USA Oregon Waldport Cape Cod Cottages - Waldport, OR Listing #1490

Cape Cod Cottages - #6 - Waldport, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
132 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Quiet Oceanfront Getaway with Ocean Views, Walk to Beach - Dogs Welcome

Lulling ocean waves and miles of sandy beach right off the private wooden deck make this one-bedroom Waldport vacation rental the perfect place to appreciate the natural beauty of the Oregon Coast. Quiet, quaint, and cozily furnished with all the comforts of home, plan a romantic trip for two or a spontaneous weekend getaway to the Cape Cod Cottages!

This cottage is simply furnished with soft decor, which makes the ocean-facing wall of windows even more breathtaking. The cottage gets lots of natural light throughout the day, warming its wood-paneled walls, and the seating is arranged just so to get as much of that ocean view as guests can. There is a cute kitchen complete with a gas range stove, microwave, and a refrigerator with lots of cupboards to stock for your stay. There is a dining room table in front of the windows, and plenty of space to banquet on the deck. This rental is perfect for a couple's retreat to spend some quiet time together.

This rental is also equipped with WiFi and a flatscreen TV that gets cable and has a VCR. There is a VHS library if you're feeling in the mood for a flick and some popcorn one night. You can also find a collection of board games, giving guests lots of options for how to spend their downtime. Play a competitive game of Scrabble, watch an old favorite movie snuggled under a quilt, or just flop down and read while listening to the ocean rumble outside your door.

This Waldport vacation rental is a great choice for guests looking for a vacation with relaxing activities and long hours of simply relaxing. Leave your shoes and worries at the door - you won't be needing them here.

What's nearby:
These Waldport vacation rentals are in the best location for easy beach access and are only a short drive from Waldport proper. You will be enthralled by the spectacular shoreline and impressive views of Big Stump Beach. There are nearly six miles of sandy beach right outside the private deck for your enjoyment, and multiple recreational sites dotted along the Pacific Coast Highway for all types of activities. Spend leisurely days at the shore exploring tide pools, beach combing, crabbing, clamming, or fishing. Drive up the road and explore the Governor Patterson Memorial State Recreation Site: there are fantastic walking trails through the beach foliage, and good spots to windsurf or splash in the waves. This beach is also well-known for its whale-watching, storm-watching, and incredible sunsets.

Things to know:
Free WiFi and cable
Full kitchen (without a dishwasher)
Streaming services can be used with guest accounts
An electric vehicle charger is available
Up to two dogs are welcome with an additional nightly fee
Please be aware that the cell signal here is unreliable and you may need to travel to town to call us

County permit number: NFRY-AK4URJ

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Common areas

Game room


Washer/dryer : Shared

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Ocean view


Water view


Beach access





DVD player

VHS library


On-site activities

Ping-pong table

Foosball table




Parking & access

Electric vehicle charger

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

132 reviews

Pandora C. Nov 2022
Dog friendly, great view and clean.
Dan N. Oct 2022
You can see the big stump from the porch!

There's also an electric car charger that I don't recall seeing mentioned. Free to use Level 2 charger available in both Tesla and J1772 flavors. I found that useful.
Jonathan F. Sep 2022
Perfect view, with the sound of the ocean and the smell of pine ..
Mary D. Aug 2022
This won't be my favorite place to stay at the Oregon coast...but loved the easy walk out to the beach, that they allow dogs and the great view from the balcony.
Sandra G. Aug 2022
Just what we were looking for! Above the beach with a trail down. Fantastic view from the private deck. Rustic and small but clean and quiet.
Elizabeth F. Aug 2022
The cottage description on your website is an honest description of what you will find when you arrive. It is rustic, very clean, cozy and perfect! I will absolutely stay again.
Lillian S. Aug 2022
Love the view and ease to get town to the beach.
RUTH F. Aug 2022
Proximity to beach was wonderful. Access was safe which was important. It was close to a relatives home across the street within walking distance away from HWY 101 traffic. The dog loved those walks. View was spectacular. The internet dropped frequently in the evening but not a problem for us. Fridge and oven were sufficient. Microwave worked. Sink was large. Bathroom was clean. Fireplace worked. We used it one evening to take the chill off. Access into the cottage was easy.
Diane z. May 2022
The view is amazing, The spot to sit and watch the ocean for hours. Easy access to the beach. The cabin is rustic as advertised. We had everything we needed
Collin M. May 2022
The view was great. I love the dishes and utensils that are provided. Oven works great, definitely will be back again for many more to come!
Katie D. Nov 2021
This location is absolutely fantastic. We spent lots of time sitting on the covered deck looking out over the ocean. Plus, the walk down to the beach was quick and easy. Very comfortable, clean, and direct ocean views. We will definitely be back!
Kristina L. Nov 2021
WiFi didn’t work, under the window in the bedroom had what looked like mold. Had wine glasses but no wine opener. The bed had tiny hairs on it. Couldn’t watch anything on Tv when it was later in the day to relax. Cable didn’t work it was in and out. Only one tiny couch and it was dirty.
Manager response:
We're so glad you stayed with us, Kristina, and apologize for the disappointments you had. The WiFi has been having problems with the rainy weather. We're sorry to read this negatively impacted your stay. The couch is now replaced, and we will inspect the rental for mold. Thank you!
Richard S. Oct 2021
We're used to staying in older places. We found the cottage clean and well-stocked. The bed was comfortable. The view was spectacular and the "lanai" was great to sit out with a cup of coffee or glass of wine. The beach was close.

