbage from the previous guests. This whole $100 fine bothered us and we were concerned that we might forget to move the garbage out on Wednesday. On Wednesday night we gathered all the stuff, but didn't find any bin for the recycle or glass. After that we found out there are no extra garbage bags in the house . We stayed for 5 nights, two families. No extra dish soap, two tiny kitchen towels, no extra paper towels. We requested all the supplies, but no one ever got back to us about it. Very frustrating! I think this house and the area has lots of potential and is super welcoming, but these little things can spoil any vacation.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Elena. The trash is picked up weekly, but they missed pickup during your stay due to the snow. Maintenance will be checking for any metal sheets. We have had housekeeping do a deep clean and reminded them to provide the standard starter kit of supplies. Hopefully the compensation provided helps alleviate some of your frustration. We'd love to see you again!
Carlos V. Nov 2021
We enjoyed this cabin so much, definitely worth staying here. Will be coming!
Marla B. Sep 2021
We enjoyed everything! So nice and clean and quiet! What else can you asks for? Will be coming back for sure
Erik S. Aug 2021
Great family space. Cozy and comfy for everyone.
Lisa S. Jun 2021
This is a lovely cabin! The setting is beautiful and the river is a short walk away. What went wrong? The oven would not work..we were planning on cooking my birthday dinner. Lots of money and time was put into food planning. My number 1 criteria for my birthday was to have a place with a hot tub. Well, half the jets didn't work at all. The third time we went to soak the heater called it quits. The management company did refund $100. I also suggest if you like comfy blankets, sheets and towels, bring your own. The bath towels were rough and smelled unpleasant. If these things were fixed oh my gosh I would rebook every year!
Manager response:
Hi Lisa, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize for the issues impacting your stay and for any resulting inconvenience. Please know that you have been issued an additional refund, which we hope shows our commitment to guest satisfaction and helps you to reflect more positively on your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our home and we’re happy to hear that you had an otherwise enjoyable birthday celebration! We’re glad to report that the hot tub has since been repaired, local management is working to replace the towels, and the oven is in the process of being repaired. We welcome you to visit again and experience all that this home truly has to offer!
Gisela A V. May 2021
It was rainy during our stay, but we had a great time in the cabin. My family appreciated all the supplies in the kitchen and the heaters worked great while we were there.
We couldn’t figure out the Netflix situation and there is definitely a lack of dvds but overall we still had a great time and my entire family fit comfortably.
Rachel D. Feb 2021
We actually really loved this house for many reasons. It has a hot tub, a barn that is a gym, 3 bedrooms and plenty of space. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the home is heated by wall heaters. The upstairs heaters worked just fine, but none of the heaters on the main floor worked which is the living room and kitchen where we mostly hung out. I let vacasa know while we were there and they just said thank you for the info. There is a woodburning fireplace that we built fires and kept them going, but it barely sliced through the cold so we found ourselves having to hang out upstairs in a small space or with coats on downstairs.
Other than that, would absolutely stay here again!!!
Meaghan H. Jan 2021
We had a great time! Quiet location, lovely trees all around, amazing wood stove, large wrap around porch, and working hot tub! Overall, this was a nice, relaxing, cozy cabin getaway for the PNW winter.

Downsides: big potholes on the lanes leading to the cabin, the tv really only works for Apple Play and DVDs, and neighbors strictly enforce quiet time at 10pm.
Kristin R. Dec 2020
The home was cozy and relaxing. However there isn’t a fenced yard which was difficult with the dog.
Also, the kitchen was missing a few essentials like measuring spoons and only had 2 wine glasses. But otherwise it was great for our family!
Manager response:
Hi Kristin, thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We take guest feedback seriously, and I have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests. We look forward to hosting you again!
Savannah E. Nov 2020
Hot tub and basketball court was so fun and the cabin was very cute, my only comment would be that the downstairs was very hard to warm up, central heating upstairs was great though. And also the trash bin outside was very very small, not enough space for trash and no recycling bin. But overall a great weekend stay!
Linjia C. Oct 2020
Cute cabin home with a basketball court in the garage! We enjoyed our 2-night stay and used the hot tub on both days. The house is close to the river, tucked in the forests, and have great space for family vacations.

Bring a lighter because we couldn't find one in the house to use the front burner.
Jasmine V. Oct 2020
Clean, tidy, and has all the cooking utensils and tools you can think of! Super cozy and warm. Will be coming back. Thank you Vacasa!
