USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #8720

Mount Hood Alpine Chalet - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
38 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Charming Lodge-Style Home with Fireplace, Private Hot Tub, & Shared Pool Access

Stay at this inviting chalet nestled in the neighborhood of Timberline Rim near the Sandy River, and enjoy a revitalizing vacation any time of year. With a cozy wood-burning stove, a great deck with a gas grill and private hot tub, plus access to a community pool, you'll have everything you need for a fun stay.

Located in Rhododendron about 46 miles from the city of Portland, this home is a short walk from the shores of the Sandy River and near all kinds of outdoor recreation. There's fishing, hiking, and mountain biking in the summer, plus amazing skiing on Mt. Hood in the winter just 18 miles away.

Inside, cozy furnishings and a lodge-style feel provide a truly inviting space to relax and recharge. Lounge on the sectional sofa in the living room, complete with a flatscreen TV and complimentary WiFi to keep you entertained.

In the fully equipped kitchen, you'll have all the essentials for cooking your favorite dishes. Rustic wood cabinetry creates a cabin feel, while stainless steel appliances offer modern amenities.

Enjoy meals at the six-person dining table next to the kitchen, then head over to the living space after dinner and cozy up by the wood-burning stove.

For a breath of fresh air, head out to the beautiful back deck space. It's covered so you can enjoy the outdoors rain or shine, plus there's a six-person dining table and a bistro set for enjoying al fresco meals. After grilling up some family favorites on the gas BBQ, soak away the day's worries in your private hot tub.

With three bedrooms and two bathrooms, this home will accommodate up to six guests comfortably. The first two bedrooms each have a queen-size bed, while the third has two twin-size beds.

There are two full bathrooms with updated finishes and rustic decor, plus a private washer/dryer for your convenience.

When you're ready for a refreshing swim, enjoy access to the nearby community pool that's open in the summer months. From strolls along the Sandy River to mountain biking at the Sandy Ridge Trails just two miles away, there's plenty to do when you want to enjoy the outdoors.

You'll find local restaurants and amenities a short drive away along Mt. Hood Hwy, plus more options at the nearby town of Welches. Pick up some canoes, paddle boards, or kayaks and head to Trillium Lake for endless fun in the sun.

In the winter, this area offers stunning scenery. From snowshoeing through the snow-capped pine trees of Mt. Hood National Forest to skiing up at SkiBowl or Mt. Hood Meadows, take your pick of amazing recreation options in the winter.

Plan a cozy getaway to this adorable chalet-style home in Rhododendron - book your trip today!

* Please note that this home has outside cameras facing away from the home for security purposes only.

*Due to local rules and regulations all shared pools are closed until further notice. We encourage you to check local regulations before your trip so you can be as prepared as possible.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





