USA The Columbia Gorge Washington Stevenson Listing #723

Cascade Retreat in the Gorge - Stevenson, WA

Take a Virtual Tour
118 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 (8 adults) 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

A private hot tub, stone patio & firepit with stunning Columbia Gorge views!

At the end of a twisty road overlooking the Columbia Gorge, this beautiful four bedroom/3 bath home with room for 10 offers stunning views from every angle. Linger by the firepit next to the stone patio, or lounge in the hot tub. Located on over eight acres, walking trails above the house and a large, level yard offer sweeping views of the rocky cliffs, Oregon-side waterfalls and, of course, the River.

This home's living area has with lovely surprises around every corner, with gleaming hardwood floors a common element throughout. In the sunroom, filled with plush seating and ringed with windows that offer expansive views, there's plenty of room to stretch out and relax after a day of hiking. Or hang out in the Great room -- take off your socks and warm your toes by the big stone fireplace while you enjoy the 52-inch plasma TV with Blu-ray and streaming internet.

This home has a maximum occupancy of 10. The luxurious king-size bed in the Master Bedroom faces a large window with a view across the Gorge, while the Skylight Queen Bedroom has its own full bath. The Little Queen Bedroom shares a 3/4 bath with the King. Downstairs, you'll find a 'Kids' Space' with daybed, a twin-over-full bunk and a full bath. The washer/dryer lives there also.

A very well-appointed kitchen with full-size, stainless appliances makes meal prep a joy. After you learn the area's history at the Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center in Stevenson, stop by A&J Market for a stellar selection of Washington wines, fresh, local organic produce and meats. Make time to pick up some just-caught, cut to order salmon or sturgeon before heading home to grill up a feast! The Yakima Nation's shore-side market is open whenever the "Fresh Fish" signs are out (SR 12, a few miles west of Stevenson). But whether or not you feel like cooking after a full day of hiking (or any of the many other activities here), you'll want to hurry back for a toast to the day as you watch the Gorge cliffs turn crimson in the sunset.

The location provides easy, year-round access to hiking, boating, fishing, skiing and more, yet the setting itself is secluded and free from the noise and distractions of everyday life. Surrounded by national and state parks, wildlife reserves and the magnificent Columbia River, with its world-class windsurfing and kiteboarding, you'll still be less than 20 minutes from charming Stevenson, and about 12 minutes from the iconic Bridge of the Gods.

To help you get oriented to the 'right side' of the Gorge, you will find all sorts of up-to-date guidebooks and hiking maps. Cascade Retreat is close to dozens of sites and activities in the Gorge and beyond, starting with Bonneville Dam and nearby hot springs. Beacon Rock State Park (named by Lewis and Clark for the prominent geologic feature that's also a popular climbing site) is a 5,100-acre park with lots of trails for hikers, horseback riders, and mountain bikes. Down at the river, you can fish, windsurf, beachcomb, and launch your boat. Or take the clubs to Beacon Rock Golf Course, one of five courses in the area.

Babies and children are welcome! You'll find a crib, booster seat, Pack-n-Play and age-appropriate toys and games, and a door at the basement stairs will keep little ones safe from a fall. Cascade Retreat is also elder-accessible and alternate-lifestyle friendly. With room for all, it's a great choice for families, a cluster of couples or even work groups.

Planning a special event, workshop or corporate retreat? There is plenty of room for meetings or classes in the sun room and great room, and the dining table seats eight, with seating for six in the breakfast area. Hold your wedding and reception here! Cascade Retreat can accommodate outdoor wedding parties of up to 50 guests, and our staff would be happy to discuss details and scheduling.

* Please note the cell service can be sporadic. A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Plenty of level parking - DO NOT PARK ON THE LAWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You will be charged. There is security cameras on the property, there is no tolerance for over occupancy. If we see over 6 cars, you will be warned, NO second warning, you will be evicted.

You must be 27 years or older to rent this property.





