USA Oregon Mt. Hood Welches Listing #961

Pappy's Cabin - Welches, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
122 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy Waterfront Cabin Right on the Beautiful Sandy River with Amazing Deck

Travel along the Mt. Hood Scenic Highway for a stay at this charming home right on the Sandy River. This designer-owned one-bedroom getaway is a real jewel in the woods with bright colors, heated bathroom floor tiles, and a large deck overlooking the river. Perfect for two seeking a romantic retreat, you'll find tall ceilings, lots of windows, and a classic style in the living room. A cozy love seat is positioned in front of the woodstove for warming up on chilly nights and there's also a flatscreen TV and WiFi. A large wooden deck has a grill for evenings preparing meals and dining al fresco, as well as offering scenic views of the Sandy River. Sit outside on the deck with your morning coffee or lay down a mat and do some yoga stretches in the evening. Or, you can roast marshmallows over the outdoor fire pit and make s'mores for an evening snack.

The compact kitchen may have a small footprint, but it's big on style, with granite countertops and everything you'll need for creating delicious vacation meals! Start the day with hearty bowls of oatmeal and finish the day with baked salmon and broccoli for a special candlelight dinner. And although there is no dishwasher, you'll be able to wash and dry together, talking about the day's adventures and making vacation memories. When it's time for bed, you'll find a cuddly queen-sized bed with a memory foam mattress. And in the mornings, you can start your day with a little luxury, stepping on heated tile floors in the bathroom with a shower stall. Come explore the Mt. Hood area at this adorable home for two and discover all that a getaway in the Oregon mountains has to offer!

What's nearby:
Located about two miles from Welches, and over 42 miles from Portland, this charming cabin in the woods is tucked under towering firs and directly on the Sandy River. Once you are ready to get out and about, you'll love the location of this Mt. Hood cabin! It's in a quiet neighborhood, steps away from the Wildwood Recreation Site, a 680-acre park with many trails, picnic areas, and old-growth forest surrounded by the Mount Hood National Forest. The main trails at this site - Cascade Streamwatch and The Wetlands trails let hikers explore the area's natural stream and wetland ecosystems in a breathtaking, scenic setting.

In winter, you'll have your pick of ski resorts - the closest being Mt. Hood Skibowl at 13 miles away, but Timberline is only a 30-minute drive, and Mt. Hood Meadows is a 45-minute drive northwest. Closer to home, there's snowshoeing and cross-country skiing in the National Forest lands, and after your outdoor adventure, come back to your cozy little cottage, put a log in the woodstove, and snuggle on the couch. On nights you don't feel like cooking, the Rendezvous Grill is about a mile down the road in Welches for fried Willapa Bay oysters and rib-eye steak with red onion and bacon jam. But you may just be tempted to stay home most nights and enjoy sunsets and cookouts out on the deck.

Things to know:
Oregon Noise Ordinance is enforced from 10 PM to 8 AM (quiet hours). Please abide by the ordinance to avoid problems or complaints.
Please note that there is an active security camera on-site pointing away from the home towards the driveway.
Please provide your own wood for the wood-burning stove. Thank you.
Please note that the home has Zonal Heaters.
The neighborhood speed limit is 10 MPH.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Riverfront

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

122 reviews

Karen J. Aug 2022
Cabin was perfect...very clean (even the gas grill!), quiet, and well maintained. Kitchen was stocked with what we needed. This is my second stay at Pappy's Cabin and would come back again and again.
Ron B. Jul 2022
Pappy's was a very nice place exactly as described. The sandy river is a few hundred feet away. It's a perfect place for a couple. We would stay again.
Staci W. Jul 2022
Sweet little getaway in the woods. Has everything you need including a riverfront seat to the sounds of the River. We left the window open at night for a “built in” sound machine. Great little spot for two.
