USA California California Coast Gualala Listing #8588

Windswept - Gualala, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
79 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 4 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-Friendly Oceanfront with Incredible Views, Decks & a Hot Tub - Close to Town

Wake up to the soothing sound of ocean waves at this four-bedroom Gualala retreat, an oceanfront home with a spectacular bluff-top position, a beautiful dog-friendly interior, and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from its private balconies, sunrooms, and hot tub.

Perched atop the iconic bluffs of the Northern California Coast, this two-level home sits two blocks west of an incredible stretch of California Highway 1. You'll be half a mile north of the charming galleries, markets, and restaurants in downtown Gualala; two miles south of Cooks Beach; and two miles north of Gualala Point Regional Park and the Sea Ranch Golf Links.

Comfortable, welcoming, and bathed in sunlight, this home is ideal for fun-filled summer vacations and quiet family holidays. You'll find plush seating and breathtaking views everywhere you look, whether you curl up on the sectional sofa with a book, set up a board game in the window seat, or turn on the sound dock and warm your toes by the wood-burning fireplace (logs are even provided).

Use the telescope to scan the horizon for whale spouts each morning and head into town to pick up a few breakfast fixings at the Surf Market. Back at home, you'll have a well-equipped full kitchen with a stainless steel refrigerator, specialty tools such as a coffee grinder, and a dishwasher to make clean-up fast and easy.

Sit down with pancakes, eggs, and the morning newspaper at the eight-person dining room table, or feel the warmth of the sunshine as you eat at the glassed-in patio table. Turn on the slow-cooker to get a head start on dinner, use the WiFi to plan the day's adventures, and grab your clean clothes from the washer/dryer as you head outside for the day.

Spend your afternoons walking in the sand on Cooks Beach, watching the harbor seals play near Gualala Point Regional Park, or wheeling the gas grill out of the garage for a barbecue on the deck. One adult dog is even welcome to join you here, but please be advised that he or she is not allowed on the furniture or to be unattended inside the home.

As the evening fog begins to roll in, there's no better time to enjoy the warmth of the private hot tub, which overlooks the ocean in a glass solarium. Spend the rest of the evening playing Wii with your children in the downstairs game room, choosing DVDs and videos to watch on the living room flatscreen TV, or staging a true cinematic experience on the Blu-ray with 3D capability.

At night, Windswept will accommodate as many as 12 guests in its four bedrooms and two-and-a-half bathrooms. The master suite has floor-to-ceiling windows that face the ocean, as well as a king-size bed, a private fireplace, a flatscreen cable TV, and a bathroom that connects to the solarium with a soaking tub and a stall shower. Two bedrooms offer a queen-size bed each, while the fourth has two queen-size beds. The futon in the game room also folds out into a full-size bed.

Whether you're a beachcomber or a wildlife enthusiast, Gualala is perfectly positioned to help you escape the bustle of everyday life. Gorgeously secluded on the southern border of Mendocino County, this small town is surrounded by ocean cliffs, wild beaches, and hiking trails that meander through open meadows and redwood forests.

Take a morning walk at Cooks Beach before heading 18 miles north to see the stunningly situated Point Arena Lighthouse. Tee off among the oceanfront cypress trees at the Sea Ranch Golf Links, go whale-watching in Gualala Point Regional Park, or spend a day exploring the public access trails to Shell Beach and Stengel Beach in Sea Ranch to the south. You'll also be in a perfect spot to pick up a custom pie from Upper Crust Pizzeria on your way back home.

The striking beauty of the Northern California Coast is all around you - reserve your stay at this Gualala vacation home today!

*Please note that this home is in a neighborhood that is prone to seasonal visits from ants. We always try to be proactive as possible when dealing with this issue. Thanks!

