USA Vermont Lake Champlain Islands South Hero Listing #2426

Sunset Beach - South Hero, VT

Take a Virtual Tour
59 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 (6 adults) 1 Queen Bed, 3 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lakefront Home with Patio Over the Lake, Private Dock, & Stunning Sunset Views

Immerse yourself in the peaceful sanctuary of this pristine, lakefront home on the southernmost island of Lake Champlain. With a private dock, an outdoor firepit, and a west-facing deck, you'll have front-row seats to every sunset that paints the sky!

Escape from the bustle of daily life for true relaxation on this sparsely-populated island with forests, streams, and over 200 miles of coastline to explore. The nearby town of South Hero is quaint, but you'll find the essentials. This quiet residential neighborhood is perfect for families (please note that quiet hours will be strictly enforced).

The outside of the home is simple, but step inside and you'll be breathless! A warm, rustic interior splashes light around from outside, making you feel welcome instantly. Please note that heat in this home is supplied by a convection stove in the basement and a wood stove on the main level.

The main room features a living area, dining table, and kitchen separated by a half-wall to give it a very spacious feel. Gather around the dining table to play board games, or grab a seat on one of the couches in front of the fire to enjoy a DVD from the collection or browse on WiFi.

In the kitchen you'll find all the amenities you need to cook a family meal, and a dishwasher makes clean up painless. Enjoy the meal at the large dining table inside, or head outside to dine on the deck while listening to the gentle lapping of water. On sunny days, soak up some sun on one of the reclining loungers or swim out to the floating island to practice your dives.

With four bedrooms and two full baths, there is room for up to 10 guests (six adults maximum, please) to enjoy this peaceful retreat. Two bedrooms with lakeviews will each accommodate a small family: the airy master bedroom has a queen bed and two twin beds (one is a trundle), and the second room has a wide twin bed with a canopy, as well as a twin-size trundle.

The two remaining rooms are great for guests to share: one with two full-size futons, and the other with a double bed and a private atmosphere. There is a full bath on each floor for convenience. Pillows, blankets, and all linens are provided.

This island may be quiet, but there is plenty to see. Take a trip to nearby White's Beach to play some volleyball and take a dip in the swim area, or soak up the expansive southern view of Lake Champlain. From here, drive a little farther to Bird House Forest and see the bright birdhouses poised in the trees of the lively swamp. Also nearby is the Snow Farm Winery and Vineyard, famous for their Pinot Noir, Riesling, and ice wine.

For another adventure, head to Castles Island to look at the spectacular miniature castles built to scale by Harry Barber in the early 20th century. Hiking and biking is popular all over the island, but Grand Isle State Park offers particularly exceptional trails. Head across the water to Isle La Motte for a view of St. Anne's Shrine and collections of ancient fossils.

This home is an ideal getaway for a large group, be it one family, a few smaller families, or a tight group of friends looking to relax in peace and splendor. Don't hesitate - book it today!

*Please note that there are no guarantees that the dock will be available to use, as the water level changes seasonally.

Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Lake view


Water view


Beach access

Mountain view




Cable : Xfinity

DVD player

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels



59 reviews

Elizabeth M. Jul 2022
The sunsets on the deck overlooking the lake.
Shannon S. Nov 2021
We travelled here for a 3 night stay, family of 6 with 4 kids ages 3, 9, 12, and 15. There was ample room for us to spread out among the 4 bedrooms and we enjoyed the fireplace at night while playing board games at the large dining room table. Clean linens, towels, sheets and blankets, were all provided as well as toiletries and clothes and dish detergent, etc., a definite plus! The house was stocked with hundreds of books as well as many games and puzzles. We were up from NJ for an early November getaway while the kids had a few days off. We loved the location right on beautiful lake Champlain and it was a great spot to bop all around Waterbury, Stowe and Burlington. I am giving the house 4 stars because it could definitely use some TLC and updates and some comfier furniture. We were rather cramped at night on the 2 small couches. Otherwise, this is just what you would expect for a VT country lakeside home! We would definitely stay here again.
Manager response:
Shannon, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this home overall! We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and hope to host you again soon.
Angela A. Aug 2021
There is no private dock. Or I should say, you can see the frame of the dock resting up against the rock wall. It is covered in overgrown vines so it has not been out on the water for quite some time. Getting in and out of the lake without a dock is very difficult as everything is VERY slippery and it is a big step down into the water. Also, the metal stairs leading down to the lake and where the dock should be are also covered in vines. Could be a tripping hazard if not cleared out. But the lake was wonderful once you made it in. The house was ok. Bring your own fans as it gets very hot in the house. Overall the house was ok. We had dirty shower curtains, but beds and linens were clean.
Manager response:
Thank you for telling us about your stay, Angela. Maintenance is addressing the vines around the dock; we do apologize we were unable to get it in due to a shortage of people available for the work. The shower curtains are getting replaced, and fans are being added. We hope to host you again!
Lee Z. Aug 2021
The location was great- near the bike trail and beautiful views of the lake . However the way into the water was rocky and it would have been nice if the dock was in the water . This would not be a good property with young kids or older adults in that respect in my opinion
Donna J. Aug 2021
Pros: The deck overlooking the lake for sunsets, fully stocked kitchen, private water access, washer and dryer. Two large tables on the first floor to eat, do work, do a puzzle, play board games. Cons: no communication from the local Vacasa maintenance crew after calling main number for Vacasa. House was very hot at night and only 1 small working fan (2 fans were broken) Called and received 1 full size floor fan, then called to request 2 more the next day because of worsening heat wave. The fans never arrived and we never heard from them. Only one trash can outside and no info about trash pick up (they do come on Wednesday for pick up). Disappointed that none of the dock was in. The neighbors on each side had their dock in so I don’t think it was related to the water level in the lake.
Julie H. Apr 2021
This home was everything we expected plus the views are simply AMAZING..a true gift. The home had everything you would need and beyond peaceful. We will be back again! So simple, stunning views, great location and the best place for a larger family.
Thank you for making our small vacation the best we have ever had!
Sangeeta Y. Apr 2021
Thank you for having us in this beautiful cabin. We had a wonderful time. We were pleasantly surprised to find a piano in great working condition and in tune. My kids play piano. So, they enjoyed playing it.

Overall, it was above our expectations. We had no issues of any kind during our stay.

All the instructions were very clear.

We will love to return one day to actually enjoy the lake side, the water and the bar-be-que and watching the sunset sitting outside.

Thank you for your kind hospitality.
Kristina J. Sep 2020