Children's games

Common areas

Game room

Meeting/banquet facilities


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Mountain view


Internet : Century Link Help Desk


Cable : Dish Network

DVD library

DVD player

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock


Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site


Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Ping-pong table


Gas grill : Private



118 reviews

Anthony S. Jul 2021
I wouldn't call this place a "retreat". One of the windows was broken and there are countless areas where the owners and Vacasa haven't done anything to fix or maintain the place. The hot tub, rooms and other areas were also dirty and I would go as far as say the pictures are misleading. One of the couples we stayed with found some pills on the floor from some prior visitors. Fortunately, her 1 year old didn't get them. Save your money and if you book ahead of time (and not last minute like us), find another place.
Manager response:
Anthony, we apologize that we dropped the ball, as this is not the high standard of guest satisfaction and cleanliness that we hold ourselves to. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager to work with the homeowner to update the home. We are currently looking for a provider to replace the windows. We have also retrained our cleaning staff to ensure they are following our standards when preparing the home for our guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Kimberly J. Jul 2021
We booked the house with friends to attend a nearby wedding. Turned out to be the weekend of a major heat wave (over 105!). Let me tell you how excited we were when we walked into AC! House description didn’t list AC and rental company said there wasn’t any so this made us very happy. House was great for our group. Views are beautiful!
Manager response:
Hi, Kimberly! We're so glad you had a great time and thank you for the review! We attempt to be as transparent and up to date with our listings as possible, but sometimes things fall through the cracks. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention as having AC can definitely make a difference in whether a guest chooses to rent a unit or not. The local staff has been notified to update the listing information. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!.
Lisa C. May 2021
Lots of wildlife and flowers.
Rachel A. Mar 2021
We loved our stay! House was very clean when we arrived.
Our toddlers loved running around the loop of the house and playing with the toys in the house (train tracks and blocks, plus some other small things). We used the house Pack and Play and it was fine. There were two booster seats in the house too. The adults loved cooking in the well-stocked kitchen and using the hot tub. Adult beds were very comfy. View is great.

Great house for the price! We will hopefully return some day!
Jeremy J. Feb 2021
We really enjoyed the house, the yard, and the nearby hiking opportunities.
Harry D. Jan 2021
This was our groups 2nd stay at the Cascade Retreat and there have been noticeable and appreciated improvements all around. Great place for a small to medium group. Check-in and out were easy. The layout and amenities in this house works great for multi-day stays. The house is clean, hot tub is big and works great. Kitchen has everything you need. TV area is separated from other areas so people can watch a football game or action movie without disturbing anyone. Upon arrival, the house was clean, bathrooms were spotless with towels and a few toiletries to get your started if needed. All beds were made and wifi worked very well. The view is impressive as well. Mona the Vacasa property manager was responsive to our request for additional propane and another tank was quickly provided (we later found the previously provided back-up - oops on our part). We will be making our year 3 reservation for next year soon.
Gayatri P. Oct 2020
This is a very spacious vacation home. Although it’s older home but has good amenities and the view from the home is really good. It’s a perfect vacation home to relax and rejuvenate.
Randy B. Oct 2020
House is older but very nice. Kitchen was setup well and main living room was cozy. Kids enjoyed pingpong and clean hot tub. Lots of sites to see in area.
Anna Z. Jul 2020
Great location and grounds, kids loved roaming the yard and playing games inside. The house is a bit outdated, but very spacious, and we had a great time there.
Timothy E. Mar 2020
This was a perfect stay for my family of 4 for a Spring Break vacation.

There was more than enough space for my family of 4 with lots of things to do in the area and in the home.