Robin J. Jul 2022
This is a very cute cabin and it was nice and clean. Except for the dishes. Guests are expected to wash their own dishes, so(as you can imagine) they didn't do a great job. Of the 4 dishes I used, 3 were visibly dirty. There are also little unpleasant notes all over the place. Making sure that you understand that you will be charged for any misstep (like not doing the dishes, not putting the trash out to the curb, etc). Also, when I tried to watch TV it said that too many people were using the account. Come on, spring the $4.50 a month to get 4 users at a time. Anyway, it's a very lovely spot and quiet too.
Manager response:
Hi, Robin! We're glad you enjoyed Pappy's Cabin and apologize for anything that deterred from the experience. Housekeeping has been reminded to check the dishes. Guests are not charged for not doing dishes though we do ask them to be responsible and to please ensure trash is out at the curb if their visit coincides with trash pick-up. We do have a sign in the mudroom politely requesting that shoes be removed and to remind our guests of quiet hours and our pet policy and apologize if this was off-putting. While cable is not provided at this home, the home is equipped with a smart TV for guests to use. Guests will need to use their own accounts for streaming services. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and we hope to host you again soon.
Debby M. Jun 2022
We had a lovely time celebrating part of our 50th wedding anniversary at Pappy’s. The place was spotless. The housekeeper was just finishing up when we arrived. She was so welcoming and friendly! Give her a raise!!
Positives: clean as can be, nice location to various activities, bed was fairly comfortable, fun firepit for s’mores which we did last night. The sound of the river from the bedroom window at night was lovely.
Negatives: 1) Checkout is 10 am! Earliest checkout we’ve ever had. I wrote to vacasa asking for late check out since it was our anniversary but no reply.
2) You have to stand on the deck to see the river, Everytime you sit down, the view is obstructed. A wide opening with stairs off the deck going down to the back trail down to the river would provide a much better view from the deck.
3) The neighbors right to the left of us had removed most of the undergrowth between their house and the river, and subsequently had a much better view of the river which is why most people rent along the river. The trail to the river could be cleared better too.
4) Inside Pappy’s Cabin is a very large framed picture of another cabin nearby called Bob’s River Retreat. It looks sooooo much nicer and has a beach area on the river with chairs to sit in. That’s more what I envisioned at Pappy’s and that’s what was missing. I’d recommend anyone looking at Pappy’s consider Bob’s River Retreat instead! Pricing is very similar!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Debby. We are so glad you had a lovely time celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement regarding landscaping and outdoor seating options and we will be sure to forward your feedback to our local team for consideration. The deck railing is 36”-38” high, unfortunately, we cannot change it, or else it will break code. Sandy River is a federally protected “Wild and Scenic” River which means we are not able to cut any trees by the banks or within the setback area. The endangered baby salmon need shade to grow in the shallows and we are not legally allowed to cut trees down for the sole purpose of opening up a view. Trees may only be removed within the setback if they are dangerous or damaged. The cabin in the photo is actually the owner’s other property “Bob's Riverfront Retreat”. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful getaway in the future!
Chandelle W. May 2022
This was the cleanest vacation rental that we have ever stayed in! You could hear the roar of the river and the rain on the roof which makes for a serene stay. Thank you!
Jack K. Mar 2022
The cabin was very comfortable and well equipped. We thought it was a perfect taste of life on the mountain in Orego. It was a great base to visit our daughter who lives in nearby Brightwood.
Andrea R. Feb 2022
Pappy's Cabin was exactly what we were looking for to celebrate our anniversary. It was cozy and comfortable. The river is beautiful and the sounds were soothing. The temps were in the 20s, but the wood stove kept the cabin very warm. It's about a 5-minute drive from a good grocery store and several restaurants with takeout, which was a plus. My one note to visitors is that there are few available outlets in the bedroom, so you might want to bring an extension cord (we needed one for a CPAP machine). We had a lovely stay and wish it had been longer.
Latoya M. Jan 2022
Everything about this cabin was perfect!! From the cleanliness to the majestic sound of the river flowing in the backyard, our stay at Pappy's did not disappoint at all. My husband and I felt as though we were at home due to the relaxing welcoming vibe the cabin provided. Would definitely stay again and again!!