However, Vacasa's customer support was poor. We had some problems - the gas fireplace or the remote (or both) provided did not work. The Internet kept kicking in and out, minute by minute. The DVD player kept stopping in the middle of a movie.

I used the text customer support number twice to report these problems and never heard back; I called customer service and was told a "work order" would be assigned and that I would be called back. Guess what? I never heard back.

I'm guessing the person I called was in Portland - Vacasa needs someone in the general area that can call back or (better yet) stop by. I don't hold it against you that there were problems - I do hold it against you that my requests for help were totally ignored.
Dawn E. Sep 2021
We really enjoyed our stay here. The view is amazing from the living room and it’s so close to walk to the beach. It was perfect for us and our dog. We cooked dinner every night and found they had just what we needed for this. Thanks for a great place to stay and we’ll be back!
Kenneth B. Sep 2021
The view is spectacular and the walk to the beach is about two minutes down a private trail. Dogs are allowed and our dog loved the beach.

On the negative side the cabin is very dated and in need of quite a few repairs. The cell reception is sketchy and the wifi is intermittent, it seemed to work about half the time despite two extenders in the cabin.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Kenneth. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the view, but we’re sorry to hear if you weren’t fully impressed with all aspects of your stay. We encourage guests to reach out to us directly via the contact information provided in their check-in materials with any concerns, as our dedicated local team is standing by should any need arise. We will be using your feedback to ensure we offer an exceptional stay for our future guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and impress you!
Anne&Jeff B. Sep 2021
This property used to be a great place to stay, but is now rundown and in need of serious attention. Problems: no shade on the bedroom lamp (bare lightbulb),a burner on the stove didn't work,needed drinking glasses,stained couch,rusty balcony chair,balcony in need of paint,no art on the walls, etc.
Manager response:
Hello Anne and Jeff, We are sorry to have been unable to provide you with a pleasant and relaxing vacation experience. We strive to maintain a standard of excellence in home cleanliness and upkeep for the comfort of our guests in addition to being readily available to assist in addressing any questions or concerns that might arise. We appreciate the opportunity to address any outlying concerns with our local team to ensure our service standards are being thoroughly met.
Kathryn O. Aug 2021
The location and view are a 5! We had some issues with the unit... right after we arrived and unloaded the car, I noticed we had tracked in some dirt/sand, so I grabbed the broom. Surprised to find what looked like crumbs of cereal or crackers around the trash can, since we hadn't even unpacked snacks. Floor needed swept! Next day, dropped some ice. You could actually see a clean spot on the floor where I wiped it up. Floor needed mopped. The front large burner on the range does not work at all. There is one usable frying pan, so cook sausage, set aside, cook hashbrowns, set aside, cook eggs. There is only 1 actual drinking glass. There are no racks in the door of the fridge. We could get no TV at all until we went and bought a cable, which we took with us when we left. Lastly, I always pull the sheets when we leave, in an attempt to help the staff. Image my discuss when I found under the sheet, a mattress cover with blood still on it... and I had been sleeping on it for a week!
Manager response:
Hello Kathryn, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered upon your arrival. This is certainly not our cleaning standard and we have addressed these oversights with our home manager and housekeeping team. An inspection was conducted to make sure everything was working. Deep cleaning has been scheduled as well. We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Lillian K. Aug 2021