Thanks for the nice hospitality.
Caroll C. Mar 2020
The kitchen was well stocked. We found many sleeping, sitting and chatting places. Our team is 12 and we had enough room to do some team work and to enjoy the space. We even got in a few walks to enjoy the immediate area. So beautiful and restful.
aubrey b. Dec 2019
Large space, beautiful property. Could use some updating- specially the beds/ frames
Teri G. Oct 2019
House was perfect for our girls trip. If you enjoy hiking there are endless trail systems within minutes from this home. Plenty of space to enjoy your time even with bad weather!
Ed W. Aug 2019
very nice for our extended family. had wedding at beacon rock park. could not have had a better location
Ruth G. Jul 2019
Perfect house for our hiking group of 9 women. The yard with the hot tub and fire pit had a beautiful view. Lots of room for all of us in the house. Private and peaceful. Great location.
Tara R. Mar 2019
This is a lovely, spacious, quiet, serene home. It was the perfect venue for a bunch of moms to get away from kids and partners and just relax!
Ashley L. Oct 2018
The house is large and spacious. It was nice to have such a private setting for our BBQ and hot tub lounging. I would consider staying here again.
Milla W. Oct 2018
We had such a lovely stay at this spacious home. We loved having a cozy fire going, cooking in the kitchen, relaxing in the hotbtub, and taking in the beautiful view. Great proximity to Portland, Hood River, or Multnomah Falls.
Janica C. Sep 2018
We loved the isolation and the space.
Roger K. Jul 2018
Very comfortable home with adequate space for 14 adults and kids. Good hot tub, nice fire pit. Plenty of seating and space for everyone. There were a few minor items that need attention identified to management.
Gary Y. Dec 2017
The house was very nice and served our family of 3 adult couples and three children quite well. We really enjoyed the views from the hot tub and the fireplace in the main room. WiFi was slow and ireliable and there was no cellular to speak of. The DVD player was missing its connection to the main tv and the downstairs TVs weren’t hooked to cable or any devices. This wasn’t a real issue for us but the TVs down there probably would have been used if they had cable hooked up.
Kitchen was well appointed
Manager response:
We have verified the downstairs TV is connected to the Roku and operational and that the upstairs TV is correctly hooked up to the DVD player. Guests are always welcome to call if they are in need of assistance. Thank you!
Cathy L. Nov 2017
Lovely spot for a long holiday weekend. Plenty of room for 3 families with kids. The ping-pong table and hot tub were highlights! Despite the long drive from Seattle, we would definitely stay here again.
Christina S. Nov 2017
Wonderful retreat off the beaten path to enjoy family and friends!
Laure B. Oct 2017
Great family home. Lots of room, good space for families with children or teens. The hot tub was awesome, what a view! Very private. The house has an unusual floor arrangement but it worked well for us.
Edwin L. Oct 2017
We used this house for a staff planning retreat. Here are the pros and cons:
-Beautiful view
-Back yard is very relaxing with fire pit, hot tub, and waterfall.
-Living room is nice and comfortable
-Plenty of bedroom space
-Additional room at the back of the house with ping pong table and couches is nice.

-Bird poop at front entrance
-Whole house could use a fresh coat of paint
-House wasn't cleaned well
-Missing plugs from kitchen items
-Hot Tub exterior and some jets falling apart

In the end it would take just a little time and TLC to make this place go from a 2 or 3 start to a 4 or 5 stars.
Manager response:
The home has been deep cleaned, and the bird nest has been removed. Thank you!
Jamie B. Aug 2017
The road up made us a little nervous, but once we were there, I have no complaints.
The property is west of Stevenson's little downtown by about 20minutes, and east of all the swimming holes on the Washougal River, which ended up being perfect. The hot tub is giant! There is a sweet water feature! They even left us a bunch of firewood for the fire pit.
The house is comfortable with everything you could want, really.
A great weekend get away, still close to Portland.

Carol T. Aug 2017
The view and outside area were outstanding. Interior has much to be desired.
Christina K. Aug 2017
We were disappointed after viewing the pictures, house is dated and somewhat dirty. View was beautiful and there was plenty of space for our families, ping pong table was fun. Hot tub was dirty, total bummer for the kids. We were able to pick fresh blackberries!
Manager response:
The hot tub has been emptied, cleaned, and refilled. We apologize that it was not clean for this reservation.
Victor R. Aug 2017
Outstanding !!
Dale S. Jul 2017
Leslie G. Jul 2017
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful home, in an amazing setting. Golden eagles soared overhead. A doe and her fawn visited. Sweet peas bloomed all around us! The home is so spacious and was equipped with everything we needed. We will definitely consider returning!
Kody L. Jul 2017
This house has the space for more then 14 people. The views are beautiful, the house is pretty old.

Pros :
Fire pit ( I would bring camping chairs)
Water fall
Tons of sleeping space
Ping pong table
Grass area

Cons :
There was no kitchen towels
There was no garbage sacks
Tons of light bulbs were out
Some beds were terrible (mattresses were V'd and very noisy)

Things to bring:
Camping chairs
Large kitchen bowls
Spices ( they have salt, pepper, oil)
Swim towels

Customer service had room for improvement. We called because there were no kitchen towels and lots of light bulbs were out. They said they would come the next morning. We waited till 1:00Pm and the never showed up. We called again and they said they would call back and never did.
Overall we would probably stay there again. Just hope customer service would be better.