County permit number: 135468

County tax number: 1719
County tax number: 10186

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games

Common areas

Game room


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view





Cable : DirecTV

DVD library

DVD player

Gaming system

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private




79 reviews

Toni V. Jul 2022
Plenty of room for family and friends. Clean and comfy beds. Quiet, peaceful, great weather. Nice kitchen good seating. Overall house condition questionable. Stinky mold and mildew smells.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the home had bad odors during your stay. We appreciate this feedback as an opportunity to improve upon when making future improvements. Sincere apologies for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future with a much more enjoyable stay!
Antionette A. May 2022
This house is my favorite place to stay hands down. Bye Dream Inn hello Windswept.
Renee H. May 2022
Views were fantastic! Beds very comfortable! Home was very nice! Only problem was the ants were terrible. Bathroom sliding doors don't shut or lock. Otherwise fantastic home would come again!
Antionette A. May 2022
This is a very special place! I am well traveled and the unimpeded view here in unbeatable. The hot tub adds to the view but the view alone is worth it!
Omid J. Mar 2022
The location will give you a perfect view because the house is on the first row right by the ocean and has two balcony and few big windows to enjoy the view or laying by sun.
Douglas T. Mar 2022
While there are various items needing TLC....other than the ants...we enjoyed our stay.
Nancy P. Mar 2022
What a wonderful place to stay. The ocean views from the living room windows is just spectacular. The house is clean and very comfortable. The location is central to many different coastal accesses and great restaurants. We highly recommend this place if you are looking for a wonderful vacation spot. Nancy and David
Michael R. Feb 2022
The home and views were amazing. The spa was great being indoors. There were ants but not an issue. Lots of stairs. Be careful of the dining chairs very wobbly. Fixtures are very dated. Doors and windows need to be worked on. Heating system weard. Wonderful sunsets seen from a large comfortable living room.
Would stay again
Manager response:
We're so glad you stayed with us, Michael. Maintenance has treated the patio door with WD-40 and verified the heating and windows are working properly. This home is on a regular treatment program for pests. Thank you!
Diana S. Feb 2022
You absolutely can’t beat that view! Older home plenty of room. Made excellent use of the hot tub and Could not get enough of the view and gorgeous sunsets.
Birgitta H. Dec 2021
Perfect location and spacious for adults and children this rainy Christmas holiday.
Some of the household appliances were clearly not new but everything worked perfectly well. Relaxing.
We loved the place which to us represented the beauty of the Mendocino coast.
Karlin S. Dec 2021
Amazing view of the ocean, big wide open space.
Harold C. Nov 2021
Great views from any room of the house. Close to restaurants, stores, beaches. Tri-level home, so lots of stairs, but room for a good sized group.
Faye V. Nov 2021
It is a gorgeous house and nice place to stay. Beautiful views from different parts of the house. There were few little problems; One was the the smell of bathroom specially on the lower level, which probably is because of being so close to the ocean and the water level in the area is high. The other problem is the ants in the house which needs lots of attention to not leave any food accessible.
Poh Y. Oct 2021
I book the trip but unfortunately could not make it due to emergency, and have given the trip to my mother. They have enjoyed the stays and the nearby miles of trails thoroughly. The views from the house are spectacular and as only 2 of them are staying, it is a little spacious. Plenty of space for a large family gathering. They did mentioned about slight moldy smells from house perhaps from the long term elements exposure of sea and wind. Everything else were perfect for them otherwise.
Larry B. Sep 2021
The view
Manager response:
Hi Larry! Thank you for your comments! We are sorry for any disappointment regarding the view selected. We ask our guests to call our 24/7 guest service line for any assistance with locating the perfect home for their needs. We hope to host you again!
Sharon L. Sep 2021
Our whole family, my husband, myself, our daughter, her husband, and our 2 grandchildren had the MOST relaxing, enjoyable time EVER! We felt so at home! And of course, the views are to die for! The home was just the right size for all of us. We could have our own privacy and yet get together for meals each evening. We were so comfortable with our stay that we only left the home one time only to get a few groceries. That is something we appreciated to have the town so close by but at the same time feel like we were secluded on that bluff. We would HIGHLY recommend, and actually have done so to some of our family and friends, since our return to where we live. We would encourage anyone who wants a totally relaxing and enjoyable time, on the coast, this is the home to rent!
Maryellen B. Aug 2021
Unbeatable ocean and coastal views and many spots to enjoy them, inside and outside, in the open and completely protected. This is a spacious, comfortable, well-equipped house a short walk to town. The beds were very comfy, as was the ample seating in the main living area. We appreciated the firewood supplied for the two fireplaces, the very well-equipped kitchen, and the good water pressure in the showers. We would definitely rent this great place again!
Gary E. May 2021