Brytt G. Aug 2020
The cabin was very clean and cozy-perfect for our family. It was well appointed with supplies and everything was easy to find and easy to use. We really enjoyed everything the cabin and the surrounding area had to offer. The beds were all really comfortable and the cabin was very family friendly for us and our young kids.
Alysa R. Jun 2020
The house was great.
We had trouble receiving the lockbox code and Vacasa did not answer us, so that was stressful.
The bunk room is best for children, not adults. The hot tub was great. The river is 2 minutes walking. The kitchen was well equipped except that we had no paper towels.
All around would stay again!
Spencer T. Jun 2020
We loved the cabin and the locations. Only issue was the pictures showed a ping pong table and the table was in very poor condition when we arrived, but we received a credit for this. Highly recommend this cabin!
Anthony F. Apr 2020
House was big, had plenty of space, the board games were nice as well. Had some minor issues with heating the place but figured it out with help of vacasa/owner. Great location and the hot tub was amazing. Felt and looked clean. Basketball hoops were really nice but the ping pong table is basically unplayable, paddles were dead. Not sure the house has been completely cleaned as the dishes were still in dishwasher, all laundry was still in washer and dryer, not dog towels were present. There was a lot of dog hair. It may just be due to the current situation with the virus right now. However, that wasn’t a big miss as we still enjoyed the place and I would recommend it to others.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Anthony. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We apologize if the cleanliness of the home left much to be desired, and we will follow-up with our housekeeping team to see that future cleans are completed to our standards. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Cory J. Mar 2020
Super cozy cabin with a great hot tub, a game room, wood-burning stove that heats the whole place and all the amenities you need. My family loves this place!
Blake B. Mar 2020
Nothing like a fireplace and a hot tub in the woods to really take a load off. Lovey home!
kendra c. Feb 2020
I enjoyed the fire place and hot tub. Beds are comfortable too.
Chris V. Jan 2020
Loved it! Highly recommend if your wanting to stay up on the mountain
Kathy G. Jan 2020
My sister and I loved this cabin especially the separate game shop. Was very dog friendly and equipped with everything we needed, except ping pong balls we had to go buy because the ones left here were all broken. It snowed during our stay which was nice and the hot tub was awesome and very clean!
EVELYN T. Jan 2020
My family loved staying here, it was cozy, clean, enough space for a family of 10 and a dog. We used all the amenities from cooking dinners to using the hot tub after a long day of skiing! The fire place was a great plus. Only thing we couldn't use was the basketball court, it was way too slippery and cold for the winter. Overall 10/10 would highly recommend staying here for a group or family!
Jennifer D. Dec 2019
We had a great stay - fantastic location, comfortable bedrooms, fireplace, and hot tub (lots of towels which was great). We would have rated it a 5 but the main heating unit in the living room was very temperamental and when we called Vacasa for help there wasn’t any follow through. Otherwise, highly recommend!
Manager response:
Hello Jennifer, thank you for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced in regards to the heating and a response from our team. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
David M. Nov 2019
Good get away weekend cabin for whole family. Bunks for kids and beds for adults. They added a new full bath on the upstairs floor which was a welcome surprise. Hot tub was good. Pole barn activity area was perfect for our group.
Bo H. Nov 2019
It was a wonderful place to stay. Some things to keep in mind though. As soon as you walk in, the whole lower level smells like dog. Second, the basketball court is extremely slippery. And last and least, the bottom bathroom floor does not lock. Just a few things. Otherwise, we loved it immensely and would come again!
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback. We have forwarded it to the manager to be addressed. We hope we can host you again!
William J. Nov 2019
Very close to Portland but you definitely feel like you are deep in the woods. Bring warm slippers in winter time!
Angela D. Oct 2019
Great cabin, great location, would definitely stay there again.
Tara M. Sep 2019
My husband and I were more than pleased with this home. When we reserved it, it stated that there was only one bathroom, to our surprise, there was an additional full bathroom! Which worked out perfectly since my brother and his wife had joined us on our trip. The decor is comfortable yet rustic. I think what we loved most about the home was the basketball hoops! Brought us back to our youth and perfect for a rainy day activity. It is also near to restaurants, a grocery store and a gas station. Overall we were very happy and may reserve it again in the future.
Brenda K. Aug 2019
Great place in every way. The only thing I didn't like is it smells like doggies live there, but it cleared up by the 2nd day.
