USA Oregon Otter Rock Alpine Chalets - Otter Rock, OR Listing #1057

Alpine Chalet #6 Half Loft - Otter Rock, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
73 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom  plus loft 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Two-Story A-Frame Loft with Easy Beach Access, WiFi, Full Kitchen

This darling one-bedroom Otter Rock vacation rental is perfect for a sun-kissed beach getaway! Soak in the rays on the long, sandy shore or fly kites in the breeze at this oceanside chalet.

This charming loft is part of the idyllic Alpine Chalets community, perched right above scenic and peaceful Beverly Beach. Perfect for a family getaway or two couples traveling together, this secluded vacation cottage is only eight miles north of Newport's vast array of restaurants, shops and Oregon Coast activities. Be lulled by the rhythm of the ocean's rolling waves right from the living room window, or stroll down the private trail to wade in the refreshingly cool water.

This A-frame-style cottage features wood-paneled walls, tall ceilings, a comfortable grey sofa, and armchairs with bright accent pillows and wildlife-themed art.

On stormy afternoons, avoid the raindrops indoors while you're treated to a show beyond the glass on the horizon. And on sunny days, open the blinds to flood the chalet with natural light. This cottage offers entertainment and a snug place to relax when you return from exploring the tide pools at Devils Punch Bowl State Park or a trip to the Oregon Coast Aquarium in nearby Newport. Just turn on the TV, which includes cable, a DVD player, and VCR, make some popcorn and enjoy your favorite movie.

The open floor plan downstairs also includes a cute wooden dining table that seats four and a basic kitchen with all the necessary appliances and utensils for preparing a light snack or a gourmet meal. The stovetop is perfect for one pot dishes like clam chowder, curry chicken, and seafood stew, or you can roast a rosemary and balsamic-marinated pork tenderloin in the oven. When dinner is over, finish up the rest of the wine and wash and dry the dishes while discussing tomorrow's beach adventures. Or relax and let the dishes soak overnight while you use the WiFi to catch up on your email.

For guests too sleepy to stumble up the stairs, one bedroom is right off the kitchen on the main floor. Cheerfully furnished with a queen-sized bed, colorful bedding, bedside tables, and reading lamps it's the perfect place for restful slumber. A full bathroom is also downstairs making this the ideal for room for guests in need of additional privacy.

If you don't mind stairs, up in the loft you'll find a cozy sleeping retreat with another queen-sized bed, wood-paneled walls, and warm ambiance. Store your belongings in the small set of drawers and curl up with a book in one of the chairs. From up above, you'll also have a nice birds-eye view of the open living area below.

Altogether, this chalet will comfortably accommodate up to six guests.

Experience the inherent raw beauty of the Oregon Coast at this tranquil chalet, nestled among pine trees and only 100 feet from the soothing lull of ocean waves and sparkling sand.

County permit number: 327490

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

House rules

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining






Beach access


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router


Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

73 reviews

Jared T. Aug 2022
Nice loft, perfectly placed right on the beach.
Deb A. Jul 2022
This was a great location-part way between Depoe Bay and Newport. It was a short walking distance to the beach.
Marcella M. May 2022
The chalet was clean and comfy. I loved the quality kitchen utensils and Fiesta place settings. I highly recommend!
Marley W. Oct 2021
I had a wonderful experience exploring Newport and the beautiful Oregon coastline. This was my first experience renting a BnB and I’m very happy I did! Coming “home” to this cozy condo was the cherry on top of a lovely weekend getaway. The condo was clean, the instructions were clear and easy to follow. It was all very professional yet very cozy and homey. 5-stars all around!
Shelley K. Sep 2021
Location and beaches
Kevin C. Sep 2021
Convenient location, cozy, clean and well maintained. We very much enjoyed our stay at Alpine Chalet #6 in Otter Rock, OR.

