USA Idaho Valley County, Idaho Cascade Listing #16649

The Creekside Cabin - Cascade, ID

Take a Virtual Tour
46 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 1 bathroom 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly cabin with a great outdoor space in a peaceful location

Unplug, step off the beaten path, and get away from it all at this peaceful, rustic retreat near Lake Cascade, providing plenty of privacy in a charming, old-fashioned atmosphere. Prepare cost-saving meals in the well-equipped kitchenette, dine at the table for six, and warm up by the wood stove while you watch a movie on the new flatscreen TV or dive into one of the many provided books. This home also features a spacious, furnished deck with a gas grill, firepit, and porch swing.


Nestled on West Mountain Road, this home is far from crowds and surrounded by natural beauty. The shore of Cascade Lake is a brisk walk from your door, while the peace and quiet of the forest can be found right outside. There's also a beautiful small stream behind the home. And when it's time to stock up on essentials or grab a bite to eat, this cabin is only 13 miles from the town of Cascade.


No internet or cable
Kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator, electric skillets, microwave, toaster oven, and coffee maker
A 4x4 is required in winter

County permit number: STR2021-11

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Lake view





Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Board games




46 reviews

Gabriel S. Aug 2022
Perfect quant getaway for our little family. Upstairs not really safe for younger children. Would bring a safety gate next time. Other than that we loved our stay here!
Sharon C. Aug 2022
The cabin was very quaint with lots of nostalgic memories. Big enough to sleep 6 comfortably. Kitchen was well equipped. Large patio with BBQ, fire pit, patio chairs. It did not have an air conditioner and a TV upstairs.
Shaun W. Jul 2022
We really enjoyed our trip here. There were things to do every day. We went to the lake, into town, and explored the roads around the cabins. Everything was clean and in place when we arrived. One thing to know, the mosquitoes are abundant in July. We are used to them where we live but these were pretty relentless in the evening. We just sprayed up and went inside if they were too much. We had a fun time watching the provided selection of movies on VHS and a few on DVD at night. We roasted marshmallows and had a little fire in the outdoor fireplace. There were stacks of more wood than I've ever seen at one cabin.
Someone spent a lot of time splitting and preparing it. It was nice for us to still have cellular service for some minimal communication if needed. There are a few quirky things we noticed in the layout, but everything functioned just perfect for us. The nights were very cool, and the temperatures were not sky high in the day, so it was very comfortable even without having air conditioning. There is a lot of shade during the day here. The garbage situation is confusing as it says that garbage day is Thursday but there is no garbage can to set out or put garbage in. Maybe I missed something, so we ended up hauling everything back home with us. We all watched a little bird right on the deck in the bird house feeding hatchlings and sitting on its eggs all week long. It was so nice of the owners to share this gem in the forest with us. Most importantly we have a lot of fond memories of our time here. It was one of the most relaxing vacations I can remember.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Shaun, it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the phenomenal location and amenities at our home. We do apologize that insects affected your comfort during your vacation and are glad your stay was enjoyable despite the local fauna. We are committed to providing exceptional customer service, and are sorry there was any confusion regarding the location of the trash bins. Again, we are so pleased your family had a phenomenal retreat and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Amanda P. Jul 2022
My kids and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Creekside Cabin. I was a perfect little hide away from reality. Only downside, TV needs better instructions and bug spray should be provided. Beds are comfy and decor is awesome. Loved it.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Amanda! It was our pleasure hosting you and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our home. We appreciate your suggestions and have passed them onto our local management for consideration. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Mason V. Feb 2022
The cabin is in a lovely community with great view of the forest. The cabin itself is very nice and maintained. It was everything we wanted for our vacation. Despite previous reviews I read, everything worked and was extremely clean. We prepared meals in the spacious kitchen. The shower is a little tight but did work like it should. Water pressure is great and hot water never ran out on us. I absolutely loved our stay and will definitely return.
Levi B. Nov 2021