Manager response:
We are glad you enjoyed your time at this amazing cabin! We apologize for any unclean smell it had when you arrived. We have followed up with our housekeeping team and they will pay closer attention to this moving forward. We hope to host you again soon!
Valerie M. Jul 2019
Really beautiful, clean, well appointed and comfortable cabin. Terrific location for exploring all Mt. Hood has to offer! Our family enjoyed the woodsy back deck and spa. We will be back!
Annette I. Feb 2019
A great place to bring a family.
Holly B. Dec 2018
Awesome cabin. Really enjoyed our stay. The only downfall was a sewer smell outside. Not bad enough to make us not go back but not something you enjoy while in the hot tub.
DAVID M. Nov 2018
Solid setup for a large group (8 in our case). The outbuilding is a great feature of the cabin setup.
Melia D. Oct 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the extra attention from the vacasa staff who went out of their way to help me settle in for the weekend. Everything about this home was perfect. Extremely well stocked tools, dishes, glasses in the kitchen. Lots of clean towels. Wonderful beds. Firewood for days. It was everything I needed for a productive writing retreat.
Paul R. Oct 2018
We had no major issues during our stay and it was mostly clean. We'd stay there again.

Our only complaint was the hot tub never really got hot. We set the temp to the max 104º F but it didn't feel even that warm.
Jen M. Oct 2018
Spacious, clean cabin with beautiful hardwood floors, large kitchen and bathroom, big separate rec room and comfortable bedrooms. Wood stove heated living room quickly. Simple instructions for check-in and check-out. Everything labeled and easy to find. We truly enjoyed our time here, thank you.
Josh B. Sep 2018
We absolutely loved this cabin! So close to everything, yet far enough away to feel like you are truly in the wilderness. Steps from trails that go as far as you would like in any direction along a beautiful winding stream. The neighbors were all friendly, quiet, and welcoming. The bikes were so fun to have, as was the ping pong table, the hot tub, and all the other amenities. The house was so clean, the linens were fresh, and the kitchen was really well stocked. Absolutely no complaints!

We enjoyed playing music on the front porch, and cards in the back. I can only imagine how beautiful this place is in the summer!
Hillary H. Jul 2018
This house was incredibly clean, it was well taken care of. Hot tub was nice, bedrooms were great, back patio, etc. Everything was as expected. It is the cleanest rental I have ever stayed in.

Having only one bathroom for 6 adults was hard, so I don't recommend going with the limit of 8. But - that is not a complaint! Just a warning. I would recommend them buying more fans. We went during a heatwave and it was stuffy and hot, we went out and bought fans.
Julie L. Mar 2018
My husband, our two children and myself stayed for two nights. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer. We had everything we needed. It was fully stocked with more than enough beds, linens, cookware, etc. It's nice, upgraded and spotless. Can't wait to return.
Rob A. Feb 2018
We enjoyed our time at the Sharp Cabin. With two small kids and a dog in tow, it was just enough space to spread out and feel at home while not feeling way too big. We'll be staying again in the future, I'm sure.
Karey P. Jan 2018
House was nice. Loved it was dog friendly. Beautiful porch. I didn't like our rooms are upstairs and the bathroom is on the main floor. So I had to go downstairs to pee in the middle of the night. Had games we played. Spa was great.
Carrie K. Jan 2018
Cute and cozy place and large enough to accomodate two families.
Terri B. Dec 2017
What a great 3 days we spent a the Sharp Cabin! The snow, the hot tub, and the Snow Olympics we had on the property! From basketball, to snowballs, to Ping Pong and movies - we had plenty to do. Well stocked and LABELED cabinets made our Christmas wishes come true! We were worried about having only one bathroom for the 8 of us, but it really wasn't an issue. We woke up with no electricity on Christmas Eve morning, but were delighted to find the stove was gas, and there was a coffee press - and wala! Hot coffee in the dark. We were unable to get the hot tub hot at first, but a call to Vacasa was quickly answered and a wonderful young man came to our door and promptly fixed it! On CHRISTMAS EVE too!! I would suggest this cabin to families, or two families - plenty of beds and sleeping areas! Vacasa - thanks for making our Christmas wishes come true!!!
Tom & Patty W. Dec 2017
This cabin was exactly what I hoped it would be. Delightful pine cabin decor. Comfortable beds and sofas. Nice wood burning stove. Clean. Well furnished throughout. We were very pleased and hated to leave!