Best part is being right at the beach. Simple accommodations. Wifi hardly works at all. That needs to be fixed. Clean place. Could use a wine opener, more drinking glasses.
Manager response:
Hi, Lillian! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are working on a better WiFi setup and will add a wine opener and more glasses if needed. We hope to see you again soon!
Mary S. Aug 2021
Beautiful view. Lovely path to the beach.
Travis G. Jul 2021
Loved being so close to so many outdoor activities. Great view of the beach and super relaxing sounds from the waves all day and night. We stayed in and cooked dinner a couple of times and watched the sunset as we ate. (beautiful) Small little place with just enough coziness and relaxed space to gear up for the next hike or trail!
Madison J. Jul 2021
We loved everything about this cottage and location
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our cottage and its location! We look forward to hosting you again!
Christal B. May 2021
The cottage was small and outdated, but it cannot be beat for the price and dog friendly!!! What a view and easy beach access!!! We hadn't left town since the beginning of Covid. My husband is out of work and finances are tight. This lil getaway fit our budget and was exactly what we needed!!!
Roxanne N. Sep 2020
The linens were dirty upon our arrival with either urine or semen (it was crunchy) not a stain.
The toilet is a weak flusher.
The electrical outlets sparked every time we plugged something in.
The furnishings were very uncomfortable (a short love seat for a 6'3" man and 5'8" woman)...and the living room was where we spent the majority of the time due to the wind.
The beach is very windy with no tide pools.
On the bright side, the view is beautiful from the living room and deck, and beach access is easy.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay, Roxanne. We sincerely apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned. We appreciate you notifying us promptly so that we could take the appropriate steps toward a resolution and provide you with fresh linens. We hope to have the chance to impress you next visit, thank you!
Emma W. Jul 2020
This cottage is perfect for two people (probably no more than that). Having the deck to sit on and look out at the ocean is heavenly! Everything was very clean when we got there.
Katarzyna Teegarden T. Jul 2020
You just can't beat the location. The beach is beautiful. My husband and my boys went on deep see fishing and got tons of crab. Last night we were sitting on the deck, looking at the ocean, eating fresh crab. It just doesn't get any better. I have already booked 4 more nights in August and I am planning on coming back every year.
diane p. Jun 2020
Loved the view
JEFF R. Jun 2020
Loved the location and the fireplace but the place really does need to be updated. Great front windows but can't open them to hear the surf. Looks like they are updating the cottages but just haven't got to the one we were staying in yet. Hopefully it will updated soon. It was old but clean. We would still stay there regardless.
Penny H. Jun 2020
comfortable for 2 guests. It will be great once they are remodeled. relaxing and calming on the deck to watch the ocean and sunset.
Tammy M. Mar 2020
It was a great small getaway! BEAUTIFUL VIEW from the deck. Could use a small deep clean but nothing major. Loved our stay and will return!
Manager response:
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the amazing views, Tammy! Cleanliness is one of our top priorities at Vacasa and we appreciate you letting us know that this could be improved upon. We are following up with our local staff so that they are aware of this as well. We hope to host you again very soon!
Debi M. Nov 2019
October weather was amazing from the large window view and private covered deck/balcony. The small cabin was clean, bed comfortable, shower worked well, easy trail to quiet beach, and the remote gas fireplace made it all very cozy! Easy access right on highway with the vehicle covering would be great for bikers stay. And it is nice they are pet friendly.