Tania M. Jun 2017
So much for our children to do! We brought yard games with us and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kids kept busy so the adults could enjoy the view and relax!
David B. Jun 2017
Overall a very nice experience for my father's funeral service. The house supported a big active family weekend pretty well. Although we had a problem with one couch bed, the staff reacted promptly to resolve.

Cell reception stinks here so setup Wi-Fi calling!
Joanne L. May 2017
Really nice home, one bed could be fix d or replac d, it's very squeaky
Ram S. May 2017
We had a family reunion and had a blast. This place had enough of everything for 11 adults and 3 kids.
View was just awesome. Very peaceful and beautiful mountain view .
Kevin M. May 2017
Secluded retreat perfect for getting away. Home and the surrounding area have all the amenities you need.
David O. May 2017
Great location and great view! House could been cleaned better and electrical needs updating along with lighting.
Lori O. May 2017
Spent 2 nights in this large beautiful home set in the hills near Stevenson, WA. It was a great place for our children and grandchildren to enjoy. LOVED THE VIEW!
Srinivas P. Apr 2017
Lynette S. Mar 2017
This was a lovely big home, secluded and private. The beds were comfy and the table big enough for our group of 11.
Sarah B. Feb 2017
We were in the Gorge for the ice storm in early February 2017 and this house was cozy and (thank goodness) large enough for us to stay sane when we really couldn't escape! There was plenty of space for three generations of my family+ to eat, sleep and relax. The kids LOVED the bonus basement space and it really enhanced our ability to enjoy the house in such unusual weather. We would love to stay here without a big storm so we could really enjoy the Gorge and the home, but we still managed to have fun.
Allison M. Feb 2017
This house suited our party of 7 very nicely. The kitchen was well appointed and we enjoyed the hot tub and ping pong table. There was, however, evidence of mice in the house. Cell reception was poor so I e-mailed Michael @ Vacasa about it and never received a reply. I understand that rodents can be an issue, especially in a location like this, but the lack of responsiveness really bothered me.
Briar S. Jan 2017
This home was wonderful, and I would love to go back again. Very spacious. The only thing that could be improved was the hot tub, it never seemed to get very hot. But the view was absolutely gorgeous!
Erin M. Dec 2016
We stayed here with 9 adults and 3 babies under 1 year old for Thanksgiving weekend this year. It was a perfect location. The property is beautiful. It is located up the hill from the river with a beautiful view of the cliffs and small area of the river visible. We even had some deer visitors one day.

The house is as advertised, lots of space and the overall house is well kept and comfortable. There were plenty of rooms for everyone and could have easily slept more if we had utilized couches or wanted to share bunk beds, etc.

The kitchen worked well. It was well stocked with kitchen basics including lots of dishes and pots/pans. There really isn't any food stored there so planning on bringing your own (flour/sugar/oil/etc). There were two separate eating areas, but the main table was big enough for all of us.

As far as kid/baby friendly - it was really easy. They have one pack-n-play, a small bassinet, and booster seats. It was easy to let the kids crawl around without worrying too much. There is also an assortment of kids toys there which was nice.

A great place for family events, hiking, and relaxation. Oh yeah, the hot tub was amazing! (They have plenty of beach towels there to use)