Gretel B. Dec 2017
Upon arrival the place feels secluded. So pretty and clean. Quiet and relaxing. The furnishings are awesome the attention to detail amazing. The beds were so comfortable slept so well!! All the towels u need all the amenities you do not need to bring any dishes or cooking utensils. Lots of room and dog friendly! We will stay here very yr! This is a must rent cabin for fun! We snowboarded at ski bowl just two miles up the road then back home to a wood burning stove!
Stephanie B. Dec 2017
We enjoyed Thanksgiving weekend at this quiet, well-appointed home. The house was very comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed. The location is beautiful and quiet, and we especially like taking walks along the Zigzag River and lounging in the hot tub. It was a treat!
Teressa L. Nov 2017
Me and my family stayed here and it was beautiful!! Pet friendly and such a beautiful home! We will defiantly stay here again!
Alison T. Nov 2017
I can't wait to stay here again. We stayed with just our family of 5, but I think 2 families with 2 children each would have a nice time as well. The basketball hoop and ping pong table were a hit with our children.
Martha T O. Oct 2017
Cabin was lovely, and we totally enjoyed walking in the neighborhood, and the proximity to the river.
Brenda B. Sep 2017
We had a great Labor Day stay at the Sharp Cabin! The cabin is in a great location, with lots of trees surrounding it, next to the Zig Zag river a short walk away. The dogs loved it. The cabin is well furnished and very cozy. The single bathroom was a little challenging with 8 people, but we managed. The outdoor space and back yard were great for gathering and enjoying nature. There are many hiking trails and activities to do around Mt Hood, we tired ourselves out in the outdoors! I would recommend this cabin to anyone, perfect for winter or summer!
Michael P. Aug 2017
The Sharp cabin is a great property for families with children. Our family of 7 fit nicely. We would definitely rent this property again!
April J. Aug 2017
This is a wonderful cabin, in a wonderful location. The time and effort the owners have gone through to make sure the little things are provided was wonderful. What wasn't wonderful is the house keeping and maintenance lack there of. No phone service from cabin. Tried landline, nothing, no cell service. That in itself is not a problem, but paying what I did for one person to stay and have dirty sheets on beds, lights not working, hot tub broken and no way to let them know until after I left was not cool. It's supposed to be a vacation, that means not having to deal with this type of thing on vacation. So, kudos for the wonderful cabin and owners, big negative for management of place.
Manager response:
Follow-up training has been done with housekeeping, and we have taken care of the maintenance issues. Thanks for the review!
Mary Q. Jul 2017
We really enjoyed this place with our family! Thank you for the great home!
Allison R. Jul 2017
We stayed at the Sharp Cabin for my partner's 40th Birthday family celebration and had a wonderful time! The home was comfortable and clean and most everything was provided that we needed. There were a lot of activities to do at the house, as well as a short walk to the river. Morning coffee on the front porch was relaxing and afternoon games in the shop made room for making many memories. Thank you! We will be back!
April P. Jun 2017
Perfectly cozy cabin. Excellent location close to food and recreation. Cabin has everything and perfect for large or small groups. Definitely staying here again.
Nikki S. Jun 2017
This cabin was a perfect little spot for our family to get away and relax for a few days! The hot tub was a big hit with the whole family and the short beautiful walk down to the river is so peaceful. The home comes with everything you need and is very welcoming and comfortable. We had such a lovely time that we did not even need to go out and seek other activities. We would love to return someday!
Hilary M. Jun 2017
The pictures don't do it justice! It's beautiful and perfectly equipped. Close to the river (walk down)! You can open the windows at night and hear the water running! Close enough to town for supplies yet feels like being in the middle of the woods. The beds are very comfortable, the hot tub was awesome, and the fire pit made for fantastic evenings outside.
We truly love the Sharp Cabin! We will definitely be coming back! Thank you for such a wonderful experience!
Hayley M. May 2017
This was such a good find. It was a lovely cabin, plenty of sleeping room, a nice layout. The garage with basketball and ping pong is a nice touch. Had a really amazing time and it is definitely a spot I plan to return to.
Torrie H. Apr 2017
Very quiet area, great place with lots of room.
Chalina S. Feb 2017
This was a great place for our family. We especially loved the hot tub, the board games the home offered and how convenient the place was to Mt. Hood recreation sites. We can't wait to stay at this place again!