I manage vacation rentals and I had higher expectations for the kitchen supplies (my guests are spoiled!) Unfortunately, a burner on the cook stove didn't work, no bakeware for oven, only salt for condiments, only 1 sharp knife (very basic cooking and plan on bringing everything you need unless you enjoy camping style cooking) water was not hot enough for even a small bath but showering was good, the couch is all broken down and extremely uncomfortable. I heard rumors that they will be upgraded and I hope in that remodeling they play up a 40's-50's era beach cabin theme! The cabin has so much potential and I will be keeping an eye on them for future coastal getaways.
Manager response:
Hi, Debi! We apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your visit. The hot water appears to be working fine, and this unit is in line for a remodel which will address all of your other concerns. Thank you!
Deborah G. Oct 2019
Would definitely stay again, especially once the upgrades are done. The view and location make it worth it right now.
Todd W. Sep 2019
Ocean view, easy beach access!
Manager response:
Thank you, Todd, for staying with us! The owner is remodeling the home and replacing several items which should help with comfort and odors. We hope to see you again!
Layton T. Sep 2019
We checked in, the unit has a fabulous location right on the ocean. 24/7 ocean views, the waves crashing just a 150 yards from your balcony, the sounds of the waves and the sea birds were very soothing. The unit has adequate amenities except for the couch which has a broken spring that tries to anally invade anyone who sits on it. The rest of the unit has a good refrigerator, microwave, propane fireplace, Netflix, etc. The stove has a burner out, but the other 3 worked just fine. The staff was very responsive and tries to please. We walked on the beach daily and would definitely come back and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and get to experience the Oregon coast. For what we paid, it was a steal. It was all good except for the oversexed couch. Should replace immediately.
Peter B. Aug 2019
We stayed in #7 last time, and the view from #8 is equally spectacular. This family and pet-friendly vintage motor court is a delightful place. Hwy 101 is adjacent, but freeway noise is practically invisible from the rooms, especially with the wonderful view and constant sound of the surf, which is what most folks really enjoy about this place. The kitchen is tiny but functional. The bedroom is small, but the bed is comfortable, and the room delightfully paneled in vintage wood with a nice built-in closet. A replacement refrigerator regrettably stands in the living room because the built-in space is now too small for a modern or large size. This could be remedied with slight remodeling, and would be a welcome improvement. I would vote for adding two small comfortable swivel chairs, and replace the turquoise-colored love seat that is not a hide-a-bed, and has seating cushions that are horridly uncomfortable with protruding springs. The pine tree could use a modest trimming to restore the full beach view, because it now blocks that view and is not what guests want. A gas fireplace in the room greatly added to the enjoyment, especially on cool or cold nights after a nice day on the beach. We were delighted to spot whales and seals. This particular stretch of beach is delightfully off the beaten track, and perfect at night for stargazing as it lacks the bright municipal or hotel flood lights that obliterate stargazing in other places on the coast. The cleaning staff folks were friendly, helpful and readily available for any housekeeping need that arose. We cleaned the windows when we arrived which could and should be done before arrival. The owners are actively making improvements here, and we expect this place will be kept well-maintained as time goes on. We're glad to have found this place and will happy to return here again.
Garrett S. Aug 2019
first and fore most, the view is fantastic. It is right on the beach and you can sit at the table and watch the sunset over the ocean from the kitchen table. It is small and only good for 1-2 people, has a good size fridge, a good gas fireplace, and a nice beach side balcony.
So, I will be honest, the room was not cleaned and kinda gross (unwashed bedsheets, not thoroughly cleaned dishes, dust, etc.) upon arrival; BUT, I politely reached out to Vacasa online and sent pictures along with the things that were not cleaned, they responded very quickly and someone was sent to reclean it. some of my payment for the room was refunded. It was a night and day kind of difference and it was pretty good after that.
Manager response:
Hi Garrett, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in our home! We apologize for the state you found the home in, but we're very glad we were able to clean it to our own high standards once you let us know. We hope to host you again soon!
Michele C. Jul 2019
Great location! We loved where the cottage was. The bed was very uncomfortable and so was the couch, but very clean and we really enjoyed our stay. The beach was amazing as usual and loved that they allowed our dog Bella --and it was her first time and she loved the beach. It has a porch that overlooks the ocean and a path that takes you down to the ocean. I didn't realize I was booking it in Walport at the time we did it, but am SO glad we ended up there. The beach wasn't crowded at all and we loved it there. It's close enough to Newport and Yachats that you can easily drive to try new restaurants.
Go to Luna Sea in Yachats and the chinese restaurant in Waldport was very good too. LOVED IT! Thanks!!
Brian A. May 2019
^ miles of beach you can walk down to, an amazing view of the Ocean. Near some great restaurants, try Luna Fish for some great fresh fish or the Adobe Lodge for retro food with a view. Been coming here for over 35 years.