Children's games

High chair



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining









DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming


Step-free access

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Board games

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared


Gas grill : Private




Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Wheelchair accessible

Limited mobility access

38 reviews

Jacob H. Aug 2022
We had a great day once we got everything cleaned up
Didn’t look like anybody had swept the back patio in a while tons of cobwebs all around the window not to mention a huge mice problem mice all over the kitchen
Manager response:
Jacob, thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We're sorry for any disappointment you experienced during your stay. We have followed up with our housekeeping team and maintenance to ensure future cleans will be completed to our high standards. A professional pest control treatment has taken place since your stay and we will make sure to watch for any new activity. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can host you again!
Kira W. Mar 2022
I recommend this cabin, it’s comfy and well located for exploring the mt hood region. It is well stocked in the kitchen. The living room is very accommodating for hanging out - especially the “vintage” blue tooth music system! Really great.
Bedrooms are quite comfortable, with lots of shelving and area to put your things. The linens and towels were fresh, soft and very clean. The whole place was really wonderfully clean!
The biggest drawback is the low amount of privacy from neighbors. There are not enough window coverings in the kitchen area so bright light shines in from the back neighbors at night (I hung a dish towel as a window shade to block the bright light), or everyone outside can see you from the street through the big front windows. In general the neighboring homes are very close. A bit more privacy in the hot tub area would be a wonderful touch - I love to see the pine trees and the dark starry sky when I take my soaks at night. Sadly, the neighbors leave their lights on all night and there is nothing blocking the view or the lights. That said, the hot tub is really a great one, strong jets and the water isn’t too chemically ! Overall, I would recommend the alpine chalet to anyone who is ok with neighbors right next door;)
Manager response:
Hi Kira. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
SeaAnna D. Jan 2021
Loved the home overall. The setup was perfect and the porch was wonderful with the outside lighting and hot tub. Kitchen was stocked and clean with pots/pans/cooking utensils/seasoning/etc.
would definitely stay again!
Angela M. Dec 2020
This was our second time renting this beautiful home and we absolutely love this place. It really does have a relaxing and soothing vibe. We really enjoyed the large kitchen, hot tub, wood stove and the skylights in the bedrooms. I highly recommend this place if you want to unplug, relax and recharge your batteries.
Jacie K. Oct 2020
When we first pulled up to the house, we were so excited. It is absolutely beautiful in an adorable neighborhood. It was clean and tidy and beautifully decorated! It was later that night that we started to notice a few negatives. There was only about a tablespoon left of olive oil for us to cook our dinner, there were NO spices at all except some table salt and pepper. The twin beds were VERY squeaky! Like you couldn’t move at all without it making the most obnoxious sounds. The last thing was the neighbor... there is a sign in the house regarding the rules and it even states on there that the neighbor WILL call the police if you’re loud past curfew. This neighbor was staring at us ALL NIGHT while we were in the hot tub chatting. We would look out the window while inside and she would be there in her kitchen window looking out at the house.. it was so uncomfortable and honestly pretty rude! Other than those small complaints, we had a wonderful time and would recommend.
Manager response:
Hi Jacie, thank you for staying with us! We apologize for any issues experienced with permanent residents. We appreciate your abiding by our Good Neighbor policy and are glad you were able to enjoy the home. Please note we do not stock any food items in the home so please bring all food you will need for your stay, including spices. We supply a starter supply of items such as toilet paper, paper towels, laundry soap, and dish soap to ensure the first night of their stay starts off well. We encourage guests to bring their preferred items if they anticipate needing more. We hope to have another opportunity to host you!
Joelena E. Oct 2020
This was a very cozy and well appointed home. The hot tub was large and ready to be enjoyed. The bedrooms and all other rooms of the home were sweetly decorated. The only thing that keeps this from being a five star rating are the twin beds. They were squeaky and also not comfortable. Everything else is lovely and we sure hope the beds are upgraded by the next time we come.
Prasad K. Sep 2020
Good house close to mount hood, 3 bedrooms and decent amenities that’s useful for a small group. Some general things to keep on mind so you know what to expect - property is old and needs a bit of work, hot tub is amazing but the backyard is unkempt and hasn’t been maintained very well, nearby houses with long term residents are very very close and you can’t make any sound after 10 PM (so definitely not a party house). Overall we had a good experience, but not the best.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Prasad! We are pleased to hear that the home met your expectations! Thank you for making mention of items in the home that need some TLC. We take this feedback seriously and please know that local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. We hope to have the chance to host you again. Thank you!
John W. Jun 2020
The house was very comfortable, charming, and clean. It had everything we needed for our stay, and then some. Lovely walks down to the river brought the children, and us parents, joy.
Christy R. Jun 2020
This house is a great place to escape and relax. The neighborhood was super quiet. Hot tub was great for relaxing after a day of hiking. Living room is comfy and the wood stove was great.
Terry O. May 2020
Had a good time escaping from the lockdown!! House has lots of room and is in a great neighborhood.
John G. Mar 2020
The house was cozy and clean. It was a short drive to the mountain, easily accessible.
Lauren M. Feb 2020
Beds were comfortable. TV room was food for us and the kids. I would suggest some older kid/adult games and a better spice rack for cooking. Maybe some Saran Wrap or ziplocks as well. Otherwise the stay was great and enjoyable.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Lauren. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your suggestions to the owner for consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Octav B. Feb 2020
Great little house. Had some issues getting in... due to a storm, the front door lock system was not working. It took close to an hour to get in. Other than that it was great!!!
Very comfortable and equipped with everything needed for a Mt. Hood getaway. The wood stove was a great touch and the hot tub was incredible, especially after a full day of snowboarding.
Manager response:
We are happy that you enjoyed this great home! We are sorry that the lock malfunctioned. It was due to a tree falling and disturbing the wi-fi. It has been checked and is working properly. We hope we can host you again soon!
Joe K. Jan 2020
Proximity to both Portland and the Mount Hood ski slopes.
Kim N. Jan 2020
Loved the location, the wooden beams and rustic decor, the wood stove and the hot tub.
holly h. Mar 2019
From the pillows to the dvd selection, the art and the games, the feeling is fantastic. I would gladly return. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Joe K. Feb 2019
It is a really nice and cozy house as we have stayed here several times. The location is great for breaking up the driving for ski trips - it is only about an hour from Portland then the final stage to any of the Mt Hood ski resorts is relatively short.
Don R. Jan 2019
We had a family gathering here, and it suited us perfectly. The hot tub was in great condition, the kitchen well-stocked for meal prep, and the beds very comfortable. The entry code was sent in a timely manner, but be sure to keep that code with you at all times because the door locks automatically when closed! It was about a 20 minute drive to Government Camp from this location. We recommend the "Netflix Special" from the Rendezvous Grill if you don't want to cook. The lasagna was amazing! Over all, a wonderful experience. We are considering returning to this place next year.
Brian D. Oct 2018
Fire place was good
Anna J. Aug 2018
This was our first time staying at the Alpine Chalet and my family of four couldn’t have been more delighted. It’s decorated with a comfortable alpine sensibility and is outfitted with comfortable amenities to match. We loved the beds (enough we asked Vacasa for details on the mattresses) and the easy to navigate kitchen. Lots of cooking and lounging around before heading to Trillium and more upon our return made this one of our favorite Mt. Hood getaways ever.
Charmine R. Jul 2018
The house is very comfortable in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
The kitchen was spacious and VERY well equipped. We spent many hours around the kitchen table visiting.
The living room was comfortable for visiting also. We enjoyed evenings there.
We also enjoyed the short distance to the river, the peace and quiet of the neighborhood, and the tall trees.
Beds were comfortable.
Kristy B. Jul 2018
The house was nice, comfortable and we enjoyed the neighborhood amenities (tennis, basketball, etc.). Hot tub was clean and kids really enjoyed it. The river is nearby - but not out the backdoor. There is a beautiful trail & stairs down to the river. Gorgeous, in fact.