The views were great, but there were many issues that will keep me from coming back. I read a review from 2 months before complaining about the ant problem, and the reply was that they had gotten an exterminator and taken care of the problem. There were ants on the counter, on the floor, in the windows, and many in the hot tub. I spent a good half hour each day cleaning ants just around the hot tub. Many windows are broken and one had a beer box taped over it that had out of order written on it. There was no Wii as advertised, just an old video arcade game from the 80's that the kids got bored with real fast. There was no telescope, again "as advertised." Most of the bedroom doors are pocket doors, and if you're looking for privacy forget it. They don't have any way to lock the doors and the master bedroom door is off the track in the back so it doesn't close all the way leaving a opening in the top of the doorway. The barbecue was old and filthy, with dirty utensils sitting on it when we arrived. The dishes were dirty and we had to clean them before using them. The windows had prints and smears all over them in the living room and had obviously not been cleaned. There was a water hose in the hot tub room just thrown in a big pile in the middle of the floor for you to trip over while taking off the cover. They make you check out at 10am and you can't check in until 4pm because the are working so hard to clean the house, but yet I had to spend so much time cleaning when I got there. I paid a lot of money to stay four nights and I feel like I didn't get my money's worth. They charge a lot of money to rent this house out, the least they could do is put some money in their investment and fix it up to represent the price they charge. I won't be back to this home because many of my complaints have been echoed by many others previously and the issues are still the same. If you choose to rent this home just be aware that the issues people have complained about will still be there for you.
Manager response:
Hi, Gary! We are working with the homeowner to address your concerns and have had the home deep cleaned and a few new blinds installed. The ant situation is being handled as quickly as possible. Thank you!
Nikole S. Apr 2021
The views were amazing!
Melanie T. Mar 2021
Amazing views, hot tub was great and surrounding neighborhood was lovely for a walk.
Kelly H. Mar 2021
This house is pretty incredible. A surprising number of bedrooms and beds, and the views can't be matched. Waking up every morning with ocean views and finishing every evening in the hot tub for sunsets and night time ocean relaxing was the coolest part. The kitchen is well stocked with plateware, silverware, and appliances that made cooking for several people really easy and plenty of towels in the kitchen, bathrooms, and bedrooms for everyone (including a few pool towels). As previously mentioned by another reviewer, there is no telescope as the pictures indicate, but there were binoculars which made seal and whale watching fun. I did not give 5 stars for two reasons: 1. The house needs some upkeep. Living room window is broken and won't close which gets pretty chilly. Several windows are missing screens or won't latch closed. In the hot tub room one widow has broken glass that's taped together and another with the window pane completely separated from the glass. And I think the hot tub needs to be cleaned. We still used it, but definitely noticed a film, crud, and some hair on top of the water, and we did our best to clean it out before using, but it just needs a deep clean. 2. Ants were everywhere. I'm glad we noticed the ant traps immediately so we didn't leave any food out in the kitchen, which minimized them there, but they were still crawling around the sink and coming to the traps throughout our stay. There were hundreds around the window sill and edges of the hot tub. When I would use the bathroom in the middle of the night and would walk back to my room, there'd be 3 or 4 crawling on my legs. Or watching tv in the living room and would randomly get a few on your arm or see them on the coffee table. They weren't bad enough to have us leave, but they did require us to wipe anything down before using it (hot tub, kitchen counters, sink, living room table, etc). I still enjoyed my stay, and we have talked about renting this place again in the future, but these are things I wish I had known prior to booking, and would affect whether I'd be willing to pay peak season prices vs off season prices.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying in one of our homes! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you encountered some unwelcome guests during your visit. The owner of this home called out a professional exterminator to review the home and has taken care of any potential bug infestation so future guests do not encounter these issues. Please note the blinds are scheduled to be replaced this week and we are working with the owner to replace windows in the future. We appreciate your feedback, Kelly and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future for a more enjoyable stay.
Tracie V. Mar 2021
This place looks awesome on paper, but it has some very big issues. The outside of the home could use a good power wash. It looks very dirty upon arrival. The window in the living was broken, and apparently it was known, because there was a note stating it was broken. It was hard to relax and enjoy the gorgeous view, when it was so cold from the broken window. They obviously made no attempt to close or repair the window, and no attempt was made to block the cold from coming in. We had to use pillows from the couch to try to block the cold. The blinds in almost all the windows do not work correctly. The bed in the bedroom downstairs had ripped sheets. The lamp on the bedside table didn't work. I don't know if it needs a bulb change, but we never could get it to work. The shower in the downstairs bathroom squealed loudly anytime it was turned on. The only way they didn't know about that issue was if the shower wasn't cleaned. The staircase to the downstairs bedrooms is not lighted and one of our travelers tripped on them, and fell. We had to move the nightlight near the Livingroom stairs in order to see at night. That meant we had the stairway nearest the bedroom without a light, but it seemed it was our only option. The stairway next to the kitchen has a light attached, but it was not in working order. It is a health and safety issue for sure. The couch was covered in dog hair. It had not been cleaned/vacuumed from a previous travelers with animals. I have no issue with the dogs in the home, but we pay for cleaning service, I assumed the home