Kimberly J. Feb 2017
I spent a couple days here with a friend to play in the snow. This is by far one of the better rentals I've stayed at in awhile. Comfortable, clean and well equipped. The kitchen and the equipment provided was all that I needed to make some nice very meals. Nothing was lacking. The hot tub was especially nice and it worked perfectly.
Aiden W. Feb 2017
This cabin was perfect in every way. It was large and cute and clean and well stocked
Chantal M. Feb 2017
We had a great time at the sharp cabin. The fireplace and hot tub were a real hit along with the quick drive to ski bowl. We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer!
Jason C. Jan 2017
The Sharp cabin was great. It was very well maintained and clean. The shop/garage was great fun for the kids with the ping pong table and basketball hoop. I was grateful the wood shed was stocked for the wood stove. The upstairs gets really warm when you keep the fire going all day, which was great because it was really cold and snowy during our stay. The river was really beautiful with all of the ice and snow. I'll definitely keep this cabin in mind for future stays.
Terri M. Jan 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. Everything was snow covered during our stay and seemed like a winter wonderland. The cabin is in a quiet neighborhood and close to mountain activities. It was perfect for our family of 4. I hope to return next winter or sooner!
Tracy Y. Jan 2017
This cabin far exceeded our expectations and we enjoyed every minute. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace, hot tub and playing hoops and HORSE in the shop. We spent the week after Christmas here, perfect location for our kids who snowboard... 15 minutes to Timberline. The cabin is completely stocked, especially the kitchen... so we needed nothing. We will definitely be back to this place.... we have talked about making this our annual cabin experience..... enjoyed the walks to the creek in the snow and the close proximity to the local hangout Skyway and the Moroccan coffees..... Thank you.....
Elizabeth B. Nov 2016
We found the cabin to be very clean, but adviso, bring slippers with traction. Floors are very slippery and cold. We had everything else we needed. Kitchen was well stocked and there were extra blankets and pillows.
Katy A. Aug 2016
Our extended family (4 adults and three college students) spent four lovely days at this cabin. Very pleasant and well-appointed and in a lovely secluded location a short walk from the ZigZag river. The cabin is close to hiking trails. We enjoyed grilling and eating on the deck. and made good use of the spacious, well-appointed kitchen. The only glitch in our stay was access to the shop: the key didn't work and a replacement key didn't work either. (Shout out to the local rep Jules for responding promptly and delivering a replacement key though.) This did not lessen our enjoyment of the place since we were outside most of the time, but could affect visitors who planned to use the shop during inclement weather. Still, a great cabin and we had a lovely time.
RUSSELL K. Aug 2016
This is a great base location for the Mt. Hood and Clackamas County region. It is very comfortable for the whole family. Would definitely utilize this property again!
Special L. Jul 2016
Will be back!
Karen S. Jun 2016
We had a great experience with Vacasa and our stay at the Sharp Cabin.
Jill M. May 2016
We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful location, and the proximity to Zigzag River was a lot of fun for both kids and grown ups. The house is awesome. Ping pong, hot tub, basketball hoop, lots of relaxing spaces outdoors, plenty of space inside for two families and lots of beds. The only drawback is that there's no bathroom upstairs. It was fine for us, but I wouldn't be able to bring my parents here I think. Just something to know about. One bathroom and two families brings everyone together!! :)
Dan L. Apr 2016
Great place to stay for our Spring skiing weekend.
Jeanelle W. Feb 2016
We did not want to leave! We are wanting to make this an annual family adventure and we very much want to come back.
Sarah K. Jan 2016
The sharp cabin is clean, quiet, lovely, and a perfect place for family time. Bunks for the kids, fireplace, hot tub, large garage for running around when it's pouring outside, games, a great kitchen for hosting meals, 3 minute walk to the river, a large porch for sitting and sipping coffee and hot chocolate, and close enough to snow.
What a place! We will be back for sure!
Kathryn M. Jan 2016
Nice, well kept home. Definitely close to lots of neighbors, although the back is somewhat private. The extra garage was nice to play in since it rained the whole time we were there. No way to pump up the basketballs though.
Susan B. Jan 2016
We will definitely be back!