Stelian B. Nov 2016
this house is beyond awesome. it was very clean and comfortable. the rooms were big, and comfy. fits 12 people easily. we liked the family room a lot because it has a fireplace and a big flat screen tv to watch movies. we spent a lot of time together with the family in this room. we had an amazing overall experience.
Damara J. Nov 2016
We had a wonderful relaxing time! The home was so perfect and spacious! Loved the gorgeous views!
Lori B. Sep 2016
Very relaxing and private. Dated, but super spacious home. The home worked perfectly for our stay.
Daniel H. Sep 2016
Great location for family and friends
Gary P. Aug 2016
Great location, fantastic view. The house was great for our family, but it was very dirty, and the furniture was very old.
Manager response:
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view that surround this property, but also appreciate the feedback you have given us regarding the age of the furniture and the cleanliness of the home. We have passed this feedback along according so that our future guests can enjoy this fantastic home in peace! Thank you!
James C. Jul 2016
This home had a strong musty/mold smell.
Part of our party left early because of the smell.
The home inside and out felt like an average rental
Manager response:
The mildew smell came from a leak in the bathroom; the leak has since been fixed and the mildew smell is gone. Thank you!
Gwyn M. Jun 2016
This was our 4th time staying at this property because we love the location & amenities. It is located near many hiking trails of every level, Bridge of the Gods & Stevenson. It is easy to find & the property is large so you can spread out without any neighbors close by or hear the drone of traffic noise (though you can hear the train horn). The fire pit was great at night as was the hot tub after a long day of hiking & sightseeing. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc., as well as lots of towels, linens & blankets. It's an older house, but well maintained with room for all. We made very good use of the ping pong table as well. Lots of wildlife on the property (bunnies, deer, hummingbirds & a rare sighting of a squirrel). The house had a starter stock of dish soap & pad, shampoo/conditioner, body soap & toilet paper, but you will need to bring your own laundry detergent.
Julie E. Jun 2016
This was our second stay at the Cascade Retreat in the Gorge, using it as a base camp for day hikes around the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back for a third trip.
Robert H. Jun 2016
A beautiful view of the river cliff face and trees, it really is just like the photo! A very roomy house and very comfortable, great for the extended family getting together and just enjoying each others' company and nature for a few days.
Adam M. Jun 2016
Very nice
Hikmat Z. Apr 2016
Very secluded property , nice mountain view .
Benjamin C. Apr 2016
The home and furnishings are a little dated, but very functional, clean and lots of family friendly perks- fire pit, hot tub, ping pong table. Would defiantly use this home again if I were staying in the area.
Jon B. Apr 2016
The driveway is a bit steep but not a big deal. The view was fantastic and seeing all the stars in the hot tub at night was fantastic. The property itself was plenty big enough for the 10 of us and everything was advertised although some of the games and sports equipment was missing pieces, etc. The serenity and privacy was outstanding and the location along Hwy14 is central to many outdoor adventures, close to state parks, etc. We really enjoyed our time here.
Timothy H. Mar 2016
Amazing views! Loved the view from hot tub and out door firepit. Indoor fireplace was great for cool rainy nights. Overall clean but a bit dated. Would definitely recommend.
Lyubov P. Feb 2016
Big house. Lots of sleeping space. There's a basement with one bunk bed. Nice fire place and lots of prepared wood to burn all prepared in garage. Beautiful nature . House does needs a deep cleaning tho. They need to update the furniture and couches. Great customer service. We had issues with the grill and I called customer service next day they brought us a new one.
Amy S. Jan 2016
this was our second time there and it was great. only issue was the fridge didn't work and it beeped every 3 minutes. it would have been nice if they had told us in advance. they did provide a mini fridge but we had 8 people and had brought a lot of food to make meals. they also still charged us full price which i don't think is right since a major appliance wasn't working.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the fridge was not working for your stay; we thought that the refrigerator had been addressed and will make sure it's working properly this time. We hope you enjoyed the home otherwise!
Merlyn A. Jan 2016
I was surprised that the view from the hot tub was so spectacular and by how isolated the place felt. Lots of living room space too and a nice wood stove.
Susan M. Aug 2015
Great location for a girls or family visit. Deer frequently cross the property.
Gwyn M. Aug 2015