William S. Aug 2021
Great relaxing space! Easy walk down to the beach. The chalet was clean, and had everything we needed! The only thing that could have been improved is the key to the house was loose. It would be nice to have a key chain. But very minor inconvenience. We will be staying here again!
Annie M. Aug 2021
Half loft #6 is fine for a family of three or four. Stairs to the loft can be tricky to navigate in the middle of the night for a bathroom run, linens are a bit scratchy, kitchen has the basics. The primary reason for staying here is for the location - just above Otter Rock, close to Mo's (which is currently closed), and close to Newport.
Marietta M. Aug 2021
The beach is the best
Blair G. Jun 2021
Can’t beat the proximity to Otter Rock
Michael E. Jun 2021
Needs to be updated. Barely any wifi signal sometimes none. One frying pan with a broken handle. Also no dish rack no dishwasher no air condition . No screens on loft window or bathroom. Let vacasa know how unhappy I was offered no partial refund even. Came all the way from Minnesota to relax and ended up more stressed.
Manager response:
Hello Michael,We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding this listing. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide accurate and current photos, amenities lists, and descriptions so guests can make an informed choice about what they are paying for and make the right decision for their needs. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns before booking, as we are happy to help.This particular property has no mention of dishwasher or AC. We are disappointed that the issues that you experienced were not reported to us during your stay so we could address them for you.
Floyd A. May 2021
It was such a relaxing place, very clean . Had everything we needed.
MAKALA W. Apr 2021
The loft was perfect! Everything was neat and clean, staff was very friendly in our brief interaction, the area is quiet and the sound of the waves made it a very relaxing atmosphere. Will be recommending to all of our friends and family and definitely staying again!
Maddie P. Apr 2021
This is my family of three’s second time staying at a chalet here. We absolutely love the charm of the units and the location is unbeatable. The grounds are kept neat and tidy, which makes for great evenings sitting outside watching the sunset. The inside isn’t overly fancy, but it’s nice and clean and has plenty of room for us. We look forward to coming back!
Hailey P. Mar 2021
I have been coming here since I have been a kid. I always love seeing the updated and changes in decor. They added a dehumidifier upstairs which helped keep the heat down a bit. Will gladly be back again.
Anne M. Aug 2020
Half loft #6 at Alpine Chalets is fine and has everything a small family could need. Sleeps 4, upstairs loft has no door and is open to downstairs (and downstairs noise) and is not recommended for people who may need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Navigating stair/ladder may be difficult for younger guests and elderly guests.

Perfect spot for refueling and sleeping.
Manager response:
Thank you for your recent stay at the Alpine Chalet #6. Wonderful to know that you found the location great and adequate for your needs. Thank you for the feedback. You can get a good feel of the unit with the listing pictures and by taking a virtual tour which allows you to "walk" around the home. Thank you again for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave this review and feedback!
Tobi G. Jun 2020
This is our third time staying in Alpine Chalet #6 with our family of four, and we plan to continue vacationing here. The kitchen has everything you could need, there's private beach access, and this year there was a pair of bald eagles in the trees above the chalet.
Jessica M. Jun 2020
Out little family of three had the most joyous time here . Such a cute place and so comfy
Laura G. Feb 2020
Lovely home and great setting! Recommend it to anyone looking for some peace and relaxation.
Andrea C. Dec 2019
Comfortable with everything we needed. Very comfortable.
Donna R. Sep 2019
We have been staying at Alpine Chalets for years. Great beach -Beverly Beach. Chalets are comfortable, easy walk to the beach. Well taken care of for older units. We will be back!
Kyle J. Sep 2019
Over all the home was very nice. The reason I'm not giving the full 5 stars is because, while staying in the chalet the weather was not your typical coastal rains. Well it rained so much and the wind blew so hard that water actually started seeping in from under the door frame, and from under the edge of the wall. Luckily none of my personal belongings were damaged. It would have been a catastrophe if the water made it all the way to the extension cord on the floor.
Annie M. Aug 2019
Comfortable, if small, A frame cottage/cabin up the hill from the Coast, best for a small family (4 or fewer) or good friends. Reservation was easy, information about check-in and check-out was timely and clear. Vacasa was easy to work with.
Cornelia H. Jul 2019
Private path right down to the best beach.
Jamie M. Feb 2019
We booked this adorable Chalet for a family weekend and enjoyed every minute. The Chalet was perfect for my family of 5 and the kids loved seeking up in the loft. The grounds are perfect for walking along the beach, having a night fire. My little girl loved swinging by the ocean. This place was very well kept and had everything we needed. The care taker Lance even stopped by to welcome us and give us tips for food activity's etc. great guy! 5 stars we will be back for sure! 😊❤️
Vicki B. Sep 2018
Seems recently remodeled, and very nicely done.
Andy B. Aug 2018
This is a great beach area, well maintained, and close to nice shops and good food. Do it!
Dennis A. Jul 2018
A-frame very compact but comfortable. Very clean. Great area. Close to beach
Tobi G. Jun 2018
Our family of four had a wonderful time at the Alpine Chalets. We played in the sand, made s'mores around the campfire, cooked meals and slept well in the cabin, and enjoyed all the nearby attractions. This is a family tradition now and we will be back for sure. Everything is neat and clean, neighbors are quiet.
Gerald B. May 2018
I loved the location,, minutes walk to the beach. The kitchen was fully equipped. The fews were spectacular. Great location for families. Minutes from shopping. Minuties from newport. Close to golf.. we will Be returning, the Brennan’s from Arizona
Loretta S. Apr 2018
All great and cozy, what a fun place.
Charlotte M. Oct 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Chalets. Cozy and comfortable. Very clean and well stocked. Had a great time and was a very convenient location, close to Newport and our favorite town, Yachats. Didn't get to beach due to weather but hopefully next time!

