USA California Bay Area Kenwood Listing #18960

Casa de Azel - Kenwood, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
33 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Elegant five-acre estate with private hot tub & pond - close to wineries

This exquisite straw bale home is perfect for a wine country getaway. The patio, outdoor fireplace, grill, and private hot tub overlook the beautiful yard surrounding the home as well as the local mountains. You will have a full kitchen, dining area, and a comfortable TV room. The home also has Netflix streaming and cable and it's temperature controlled with the temperature meters! It's been designed to keep the home cool in the summer and warm in the winter, so there's no place better than this! Even if the cold weather is too much, there is a wood fireplace available in the living room area.

What's nearby:
In the heart of wine country, you will be surrounded by countless wineries and within an hour of Napa Valley. You will be just under ten miles from Santa Rosa where you will find restaurants, shopping and much more. Trione-Annadel, Sugarloaf Ridge and Hood Mountain state parks are also in the immediate area. Just fifteen miles south is the Jack London State Historic Park.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen

County permit number: TVR18-0155

County tax number: 3437N

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Mountain view


Internet : Xfinity



Wireless router

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels


33 reviews

Maryann B. May 2022
The kitchen was great. The beds were comfortable. Great to have washer and dryer. The house was clean
Dean J. Apr 2022
Excellent accommodations in a very serene setting. Geese, Ducks, Quail, Deer all on the property at one time or another. Easy access to all of Sonoma Valley Vineyards.
Sara B. Apr 2022
The house was beautiful and on a very quiet street. It was nicely stocked with anything needed. The only thing keeping this from a 5 star review is that the hot tub was quite dirty and unable to be used and the landscapers left the long grass clippings all over the yard. I would stay here again, if the hot tub issue would be fixed.
Manager response:
Sara, thank you for the review after your stay at Casa de Azel. We are so glad you enjoyed the beautiful home and quiet neighborhood. We apologize that the hot tub was not clean for your arrival. Please remember for the future that we have a 24 hr customer care line to assist with all issues. We would have been glad to have had the hot tub cleaned so you could use it. We apologize that the yard was not cleaned up after being cut. We hope you will select us when booking your next vacation. Thank you!
Eric N. Mar 2022
As others have mentioned some parts of the house are dated, but the property is BEAUTIFUL. It's in a wonderful location situated between Sonoma and Santa Rosa. Really beautiful. There were ducks, geese, and even a crane.
Corinne M. Jan 2022
they should fix the hot water in m. bath, and pots and pans and kitchen utensils could be improved in quality, but the house was very nice and the big yard was a wonderful plus . Enjoyed the espresso machine .
Paula C. Nov 2021
Property was beautiful but had some issues. Gardeners came when we were showering and water pressure was significantly reduced and then it just completely shut off. Maybe have the gardeners communicate with guests before they start watering if there’s an issue. Standing in a cold bathroom waiting for the water to come back on was not enjoyable and you only get one tiny bath towel per guest so that was fun. Some of the bathroom windows have no blinds so having the gardeners walking around the house while showering was interesting. Hot water in master bathroom sink didn’t work at all. Some of the lights in the house are not labeled which was just annoying and the mattresses were seriously uncomfortable. Also, one of my friends almost killed herself on a loose stone on the walkway in front of the door so that was scary. On the positive it was a great, quiet, central location near food, wineries and hiking. The house was stocked with plenty of spices and cookware and it was very clean.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Paula. The property manager has provided your review with the homeowner so we can work towards resolutions for your concerns. We do hope to see you again!
Linda L. Oct 2021
The home was lovely, just as pictured. A great private location for a weekend of wine tasting! Unfortunately the property is managed by a large management company… None of our issues were taken care of, we got a computer generated email responses etc.…
Manager response:
Hi Linda. We are sorry to hear you had concerns during your stay and that you had difficulties reaching our team. We are committed to providing our guests with the very best vacation experiences, and we regret to hear if a personal touch was lacking. We hope you’ll give us a second chance to better serve you in the future!
Valeri K. Oct 2021
The home was fantastic! It was comfortable, well appointed and we felt like it was ours for a time. We used ALL of the lovely amenities. The location put us a short drive from all the places we wanted to visit. We would love to come "home" to California in Kenwood again in the near future. Thank you!!
Karen S. Aug 2021
We stayed at Casa de Azel with another couple for 3 fantastic nights. The house was the perfect size for the four of us. It was beautiful, very clean and and in a very nice setting. The outdoor areas are as pretty as the indoor areas. We especially loved the outdoor seating and the hot tub! The house was well stocked with everything we needed for our time there. We highly recommend this property and plan to come back again.
Steven K. Jul 2021