Bert G. Oct 2021
Took Three days of r&r. Loved the cabin, it was immaculate and close to river. Loved listening to river. Wood stove worked perfectly. Will rent again in future.
David P. Sep 2021
My husband and I had a 4 day weekend at Pappy's cabin and it was soooooo cute!! LOVED the way you can hear the river from every room....but if you didn't want to hear it...you just closed the window and no sound. The Cabin was updated and very clean!! The only 2 negatives I would say are....the river is AMAZING...it would have been nice to have little fold up lawn chairs to take down to the water to enjoy it....and the bed needs a foam topper! But we would love to stay at Pappy's again!!
Manager response:
David - Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be just what you were looking for. We are happy to report that we have added a foam topper to the bed as you had suggested. We hope to have an opportunity to host you and your guests again very soon.
Tony G. May 2021
Sleeping with the window open next to the river will be greatly missed!
Katie T. Apr 2021
Pros: Cozy and tastefully decorated cabin, efficient wood stove, beautiful views, close to all Mt. Hood has to offer. Radiant flooring in the bathroom was lovely in the mornings. We also really enjoyed the sounds of the river and the deck built around the trees.

Cons: Piles of miscellany and numerous No Trespassing signs within the neighborhood made us a little anxious upon arrival. House was somewhat difficult to find in the dark. We recommend bringing bottled water for drinking as the tap water had a strong mineral taste.

Summary: we wouldn’t seek this property out, but would be willing to stay again if we needed to be in the area.
Manager response:
Hi Katie  - Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We are pleased that you found the home and the area just what you needed for your vacation. Our owners take pride in their home and surrounding property. The home is a part of a real mountain neighborhood and not a vacation-specific, manicured commercial vacation area.  The “No Trespassing Signs” are posted along the river due to the popularity of the location. Pappys riverfront property has direct river access for our guests to enjoy. Neighbors properties are all private land. The water is also tested regularly. If guests choose to bring their own water they can do so. Our owners have also purchased a new reflective address marker for the home to assist in our guests locating the home in the darker hours. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again very soon!
Carl C. Dec 2020
Unexpectedly, we were graciously greeted by the owners of the cabin with a thoughtful gift as we both pulled into the drive way. Everything we needed was available and it was certainly a cozy stay for my sweet fiancé and myself. We are hopefully coming back in the summer time! Thank U
Sarah H. Nov 2020
Clean, well stocked kitchen, lots of light. It was great falling asleep to the sound of the Sandy river and rain. Wood stove kept it very warm; we didn't need the heaters on at all. Radiant floor heating in the bathroom (!!!) Close to grocery store and Wildwood rec area. Direct river access and a big deck. Perfect for couples. Had a great time!
Niki J. Nov 2020
I was hoping for a quiet place to be alone for a long weekend. This was the perfect choice! Here are some things I would have liked to know prior to my stay:
• The kitchen is well-stocked with most of the equipment one might need. I didn't see a tea kettle, though. Two trays of ice were waiting for me in the freezer.
• If it is cold outside, a fire is a MUST. I had all of the heaters on for 12 hours and my nose was still cold. After a trip for firewood, the place was warm 15 minutes after I lit the first fire. RELATED: directions for how to use the wood stove would have been great. I'd never lit a fire in a wood stove before and, as it turns out, there are some things you need to know. Thank you google.
• While inside, it is easy to forget that there are neighbors. The windows overlook trees and the river, and it was very quiet. The setting is ideal. The road to get there is a single lane dirt road - no traffic noise.
• The tv is has cable but I could not watch netflix or other streaming platforms. As such, I used my computer for the weekend rather than the tv. Replacing the tv with a smart tv is the biggest improvement the place could use. This tells you how awesome the place already is.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with Vacasa! We are glad you enjoyed the home. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. The owner has reviewed your feedback and will be including instructions for the fireplace so future guests do not encounter this issue. The home comes with complimentary firewood, and any other firewood for use with the fireplace will be the guest’s responsibility. This home does come with a Smart TV and our team regularly checks to ensure it is working. We appreciate your feedback, and please know that our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist guests with any concerns while in the home. We hope to have the chance to host you in the future!