would be clean. The dining chairs have broken seats, and they are uncomfortable at best. The chairs need to be fixed or replaced. The final insult.... ANTS. Everywhere! We bring our own food due to dietary needs, and we woke up to ants in our food, on all the counters, and in the bathrooms. When we called to report the ants, they told us to use the ant traps in the pantry. Clearly they knew there were ant issues. They did offer to bring more traps, so we waited for them to be brought to the house, so we could set them out. For whatever reason, the person who brought the traps did not ring the doorbell or knock. They just left them out front on a bench. If we had not gone out front to use the cell phone (Bad reception inside the house), we would never have known they had dropped the traps off. All of these things individually would not be a huge issue, but combined they made for a less that enjoyable visit. It is just inexcusable that we are charged full price for a home that was clearly not in prime condition. Like I said this place has huge potential, but these issues make it hard to really believe it is worth the premium price. I am amazed Vacasa allows a home in this condition to be rented. Did they not clean and check the home before we arrived? One star for the view and the potential.
Manager response:
Hello Tracie, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. We apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned and for which we strive to provide our guests. We appreciate you notifying us promptly of the issue so that we could take the appropriate steps toward a resolution. Please know that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the experience you had is certainly not commonplace, nor is it indicative of our level of service.
Lisa P. Mar 2021
The amazing view and living room area, coupled with great friends made this a 3 star house for our stay. We did find staring at the ocean and viewing sunsets and the moon setting from the living room was the highlight. Yet do know this: the house/property needs some major attention to maintenance and general updating. Too many plastic plants collecting dust, windows that don't close or are broken, and blinds that are old, rusty, dusty and broken need to be replaced. Kitchen is decently stocked and firewood was provided. There was no telescope as pictured (if fact, don't really relay on the photos to give a completely accurate idea of the house). We arrived to a broken gutter hanging down and banging into a bedroom window which made 2 bedrooms unusable the first night. The broken window let cold February air in constantly until we found something to block the cold air. The harsh seaside weather is undoubtedly a factor in the homes current state. We found the kitchen to be stocked well but know that there are many plates and cups that are chipped. The small deck off the dining area is a very nice bonus to have, although one of the plastic chairs is cracked and unusable. If you are looking for a house that is updated, super clean and well maintained, this is not it... but again, the view and living room area definitely deliver. This is a matter of expectations (and photos) not totalling matching reality. Hopefully Windswept will get the tender loving care it really needs.
Manager response:
We have a new General Manager for this area who will be working with the homeowner to get your concerns addressed. The gutter has already been removed, as has the broken chair. Thank you for staying with us, Lisa!
Daniel H. Dec 2020
I love the view of the coastline with the waves crashing right at your feet on the rocks below from the living room window but the view from the master bedroom below the living room is even more dramatic, there is an entire wall of glass with a full view of the ocean and the rocks below it's fantastic. The only reason I give the house of 4 instead of 5 is because it's a little dated, needs new blinds, some paint here and there and a better job of cleaning the windows. The house is huge and it has a lot of stairs since it's built on the edge of a bluff. The location of the house is fantastic, the town is small so the grocery store and local restaurants are just down the street.
Manager response:
Hi, Daniel! We will be replacing the blind by the master bath, and the homeowner has started other repairs at the home to make it as comfortable as possible for our guests. Thank you!
Crystal H. Feb 2020
The house was everything it said it would be. The views are amazing, the house was well equipped and spacious. The hot tub was so relaxing.
Nancy D. Feb 2020
This house was perfect for our birthday celebration weekend. The views were outstanding, the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was big enough for mutiple people to be preparing food. This house has a nice living room area for hanging out and relaxing, and big enough that you could find a place to chill on your own if need be. A bit dated, but that didn't take away from everything else. We are already planning on coming again! Only draw back was the fry pans. Plenty of sizes, just not the quality of pans we are used to.
Manager response:
Hello Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback and have forwarded your suggestion regarding the quality of frying pans to our local management team. We do hope to host you again in the future.
Jen S. Jan 2020
The view was amazing and the layout was perfect for our group of 5 adults and 6 kids. The house seems like a work in progress as some rooms are updated and others aren’t. The house cleaners do a great job of keeping the surfaces clean but the house needs a major deep clean, replacement of blinds, windows, power wash, paint job etc. With fees etc. we paid over $900 per night.
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your visit with us. We are in the process of switching housekeepers for this home and will be scheduling a deep clean for when that transition is complete. We have ordered more wood and suggested the purchase of additional pillows to the owner. Thank you!
George B. Dec 2019
This house is the ideal coastal vacation home. The views are superb and the house is beautiful, very comfortable, very clean, and exceptionally well supplied.