For the 3rd year in a row stayed here because house is close to Stevenson, conveniently close to many activities such as fishing, parks, hiking & Bridge of the Gods. Reservations are easy & staff have always been available to answer our questions. Happy to find that things have been replaced (new pots/pans) & property has been well maintained since the first time we stayed here. Looking forward to our 4th visit. As always, beautiful view of the gorge, regular visits by deer and hummingbirds & lots of running room.
Beverly W. Jun 2015
Lovely, large house with a magnificent view. Great location for awesome hikes, relaxing in the hot tub. Pingpong table was a nice addition. Lots of options of where to eat. All in all, a great place!
Faith P. May 2015
We stayed here for our annual moms/kids trip. The home accommodated our group of 4 moms and 6 kids very well. The privacy and yard provide great outdoor space for the kids to play, and with two sitting areas and two dining areas it was easy to separate the kids and grown-ups. The outdoor space is great with the running waterfall, hot tub, fire pit and gorgeous view.
Chris F. Apr 2015
Our family (5 adults and 2 children) had a magnificent time in Stevenson. My wife and I along with a friend ran a trail race and wanted a close location. The photos online are absolutely accurate, and may even understate the beauty of the area. The photo of the gorge online is definitely taken from the back yard and is not a zoomed view. The beds were comfortable, there was plenty of room for our family, and we played a lot of ping pong. There are several trails nearby and we spent all of our time in the gorge. We did not travel to Portland, but it is easily accessible.
John P. Jan 2015
We had 8 Mid & SR High youth and 3 adults to share the house which has lots of space in 4 large rooms in addition to the bedrooms for multiple activities and games when the winter rain keeps you inside. The house is very modern and well furnished. The hot tube was nice, especially the 2nd night when the clouds broke and all the stars were visible. Easy to get to and to drive up the Gorge from. The youth want to go back again and that's an A+ endorsement. Thanks.
Chris C. Jan 2015
Excellent group meeting site: The bedrooms are wonderful and the restrooms are perfect. However, the bedrooms can meet the numbers only if you are sleeping partners. Lots of space, storage, and electrical access. For a group of more than 5 adults not sharing beds, air mattresses suggested. As a working group, it was really nice to have separate eating areas. One was used to set up our computers to do our work, and had the other dining area to eat and get away from work. The kitchen was perfect and modern with all the necessary appliances and dishes. The family sun room provided excellent sun light views of visiting deer and blue jays. The 57" TV was awesome for watching the Seahawks win. With the road access being windy, it's best to arrive during daylight. The property has excellent Internet access with a router..five computers easily accessed the Internet. This was a winter meeting, so the outdoors and hot tub didn't get appreciated if it had been warmer weather. The only negative is the limited cell coverage.
CAMTU N. Oct 2014
Great place, great view. Close to everything. Btw, you have to pay $1 when you cross bridge of god to get to Columbia river gorge area so get dollar bill ready. The hot tub is awesome.
JoLyn S. Oct 2014
Beautiful house and surrounding area. We had the rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding and had family stay. We loved it and will defiantly do this again for a vacation.
Teresa S. Oct 2014
Ten women hikers rented this home for a weekend. We loved the privacy of the home. On both nights, we had a fire pit potluck in the back yard and enjoyed the sounds of the waterfall, the hot tub and the star-studded nights. There was lots of room for 10 of us to spread out. We were impressed with the quality of the linens and how modern and well-stocked the kitchen was. This house has everything one could wish for when needing a place for a retreat. Thank you!
Sandy H. Sep 2014
This is a getaway property. Beautiful views, dead end road, hot tub, and fire pit.
We never left the property which had been our plan. Hiking trail above the property, deer, hawks, bats, and bunnies!
Gwyn M. Aug 2014
We returned to this property for the 2nd time this summer, 1st time we were here in the fall. Amenities still great...fully equipped kitchen with everything you would find in your own home, wonderful soaks in the hot tub, fire pit at night roasting marshmallows, hiking trail around property & love the location...close to Stevenson, restaurants, Bridge of the Gods toll bridge, Beacon Rock, etc. On the property were added off of the main trail a picnic bench with an amazing view of the Columbia River & a short trail cut at the very peak of the main trail with a bench with another amazing point of view. This time around we saw lots of deer & rabbits on the property almost everyday, along with a shy little squirrel. We love this place, very relaxing & our son had a lot of fun running around on the trail. We look forward to staying here again & recommend this place to friends & family.
Patricia R. Jul 2014