Julia G. Nov 2020
We had a wonderful weekend stay at this cabin. Nice and cozy. Other reviewers stated that it was cold, but if you turn on all the heaters and get a fire going (plus bring some warm clothes and blankets!) it's just fine temperature-wise! The only thing I wish I had known in advance is that the tap water has a heavy sulfur smell - not a huge deterrent, just would've been a good heads up. All in all though, a really nice place. Great view of the river, close to some delicious restaurants, and a wonderful place to cuddle up and watch some TV. Would definitely return!
Manager response:
Hi, Julia! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The homeowner is putting a powered anode in the hot water tank to eliminate as much of the sulfur smell as possible. Thank you!
Amber T. Oct 2020
The details of this cabin were well thought through. The cleanliness we found upon arriving was immaculate, even I was impressed. The peace, calm, beauty that surrounds it made it truly a one of a kind spot . I HIGHLY recommend this cabin.
Abraham R. Sep 2020
Beautiful location, great for getting away from life with your partner. Only thing that was missing was any sort of instructions for the wood burning stove, or if it was not to be used, some notice not to use it. That and the bed was not super comfortable, but not terrible, either. Thanks!
Dan L. Aug 2020
This cabin is very peaceful. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and loved it. The bed was a little firm for my preference, however the couch was really comfortable as both of us fell asleep on the couch. Next time we will probably do a family getaway with our children and rent Bob's river retreat. Will rent Pappy's again though.
Jessica G. Aug 2020
Cute, clean little cabin. We arrived in the dark and drove past it 3 times no address posted in the driveway or lights on to see address on the house. The hardest bed I’ve ever slept on. Needs another night stand in the bedroom only one on one side. Had to buy a pan to cook with the ones provided were not very good at all. Super small coffee cups. Wanted to play scrabble but no board games were found like it stated in the description. Also no where to get down to the river and relax. It is an abrupt drop off with no where to sit by the river.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Jessica. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your suggestions to the owner for consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Aaron N. Jul 2020
Well built little cabin with plenty of space for two. Cute, cozy, loved it... very tidy and clean, nice kitchen, deck and grill. My only minor complaints: needs a second nightstand by the bed, could use a little landscaping to enjoy the fire pit/yard, and maybe a small spot to sit down by the river? Otherwise awesome!
Traci L. Jul 2020
Cabin was very clean, cute and comfortable. Has everything you need. Very relaxing listening to the river at night with the window open.
Jennifer S. Jun 2020
This was the perfect place for a long weekend getaway for my husband and I. The cabin had everything we needed to relax and unwind in a peaceful setting.
Shane R. Mar 2020
Very comfortable well maintained cabin. We will be back.
ramona m. Oct 2019
The hot water was turned off. When we turned it on and ran the water, the whole cabin smaller like rotten eggs. The cold water did too, but not as bad.
We could not drink or bath with the water.
The wi-fi was not working either.
There needs to be handrails installed on the steps. My father fell on them when visiting.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Ramona. We apologize for the issues affecting your stay. Wifi service has been restored and we have taken measures to mitigate any further detectable odor in the water. We hope to host you for a great stay in the future!
Teresa R. Sep 2019
Spacious and good location for sight-seeing and hiking trails.
James C. Aug 2019
Very clean with few distractions from simply enjoying the sound of the water in a wooded setting.
Brian H. Jun 2019
This was a great little cabin. My wife and I loved the coziness and sounds of the river as fell asleep.
Michael M. Jun 2019
The bed was firm and comfortable, and with the white noise of the creek it was hard to get up in the morning; slept like a log. Never heard the neighbors, only one of which is what I would consider "close". Everything worked fine. Really enjoyed the heated wood floors in the bathroom each morning. There's a Bose sound system to play DVD's and such, but we couldn't figure out how to hook up our phones or bluetooth. Just a note to not forget your speaker. Comfortable and relaxing place to stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Michael! We are so delighted that you had a pleasant stay at this charming cabin. As for the Bose sound system, there is a laminated card with instructions for use located next to the tv. We would love to host you for your next getaway!
