USA Maine Mount Desert Island Southwest Harbor Listing #20405

Manset Village Overlook - Southwest Harbor, ME

Take a Virtual Tour
4 reviews
Max. occupancy: 11 3 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed 5 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Waterfront cottage & suite with large deck - amazing harbor views

This charming waterfront cottage and adjoining private studio offer spectacular views of Manset Village, greater Southwest Harbor, and the beautiful mountains of Acadia National Park! Watch the boats come and go from the docks across the street, sip your morning coffee on the spacious deck that overlooks the harbor, and come home from your daily adventures to an open floor plan, large picture windows, and a fireplace with an impressive stone hearth!

What's nearby:
This property sits across the street from the water's edge in Manset Village, mere minutes by car from the boundaries of Acadia National Park. You can spend your days hiking from the Long Pond Trailhead (four miles north), swimming at Echo Lake Beach (four miles north), or joining a ranger-led nature walk or wildlife viewing. You'll also be only 16 miles west of Bar Harbor's wonderful restaurants and 19 miles west of the Ocean Path - one of Acadia's most iconic seascapes.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Two full kitchens
The main house, Back from the Ashes, and the studio, Manset Grotto, can also be rented separately

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view






DVD player

Wireless router


On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


4 reviews

Michele C. Aug 2020
Really enjoyed our stay at Manset Village Overlook. Great view of the harbor, spacious kitchen/living room area.
Matthew H. Aug 2019
I rented the cottage and suite,( I wouldn't describe either that way ) for 7 adults. Upon driving up to the property it looked like a dilapidated storage facility. The bottom of the building had 2 large garage doors for boats and a commercial area to process lobster. The paint was peeling and it looked like the place was abandoned. We were later told the garages were used for storing boats, and the owners could come and go at any time. There was also a commercial dumpster and a rusting discarded freezer in the front of the property. There was garbage on the ground around the dumpster! Also, there are other people permanently living on the property over the back garage.

The stairs to the "cottage" as well as the deck were peeling, had loose floorboards and exposed nails. There was rusting chicken wire around the deck to make it "safe". There is a view of the water but it is not waterfront!!

Upon entering the "cottage" it was very hot. Fans were blowing. We tried to open the windows but most were missing the casement window cranks. I immediately called Vacasa and they did send the caretaker over with one lever so we could open the windows. I also asked them send over something to cover the windows that didn't have blinds, that never happened! The "master bedroom" didn't have a window, just a skylight and an opening/passthrough to the living room. There was a shade on that opening, bizarre! The back 2 bedrooms were connected, so in order to get to one of rooms you had to go through the other. Not ideal for light sleepers or privacy. Each room only had one of the two windows covered with a blind. The other was not covered at all. We had to hang a sheet over it. Also the washer/dryer was in the first room and was not vented outside. The exhaust vent went into a makeshift little box that was just sitting on the floor. A fire hazard! The 4th bedroom, bathrooms, living room and kitchen were fine. Couch was too small for our 7, and definitely for the number of people the house is supposed to hold.

Downstairs the "suite" was awful. It was stuffy, small and even though it probably had been redone, it looked rundown. I was very upset we had to put anyone down there to sleep. Unfortunately the accommodations upstairs were not ideal for a couple.

I paid top dollar in season for this property, and was mortified and disgusted. From the outside the place looked like an abandoned motel. Do not rent this place!!!
Manager response:
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, Matthew. While we have ensured the home is clearly and accuratley represented through our listing information, we apologize that it did not meet your expectations. We were happy to address the maintenance items brought to our attention during your stay. We hope to provide you with an exceptional vacation experience in the future.
Brandon G. Jul 2019
The view is unbeatable. The location is great as well, the bus stops right across the street at Manset dock.

A couple of notes to the owners - I would recommend fixing all of the windows so all of them open properly, it was super warm when we stayed and there was little to no air circulation in the house. The dryer exhausts right into the back room adding to the heat problem.

Either add a/c or vent the dryer outside and fix the windows :)

Also some kind of stopper on the couch would be nice as it slid every time someone would sit down!

Overall it was a great stay - these are simple fixes and suggestions for your next guests :)
Judy K. May 2019
This place was such a pleasant surprise and in a very convenient location. Our family of 8 adults had plenty of room with enough bathrooms and space for everyone. The view is incredible and there’s so much to do nearby. Everything inside is nice and new and very clean. We loved our stay here!