The views could not be better. All but two rooms provide unobstructed panoramic views of the coast sweeping from North to South. The three decks and and the hot tub also overlook the ocean. Waves roll in from the horizon far out to sea and crash on the rocks immediately below the living room. Sea lions bask in the sun on the rocks a short way off shore.

The inside of the house is beautiful with wood flooring and simple but elegant and skillfully executed wood work everywhere. The place is well furnished with very comfortable sofas and chairs throughout. You’ll be very comfortable gazing out to sea. The beds, particularly the bed in the master bedroom, are very comfortable.

The house is fully stocked. There simply will not be anything you’ll need that you will be unable to find. Cookware, including cast iron skillets, and tableware are abundant. Cutlery and utensils of every type (with the unaccountable exception of teaspoons) are in the the draws. The kitchen is well laid out and allowed four chefs to work on Christmas dinner at the same time - without mayhem.

Bath supplies are also well supplied and towels and wash cloths are in each of the bathrooms.

To sum it up there is simply nothing missing. Our visit was perfect and I will recommend this house to anyone without hesitation.
Lynette M. Dec 2019
We spent 4 nights in early December enjoying the views and relaxing at the house. Overall the house is in good repair, the heaters worked very well and the beds were comfortable. The house has several levels and is a little challenging for the elderly or for very small children (under 2). We enjoyed the hot tub and it worked perfectly. The kitchen was well equipped with almost everything you'd need for a large group doing a lot of cooking including a reasonable selection of spices. As someone already remarked, the driveway is exceptionally steep and levels out at the bottom so some lower slung cars may scrape a bit. We went slowly and at a bit of an angle and it all worked out well. With just one car, we did not use the garage and there was space to turn around at the bottom of the drive. Did I mention that the views were great? We saw a few whales!
Eduard A. Nov 2019
Amazing view and cozy atmosphere! Everything was good. Only thing was no shampoo. Provided. Everything else was perfect.
Kathy L. Nov 2019
The view was the best part of this house. Amazing sunsets. Weird smell in master bath, possibly coming from hot tub area, but not a big deal. Would book it again.
Manager response:
Hi, Kathy! The hot tub is just off the master bathroom, so you can detect normal hot tub smells at times. We are glad to see you enjoyed the home. Thank you!
Stephanie T. Nov 2019
Ottoman broken and torn up, fan not cleaned, sink was covered in slime, kitchen smelled of fish, candy wrappers in bedside drawers, cracked toilet seat, black mold on ceiling, garbage bins nearly full upon arrival, broken chairs (either the cushioning sunk in or the legs were broken).
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Stephanie. We are sorry the home did not meet our standards for providing you with an exceptional vacation experience. We are happy to report that several updates and repairs have since ben made throughout the home to better accommodate our guests. The ottoman has been replaced as well as the toilet. All cleanliness concerns have been addressed. We hope to host you for a great stay in the future.
Diana M. Sep 2019
The views were spectacular from every viewpoint. It was spacious for our family of 12 and everything needed for cooking and preparation of food was there. Bedrooms were comfortable.
Jesse D. Jul 2019
This was a great location and awesome views.
Laurie H. Apr 2019
The view was outstanding! It was close to town and it had almost everything we needed....except body soap.
judy S. Feb 2019
the view
Robert T. Jan 2019