Sonya K. May 2019
The space is just big enough to be super cozy but not feel cramped. We loved listening to the rushing river. It was incredibly peaceful and we would love to return. It was well appointed and the BBQ worked great. We also enjoyed the very vintage Trivial Pursuit game.
Nichole S. Apr 2019
It was the perfect getaway for the two of us! Close enough to Portland, but perfectly tucked away in the woods with a river right behind the cabin. My favorite thing was the heated bathroom floor - seems like a small thing, but it was pure luxury! We'll be back!
Sherry K. Mar 2019
This little cabin for two is spacious and cozy. Very clean. The fireplace really warms it up. Right on the river with a path to walk along the water.
Kris M. Dec 2018
Absolutely loved this place. Super cozy and everything you need to get close to nature without roughing it.
William C. Nov 2018
Beautiful hidden Gem. The right size, quiet street, raging river and a great 40ft walk from Cabin to River.
Adrianne L. Sep 2018
My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary, the cabin is peaceful and quaint and tucked right next to the river, only a short walk away. It is just the right size for two people, nice, clean, and very well kept. The hosts do a good job of keeping the space well stocked with everyday necessities. Our stay was perfect but way too short. Hope to visit Pappy’s Cabin again real real soon.
Esmeralda K. Jul 2018
I loved the cleanliness of the cabin, the proximity to the river, the amenities available throughout the house. I cannot wait to come back again. Thank you for having us!
Neil A W. Jul 2018
Nice area, nice cabin
Catherine M. Jan 2018
this cabin is cozy and rustic and just what we were looking for. Rustic but with most modern comfort needs like heat, hot water, good linens and a quality kitchen. It doesn't however have any wood for the wood stove which was a big disappointment for us so we had to go out and find where we could buy some which was a bit of a pain. Everything else was wonderful, if you leave the window open a crack, you can hear the river as you fall asleep, that was also very important to us. There are neighbors around the cabin but far enough away where you don't see anyone or hear them either.
Scott B. Dec 2017
Bring your own drinking water and coffee grounds. Bose system a little temperamental but it works.
Edward T. Aug 2017
Fully equipped cabin with new gas barbecue on spacious deck over looking Sandy River in the quiet woods. Great experience.
Greg W. Aug 2017
We only spent two nights at the cabin, wish it was a week. Sounds of the river right behind the cabin was so relaxing. Short distance to great hiking trails and close to the local market. What a beautiful place to chill out for a couple of days.
Jody K. Aug 2017
My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cabin. We loved falling asleep & awakening to the sounds of the Sandy river nearby. Being able to see the river sparkling with sunlight through the trees from the awesome deck was a treat. The cabin was just the right size for the two of us & was a delightful place for us to relax, in between venturing out to explore the area.
Kimberley H. Jul 2017
We loved our stay!
Lisa Marie S. Jul 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. It was very nice to explore a new spot in Oregon.
Kaveh M. Jun 2017
the only problem there was the time flied :)
Guy S. Jun 2017
Everything was just as the website indicated, the pics of the cabin are accurate , make sure that what's is included in the rental is read thoroughly. We took our own logs for the burner and fire put and also charcoal etc for the kettle BBQ. Our 3 night break as part of a month long touring holiday was idyllic, thank you Pappy's
Sarah B. Jun 2017
This place was great for a couple. We had a great time and went on a couple hikes in the area. We cooked all our meals at the house and it was relatively well stocked with cooking stuff. (There was no cookie sheet for roasting veggies!) My biggest gripe would be that the couch is ridiculous. It's not at all comfortable and so narrow!!! Not a good couch to hang out, relax, and snuggle up. Otherwise everything was lovely!
Eduardo B. Mar 2017
This place is cozy and has everything needed for a relaxing weekend. It is located just next to the river and the surroundings are very quiet. It is also conveniently located very close to Government camp and several hiking trails. We would be happy to come back again.