Its not posh, but its clean and compact perfect for two. Kitchen is not super equipped so you may wnt to bring some kitchen stuff.
Denise C. May 2019
My sister in law and I stayed 5 days in unit 8. FABULOUS unobstructed ocean view! Clean! Dog friendly! Cross a small lawn with resident bunnies to the sand! Well equipped, (an extra dish towel woulda been handy though). Rustic cabin, yeah, but WAY better than that description! MORE than ample private balcony!! AFFORDABLE for regular folks! I HIGHLY recommend! They are totally refurbing every unit one by one. 1&2 are done. Every unit getting hot tub on balcony...GO here NOW! You will not regret a moment of your stay, and you get to take Fido!!!
Patti A. Apr 2019
I lived how it was so close to the private beach. The deck was a great place to view the ocean.
C S. Feb 2019
Great location. Close to beach. Great view of ocean from window and deck. FYI there are no stairs from deck as shown in picture. That was a disappointment. But a path from the front door is still really close. I went for the ocean not the house. House is older and could use an update, but it shows that in the pictures and so it wasn't a surprise. The pictures look like it's a wood burning stove, it is propane now. All was good. Great place to rent from.
Darrell S. Nov 2018
The ocean view was fabulous. Great place for two people. An accommodating kitchen was nice.
Tom B. Sep 2018
The view was the main attraction for us. Spectacular! Easy access to miles of beach as well. Cozy accommodations and beautiful sunsets topped off our stay.
Ashley B. Sep 2018
My husband and I loved unit 8 at Cape Cod Cottages. If you are looking for something modern and updated, it is not that. It is definitely older but just the right size for 2 people and we loved the view and private balcony. The place made us feel like we were up north at an old little cabin. We also loved the great little kitchen with everything you'd need and the fireplace.
Karen J. Sep 2018
Love this place! There are reviews that are somewhat negative, but if you know what your going into its a great little place to stay. Its not fancy by any means, but you have a nice warm, clean, quaint unit to stay in with a full kitchen, bath and balcony. And oh the view!!! We sat on the deck and watched whales all afternoon one day until dark!
Have been here before and will go back again, as for naysayers, that just leaves the place available for me!!
Aaron F. Sep 2018
The ocean view was amazing. The deck outside had chairs, so you could watch the sunset. We will be back!
margaret m. Aug 2018
Needs a little up dating
Christine H. Aug 2018
I have stayed in Unit 8 four times now, it meets all my vacation needs.
Maria C. Jul 2018
So cute and retro, just enough space for two.
Tamara S. Jul 2018
Wonderful quiet private. Right on the beach.
Tammy R. Jun 2018
Yes it is tiny, rustic and could use some upgrades but the view is fantastic. You're right on the beach. We saw killer whales, seals and tons of different birds all from the balcony. The price is right. Will come here again.
David M. Jun 2018
Love the view new furniture would be nice don’t change anything in this unit but the furniture I been going there from 1963 the old is have the charm Thank you for a wonderful stay
jay w. May 2018
ocean view, fireplace, comfortable bed, nice shower. always nice.
Metta S. Apr 2018
The little cottage was exactly what we were looking for. Perfect location to get to Yachats and Cape Perpetua as well as Newport. Definitely nothing fancy, but it's right on the water and super cute and cozy. We spent most of the time at the house on the balcony overlooking the ocean. We were there in April and will be bringing blankets next time!
Robert R. Apr 2018

1. Great View of the Ocean and Easy access.
2. Nice Balcony with better views.
3. Full (albeit small) kitchen.
4. Off Season cost per night- EXCELLENT.
5. Blu Ray / DVD player.
6. Usable Fireplace
7. Fully operational Electric Rail heaters in the living room, bathroom & bedroom.
8. Ample overhead lighting in all rooms.


1. Bed: A ridiculously soft (evidently ancient) bed that’s a back-breaker. Suffered major center-sag that is so bad, I didn’t sleep all night. Had to go to Walmart up the road, the next day, purchase a decent auto-inflate air mattress, that we used the rest of our stay on the living room floor.

2). General Maintenance: The following items are non-capital, minor expense items that the owner(s), should be ahead of. (Wife and I could fix them in just days.)
- Outlets are old. Go to HD buy a cheap 15 or 20 Amp case of 10 outlets and replace. The plugs for the TV & DVD player just “fall out” after being plugged in. Had to tape them to the wall. Also, that outlet’s plugs (for TV and DVD player), get very hot, NOT from high amp pull, but because it’s inches above the wall heater. A quick junction box in that wall, and we can relocate that outlet out of harm’s way. (I tested amp pull and that’s fine, just need to move it.).
- The Balcony: Criminy, wish I’d a brought my sander. Sand all the wood railings, deck, cottage facement wood and canopy. Apply 7 year weather proof outdoor cedar stain from HD. It’d cost maybe $40, look drop-dead gorgeous, and you’d then be protecting your assets from water, wind and other erosions. This is a “No brainer”.
- Range needs some minor repair.
- Previous customer put all the dishes away filthy dirty. My wife (Evelyn), took all of them out and washed them. (And again of course prior to departure.)