thank you Vacasa for helping us have a great stay!!
Robin O. Aug 2017
Our kids had great fun finding rocks and sea life just down the beach.
Angela O. Aug 2017
Staying at the Alpine Chalet was one of or favorite stops on our roadtrip. We loved the location, the beach access and the walking distance to Otter Rock.
Bree H. Jul 2017
The location was lovely, but we found the propera lacking in some ways. We wished for a set of sheets and pillows for the sleeper couch. Also, the place smelled like onions.
Daniel S. Jul 2017
We enjoyed our stay here with our two young girls. The chalet had plenty of space, and we really enjoyed walking down the trail and exploring the beach, which was very quiet. Just a short drive from Newport.

The kitchen could use a new knife, one more pot, and a cutting board, but we were able to make things work. Would stay here again.
RAMONA R. Jul 2017
Our stay was really pleasant for the 3 days we were there. Groundskeeper was very friendly & informative. Stores are near by in case you left things behind, such as a charger ( my fault ). We look forward to coming back.
Kevin W. Jul 2017
I wouldn't recommend staying here for longer than a day or two. It is not like a hotel where you get housekeeping service. You are on your own. The staff is not very responsive when you call the customer service phone number. There is no view of the ocean even though it is very close. The private access to the beach was nice.
Manager response:
We apologize if we were slow to respond due to the busy summer season. We will continue to work on improving and excelling at customer service.
Caitlyn O. Jun 2017
It was the perfect little get away. The access to the beach was so wonderful! We will definitely be back - I'd highly recommend this place to anyone
Shelley K. Jun 2017
Close to lots of fun places, Newport, lighthouse and beautiful beach.
Jason P. Feb 2017
Look - if you want 5 star all inclusive amenities, then this isn't the place for you (and I would argue, the Oregon Coast in GENERAL isn't). If you are looking for a very easygoing pace, cabin like comfort, and an excellent central location in one of the most popular vacation regions on the Oregon coast, then look no further. The chalets are clean, comfortable, and functional. Easy beach access, right off the pacific coast highway, and minuets away from Depot bay, Newport, or Lincoln City. The Chalets are quiet, we did not hear any of the other guests, and for the price of a single room in a best western hotel, you can have a whole cottage to yourself.