The DVD collection is limited, so plan ahead if you plan to watch movies. If you are coming by public transport there is a half a mile walk from Mount Hood Senior Center, which might be uncomfortable with rain and backpacks.
Derek G. Jan 2017
Great weekend get away just outside the city of Portland. Will definitely look to book another stay here in the summer.
Kristen M. Jan 2017
Great place to stay when you are wanting to go up to Mt Hood. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom and the wood stove. The couch and bed aren't the most comfortable but for our short stay it was just fine. Will definitely back if its available.
Kelly W. Dec 2016
The sofa was very uncomfortable as other guests have indicated. The property was freezing when we arrived. The heaters were poor and did very little to keep the house warm. The only way to get house warm was woodstove. Instructions on how to use heating units and wood stoves were not available. I called vacasa, emailed and finally tweeted them to get a response on how to use heating units and wood stove. This took 4 hours. Nothing was done to compensate for slow response time. With the ridiculously high fees I would have expected more. I won't use vacasa ever again or recommend to friends and family.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize that we were not quicker to respond to this guest's needs. The Property Manager has placed extra blankets in the home and instructions on how to use the heat.
Steven G. Oct 2016
Nice cabin peaceful and serene. The sound of the water running down the Sandy river was perfect to go to sleep at night.
Eric L. Sep 2016
Great little quiet get away.
James H. Sep 2016
Nice location and very peaceful.
Johnnie M. Aug 2016
I went to Pappy's Cabin for a solo writing retreat. It had everything I needed for a simple, quiet insular weekend away so I could focus on my novel. Loved the location and the sound of the river rushing by just outside. Nice and quiet. It was the perfect spot for my purposes. I'd definitely visit again!
Neil F. Aug 2016
Fun place for the two of us. The couch was very uncomfortable, would have be nice to have a relaxing place to sit. Otherwise good. Water was off for most of a day but then OK. A bit spendy for the amenities. Relaxing and quiet. We would go again.
Randy B. Aug 2016
stay here
Terri H. Aug 2016
We enjoyed our recent stay at Pappy's cabin; especially the sweet sound of the river. Although the underbrush on the property doesn't allow for a clear view, we sat on the deck each evening and listened to nature's lullaby. We would stay here again.
Megan G. Aug 2016
I had a wonderful personal retreat, such a quiet spot and the deck is fantastic! I'll be back!
Bill M. Jul 2016
A very nice place for two people but accessing the river is difficult as the trail is overgrown.
Edward T. Jul 2016
A great location and a very relaxing time. It's far enough from the beaten path as not to realize it's there but close enough to all modern conveniences. The sound of the Sandy will mesmerize and remain in your mind!
Holly M. Jun 2016
I would say this rental would be best utilized by residents of Oregon that travel here from their homes by car because you can bring the amenities that you may want or need. Because we came from the other coast, we could not pack items we would use to grill, stay cool, etc. The cabin was very clean though, which was very appreciated.
Karen M. Jun 2016
We truly enjoyed our stay at Pappy's Cabin. The cabin is just the right size for two and the amenities were perfect. I appreciate the updates to the cabin while retaining the woodsy feel. The heated floor in the bathroom is an excellent feature. The deck was a favorite place for us. There is a lot of nature to explore in the immediate vicinity, so we didn't have far to go for fun. My only disappointment was not being able to see the river from the cabin. But that wouldn't keep me from staying here again.
Kathryn H. Mar 2016
Really liked the modern appliances and enjoyed having a stereo in the rental. Had easy access to the river and loved being able to open the windows and hear the water. Even though it's on a residential street, the cabin is oriented so that you barely notice your neighbors. Only a couple of minor complaints. The kitchen had minimal cooking supplies (one very dull knife, only plastic glassware), and there was no access to basic cleaning supplies (vacuum, laundry, dust pan). The heated bathroom floor and heat lamps were awesome in the bathroom, but the shower head just didn't cut it. But overall, this was a great rental!