The location was great. Beautiful views and quite area. Very relaxing. The deck overlooking the water was a favorite hang out. Easy access to the water. We rented paddle boards and having a dock was very useful. The house could use some updates but it meet our needs. The beds were the only disappointment , only one queen size and very firm. We would rent the home again if we had to he opportunity.
Justin C. Sep 2020
We had a nice stay for one week this summer with 8 family members. House is well appointed with clean beds and linens, and nice large table for dining. Although the full dock wasn’t in, the landing was there and we enjoyed sitting by the water or swimming. The deck is great and we had several meals there overlooking the lake. Three star rating is due to musty unfinished basement which is open through spiral stair, leaking skylight in children’s room moldy/broken room fans. Ceiling fans worked, however.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Justin! The basement is unfinished and functions more as a bonus space with a refrigerator; it is open through the staircase as the heat source is located down there. We have inspected the skylight and cleaned the ceiling fans. We hope to see you again!
Richard V. Aug 2020
We stayed at this home several years ago and looked forward to coming back ever since. The location in a secluded area of South Hero Island - and right on Lake Champlain is great. The deck that looks out over the lake is our favorite part - the views are wonderful and the sunsets are amazing. My three almost grown boys and my wife and I had plenty of space and the boys all had their own rooms. This is a great place for family vacations.
Reenie S. Jul 2020
The house should have been cleaner. Coffee was still in the pot. I had to clean some surfaces. It definitively wasn’t dusted .
Manager response:
Hi Rennie, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement regarding some specific cleanliness issues with the home. We will pass your feedback to our housekeeping team for future consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Virginia E. S. Jul 2020
This house is charming, welcoming, and wonderful in many ways. But, we had issues with the furnishings. There are no comfy sofas or chairs facing the water. Instead a piano and bookcase get the best waterfront view in the house. Even more seriously, the beds don't really meet what our needs -- a sagging double and an "extended twin" instead of queens. First world problems, sure, and we wouldn't mind returning, but the furniture issues hold this house back from a better rating.
Julie M. Jul 2019
We really enjoyed our stay! It was the perfect getaway for our visit to a family reunion in South Hero. The house was very comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. The lakeside deck was the perfect place to watch the sunset!
Laura W. Jul 2019
Location was great - view was perfect - house very accommodating!
Jeannine M. Oct 2018
vacasa relocated us. The only good thing about this property was getting out.
Manager response:
We apologize that this home was not in the correct state upon your arrival. We are glad that we were able to move you to a new home and the issues at hand have since been professionally remedied.
Tracey M. Oct 2018
This is a great place to relax and unwind. Spacious, clean, roomy and a private deck with great western views.
Grace T. Aug 2018
Great spot to unwind, reconnect, enjoy nature and the weather! Awesome outdoor space for lawn games, great grill, fun fire pit, beautiful views and and amazing water access (recommend water shoes!). Would love to return.
Kristan W. Jul 2018
We rented the house for a wedding. It was great that there were so many ways to house folks: first floor bed and bath for those less mobile
Futons for the younger adults and a three person room for the younger children.
The lake is fantastic. Magnificent sunsets. Swims to the swimming dock. We could not ask for more.
Lyndsay L. Jun 2018
My friends and I loved this house and the views were unreal, especially at sunset. The house was spacious with comfortable beds. Big yard and a lot of space for entertaining. My only negative is that we were not told prior to arriving that the dock would not be available. Staying in the summer, we had expected to be able to use the dock. Definitely worth checking into if you plan to use it!
Mridula C. Oct 2017
It was a beautiful house, a perfect getaway for us... The locale was tranquil and we were able to unwind and enjoy our time with each other. The house and the provisions were just what we needed...