The views from the front of the house are truly amazing! We had a few overcast stormy days and some clear sunny days and the views were definitely the highlight of our stay. Plenty of room for a larger group, big comfortable couch in living room. Kitchen fully stocked for cooking (bring your own cooking oil, ziplock and spices) lots of dishes, pots pans and everything we needed to cook otherwise. Only a few minutes from town and a great location for a private relaxing trip we would definitely stay here again!
Colleen A. Oct 2018
The view was truly amazing. We literally watched whales breaching from both the living room and the deck. It was so cool! The house is beautiful, but could use a little TLC. It was affordable and comfortably held our family of eight and a baby. We very much enjoyed ourselves.
Cynthia B. Sep 2018
The views are so awesome! The house had everything we needed. The hot tub and large windows that opened up made watching the sunset so breathtaking! Loved our stay! The fireplace added such a wonderful touch. 😊💖💖💖💖💖
Linda F. Aug 2018
Spent 3 nights 4 days at Windswept. There were 12 of us and the house was perfect for our retreat. We plan to return!!
Janine L. Aug 2018
The view was amazing and there was plenty of shared and private spaces for our group of 10 to relax and enjoy.
EDWARD B. Aug 2018
Great for large family gathering. Beautiful setting. Close to town and the beach. Will definitely return.
Marian M. Aug 2018
The place is beautiful, one of the bedrooms closest to the main door, bed is not comfy as the others, it sucks that it does not have beach Access, Aunts were controlled but lots of traps throughout. The positive breath taken views!
Marguerite D. Aug 2018
We stayed for 5 nights, and loved it. We did not experience any ant problems during our vacation as mentioned in other reviews. The house was great and we would return. Our only complaint would be that the mattresses are in need of replacement. 4/5 of the beds had very large potholes in the mattresses and need to be replaced.
joseph m S. Jul 2018
The views were amazing! It was big enough to sleep all 10 of us comfortably and had plenty of things for the kids to do. Deer at the back door when we woke up, a sneaky fox trying to get some BBQ chicken, and lots of sea life down at the beach kept as all in awe! We hope to make this an annual summer trip.
Brandy L. Jul 2018
I sat by the widow on the window seat pretty much all day watching the ocean and looking for whales. This was a great home for my family to relax and enjoy the ocean and the sounds of the waves 24 hours a day. Absolutely loved the star gazing while sitting in the hot tub. We wished we could of stayed longer.
Mary K. Apr 2018
....the view is what sold us, and it was all we imagined. But there were some bumps. We were looking forward to the hot tub, but on arrival, found it to be somewhat suspect in cleanliness - BUT! - the agency sent someone out to drain and clean it, so we were able to enjoy two of the four nights. Other issue was the ants - we assumed the previous issues mentioned had been resolved, but found dozens - literally - ant traps through out the home, some too close to eating & cooking utensils for comfort. There was left over trash in the garage from the previous guests, wet laundry running in the dryer when we arrived. Housekeeping return to take care of the laundry, but we had to deal with the garbage - and the resulting ants - until the garbage was emptied, and we had to take it out. We cleaned the oven on the auto clean option because the it smoked when we turned it on to cook dinners - and there's no kitchen vent to help disperse the smell & smoke. The ice makes was frozen over, and failed to work even when it was removed by us and allowed to thaw out. The glass room was wonderful for relaxing, but has several leaks that became apparent when the rains started up - and we loved the rain! Also a leak in the hot tub room, along with almost every set of blinds needs serious replacement.