Nice secluded place. Fantastic wine country location with relatively quick access to both Sonoma and Napa as well as Santa Rosa. Basically 10-30 minutes from everything. Nice to have a hot tub at night. Lots of wildlife. Interesting architecture. Was an awesome location for our 2 couples to share
Patrick E. Jun 2021
The house itself is lovely, and in a nice setting on a quiet country road. However, maintenance is a problem. The hot tub (which I needed for arthritis) had clearly not been maintained. The water was a scuzzy green and we had to have someone come out to the house when then jets started generating dirty foam. The dishwasher had a "Dishwasher does not work - do not use" sign taped to it. Housekeeping told us it actually worked, but was "just missing a handle." The hot water in the master bath was turned off because "it leaks." The lovely backyard was unusable because wild geese live on the grounds and poop everywhere. The patio, walkways and cushions were covered with it. If we had been forewarned (or paid less), we might have shrugged it off, but for upwards of $500/night, definitely not ok.
Manager response:
We are very sorry about the confusion with the hot tub. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced.
Lauren S. May 2021
Beautiful home in a beautiful setting. Will return again
Eileen/ Will C. Apr 2021
Surroundings and home beautiful.
Alana H. Apr 2021
The house looked like the photos no surprises. It was comfortable with a pretty pond outback. Lots of wildlife. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was filthy (not hyperbole) which was disappointing to my son. I specifically looked for hot tub during search for rental. The master bathroom had faucet leak with hot water turned off when we arrived. The master sheets are past due to be replaced. All minor issues that could be easily remedied if they took a pause to do so. Otherwise ok
Manager response:
Hi, Alana! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you overall enjoyed your stay. We will address the master bath sink and hot water with our property manager and will work on replacing the sheets. We are sorry for the disappointment caused by the hot tub not being properly cleaned. Our property manager explains that the hot tub at this home is on well water and surrounded by vineyards. While it can make the tub appear dirty due to discoloration, it is clean and completely safe to use. We are always available to help with these issues to increase your comfort. Thank you!
Catherine T. Feb 2021
Base camp for accessing the wineries and the Sugar Loaf state park-hiking! Easy to cook yourself gourmet home meals and sip your wine here. The real wood fireplace let’s you relax and share this 2 couple getaway home.
Quiet location with quick access to Kenwood wineries.
Marianne R. Sep 2020
This home is in a beautiful setting and has everything one could possibly need for a wonderful vacation. We saw deer, raccoons, and osprey along the back of the yard. The home is very close to numerous wineries, hiking, etc. Would definitely stay here again when we are in California!
David G. Jul 2020
Our family enjoyed this beautiful house, It was sited in a lovely area with terrific views and wildlife visiting every morning. It was very comfortable and well stocked. We also enjoyed the hot tub and nearby parks.
Michelle Z. Jun 2020
The backyard is beautiful... great for the cool mornings and evenings. The kitchen is well stocked. There is no central air, which made it uncomfortably warm in the middle of the day.
Douglas C. Mar 2020
This is a really lovely home, well stocked and well appointed. The location is a bit remote, but that worked for us. I had a grand time celebrating my Medicare Birthday there and hope to return!
James M. Feb 2020
Space and location
Marisa K. Dec 2019
Loved this home and it's close proximity to some wonderful wineries. Everything we needed for our girls weekend!
Mark V. Oct 2019
We enjoyed the home very much. Great location.
Dave H. Oct 2019
This place was amazing, clean, everything you need to enjoy a wine trip! Location is great, views for days!
Myron P. Oct 2019
The home in Kenwood was amazing. We were two couples that loves wine and loved our stay. Many vineyards in the immediate area, restaurants, grocery store. The home was well appointed with kitchen cooking utensils, etc. We enjoyed the hot tub and large open fields. We'd highly recommend this home.
Deanna C. Oct 2019
We loved our stay at Casa del Azel. The home was beautiful and we especially liked the wildlife we saw everyday including foxes and deer. The location was perfect for easy access to wineries and restaurants.
jennifer h. Sep 2019
It was the prefect house for two couples to have a weekend getaway in Sonoma's wine country. We loved mountain biking to Annadel from the house too.
Ellie G. Sep 2019
The adobe house was awesome. The setting was perfect for my husband to rest after surgery, and close enough to Santa Rosa for my family and friend to visit with us. Well equipped and great help when we needed it.
Aubrey M. Aug 2019
The house is just as stunning as the photos show! It was also spectacularly clean and on a large piece of land which made it feel very private. The kitchen was very large and well equipped with everything you'd need to cook great meals. Would absolutely stay here again if in the area! Thank you!
Robert E. Jun 2019
Jay K. May 2019
Private and peaceful location a few miles from several towns. The house needed some love (6 burned out lightbulbs) and so many light switches that are located in odd places (labels would help). Master Bedroom has 2 windows with no curtains so the sun lets you know when to wake up. Local Vacasa staff, Tracy, was very responsive and helped us out with our issues right away.
Manager response:
We are glad you had an amazing stay. The lightbulbs have been replaced and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We have passed along your feedback and suggestions to the homeowner. We hope to host you again soon!