Jessica B. Jan 2016
I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable and perfectly located this cabin was. Although it's meant for only two guests, it really feels much bigger. We will stay here again.
Christina S. Dec 2015
Our experience was great! The cozy cabin gave my fiancé and I just the get a away we needed. Everything went well and the area was beautiful. I would definitely go again!
Erin B. Nov 2015
Very clean and cozy. The pictures hardly do it justice. Lots of places close by to hike/walk.
Aimee B. Sep 2015
We loved the cabin! It was small and quaint and stayed plenty cool all day during the high 80's temp. Everything was very clean and orderly and just as the site said it would be. One note, there is no sarain wrap, plastic baggies, foil or tuberware so if you plan on cooking meals that will have left overs you better pic up some items at the store. And be sure to grocery shop in Sandy on the way in to the cabin at the Safeway because the Throftway grocery store close by the cabin is highly overpriced.
Dale H. Sep 2015
Just a few additions would make it some much better.
Bill M. Aug 2015
a very relaxing place with the Sandy river as background music. CD player and cd's were a bonus. Maybe upgrade to an IPOD dock
Christine S. Jul 2015
Pappy's Cabin was great! The neighborhood was quiet, and the cabin was very quaint. We went to a nearby grocery store to pick up food for the week, and cooked everything at home. The bed was comfortable, and the scenery was fantastic. We loved being able to go to the river behind the cabin. It was perfect for a small family or a couple's retreat!
Loretta G. Jul 2015
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the cozy cabin. The TV and internet were appreciated! Our only frustration was with the very low water pressure in the shower (rest of the cabin has great pressure).
Laila D. Jul 2015
lovely cabin and quite peaceful too. Thank you
Anna C. May 2015
Not a huge cabin, but definitely nice for a couple's stay. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom, accommodations were very clean and loved the washer/dryer convenience. Thanks!
Rod N. May 2015
I stayed 4 days/3 nights at Pappy's Cabin. It was quiet, cozy and relaxing. All the items you'd expect to find in your home were already there...appliances, couch, TV and bottle opener (important!)...the ultra-soft towels, sheets and heated floors in the bathroom were just a BONUS. The proximity of the cabin to Sandy Creek is close enough you get to hear the water flowing (especially relaxing at night with the bedroom window open). The property itself is located down a short winding gravel road with quite a few other properties sprinkled about on both sides, but all the trees and plant life create wonderful barriers making it feel more exclusive even though you are just off Hwy 26. Check-in and out was a piece of cake; all done electronically. There were friendly little notes around the cabin explaining how to use the WiFi, TV and heaters...thank you! Would definitely recommend others to stay as long as it isn't the same time as me :)
Davis B. May 2015
My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights after a hectic work conference. Couldn't have asked for a better, more relaxing and peaceful stay. The cabin itself was great. With the river just a few steps away, the location was perfect. Loved having coffee on the patio surrounded by trees with the river in the background. We will definitely be staying here again!
Terry T. Apr 2015
Great location very relaxing and enjoyable would highly recommend to all
Kirk B. Mar 2015
We have a great stay at Pappy's Cabin and can highly recommend it! The walk along the Sandy River is convenient and accessible. The cabin itself is comfortable and fully equipped. The shower pressure isn't great but the heated bathroom floor makes up for that! The deck is situated to use the most of the sunlight...what a delight!

Kirk and Sam
Eugene, OR
Renata S. Feb 2015
Lovely place, great location, cozy design!
Patricia T. Dec 2014
Very peaceful escape from the hussle and bussle of everyday life...
It was perfect for the type of getaway that was needed for the 2 of us.
Very clean.. Loved the wood stove.. The heated bathroom floor was a plus..
Falling asleep to the river every night was exhilarating!
For the price and the area, I would definitely go again and tell friends about it..
Kevin D. Dec 2014
Nice cozy cabin for some much needed R&R.
April C. Nov 2014
We'll be back. It was a great place for me and my husband to just unwind and relax.