Conclusion: We love the Cape Cod Inn. It’s quaint, cozy, and one of the best deals you’ll find anywhere/anytime on the Oregon coast.

This was our 2nd visit. We will go back for sure. We had either cottage 10 or 11 the 1st time we went a few years back; which are significantly larger. (I’m a 6 foot 3 inch, 63 year old tall claustrophobic so this may not concern you.)

Great deal, Vacasa folks were cool, easy beach access, and extremely cozy and private. We certainly recommend the “Cape Cod Inn” to anyone looking for beachfront lodging and the excellent aforementioned attributes.

Bob Richards.
Christine H. Mar 2018
Cape Cod Cottages is reasonably priced and provides all the basics you need for a vacation. I love being able to just bring groceries and have all the kitchen amenities to cook all my own meals. Waldport is a central location for many sights to the north and south. I highly recommend staying here.
Dale L. Mar 2018
Cabin 8 was half of a two-cabin unit with a common wall. It was a classic beach cabin but without a musty scent. Positives: small but well equipped kitchen except for drinking glasses; lovely view; only a short walk and about 17 stair steps down to the beach; covered carport for narrow cars; DVD, VHS, and flat-screen tv; on demand hot water; Negatives: no facial tissue; loud tv next door interrupted sleep one night; fogged glass in door to deck obscured view of beach; picture windows needed a good scrubbing; only two coffee packs for a three-night stay.
Jay W. Mar 2018
let's keep this gem a secret!
Barry R. Feb 2018
Loved the cottage and I will be back
Suzanne P. Jan 2018
Nice quiet. Good for 2 people. Nice view from deck
Tom L. Jan 2018
Sit on your deck and watch the waves roll in. This place is a gem. Perfect spot for a romantic getaway for two. Unfortunately, they do allow pets, so beware if you have an allergy.
Erika F. Nov 2017
We stayed here in early November. The views from the deck were outstanding and the fact that it's close to Waldport and Yachats made it a very convenient location!