This place is a fantastic place. Beautiful view, deer walking through, rabbits hopping around, and the scenery was unbelievable. Great place for a small family reunion, or a wedding rehearsal dinner, or friends getting together to relax!
Laura G. Jul 2014
Beautiful property, gorgeous views, spotless house, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. It provided the perfect backdrop for our wedding. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
Robin M. Jul 2014
Our group enjoyed the beautiful location and quiet serenity of this home. Lots of space for a large group. Loved the windows and the view! The home was very clean and welcoming! A nice place to relax! The location is only a few minutes from Beacon Rock State Park.
Julie E. Jun 2014
We spent a few nights using the home as our base camp while hiking and our experience was fantastic. The hot tub with the gorgeous view was great after a long day of hiking. With the waterfall feature and view, it was so relaxing. We enjoyed watching the deer that visited. The home is clean and well stocked with essentials. Everyone in our party of six said they would love to come again. Hopefully, we can make that happen.
Manager response:
Thank you for this review. I am so glad you enjoyed the gorgeous mountain views and amenities that this home offers. We look forward to seeing you again.
Robert M. Jun 2014
I really loved the waterfall, but I was concerned with how fast the water drained from the pond when is was on. Is that normal, if so than disregard.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the views this house has to offer.
Roderick G. Apr 2014
Columbia river gorge is a hikers paradise and for people who loves nature Staying at this vacation house with spectacular views, added more.
House is fully equipped. Rooms are huge and the spa,, with amazing views , is one for the books.
Great place to stay ,
Manager response:
Thanks for this great review! We're so glad that you were happy with this comfortable home with it's amazing views. We hope you come back on your next hiking trip.
April M. Apr 2014
We had amazing weather for our trip which made for a beautiful view of the gorge. There were 7 of us gals who were itching to get away from reality and this place really did it! A couple of my favorite moments included sipping coffee while lounging on the big comfy couch surrounded by windows with the view of the gorge, kicking my feet back in the hot tub with, again, the beautiful view of the gorge and of course, the sound of the waterfall as I read magazines in the hammock. All of us gals just kept saying "How beautiful!" "How awesome!" and because there's so much room inside and outside that we would want to bring our spouses and kids back for a weekend getaway. Even the echoing sound of the trains and barges were a great part of the expierence. The wind kept us from having a good firepit going on night but I would still come back in a heartbeat!
Lynda A. Mar 2014
We absolutely loved the place. It is very secluded and calming Which my family was needing!! Be prepared for a windy steep drive up though to the house. That would not deter me at all though. It was clean and very well equipped. We loved the Hot tub every day and the peace and beautiful surroundings. All I can think about is how soon can I make it back!! There was a problem with the water but the local staff were helpful and checked on us. Overall, I would stay here over and over again. I cannot tell you enough how much I loved this location and view.
Manager response:
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay. We are glad that we could assist you promptly during your stay when you needed us. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Matt F. Feb 2014
Wonderful spot for a retreat in a private area with an incredible view.
Heidi O. Feb 2014
A few of my friends and I were overdue for a ladies weekend so we found this gem and booked it immediately. Snowpocalypse 2014 decided to hit unexpectedly, but we decided to brave it anyways and we are so happy we did! We didn't get to wander too far off the property because of the weather, but the view was breathtaking and we had plenty of fun at the house. Great kitchen, plenty of places for people to gather and sleep, the hot tub is great and we all had a fun time watching a scary movie in the living room with the fireplace. I highly recommend this place and we are looking forward to coming back! Rose, the Regional Manager, even offered to allow us to stay for an extra night due to the weather but we were able to get out with the help of some friendly neighbors. Amazing weekend, thank you so much for having us!
Stefanie H. Jan 2014
We stayed for three nights with a varying amount of guests (some had could only stay for one or two nights) and a night with the max number of guests; the property was super accommodating with tons of pull-out-bed couches and blankets. Great property to let small groups break up as they'd like. Some would gravitate to the dinning/kitchen area while others would read in the living room with the fireplace. It didn't rain, so we were able to utilize the fire-pit outside! There's a decent amount of wood available on the property (that was a nice surprise). Very clean, accommodating, stocked with basics, lots of activities like ping-pong and crochet!