Traci M. Jan 2016
I was so pleased with this place. I think I will be back every winter! Thank you for sharing your home :)
Caitlin M. Jan 2016
This cabin is the dream. An easy hour drive from Portland, but it feels much more removed! The setting is lovely - you do have neighbors but they are all adorable little cabins as well and plenty of trees create a barrier between properties. We could have stayed here for weeks and been perfectly content. Plenty of space, cozy couches, a great little wood fire stove (with some firewood provided)... it's hard not to feel at home. Our trip was seemless, we had everything we needed. :)
Bethany N. Dec 2015
Our kids all decided instead of presents they would like to learn to Snowboard this year. So we rented your cabin and took them to Timberline. We had such a great time. The house was so clean and beautiful, they all said they never wanted to leave. Our 4 year old hung his head when I said we had to leave that day. Thank you for all the great memories.
Jonathan A. Oct 2015
Because h better rated, the more competition for this property. Select the Sharp House, you won't be disappointed!!
Laurie M. Aug 2015
The Sharp Cabin was so charming and well appointed. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. The shower is awesome. I figured we would spend time in the hot tub but after so much sitting in a car, we had a great time walkng in the woods, playing ping pong and shooting baskets in the barn.
Karen K. Aug 2015
The cabin is lovely and came with more amenities than we expected. The one disappointment we had was that we could not get the oven to work. The display showed "Power Failure" and none of the buttons we pushed would change anything. My niece called the phone number in the book and left a message but the call was not returned in time to cook the manicotti casserole we brought. Good thing we had plenty of other meals planned. We quickly fired up the BBQ and had burgers. This was a minor inconvenience and we didn't let it stop us from having a terrific time. I highly recommend this cabin and would stay here again.
Carrie R. Aug 2015
Beautiful,beautiful ,cabin! The pictures of the place doesn't do it justice! We loved it there!
Jana C. Jul 2015
We had a wonderful time at the cabin, with our 3 boys. The hot tub was a great way to unwind. The only small thing was that the ground floor, the house smelled of dogs, since we do not have pets, it was a little strong. But overall great great place!
Cynthia C. Jul 2015
A great spot to get away and relax. It was so quiet and peaceful. The upstairs does get warm with the high temps we've been having, but the fans did help. Loved the neighbors golden retriever, he loved coming by to see our little dogs. The back deck was a great place to hangout in the evening to grill and have cocktails. Would love to spend a snowy winter weekend sometime.
Paul B. Jun 2015
The cabin is awesome. Wonderful stay. The shop with bball and table tennis is perfect. The only thing I wish was different was more privacy. The neighbors behind the cabin are very close but the nice thing is it's another vacation rental so there's always a chance there won't be anyone there. All in all a great location and great cabin.
Heather B. Mar 2015
We loved this place. Everything was super clean..which I appreciated. Everything you could think you would need is there.. all you need is food and paper products if you stay longer than a couple of nights. If you are parents whom are a bit on edge with a layout where you are upstairs, and the kids are downstairs, you may need to bring a door alarm. My husband and I were not comfortable with the layout. The front deck had two entries , and one of them was the kids bunk room. So, the kids stayed upstairs with us. If you have an autistic child, this place was great. Our son had so much to do and loved the hot tub and the upstairs. He was very content.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! This is such a great place for families with all of the fun amenities available inside and out. We are so pleased that everyone had a great time and that your son was able to enjoy the home too! Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you had with the layout, I hope that despite that issue that you will choose Vacasa for your next trip! We look forward to having you as guests again!
Carolyn B. Mar 2015
The cabin was warm and pleasant. The large kitchen made meal preparation delightful. The shop space was fun. The hot tub was relaxing. The outdoor surroundings were soul-filling.
Rachel E. Mar 2015
We booked the Sharp Cabin for a weekend retreat at the mountain, hoping to get some skiing in! Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate with us. With consistent rain, we were held up in the cabin but still greatly enjoyed our time. The shop/game room was perfect for our three teenage boys to hang out and expend some energy and provided for some fun family competition. The board games and clean cozy house provided for the perfect afternoon relaxation.

I was a little concerned about sharing one bathroom with seven people but it ended up not being a big deal at all.

The house is beautiful and clean with updated appliances. The yard is good size but isn't fully fenced, just a note if you're bringing a dog.

Overall, I would highly suggest the Sharp Cabin, it exceeded our every expectation and was the perfect family get-a-way.
Gareth P. Feb 2015
This home is so well set up for families. Basketball area was a major hit and floor plan layout lets you keep tabs on the kids while you cook/share a glass of wine in the kitchen.
