USA Washington Eastern Washington Walla Walla Listing #9719

Menlo Cottage - Walla Walla, WA

8 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 (6 adults) 2 Queen Bed, 3 Futon 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
1308 Walla Walla Avenue, Walla Walla, WA 99362

Cozy cottage-style home w/ a quiet neighborhood location for family getaways!

This cheery vacation home is in one of Washington's loveliest towns and offers everything you need for a welcoming home base during your adventures in Walla Walla. Highlights include a jetted tub, a wood-burning fireplace, and free WiFi.

Tucked away in a quiet neighborhood less than two miles from the center of town, this home is well-placed for lazy days in and adventures further in the city! If you plan on spending lots of time outdoors, you'll love the nearby fields of Menlo Park, ideal for a picnic with your special someone. The fenced-in backyard isn't too shabby, either! Push the kids on the tire swing hanging from a weathered tree, or just admire the creeping vines from the shade and comfort of the patio.

Bright colors and shining hardwood floors greet you as you head inside. Relax in the sitting chair, or plop down on the cushy couches by the fireplace. Between the DVDs and VHS tapes with the TV in the sitting area upstairs, you'll be sure to stay entertained.

The kitchen is just a few steps away and features all the basic appliances you need to whip up a delicious home-cooked meal. Let the kids taste-test some appetizers at the bar seating for four, before bringing out the main course from the charcoal grill on the patio. The dining room table for six and patio seating outside ensures everyone will have someplace to try your food, with a dishwasher to make cleanup nice and easy.

Three bedrooms and two bathrooms allow a total of eight guests - with a maximum of six adults - to stay in this home. The downstairs bedroom features a queen-size bed for couples, with another in the master bedroom upstairs. The master suite includes easy access to the TV room, an en suite bathroom, and a jetted tub for a relaxing bath. The final bedroom features three futons, providing plenty of flexibility during your stay.

The nearby Menlo Park and greens of Veterans Memorial Golf Course let you take in the beauty of southeastern Washington, but don't forget about Walla Walla itself! The town features smaller eateries like Walla Walla Bread Company and Walla Walla Roastery for sweets and coffee, as well as larger restaurants like Red Monkey, a few elegant wineries for dates, and shopping opportunities at the Farmers Co-Op. And be sure to take in some quirkier sights at the Museum of Un-Natural History.

Save your dates today and start your next family vacation!



Baby gates



Gas fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Central AC

Jetted tub

Space heater









DVD player



Wireless router



8 reviews

Catherine B. Jul 2018
I didn't give 5 stars for this location only because it is an older home, and comes with older home quirks, such as loose door knobs, etc. However, this home met my families needs perfectly, it was a clean and extremely cute older home. The location was perfect, quiet but close to everything. We would definitely recommend this home to family and friends, and would love to stay again if the need arises.
David M. Jul 2018
The lock box on the entry door was not working properly. Had to call for code on the second lock box. There was only 1 key in there and it takes 2. Our point of contact was out of state, and had never even been to the house. The other was away for the weekend(hopefully she had a better stay). The house cleaner finally came and was able to wrestle open the first box. She took the 1 key that we didn't have to make a copy for the other lock box and we never saw her again. The wifi didn't work. No cable TV. Sprinklers were running both evenings when we came home from our evening out, at 9:00 and had to wade through them because our 1 key didnt work on the front door. Couldn't find the reserve parking(there really wasn't any unless you wanted to park in the alley) The house was older but clean, and the kitchen was appointed very nicely.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the issue with the lock box and want to assure our guests this has been taken care of. This guest has been refunded for their troubles. Thank you!
Allison B. Jul 2018
It's a cute little house, very thankful for the air conditioning. Had a few minor issues-not able to connect with internet and no cable, but we weren't there very much so it wasn't a big deal. Not a fan of the upstairs bathroom door having glass panes and unable to shut door, anyway, due to carpet. But really, these were all things we were able to cope with just fine.
Manager response:
The home does not have cable, but we do with the guest had called about the internet so we could have made sure that amenity was working for them. The owner will be working on solutions for the bathroom door. Thank you!
Elliot C. Apr 2018
More like 4.5 stars, but i;m okay to round up here.

There is "neighbor" cat that comes by to hang out with you on the back porch. It was very friendly, but it was still a cat. We had to shoo it away to keep it from trying to come inside the house when we were coming and going.

Location was great for our purposes. A short walk to campus, and just few block more to get downtown for a tasting room, or some of the restaurants.

One small critique, there is an alarm system (disarmed during our visit) that announces loudly which door is open. When you open the back door, a computer voice announces loudly to the house "Kitchen Door" and was jarring every time we came in the house. Same goes for the front door.

The house is old fashioned, and so is the hardware on the doors. We had an issue with a door knob coming off almost trapping us in the master bedroom. The property manager was quick to respond and we got the door fixed up promptly. They took very good care of us in that regard.

Would definitely stay again.
Cara M. Jan 2018
this great little home was perfect for our girls' weekend getaway. we didn't spend much time there, but we enjoying curling up near the gas fireplace in the cozy living room when we were home. it's a 20 minute easy walk to downtown but the price of the house allowed us to take ubers all weekend long guilt-free!
Jon & Gerri . Jun 2017
We had a wonderful time staying in this amazing home full of character. There is a beautiful park a block away, blocks from the university and close to town. The neighborhood is quiet, house has a beautiful kitchen and washroom, comfortable beds and was very clean. We would definitely stay there again in the future.