But - the beds were very comfortable, if a little challenging for shorter people - games for those rainy days were very much enjoyed, and it was nice to have REAL wine glasses to enjoy the sunsets with as opposed to the small ones you normally find in vacation rentals. Plenty of towels and kitchen towels - also not normal - were appreciated by all of us during our stay. Overall this is a wonderful home that just needs some TLC to bring it back to what was obviously it's past glory - Suggestion to the Owners - close it down for a week or two, fix it back up and then you'll really get your moneys worth.
Lenee D. Mar 2018
We had a great time, home was very nice, had some ant issues, but views were amazing.
Edward C. Feb 2018
Let me start by saying the fumes from this place absolutely breathtaking however upon check-in we noticed it was a serious bug problem in the kitchen and the bathroom on the couch in the Jacuzzi ants ants were everywhere.

The Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom it did not work and was permanently shut off at the breaker switch the hot tub broke day number two and The cleaning team forgot to clean this particular unit so we had to check in an hour and a half late.

However the views were stunning and the price was right but sometimes you get what you pay for
Manager response:
We apologize for the issues this guest experienced, and we have refunded them accordingly. The hot tub has been fixed, the jacuzzi has been removed as an advertised amenity, and we had an exterminator treat the home. Thanks!
Morgan G. Feb 2018
Stunning ocean views from a cute, cozy home. Would definitely rent again!
Kirsten K. Jan 2018
the home is homey. the view is stunning. I could nit pick but if you want peace and quite and a view without equal, this is the place to stay.
Mike K. Jan 2018
we enjoyed Windswept. on the plus side it is spacious, beautifully located on the ocean bluff, has great windows and views, private, quiet, and close to town. On the minus side it is dated, well-worn, and has a steep driveway. Garage is nice but no remote control.Had trouble burning green firewood without kindling. Still it is very comfortable.
Allison P. Jan 2018
The views are stunning! We saw sea lions, dolphins, and whales just by sitting on the deck off the dining room and watching the water. The amount of space was perfect- we loved that every bedroom had some sort of ocean view, and of course the master had the best view of all, aside from the living room. It is quiet and off the main highway/town just far enough to be peaceful, yet close enough to walk to town- about 20 min each way. The amenities and house quirks left some room to be desired, but those are easy fixes that would make this rental nearly perfect.
Maria T. Nov 2017
Beautiful location and nice home. Great place to relax.
Mark M. Nov 2017
While the ocean view was beautiful, my wife said she would NOT want to stay there again. There were still ants. It still had a musty smell. The whole place needs to be cleaned up. There was a bag of opened pretzels in the garage. There was a lot of "junk" in the garage and in the laundry area that did not need to be visible. Putting all the junk in closed cabinets would have created a much neater appearance. Spider webs here and there. cracked window right next to jacuzzi. In the cabinet under the TV there were some movies that could be watched but the problem was that they were VHS tapes which was just an example of how out of date the home was. All the would work in the room with the jacuzzi was very worn. I could go on and on.
Beryl S. Nov 2017
If you're looking for new and contemporary, this isn't the house for you. If you don't mind older, somewhat dated with a slight mildew or musty odor, mostly in the bedrooms, then this house would work for you. I'm not sure how much of this review will be visible to the public but there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that I addressed above and I hope get addressed. Plusses are the view and that it's pet friendly. Not kid friendly due to the stairs within the house and no area outside to play. The house advertises that it sleeps 12. The dining room table does not accommodate that many. It accommodated our group of 9. This house does not have an open floor plan making the living room quite cozy with a large group. The driveway is extremely steep so a vehicle low to the ground will probably bottom out. Unlike Sea Ranch, there isn't access to a walking trail along the bluff. This house was probably an awesome home when it was first built and with some maintenance, housekeeping and some updating has great potential. As previously stated, if you're looking new and contemporary with an open floor plan, this one probably wouldn't be for you.
Manager response:
We appreciate this review and will look into the other comments left for us regarding the maintenance and housekeeping suggestions. Thank you!
Kathryn V. Oct 2017
Gorgeous property on the ocean! The feeling of gazing at the ocean with a million stars above is hard to put into words......all while soaking in a comfy hot tub!
Plenty of choices of nearby restaurants or one mile from local market.