We would definitely recommend this place to families or groups looking to get away from the noise and lights of the city...

One point I must mention is that there was one bedroom on the main floor, the other three up a spiral staircase...

That being said... We had some amazing views...especially from one of the upstairs bedrooms with two windowed walls...

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break and would love to revisit at a future date..

As one of group said... The lake at our feet was something we enjoyed... Perfect anytime of the day...
Kathleen S. Oct 2017
Four of us stayed two nights. Comfy beds, spacious common room, fabulous lakefront lawn and deck. Quiet, remote location with great views of the Adirondacks from upstairs bedrooms & living/dining area.
Nancy W. Oct 2017
Tim B. Oct 2017
The house was clean and nicely furnished. Great fireplace to keep you warm on cold autumn nights. We especially liked the deck views and fire pit! We used the Grand isle Ferry to get to the island from the New York State Northway and we were a short 20 min ride to Burlington. Overall, it was the perfect place to get together with some friends and enjoy a long weekend.
Kyle R. Sep 2017
Perfect vacation home in a very remote location, good for a weekend away with family and friends. Central to Burlington and NY while also having some great local spots within 10 minutes of the house. All of the amenities needed for your stay are provided, and the view is even better than the photos. If travelling with a group favoring the bar scene, keep in mind that there is no Uber available in this area and cabs are quite expensive. If you plan accordingly and research where to stop in the area you can definitely keep yourself busy and out of trouble.
Emily H. Aug 2017
We had a great family reunion here for 4 days and really enjoyed our stay. The home is cozy and quaint, yet large enough for 12 people to stay. The grassy property is great for lawn games or gazing out at the lake. The area is very quiet and you do need to be aware of the neighbors (don't park across from their yard-they are very protective of that, and don't be noisy after 9pm). We had a great time in this beautiful location with 3 generations of family!
Thomas H. Aug 2017
Great for a family vacation. The kids had so much fun in the lake. Wouldn't recommend for persons with allergies or breathing issues.
Cori L. Jul 2017
We went on a family vacation with our daughter and three other families. This house was great! The bedrooms upstairs were all big enough for parents and kids to share, the first floor bedroom was a little tight for that but we managed. The kitchen was big enough to handle meals for our large group and there were two big tables. The living area is a lot bigger than it looks and was fine for all the grown ups and kids. The deck was GREAT! And the stairs down to the dock were not nearly as steep as they look in the pics - definitely OK for kids to navigate. We had a BLAST and the sunsets were AMAZING!!!!
Jesse W. Jul 2017
The house is perfect for 8 adults. Right on the lake with a gorgeous view and an easy trip into Burlington. Space for lawn games, tv and internet.
Jesse B. Jun 2017
Although the property is beautiful and well maintained (inside and out), I would only recommend it for family trips. The property is sandwiched closely between two residential properties and a "no noise after 9pm/lights out after 10pm" policy is strictly enforced by said neighbors who have no problem calling the police/property managers. Don't expect to sit around the fire pit into the wee hours on a secluded property.
Tammy H. May 2017
We enjoyed family time together for UVM graduation. It was the perfect spot to celebrate a wonderful life event. Would recommend for a family or friend gathering of this type. Beautiful views of the lake. Lovely place to catch up.
Phil D. Sep 2016
A handful of guests joined us for my brother's bachelor party. Since he graduated from St. Mikes, we thought northern Vermont would be a great nostalgic location. He clearly had a great time and the spectacular view from the deck, complete with Fire pit made the weekend memorable. Well done!
Kevin M. Sep 2016
The location was fantastic, we had a lot of fun swimming in the lake, jumping off the dock, and building a fire near the outdoor deck. Despite some minor issues (propane tank empty on arrival) it was a great holiday house. I would recommend bug spray for sitting outside at night. The lake is beautiful and you can see so many stars out on Grand Isle, away from the big cities. Wonderful place to relax and enjoy.
Holly C. Aug 2016
An absolutely perfect, secluded spot on the lake with incredible sunsets.
MATTHEW P. Jul 2016
Our group of ten spent a great week on the lake. We're still envisioning the sunsets. The kids really enjoyed the swimming platform and the yard space to play. The house was perfect for our needs. We highly recommend.
Dana A. Jul 2016
We had a wonderful week! Fantastic vacation spot!
Karen C. Jun 2016
The site was perfect for our reunion. Close enough to many attractions if there is time for sight-seeing. Comfortable enough to just stay put and catch up with friends, some of whom had not seen each other for 50 years.
Certainly would stay here again. Guests that visited us were impressed and may also make reservations. Very clean, well stocked - everything you need for an escape from reality. Thank you.
Lynn M. Jun 2016
Property was perfect for a large family. Ample parking which we needed due to we were all adults coming from different parts of New England. We enjoyed the large grill, fire pit, and the beautiful deck over the water. The sunsets were amazing.
Susan C. May 2016
Home is equipped with everything you need for a family vacation. There was plenty of room for our 12 family members there for my sons UVM graduation. Scenery and sunsets were spectacular. Easy to get to Burlington. Had a BBQ and enjoyed the fire pit. Check and check out were easy.
Ryan H. May 2016
We had a great time during out stay in South Hero! The house was perfect for our needs - had 10 people in our group. Lake Champlain is beautiful and this rental property has a great view! We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.
Michael P. Apr 2016
Fantastic views! The place was well-kept and had a cozy lake house feel. The ONLY con would be that there are two double beds in one of the bedrooms. I would recommend bringing an air mattress or two if you plan on having more than 8 adults - unless you dont mind sleeping 2 people to a double bed. Overall it was excellent.
Conal M. Sep 2015
The house has a wonderful view of the lake with a nice deck outdoors to relax on. The upstairs bedrooms have big windows with views, also. There are two good sized dining tables. It is a great place for large families! It was a bit musty and flies were coming in somewhere. The decor is dated. There is a piano!
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy the home more. We will do our best to eradicate the smell and the flies. We hope you were able to enjoy the peaceful lake and hope you had an opportunity to enjoy a good cookout on the deck.
Holly C. Aug 2015
We loved the location and charm of this rental! The water was so clear - fantastic swimming, boating and relaxing with the view. Awesome deck for eating outside.
Josh M. Aug 2015
Gazing across the lake to the Adirondacks; swimming in cool, clean lake water; sitting in deck chairs watching chipmunks scamper across the lawn; visiting the local farms for fresh produce; and at night, just listening to the waves lapping the shore.

The kitchen was clean and had all the utensils and appliances we needed; the beds were all made up ready for our arrival, with plenty of towels - there was nothing left to do but relax.
Kathleen K. Jul 2015
Weather, company and lodging all worked together for a great time with family and friends. Refreshing lake swims, paddles and fishing, great meals, and some daily excursions blended together into a special vacation for 8 of us.
Joan G. May 2015
We needed a lot of sleeping space for family coming in For UVM graduation and we wanted a scenic spot, something better than a hotel so we could cook out, relax and enjoy. This place was perfect! Plenty of room for our 3 families with teenage kids. Beautiful views. Well stocked. Very relaxing. I would certainly like to go back in the summer!