The cabin itself was perfect for us and in a fun location. Plenty of beds and movies for the rainy days, and the resident Blue Jays were quite friendly and fun to watch. Unfortunately, it did look like it had been a while since anyone did more than surface maintenance and cleaning. There is a mold issue on the baseboard by the shower where the shower has sprung a leak. The mousetrap had not been cleaned in a good while and we had to clean 6 dead and rotting mice out from next to the dishes where the trap was kept. It left a rather unpleasant lingering smell next to the fridge over the course of several days even after getting rid of the mice. The fireplace looked like it hadn't been cleaned out all summer and we had to empty and clean out the ashes and air intake before it would work well enough again to keep the fire going on its own. The fridge sounds like it needs some care soon as well, but we weren't able to address that one while we were staying. On the whole I would say we had a pleasant stay, but the cabin definitely needs some closer attention and care between guests.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Levi. Mouse extermination is being dealt with, and maintenance is currently working on addressing all leaks and mold. A deep clean will be done after that point. We do hope to host you again!
Shawn H. Sep 2021
Very clean and comfortable cabin and was well stocked. Would definitely stay here again!
Denise K. Sep 2021
Quiet and clean. Felt homey and relaxing.
Had minor issues with coffee pot and DVD player.
Overall would stay again.
Andre' L. Jul 2021
We wouldn't stay here again. There is no air-conditioning and it's very warm. No curtains on the whole front of the house. There are vhs tapes to watch. It was very clean. Bring a boat if you want to fish. The shore was very marshy. Very comfortable front porch with barbequer and porch swing.
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We make every effort to present clear, accurate descriptions of our homes in order for guests to make informed decisions on their rental choices. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns prior to booking, as we are happy to help. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Jessica H. Jun 2021
We absolutely adore this cottage. The location is like a fairytale and it’s such a cozy little cabin. It was smaller than we expected, but perfect for us. The only reason we give it 4 stars and not 5: one of the double beds upstairs wasn’t usable because of a strong urine smell (prob from a child renter). Our son had to sleep on the couch. Beds aren’t very comfy in general. Needs more TP (also, TP holder is broken) and kitchen needs a cookie sheet. We would stay again though. Great cabin.
Manager response:
Hi, Jessica! We will be purchasing a cookie sheet and fixing the toilet paper holder. The property manager inspected the beds and were unable to find any unpleasant odors, but we will remain aware of this. Thank you!
Christopher K. Jun 2021
It's a bit of a drive, but it's worth it. The cabin is remote enough that you won't be bothered by loud music or parties. It's quiet. It's also a very clean and tidy place. My only concern was that the shower was a bit too small. Other than that... it was perfect. My kids loved the lift areas and the catwalk. Me? I think that the front deck is the star of this already amazing cabin. I loved getting up and having my morning coffee outside on the porch swing. We will definitely rent this again.
Judith S. Jun 2021
We enjoyed reading, eating breakfast and dinner on the deck. House wrens, Stellar jays and a Pileated woodpecker visited. Bed was comfortable and the kitchen mostly well equipped. Cottage is convenient for kayaking (using west lake boat ramps) and hiking (at Tamarack).
Dwight W. Jun 2021
We enjoyed the peaceful location and the cabin overall, but it needs some care. The outside porch had debris, the lot had trash and a broken travel trailer, and the kitchen plumbing needed work. This lodging was not up to the standards we expect from a Vacasa listings.
Manager response:
Hello Dwight,We are glad you enjoyed this location and apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We encourage guests to reach out to our property management team directly via the contact information provided in check-in instructions, as our professional, dedicated team is standing by should any need arise. We hope for the opportunity to better serve you in the future!
Russell J P. May 2021
I loved the cabin being in the woods off the lake ot was super cool that there was a creek right next door it made for beautiful nights out on the porch with the wife and kids had a great time thank you
Laura R. Mar 2021
Great little rustic cabin in the woods, but leaves some things to be desired. Here is what I wish I knew:
Firewood is NOT provided - bring your own.
Stove and oven DO work, but a review said they did not.
Upstairs beds are VERY uncomfortable & futon in sun loft does not fold flat.
Couch downstairs needs replaced, wood digs into your legs when you sit on it and cushions cave in. If you were to use the hide-a-bed I think it would touch the wood stove.
Neat woodsy location that feels cozy. Loft has view of sunrise and wildlife & there is a little swing on the front porch. Great cabin if a few adjustments were made, but we won't be returning with it as is.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Laura. The futon is not listed as sleeping space since it is intended to be used in the sitting area rather than laid down flat. The couch will be inspected to determine our course of action. Thank you for staying with us!
Brent B. Dec 2020
Cabin was in a nice quiet area, we had a nice few days with the kids in the area.
Barbie P. Dec 2020