Very disappointing maintenance and upkeep of the property is the only aspect that soured the experience.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were any disappointments at all with this stay. We always appreciate specific feedback that will help us make improvements. Thanks!
Rhonda R. Oct 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Windswept it was very comfortable the views were amazing and we truly appreciate you allowing us to bring our dog. We hope we can get back there very soon.
Marilyn S. Oct 2017
Our group enjoyed a pleasant four nights, and being allowed to include our 4 legged little friend was a plus.
Thomas H. Sep 2017
We will be back!!
Kerry C. Aug 2017
The house is nice and has a great view (once the fog lifts). There is a mildewy smell throughout, but it is on the coast so maybe that is typical. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals; which is good because the town has few restaurants. We didn't spend a lot of time there as we were out exploring the coast. The Gualala River nearby is a good place to kayak. The driveway is very steep and your car will scrape going up and down unless you have a truck with a higher clearance. Bring your own shampoo and soap for the showers and if you need more than one bath towel per person and 1 hand towel for 4 people bring your own towels, too.
Brent K. Aug 2017
Great place to get together with a group of 4+ households. Super close to town! The master bedroom downstairs is the best! It could use an extra spare bed though. Such amazing views. Be careful of the STEEP driveway.
Tatyana O. Aug 2017
The house was much cheaper than others we looked at and I could see why when we arrived. But I have to say the views made it better. If you don't mind musty smells or killinh insects throughout the day, then this is a good deal. But I do have to say the management company was great. The entire process was simple and stress-free.
Thomas V. Jul 2017
We really enjoyed the house, biing close to town was nice also.
Kim L. Jun 2017
Celebrating a special milestone with dear friends - couldn't have picked a better place than Windswept.

The view from the hottub does not disappoint!
Smita K. Jun 2017
The house location is excellent and so are the breath taking views from the property. The kitchen is well equipped. The rest of the house is well maintained.

There were few cobwebs in the rooof deck and on the chair in the patio deck. Couple of chairs in the patio are rusted so they need to be replaced. While the ant situation isnt bad, we did notice a single line in the upper bathroom.
Lynn W. Jun 2017
Nice neighborhood, beautiful view!
Charles P. May 2017
Stephanie M. Apr 2017
This house is everything you could want and more! The kitchen is well stocked and you will have all of the resources you need for your getaway. I was afraid the house would not meet the expectations set from the pictures but it was just as beautiful as the pictures portray it. Would highly recommend! I'm going to try to make it back!
Nouf A. Mar 2017
I loved this place the view was amazing this place is nice for both kids and adults. The house had everything in it. The weather is cool and cold at night I enjoyed every detail of it.
Pauline C. Feb 2017
We will definitely come back here. A lot space in the house and surrounding by the sea and stars.