USA Tennessee Smoky Mountains Townsend Listing #74312

Black Bear Ridge Cabin - Townsend, TN

Take a Virtual Tour
6 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Private Cabin on 5 Acres - Private Hot Tub, Central AC, Fireplace & Firepit

Abundant with beautiful scenery and wildlife, this cabin in the gated Black Bear Hollow community is a hiker's paradise. Situated on a private five-acre lot, your home away from home is just a few miles from Smoky Mountain National Park and central to hiking trails, whitewater rafting, and ample family-friendly attractions.

Enjoy the sights and sounds of nature while you soak in the hot tub on your deck. Sizzle steaks or veggies on the gas grill, then dine alfresco at the picnic table. Outfitted with wood-paneled walls and warm decor, the interior of the cabin is reminiscent of a mountain lodge. In the living room, put your feet up by the wood-burning fireplace and tune into favorite TV shows. The chef in your group will appreciate the spacious kitchen that features stainless steel appliances. Share family-style meals at the dining table that seats four. In the evenings, stargaze around the outdoor firepit.

Nearby Services and Dining Options
Cafe within 5.0 miles. Casual dining within 4.0 miles. Dine-in restaurant within 17.0 miles. Gas station within 5.0 miles. Supermarket within 5.0 miles.

Places to Visit During Your Stay

AttractionDistance From Home
Smoky Mountain Alpine Coaster10.0 Miles
Three Bears General Store12.1 Miles
Dolly Parton's Stampede12.4 Miles
Ripley's Aquarium Of The Smokies17.8 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg19.6 Miles
Crave Golf Club12.6 Miles
Comedy Barn Theater11.9 Miles
Smoky Mountain National Park - Townsend Entrance Road5.6 Miles
Cades Cove Nature Trail14.5 Miles

Things to Know
Free WiFi
For an additional sleeping option, there’s a double sofabed in the living room
Accessing the home requires a car with four-wheel drive in winter
This property is managed by Vacasa Tennessee LLC.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining









On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private



6 reviews

Jennifer C. May 2022
We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was so nice and clean. Spacious and gorgeous nature all around. The cabin had everything we needed and more. Hope to come back again.
Erynn N. Apr 2022
This cabin is so cute. Definitely quiet and private. We never saw another soul the whole time we were there. It's an easy drive to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, and we also found lots to enjoy in the surrounding area.
The kitchen is very well equipped. Everything you need to cook a nice meal at home. We also enjoyed using the gas grill. All of the detergents and little essentials were provided as well.
The cabin, as a whole, despite being a little old, was sparkling clean when we arrived.
The King sized bed was very comfortable. Nice soft pillows and bedding as well. The queen bed was a bit more firm than we liked, but not the worst we've slept on.
The main bath has a nice big tub, but the jets do not work. The hot tub DID work and was a relaxing way to end our evenings, though the wood on the back deck is starting to rot a bit and will soon need to be replaced.
The only real drawback for us was the living room furniture. That couch may be the most uncomfortable couch I have EVER sat on. We spent zero time in that room because there really just wasn't comfortable seating anywhere. So if you're hoping for fun family game and movie nights, this may not be the place. The Wi-Fi worked great, but we could never figure out the volume on the bedroom TV, so we mostly just ran around all day and came back in the evenings to relax in the hot tub for a bit, shower, and sleep.
Also important to note, the driveway (and access road) are very steep and narrow. Definitely wouldn't advise bringing more than one vehicle because there's JUST enough space to turn around so you don't have to back out.
Overall, we were very satisfied with our experience and enjoyed our time in Townsend.
Larry M. Feb 2022
We loved the cabin itself. Very clean and well kept. We booked through VRBO but this cabin is managed by Vacasa. Upon our arrival on Friday we discovered that the Comcast internet and TV were not working. This was the Olympics and Super Bowl Weekend. After about 45 minutes on the phone with Comcast they determined that the issue was the line coming into the house and would require a service call. First available was the following Wednesday which was five days later, after the Super Bowl. I called Vacasa to tell them what was going on. They said they would have to send someone from the local office out to verify there was an issue . We went hiking the next day but before we left I noticed that the Comcast cable coming into the cabin was on the ground and looked like it had been for some time. We had no contact from Vacasa that day so when we came back to the cabin I called again. They said someone from the local office had come out and verified that the cable was down. Both times I talked to them I told them when the Comcast Technician was coming and that someone from the local office needed to be there to meet them. In the mean time I had to continually answer texts from Comcast asking if we still had problems and did we still need the technician to come. I also asked Vacasa about moving us to another cabin in the area. They said there were none available. We had no internet so I couldn't check myself then. A day or so later when we had gone into town and had cell service I checked and there were other cabins available in the area that they could have moved us too. So we miss the Olympics and the Super Bowl. Wednesday rolls around and we are about to leave the cabin to go hiking again and the Comcast man comes. No one from the local office is there so I let him in and tell him the issues. He looks at the modem inside and says it needs to be replaced and that there needs to be a new cable ran. He does all of that but still no one from the local office shows up. Vacasa did refund us $300 back because of the loss on an "ammenity" but after having to deal with all of the hassle ourselves with Comcast I feel like they could have done a little more. Also, in the midst of dealing with the cable issues the first day we found that the hot tub was only about half full and had some trash in it. The cover had standing water on it. After notifying Vacasa they sent someone out who cleaned it, filled it and we were able to use it the rest of the week. They did credit us a small amount ($50) for it not being available for two nights. I will say that the different ones I talked to at the main office, which is in Oregon were all very nice and seemed to want to help. We never heard anything from anyone in the local office and again they never showed the day the Comcast person came and we had to handle all of that ourselves. We still enjoyed our stay and the cabin itself was nice. Dealing with the Vacasa maybe not so much.
Manager response:
Larry, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize you were not able to utilize the internet and cable during your stay. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer. Unfortunately, this issue could not be resolved as quickly as we would have liked. We hope that the compensation you have received has helped with some disappointment you experienced. We are thankful that you and your party loved the cabin, and we would love another opportunity to impress you in the future.