Perfect Christmas getaway!
Mark O. Nov 2020
Nice place near Cascade Lake. Very comfortable bed and pillow compared to other rustic cabins we've rented recently. Heater worked well, kitchen was sufficient to prepare all of our meals. The photos accurately represent the cabin - the loft room upstairs with the view was particularly nice.
Michelle R. Nov 2020
The cabin was very clean stocked with everything you need..loved it
Dax W. Oct 2020
The house was exactly what we wanted: a serene cabin in the woods where we could get away from it all. Peaceful, quiet, natural: if that’s what you want you’ll find it here. Unfortunately, Vacasa did a terrible job of cleaning and maintaining the home. It was visibly dirty when we arrived, there was debris on the porch, and there wasn’t a place to put garbage. Even little things like the number of rolls of toilet paper (only two for a week) to the quality of sheets on the bed (very thin and scratchy) were subpar. The homeowners should be proud of their property and peeved at their property management.
Manager response:
Hi Dax, we apologize if the cleanliness of the home left something to be desired, and we will follow-up with our housekeeping team to see that future cleans are completed to our standards. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Laura S. Sep 2020
We stayed at the cabin with five people for the week and it was perfect! The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed to cook great meals, play board games, go hiking in the neighbourhood and more. You can tell the cabin was well cared for and maintained by Vacasa. We did have service on our cell phones in case we needed it but we rented the cabin to unplug and relax which we absolutely achieved. We can't wait to rent again next year!
David K. Sep 2020
The Cabin was totally prepared and ready for us to bring only our clothes and food. Everything else was there. What a great experience !!! We will for sure rent this cabin again!!!!!
Chelsea B. Sep 2020
It was quaint, cozy and charming. We will definitely be going back
Laurie J. Aug 2020
A fun, cozy cabin for a family vacation not far from the lake.
TERRY M. Aug 2020
Liked the caban had everything we needed only thing there was no trash bins
Heidi L. Aug 2020
The outdoor space, porch swing and fire pit out on the deck were really great on a cool evening relaxing with our family. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment. Beds were comfy. The cabin fit our family of 7 plus large dog very well. It was a wonderful place to reconnect with our adult kids. The cabin does get warm and there is no central AC, but we brought fans from home and also used fans that we found in the cabin which helped a lot. Thank you!!!
Michael M. Jul 2020
We were disappointed that the house was not really clean. Dishes had prior people food on them. Couches and throw rugs are very dirty. Mildew by the shower. Provided only two rolls of toilet paper. Deck was very dirty and messy. We will not be returning or recommending anyone to stay here.
Manager response:
Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize that the home was not up to the high standard of cleanliness that we hold ourselves to. Our local manager has had the home deep cleaned. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Shannon F. Jul 2020
Not enough room to park a boat. Very tight dirt driveway. Cabin was great tho
Angela H. Jun 2020
had everything we needed. Stove, fridge, microwave, kitchen utensils. Cabin was very welcoming. Loved the fireplace. Definitely recommend.
Rachael N. May 2020
The loft in this cabin is amazing! We spent so much time reading, enjoying wine, and watching wildlife in the loft. The cabin is cozy and lovely. The stove worked great (not sure if it was updated or something based on previous reviews). Also, the road was bumpy but we made it safely in May in a Corolla, so I feel other cars could make it as well. My husband and I enjoyed our time and loved having some peace to recharge. Thank you!!
Donna F. Aug 2019
If you're looking for a rustic cabin surrounded by nature where you can enjoy true peace and quiet, you will love this place! Unplug and leave the stress behind!
Joyce K. Jul 2019
Loved taking the adult grandchildren there. So much fun for them. I had 6 of them and they normally do not get to spend time together cause they live so far apart. Kids will always remember this.
Bret W. Jul 2019
Our two families had such a great time. We are already talking about a return trip!
Drew P. Jul 2019
I loved your little cabin, so so much. I would love to come back to it some day. Thank you!
Luis M. Jul 2019
Really enjoyed our time at The Creekside Cabin. It was quiet, comfortable and relaxing. We would definitely stay their again.
Mark H. Jul 2019
Great location and very quiet. We had a great get away and really enjoyed the large deck.
Karina C. Jun 2019
my family and I really enjoyed the stay in this very comfortable little cabin.
Levi N. Nov 2018
The cabin was very nicely set up and cozy. Just a short walk to the lake.
Kristen N. Sep 2018
This little cabin was nicelyy sized for our small family of 4. I dont know that I would rent it with more as it would be quite crowded. I wish we had known that the indior stove was non-functioning. We had to creatively adapt ALL of our cooking to the outdoor propane grill. It is surrounded by other properties so on the holiday it was very loud and busy, but ince Tuesday arrived the quiet returned. You cannot see Cascade Lake feom this cacabin, but are surrounded by trees in what feels like Hobbit-land ;)
