Virtual Tour
USA Blue Ridge Mountains North Carolina Sugar Mountain Listing #25134

The Portabella - Sugar Mountain, NC

20 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Pet friendly Mushroom Park roundhouse w/updated kitchen and wraparound deck

You won't find anyone saying that there's not "mush room" in this classic roundhouse nestled in the Mushroom Park area. Located in the heart of Sugar Mountain, this cabin-like home has been update for your comfort. Featuring current technology in almost every room, you'll be able to feel right at home after a day of adventures on the slopes. You can also cozy up to the wood-burning fireplace or stretch out on the wraparound deck. In any season, this home definitely does its best to grow on you.

What's nearby:
Sugar Mountain Resort is just steps away from this condo, where you'll find an outdoor skating rink, snow tubing, mountain bike tours and a full golf course. There are plenty of restaurants close by, including The Pedalin’ Pig and Elevations Restaurant. Sightseeing is plentiful in this area as well, such as the Foggy Mountain Gem Mine, Mile High Swinging Bridge and Grandfather State Park.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Dog friendly for a nightly pet fee.
No A/C
Full Kitchen (dishwasher)
4WD or AWD is highly recommended in the winter months

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Wood-burning fireplace

House rules

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter



Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Tennis court : Shared


Gas grill : Private





20 reviews

Brenda L. Jan 2021
We really enjoyed our stay at the Portabella. The house was clearly updated and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Kitchen was fully equipped. The view and outdoor lighting was beautiful. The living area could use new furniture.
Tabitha E. Oct 2020
We loved our time at the Portabello and took advantage of the wood fireplace every evening! A quite spot on Sugar Mountain convenient to everything.

We would note- It is a steep driveway and the grill is charcoal not gas.
Summer R. Oct 2020
This place was so beautiful and clean and I had the best time ever with my family!!
Dan and Holly C. Oct 2020
Loved our stay at this cute and spacious cabin. Very easy drives to downtown banner elk, boone and blowing rock. Neighborhood is quiet and easy to access.
Barbara A. Sep 2020
Very comfortable home! Kitchen remodel well done and had everything you needed. We came to play golf and course just moments away!
Mary B. Jul 2020
Beautiful area, easy access to several great places in the area for hiking and sightseeing. Driveway is a challenge, be prepared for a steep drop coming in. Lost points due to electric was tripped upon arrival. Leak around the toilet in second bathroom. No garbage pail outside for disposal. Used google for information about pickup garbage day. Should have contact information for emergency easily available.
Manager response:
Hello, Mary! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the area during your stay. We value your feedback regarding the utilities of the home and the maintenance issues you faced and welcome this as an opportunity to improve our homes for future guests. We have worked with our local staff to address these issues. We hope to host you again!
Anna K. Jul 2020
Location, pet accommodations and board games were the only positives for us. Unfortunately, the property has no A/C and 1 fan for the whole house. The advertising picture with A/C is appear rly false advertisement as it does not exist. Extremely hot and muggy in the afternoon and difficult to sleep at night ( even with all windows open). Bedding and mattresses are old and uncomfortable. No trash bin outside to leave garbage in and therefore had to constantly drive trash it a waste facility but it’s closed twice a week. Not worth the money with so many options around.
Manager response:
Hello, Anna! We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to say there is no A/C at this unit. Our team is available 24-hours a day to help find homes for any guests that need this feature - or any other! We do not encourage our guests to leave trash outside at this home due to wildlife. While we acknowledge that the beds will not suit everyone specifically, we regret that they were not suitable for your party. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to host you again in the near future!
Angeline C. Jun 2020
We rented this house, as we were attending a wedding at a local venue. The house is cute overall but the driveway... Holy Cow! Fortunately, everyone from our group had a truck, as my car would NEVER have made it! The driveway is treacherous and scary as heck (even in the summer). There is no AC so the windows have to be left open to keep the temperature somewhat acceptable. My kids all walked in and said, "it smells like old people in here," due to the damp, stale smell (or maybe the sofa- circa 1979). Overall the place seemed clean and had everything we needed, for the weekend. We weren't there much so it worked for the weekend but I'm glad I didn't do a long term rental.
Manager response:
Angeline, thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. The listing states that 4WD or AWD is highly recommended in the winter months. This information is also provided and emphasized within the confirmation and check-in emails. We are glad you enjoyed the home and we hope to get another chance to impress you in the future!
Corie G. Jun 2020
Convenient location - wonderful kitchen - has everything that you could need and more. Thoughtful touches throughout. We loved our stay!
Lyn D. Mar 2020
Very convenient location and comfortable home. Everything we needed for a getaway.
Leslie S. Mar 2020
The location was perfect. Lots of great restaurants close by.
Steve C. Feb 2020
Our family of 5 loved this Mountian getaway! Location Was amazing right next to Sugar! Very clean! We will be back!
Steven H. Feb 2020
Great kitchen and bathrooms. Driveway was a bit of a challenge but everyone had a great time. Would definitely stay here again for a nice weekend getaway. Very convenient to Sugar Mountain skiing.
Barbara C. Jan 2020
It was a very lovely home with all the things needed to enjoy our stay.. The only thing that we didn't like is that it wasn't closer to the slopes.. When it said withing walking distance, we thought it was closer.. But other than that it was great..
Patricia M. Nov 2019
The rental was clean, linens fresh and everything worked. We really enjoyed our stay and the price was great.....which is why we stay 4 extra days. ;).
Amanda H. Oct 2019
Great location, close to a lot of fun places. The house was clean, had everything we needed, including a grill and charcoal. The maintenance guy came by the first day to check and make sure everything was good. Very pet friendly, had dog bowls under the sink to use! Wifi and cable TV worked great. I emailed asking for clarification about where to drop our trash bags and they got right back to me. I'll definitely use Vacasa again and also would book this particular house again.
Chris S. Oct 2019
Loved our stay. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils. Layout was great
James D. Sep 2019
The Portabella... great place to rest and relax after a full day of golf with friends. Kitchen upgrades very nice, just drive way entrance a little tricky to navigate.