Why only 3 stars then? The logistics of getting into the house were beyond frustrating. The owner uses 2 companies, Vacasa and another one. Vacasa sent an email one week prior to check-in stating that we would get the code to the front door info via an email from the 2nd company on check-in day by 9am. At 2:30pm I still didn't have that info and when I called Vacasa (the only contact info I had) I was told that they didn't have it and that I'd get it from the other company via email. But that hadn't happened (actually it never did - I still don't have it). I had to get pretty angry on the phone and insist that someone from Vacasa hunt it down for me. Vacasa finally did. I felt bad for the gal helping me because it clearly wasn't her fault. But I had no other point of contact and she wasn't allowed to give me the owner's info. I'd still be on the front porch if she hadn't gone out of her way to help. The experience was beyond frustrating - especially after a long day of travel. We ended up going grocery shopping and walking the neighborhood for over 2 hours before someone (not even sure who) sent me a text with the information for the backup lock box in the backyard (still not the code to the front door). The process made no sense and only caused frustration. It was a rough way to start our vacation. Hope they get that snafu figured out ...
Jessica M. Jul 2018
Took my family of 6 here and it was in a relaxing area below mt hood. Very clean and more than enough space for us all. In the evenings we utilized the jacuzzi and fireplace every night. One of the best places we've rented so far
Kayte T. May 2018
Nice, well kept cabin.
Angela M. Feb 2018
We loved our stay and enjoy the beautiful space and hot tub. We will definitely be coming back!
Dylan B. Jan 2018
Had a great weekend at the Alpine Chalet cross country skiing and relaxing in the hot tub with friends. Will come back again for sure!
Heather S. Dec 2017
We had a wonderful time celebrating Christmas - 2017 at this home. Loved the Xmas tree in the living room and the beds were extremely comfortable. Lots of extra blankets and room to lounge. The heater is awesome and each room has their own electric heater upstairs as well. We were never cold. Bathrooms were nice and kitchen was equipped with everything you would need to cook a good meal. We had a blast!
Brent V. Dec 2017
This rental was gorgeous, comfortable and cozy, lots of space to spread out and relax and the hot tub was key to recovering from a long day of boarding at Timberline!
Jesse G. Nov 2017
The place, location, and accommodations were top-notch and met our expectations. We were notified of an early check-in the day before in addition to an extended check-out (we took advantage of BOTH)! We celebrated our son's 2nd birthday with a fantastic snow outing and upon arrival from the slopes, we took advantage of the well kept hot tub (sans kids of course)!

Opportunities to improve:
We had one snafu when the door lock code no-longer worked and we had to contact Vacasa services. I promptly received a voicemail, email, and even text to notify me of a new code. Perhaps the digital door lock is malfunctioning? In any case, it may be beneficial to take a look into it. Another thing related to the door, it was somewhat inconvenient having the front door automatically LOCK upon closing with the input of the complex code to unlock. This was a pain especially when lugging our belongings to and from the place (in the rain and needing to keep a toddler in -doors).
Priscilla D. Nov 2017
Everything was awesome from the lovely quiet neighborhood and the hot tub, we enjoyed using the grill outside for our steak dinners. We will be renting from vacasa in the near future!
Yvonne B. Jul 2017
A beautiful home about 20 min from Timberline Lodge. It is comfortable and spacious. Kitchen has everything you need. Jacuzzi was clean and working. Only bummer is that the backyard did not have a good place to hang out. The re are some chairs but these are pretty uncomfortable and the backyard is just dirt and rocks.