Don't question yourself, stay here - it's got everything you need.
Stephanie Y. Jan 2017
The chalet's are all beautiful! It's such a pretty, secluded, area. I chose number 6 & was not disappointed! Even for a winter vacation, it was perfect & cozy!
Jaime M. Oct 2016
We enjoyed staying here definitely will Staying here again, next time will bring our family. It's beautiful, cozy, clean and comfortable. The beds were nice better than a hotel room. Thanks for the stay and making us feel comfortable and stress free.
Tisha M. Oct 2016
We enjoyed our time at Alpine Chalet #6. Loved watching the storms blow in.
Hugh F. Sep 2016
Comfortable and easy access to attractions.
Mari B. Aug 2016
Alpine Chalet #6 was a great find for us. We found the grounds and our unit very clean (not smelly at all as someone else said), well equipped, affordable and cozy for the 3 of us.

The trail to the beach was well maintained and easy for us--it was not at all too steep or too long for grandparents or a 5 year old. The beach was surprisingly quiet considering the proximity to Newport, Devil's Punch Bowl, and Depoe Bay. There are a couple of streams flowing off the cliff side into the ocean that our grandson loved playing in (we checked with Lance about the cleanliness and he said they should be very clean since there are hardly any buildings between this beach and the mountains).

On the evening of our arrival, we immediately walked down to the beach and we were greeted by the sight of several whale's spouting not far from the water's edge. It was a wonderful welcome to our stay here.

Newport, with great restaurants, wonderful aquarium and science center are just a short drive and highly recommended, as is Depoe Bay's whale center, restaurants and candy stores:). Also, Yaquina Head Natural Area, with it's wonderful interpretive center, light house and beach with tide pools shouldn't be missed (time this for low-tide).

Devil's Punch Bowl was also fun to explore. Looking into the bowl is very interesting and again we were treated with sightings of many whales. We really liked the beach to the north of the punch bowl (look for a trail just beyond the north most parking lot.) At low tide you can easily walk right into the bowl and at high tide you can look from the top of the punch bowl and see the power of the ocean and tide. (We recommend skipping Mo's West since it was very crowded and the food was almost inedible.)

It's unfortunate that the Chalets face directly towards the parking lot, so there isn't a view of the beautiful ocean. Maybe some of the ones farthest to the west or with upper windows have a view, but #6 only has windows on the first floor so the view is of cars and groups of people coming and going or gathering in the parking lot. Also, if you open the windows and blinds you don't have any privacy. However, we were not there for the view or privacy; we were there to take our 5 year old grandson to explore the beach, and for that, this was perfect.

We would definitely stay here again, even though this place isn't filled with amenities or fabulous views. We wanted to take our grandson to play on the beach and visit the aquarium and it was absolutely perfect for that. It was the best deal I could find and in a great location. However, if you are looking for a romantic, private getaway with a view, I would look elsewhere. For us, we plan to be back soon.
Erin S. Aug 2016
All around great trip for us, great place to stay, good location for day trips, lots of things to do around. Kitchen was well equipped for cooking your meals at the chalet.
Christy S. Jul 2016
Overall happy with our stay. Just wish it would have been a little cleaner!
Angie J. Jul 2016
Everything but the smell was wonderful.
Lisa S. Jul 2016
The path to the beach was lovely. We did have to carry our 2 year old down and up, but our 5 year old could manage it. So nice to have the tide pools at the north end of the beach and be able to walk a great distance. The chalet kitchen was really set up well, and we cooked both nights.
Tobi G. Jul 2016
There were a bunch of very negative reviews around the web about cleanliness, the state of the building and furnishings. This concerned us but we'd already booked and the price was right. What we found was new and clean furnishings and clean and well setup rooms. The kitchen was very well stocked with cookware and we found it to be a very pleasant place to stay.
Holly I. Mar 2016
Simple, clean, close to Newport.
Shelley L. Mar 2016
A great place to have a safe vacation alone. Loved the private beach access and really quiet considering the road is so close by. A great retreat for artists.
Velvet G. Jul 2015
We suggest that in addition to beach towels you also bring some bath towels. Wash clothes and hand towels provide but their were not enough bath towels for the family.
Patricia W. May 2014
We love the Oregon Coast and have stayed in Alpine Chalets #6 three times. The cabin is perfect for 2 people and the grounds are beautiful. We'll be back.