Manager response:
Hello, thank you for your review of Pappy's Cabin! We are happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here at this adorable cabin! This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway that is secluded and private, and includes excellent views of the river. The inside interior is full of charm, while still having the comforts of home. We love the river views from the deck while having a BBQ, or even just lounging around enjoying the scenery. We hope to see you both again soon!
Jeremy H. Nov 2014
We arrived to Pappy's Cabin in the middle of an intense, early-season snow event. The coziness of the cabin was immediately enjoyed as we lit our first fire in the wood-burning stove to escape the plunging temperatures. We found a mixed CD of old jazz numbers in the cabinet under the TV, moved the couch, and set up our own little dance floor to enjoy the wonderful sound system in the living room. When we woke up in the morning, the world was white but the sun was shining, and as we made our morning coffee we watched the light dance on the river just beyond the deck and snowy forest. We went hiking in the snow (powdery wonderful snow!), toasted the mountain at sunset and warmed up with hot toddies and cooked salmon on the grill. It was hard to leave such a magnificent location to go back to the "real world!"

This place is magical - highly recommended for a romantic weekend getaway.
Barb B. Oct 2014
Our stay was perfect at Pappy's Cabin! Great deck near the river was wonderful. We loved the heated floor in the bathroom. This was a very comfortable and cozy place to stay.
Charlette H. Oct 2014
It was a very peaceful cabin. It was a good spot to rest at each night after hiking and traveling around Mt. Hood. The kitchen was great.
Judith P. Sep 2014
Very well appointed small cabin, perfect for two with the sounds of the river predominant. Less woodsy interior than some might want (lots of artificial fragrance). Very close to neighbors, who were quiet when we visited mid-week. We will return.
Karen H. Sep 2014
my husband and I enjoyed our stay at the cabin thoroughly and highly recommend it . It has everything you need and the area is wonderful to explore.
Barbara C. Sep 2014
Pappy's cabin has been updated so that there are vinyl windows and screens, a functioning wood stove and plenty of wood to burn, and a spotless bathroom and kitchen. Still feels cozy with a cabin feel, and you can hear the river from the cabin. We had a great time. The cabin was exceptionally clean. Only negative is that the bed is a queen, and we are used to a king so felt a little cramped, but slept well anyway! Highly recommended.
Sara R. Sep 2014
The cabin was adorable, well stocked with kitchen supplies and very clean. Was hoping for a view of the river, but there wasn't one. It's nestled in trees however so that was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable! Only complaint was that the couch was very small and hard- not too cozy after a day of hiking. Very quiet and serene place to stay.
Michael L. Aug 2014
Beautiful surroundings and a very pleasant little house. We had a wonderful time.
Christine R. May 2014
We had a great time here. It's everything you would hope for in a little cabin in the woods and we'll definitely go back. It's pretty, private, peaceful and right by the Sandy River, which provides the perfect white noise when you're falling asleep. There are trails nearby and it's close to a wilderness area. Its location near Welches is pretty remote (about 45 minutes from Portland), but there are stores and restaurants nearby and it's nice to be away from the city. If I had to complain, I would say, we could have used a couple extra blankets and the water pressure was real low at times (but that's only if I had to complain). Otherwise, perfect! Thanks Kurt!
Manager response:
Thank you for your response. We really appreciate guest feedback as it is the best way we can improve and provide great service. Sounds like you had a great time on your stay. We hope you choose Vacasa again soon!
Rick P. May 2014
I was blown away by everything about the cabin: its condition, amenities, cleanliness, location, etc. What a great find!
Kirsten B. Apr 2014
The cabin was immaculate and with the river rushing outside, a fire in the wood stove, and feeling wrapped up in the woods, I could not have been more peaceful and relaxed.
Meredith A. Mar 2014
We had such a great time at Pappy's cabin. Nice and cozy fireplace. Beautiful river. Loved the sound! Music to the soul!
Hilary M. Feb 2014
Wow! such a cute cabin but with all modern conveniences. If you plan on arriving in the dark beware as the numbers are way back on the home and could not be read clearly from the street. However, such a minor thing when everything else was delightful and absolutely spotless.