It is very close to highway 101 and you can definitely hear cars from inside. But it's not so bad in the evening, so it didn't effect out sleeping at all. And when you're on the back deck, all you can hear is the ocean. Overall a great experience!
Joseph O. Oct 2017
Cape Cod Cottages are old but have the best view! Clean.
Melissa S. Oct 2017
Loved the ocean view and deck. Great little place for the price!
David M. Sep 2017
I've been staying at Cape Cod Cottages since 1963 and love the place the way it is; I'm concerned about the changes that are planned for the near future. We enjoy the charm of the units and hope the changes will be minimal.
Brenda And Pete S. Sep 2017
We booked Cape Cod after doing a lot of research and wanted to stay somewhere other than Newport. Took our chance, and it was great. The rooms are not fancy, but are cute and rustic. The view is amazing and easy access to the beach. The only issue we had was the DVD player wouldn't open for us to put a disc in, so I hope that gets fixed. Very clean. It was small but we didn't need anymore room, and love that dogs can come as we all had a good time. Definitely coming back soon to room 8!
Manager response:
We are so glad to see this guest enjoyed their stay! The DVD player has been replaced. Thanks!
Kelly N. Sep 2017
Loved our stay in cottage 8. The place was clean and has an outstanding view. VACASA was super helpful when I needed to switch cottages. Had a great trip!
Elizabeth D. Jul 2017
Love it!
JOHN C. Jul 2017
great place to unwind and walk the beach. comfy cottages with great views and close to lots of great stuff to do North and South of the cottages. Highly recommended
Tammy H. Jun 2017
The location of the this property is fabulous. Not quite in town, but close enough to amenities. We stayed in Unit 8 which was in serious need of updating, but it was super clean. Kudos to the staff. It was just right for my husband and I for the weekend.
Nicole K. Jun 2017
Waldport is a nice little community and we were satisfied with this rental. A few items could be added to enhance the stay. Unit is sparsely stocked.
Janice B. May 2017
We have stayed in this unit before. It is very cosy, with an awesome, covered deck and a "to die for" view.
Robert S. May 2017
This is a great cabin setting, with a perfect view of the sunset unobstructed. We chose cabin 8 with one bedroom for sleeps two. We didn't need more space but if you do this one will not work for you. We spent most of our time drinking wine, looking at the beach and sunset, talking, and getting into relax mode. Accomplished here. We found it perfect albeit some would say it needs updated. Bathroom was fine and everything we needed worked fine. A great place with a little history as a motor lodge I would assume and the big bonus...ON THE BEACH!!!
Tami (Skinners Attic LLC) S. Mar 2017
My husband and i came to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and of life. We stayed 8 days with our 2 dogs, 1 of them being an English mastiff. We have a very difficult time finding a place to go with him and they had no restrictions, he was a good boy, minded his manners and I hope they continue to allow these loving big guys to go on vacation with there parents. In my book that makes them a one of a kind place to stay and they were very courteous, the place was clean and the private deck with a view was out of this world beautiful. We will stay again and refer our friends and family.
Alexis W. Feb 2017
What a lovely view to ride out a winter stormy evening!
Carol E. Nov 2016
We enjoyed our stay atCape Cod Cottages very much.
Zeb F. Nov 2016
Small, quite, peaceful get away located just south of Waldport. Very pleased to see a stocked kitchen and a working fireplace with an ocean view. Not a lot of parking for larger trucks but there wasn't a lot of people around so we had no problem parking my f350 dually right in front, two entrances make it easy for getting in and out as well. We will stay here again!
Patrice B. Oct 2016
We stayed at Cape Cod Cottages in part because my husband's parents have loved their warm, cheerful, oceanfront units in the past. However, a recent stay in Unit 8 was extremely disappointing. Upon opening the door, we were immediately met with a pervasive musty odor - uncomfortably resembling that of urine. Many of the furnishings appeared cheap (seating, mattress) as did the sheets. The balcony railing had a broken slat, window gutters were grimy - the place overall looked neglected. The table settings were quite nice, as was having a full fridge and stove/oven, and having a short path to the beach right outside the door! However, with the price paid, we expected a better cared-for unit. No staff is on the premises, so a complaint would have required a call in a poor cell-service area. We stayed our two nights, and will not return.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read about this guest's disappointments with their stay. The cottages will be renovated in the near future, and all of the issues mentioned will be addressed at that time.
Donald W. Oct 2016
great view good access
Kenny T. Oct 2016
We had a great experience. We plan to be back soon.
Richard B. Sep 2016
We had a great time. Loved every minute of it. Left feeling relaxed and will definitely come back. Wonderful little find.
Megan C. Sep 2016
We really enjoy these cottages. This was my husbands first visit to the Oregon Coast. As a child, I stayed at these cottages every year with my family. Unit 8 is where my Grandma and Grandpa would stay. It was very nostalgic being in this Unit for the weekend. It was clean, comfortable and easily accessible. We like the easy booking and check-in with vacasa but I do miss the front desk people that worked when I was young. All in all a great weekend!
Chad H. Sep 2016
We had our honeymoon here, loved the view and the peace and quiet. Room was comfy and cozy. Stayed here 4 nights and would have stayed longer.
Kerry Z. Aug 2016
We had a fun time!!!
Wendell W. Aug 2016
Decided to take a getaway rather late in the season. Bookings were limited. We had seen this property many times before. We have been coming to the coast since 1982 on a regular basis and usually rent a house or apartment. We knew this area because we stayed at a home about 200 yards to the north on several occasions. Let me preface this by saying this is an old property. This harkens back to the days of the old motor hotels. Because of this, I expected the space to be limited. The living area is adequate, the kitchen is small especially if two people are trying to work in there. There are dishes and pots and pans but not much in the way of bowls or baking utensils. It won't make much difference if you're just doing takeout or a light breakfast or lunch, but if you like to cook and want to use the oven you may be a little disappointed in the selection of cookware. The bathroom is functional, the water heater runs out fairly quickly so you have to be careful with your bath or shower. The unit could use some cosmetic upgrades particularly curtains and tablecloth. Now the positive aspects. Location, location, location. Cape Cod cottages are close to many of the things we enjoy on the coast. It's just a short drive to Cape Perpetua, Waldport, Seal Rock, Newport, and Depot Bay. Access to the beach is good and there isn't a lot of traffic on the beach. It's good for children as a shallow and there are not rocks to fall on. The view from the deck is spectacular. We enjoyed some beautiful sunsets. Being situated right on Highway 101 he would think it might be noisy but we did not find it to be so.
We enjoyed our getaway very much, it was relaxing. This unit is a good value for the money. Could use some simple cosmetic updates.
Ryschel T. Aug 2016
We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved the view from the window. There's a nice beach access as well.
Katie S. Jul 2016
The furniture has been recently updated and is newer and nicer than the pictures. The coffee pot was brand-new! Great bargain. Wonderful views and beach access. I'll be back!
Jim C. Jul 2016
Highly recommend!
Jeannine R. Jul 2016
If you want to get away from the crowds, this is your place. Lots of open beach for humans and dogs to enjoy. Yachats jams included Yachats Brewing and Bread and Roses bakery.
Robert K. Jul 2016
The view and the sound of the waves was so mesmerizing and the price was so good that any incovenience seemed minuscule.
Susan T. Jun 2016
View, beach access....and clean.
Otherwise, I din't know if I'd stay again. A larger sofa
is needed and one more comfortable chair---not an office chair.
George L. Jun 2016
awesome beach great privacy
Deborah S. Jun 2016
Unbelievable views...cozy and reminiscent of Cape Cod itself ( we lived there for over12 years).
Julie F. May 2016
Things need fixed badly. Stove burners weren't even plugged in. Screen door, couch and stove all broken. No door knob inside the door made it hard to get out. Super small for 4 people more for just two. Only thing good about the place is the view and the bed was comfortable. But we won't be staying there again.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that this stay was not more enjoyable. Per the owner's request we have changed the maximum occupancy of this home to 2 and will no longer offer the sofa bed. The stove is working well, all doors have handles inside and out, and we will replace the screen as soon as there is an opening in the schedule.
Christine E. Mar 2016
terrific view!
Masha B. Aug 2015
This was a great place to stay, access to a beach that goes for miles with barely any people around, amazing views from the deck, close to everything in terms of groceries or food etc. We ll definitely stay again!
Scott B. Aug 2015
The location was amazing - pretty much had a private beach all week in the middle of summer even though the place was booked out. It was just a few minutes from both yachats and waldport and both towns had some great spots to eat at or get provisions. The cottage was simple and perhaps dated, but the location, views, and service made up for anything that was lacking in the furniture. While we were there, the management company even got our cabin new dishes, utensils, and such, which was a nice improvement and a great surprise! There's not normally a manager on site, but we bumped into them while they were doing some maintenance - he was extremely friendly and connected us with a long time resident that gave us pointers on where to crab and clam (along with his autographed guide to Alsea Bay shellfish). All in all, it was a fantastic stay, at the right price, in the right place.
Ryan M. Jun 2015
I would definitely stay here again. Our vacation was great!
Allen S. Mar 2015
We loved it and the area. We will be back again and again. The pictures made it look a little bigger than it was but we loved it just the same.
Cheree D. Mar 2015
We had an absolutely wonderful time staying at the Cape Cod Cottages! The location was fabulous, the set up perfect, and the price was FANTASTIC! This was my childrens first trip to the beach, and I could not have asked for a more perfect spot to take them that had such a great location with a homey feel. Thanks! We will certainly be back and have already told family and friends about your cottages!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing how happy you were with the home. We're glad you enjoyed the location and homey feel of the cottage! Thank you for the great recommendation to your friends and family, we greatly appreciate it.
Robert C. Feb 2015
These are older units that are kept very clean. Bed was real comfortable. Real fireplaces are nice.
Would be nice if you could print out a listing of all the television channels that you have available.
We really loved the great ocean view, and it is also easy to walk down to the beach. Thank you all!!
Manager response:
Thank you for the 5 star review! These are great beachfront rooms with vintage style and feel, we love the great ocean views and listening to the waves come in while relaxing by the fire
Tersa S. Nov 2014
The unit was tiny - but worked ok for two. I wouldn't suggest anymore than two people - unless you aren't planning on spending much time in the unit. The access to the beach is easy - and the view (except for the neighboring house with a large picture window) - is spectacular. The location allows quick access to both Waldport and Depoe Bay - without having to be right in town. The unit was clean and well supplied (pots, pans and dishes) the extra freezer came in handy with seafood purchases. The carport was small (and our pickup didn't fit) - but it was tidy.
Heather M. Nov 2014
Direct beach access and a special treat for my boys was the container of beach toys by the stairs to the beach, thanks. The fireplace warmed up the cottage very quickly and we were so warm all night. Loved the cottage and will return someday for much longer.