Only downside is the one bathroom, but this home is so well kept you will love it!!
Manager response:
Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you and your family enjoyed the home and the amenities it has to offer!
Gwen K. Dec 2014
We enjoyed a comfy, relaxed weekend with our adult children to celebrate Christmas early. The rain poured, and wind blew, but we had a great family time inside. We appreciated even finding Christmas themed placemats for us to use, along with plush towels, lots of kitchen/cooking/baking supplies, and a good load of firewood to keep the home fires burning. (Unfortunately, lots of wind caused power flickers, which would turn off the oven [made meals a bit more of a challenge, dishwasher etc and made watching a Blu-ray movie together a bit frustrating. The fire dept came late as a power line came down 50 yards down the street-- and the power company was replacing a pole as we left on Sunday). We enjoyed fun in the sport room (hoops and ping pong) and wished the rain hadn't poured the WHOLE time, so we could have used the hot tub more easily. [No way to keep anything dry (towels) when all was being drenched]. The bunk room is fine for adults if you move the top mattresses (more like foam pads) down to double up on the bottom beds. Plan your shower schedule wisely or some will have cold ones in the one bathroom. People with doggies would probably love the place - complete with dog bed and helps/reminders to be responsible pet owners. Some previous visitors may not have read where animals should stay off furniture, beds? We did find some kibble evidence from previous pet bringers, but overall, the place is very clean and welcoming. We'd love to come again and stay longer, but would hope for less rain so we could better use the outside (hot tub) and check out the river trails. Vacasa was helpful in accommodating our needs.
Evelyn H. Aug 2014
The cabin was roomy, homey, and comfy. It had so many convenient amenities. Furnishings and decorations were stylishly rustic. Kitchen was modern and had plenty of dishes and utensils. Loved the big screen TV. My son enjoyed the video games on the upstairs TV. The shop ping pong table and basketball court were also fun for our teenagers but there was a very mildewy smell in there. Another bathroom would have been nice and with no air conditioning, we spent a couple of hot nights especially in the upstairs area. Typically I understand that air conditioning is not an issue.
Stephanie D. Mar 2014
The cabin was tucked away in the woods, a short drive from civilization. You could hear the roaring river at night, and the birds chirping in the morning. The river is only a short walk away. Snow covered hills for hiking, sledding, or tubing only a short drive away. The cabin itself was amazing. The decor definitely set the atmosphere and the wood stove kept everyone nice and toasty (sometimes a little too toasty!). The shop with basketball and ping pong was a lot of fun too! We are planning another trip here!
Diana B. Nov 2013
I'd originally reserved a different house, but something went awry and Vacasa helped me find an alternate property and we ended up with this house for our weekend. Everyone was delighted by the property! The house is cute, comfortable, and clean. The kitchen is wonderful to cook in, the beds very comfortable, and the place was quiet - although a neighbor's house alarm went off around 2 a.m. and continued through 10 a.m. the first night.

All in all, I would definitely look into renting this place again!
Manager response:
Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We are glad that this home worked out so well for you and that you had a wonderful weekend in the end. Thanks again!
Jennifer A. May 2013
The Petersen cabin is fabulous for a party of our size -- two families with two kids each. Only inconvenience was having just one bathroom, on the first floor. Kids loved the video game system, board game selection, fun play spaces and fabulous bunk bed set-up, but DVD collection had just a few kid-friendly movies. House was extremely comfortable, secure, warm and relaxing. Loved the decor and appreciated all the small touches for our comfort!
Jean P. May 2013
Definately 5 stars for this cozy cabin! Our family has enjoyed two Thanksgiving holidays there! Dads took kids a short distance to snowboard, sled or tube while Mom's got Thanksgiving dinner ready. Kitchen is user friendly and well stocked with neccesary appliances, dishes and utensils. The living area is cozy and comfortable with warm, wood burning stove, large flat screen TV with DVD player for favorite movies. Kids have their own "bunk room" set up for any age. Two more bedrooms on second floor beckon with big fluffy beds to fall into after busy days of playing in the snow. Summer activites include a walk to the Zig Zag River to fish or short drive to the nearby golf course for a round or two of golf. Mt. Hood offers lots of summer activities, as well. We came back to the cabin after a day of relaxing and playing and enjoyed a BBQ on the covered porch. We love going to the Petersen Cabin and highly recommend it for a perfect "get-away".