Diana C. Jul 2018
Cute little cabin a short 20 min. drive from Cascade Lake. What I loved was the layout and seclusion. It definitely has a cozy cabin feel to it. Lots of fire wood provided and access to the gas grill was much appreciated. Loved the porch swing!
I was disappointed that we were not informed that the kitchen range did not work. My family and I meal prepped and finding out the stove/oven were only there for decoration was a little frustrating. The cabin did have electric pots and pans and with a little creativity it worked out.
Also there is no garbage service and no instructions were provided on what to do. so keep in mind you’ll have to haul out your own trash. And on our last night we also found mouse droppings and heard the little guys running inside the walls. Good thing we were all okay with “roughing” it :-)!
Manager response:
We have updated the listing to specifically reflect the home does not have a stove, and we apologize our guest was inconvenienced by this. We will take care of the garbage, and we are working on getting rid of the mice. Thank you!
Cassandra V. Jul 2018
We stayed at this cabin for two nights. The pictures and info are accurate, but I will share details that you don't know until you stay there.
Getting to the property was rougher than expected. If you go around the south end of Lake Cascade and then drive north along the west side of the lake, 15 minutes of the drive is on dirt and rock roads. After turning off West Mountain road, some of the roads were so narrow that trees and plants brushed the sides of our car. The driveway would be difficult for vehicles with low clearance to use, and there is nowhere else to park. If you are coming from or going north, it is quicker to go toward the Tamarack Resort from Donnelly and then take West Mountain Road from there, but you have 25 minutes of dirt and rock roads that way. You will need to wash your car after staying here.
There is a creek that flows near this property. It looks and sounds pretty, but there are LOTS of mosquitoes. I noticed as we were leaving that there were two cans of insect repellent behind the TV, but they both felt close to empty. Thankfully, we had some with us. There was some bear spray at the property, so we carried it with us on walks just in case. Thankfully, we didn't need to use it.
The clearance in the loft is pretty low. My husband is over six feet tall and could only stand up in the middle. I am 5.5 feet tall and could use a little more of it but usually stayed downstairs. Beware of the ceiling fan when crossing the loft from one side of the cabin to the other. I didn't duck low enough one time and hit my head on it pretty hard. Our kids loved the loft though, and it provided plenty of beds for sleeping, plus two large seats that we think could also be laid flat for beds.
The range is gas, and we couldn't tell if it was usable. All of the knobs were missing from it, and there were covers over the burners. Electric pots and pans had been set on top of the covers, so we had the impression that the range should not be used. We would have consulted the guest manual, but it is only available digitally. There is no wifi on the property, but we did not expect that we could not get data on our Verizon cell phones either. Surprise! So, we could not look up anything we had questions on. For example, how to turn on the kitchen light. There is a large florescent light in there that we never could find a switch for. Perhaps the bulbs were just burned out? It left only one small light in the kitchen, which made it quite dim at night.
We also could not find any way to cool the cabin beyond opening a window and sticking a large tabletop device with two small fans in front of it and turning on the upstairs ceiling fan.
The cabin has a good selection of VHS tapes to watch. Unfortunately, we only got video when we put one in (no audio). After messing around with cables for several minutes, we fixed it so we could get video and audio, but if you aren't tech (old tech) savvy, you might be out on watching anything. There is no antenna, cable, or satellite to provide anything else. The player is for VHS and DVD, and I think I saw a case that probably had DVDs in it.
As far as the kitchen goes, it was stocked adequately, but don't expect to find as many foods as you do at many vacation rentals. I think it had coffee and tea, salt, and a few spices, but that was it. Fine for us because we brought everything we needed, but if you are counting on anything more, you will have a longer than expected trip to a grocery store.
On the positive side, the cabin space is used very well and is decorated in a cute rustic style. It has a porch with a swing, chairs, fire pit, and grill. We thought from the pictures that we would like using it, but we didn't because of the mosquitoes (even with insect repellent on, they made being outside unpleasant for us).
Honestly, we did not think it was worth what we paid to stay here. The base rate would have been fine, but the fees and taxes doubled that. We ended up paying a higher average nightly rate (including fees and taxes) than we have for any other vacation rental we have ever had, and we liked this one the least. It could be a great choice for those who really like secluded forest cabins, but I wanted people to be aware of the tradeoffs that we were unaware of from the posting.