Lovely experience. Great way to ring-in the new year! Thank you!
Christopher C. Dec 2013
Stayed here with family. 8 of us total. Plenty of room. Well furnished. Great kitchen. Great location. They had lazer tag! Would book again for sure.
Naren N. Dec 2013
We stayed at the Cascade Retreat for two fun-filled nights. The house was comfortable enough for three families and all our kids. The house was very well-equipped; from pots and pans all the way to band-aids and ping-pong tables! The ping-pong table was a BIG hit with everyone.
The hot tub was conveniently located with a great view of the mountains (which we saw only when the clouds parted). Overall, we had a carefree weekend...and that too, barely an hour from Portland!
We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to other vacation home seekers!
Manager response:
What a wonderful time you had. Thanks for the fabulous review!
Ryan J. Dec 2013
This was a wonderful home that was close to town but felt very private and peaceful. It is well priced and the staff at vacasa rentals made sure we were well taken care of, even with a last minute rental (we called the night before we went). We didn't get much of a chance to use the hot tub, but everyone had a great time and the view alone is worth the stay.
Eric B. Nov 2013
We came here in early November for a work retreat. While we probably picked the dreariest week of the year, the home was perfect, and we had a great time. There's plenty of room to spread out, and when the clouds parted, a beautiful view was revealed. We'll be back!
Gwyn M. Oct 2013
Overall a great place to stay with the view, the fun trails, the fire pit and hot tub. The only cons were the transitions from some rooms to the hallways, which are not totally level with some rooms, and could pose a problem to toddlers learning how to walk or the elderly. This was not an issue for us. The property is well maintained, and what really impressed was the care the owner takes in offering up quality touches in the house. Great kitchen, well stocked, good dishes, great coffee maker, good TV, just a nice place to relax and enjoy. My 7 year old had a great time. I've rented high end properties in the past, mostly in ski country, and have always been disappointed at how some owners seem to offer up the bare minimum for their renters, whether it's ancient mediocre TVs, third rate furniture, or empty kitchens with poor appliances (for places costing 500$/night and up). This place was the opposite of that, and I felt as if the owner truly wanted their renters to feel welcomed. This was the best kitchen I've enjoyed, with good cookware, nice spice rack, and very nice appliances. We all felt that this was worth coming back to.
Manager response:
It was a pleasure to have you, and we're looking forward to your return!
James V. Aug 2013
We've stayed at many vacation rentals and found this one to be EXACTLY as it was presented on the web site. We were especially pleased with the furnishings and found it very comfortable and warm with the nice throw rugs, art, decorations......clear down to the binoculars on the window ledge.
Manager response:
Thank you! We hope you come back again!
Constance V. H. Aug 2013
We are two couples from Florida who visited the Portland and Columbia River Gorge areas in June. We did some camping and touring around for several days before adding the Cascade Retreat to our itinerary. We were delighted with the "Retreat." Everything from the beautiful views, the hot tub, landscaping to the very comfortable and efficient facilities were enjoyed by all. The property manager from Vasca was especially helpful and friendly. She made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Everything was clean and inviting. All our needs were met in a very professional, caring, and efficient manner. We would recommend the "Retreat" to anyone looking for a relaxing break from touring. Put your feet up, soak in the views or just soak in the hot tub. Bring some good books, or just relax and watch the eagles - no, not the rock group from the 70s. Yes, we had two eagles circling the area every day at a certain time of day. We highly recommend the Cascade Retreat.
The Fun Four from Tarpon Springs, Florida
Manager response:
Thanks so much! It was a pleasure having you, and we hope you make it back up here some time!
Carolyn Y. Jul 2013
Excellent place to get away, sleep, relax, enjoy nature - all with the comforts of home. We had 5 people stay and the house is big enough that we were together to visit and could also get away to read or sleep. Really close to everything - I loved the Fruit Loop drive near Hood River, the Locks and Dam and the boat ride by Bridge of the Gods the best. Great brewery in Stevenson when we ate out but the grocery store was close by so we also cooked on the brand new appliances, including a great gas grill out back. We saw 5 deer, including a doe and her 2 babies. They were very calm and unconcerned about us so we enjoyed taking pics and just watching them play. Super place, super location to relax and rejuvinate!! Thanks!
Julian J. Jul 2013
We loved our stay here . House well equipped, lovely setting. enjoyed hot tub and in the evening the firepit
We had two grandchildren with us aged 8 months and 2 years and house well equipped to accommodate them
Theresa R. Jul 2013
We had 6 adults, 1 toddler, and 2 babies in this house. It was so nice to have so much space. Our grandson enjoyed having toys to play with and we all loved the back yard. We used the hot tub and had campfires both nights of our stay. We also loved how secluded the house was. We would definitely stay there again if we ever came back to the area.
Manager response:
Both the bed and the dishwasher are being replaced this week. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience. and truly appreciate your patience and kindness. Thank you for being such great guests, we hope you'll come back!
Nestor Q. Jul 2013
This is a great property, with great amenities, and in a great location. The fire pit and the occasional visiting deer were especially nice. My family stayed here for a nearby Stevenson wedding and could not have been happier.
Manager response:
Thanks! We hope you'll come back again.
Anne Y. Jun 2013
This is a newly updated home with a stunning view! It was thoroughly enjoyed by guests of all ages!
Manager response: