USA North Lake Tahoe California Alpine Meadows Listing #2957

Dwengi House - Alpine Meadows, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
58 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 5 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms  plus loft 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Home with Easy Ski & Beach Access!

At this charming Tahoe City vacation rental, you'll find a true bonanza for everyone. Great for a reunion of folks who want the close convenience of a world-class Tahoe resort, but with the intimacy of an amenity-loaded private home, this retreat can't be beat.

Located less than two miles northwest of Alpine Meadows Ski Resort, this North Lake Tahoe lodge is ideal for large groups with a variety of vacation aspirations. From the deck, you'll also notice the house's impressive frame with windows filling in nearly every square inch. On the inside of these floor-to-ceiling windows is the homey living room where you'll have a huge widescreen TV with cable and a wood-burning fireplace with stonework that looks like it was lifted right from a Sierra Nevada mountain side. Your eyes are drawn upward from the crackling fire to the loft and wood-paneled vaulted ceilings, reminding you that you're in a quintessential Tahoe lodge. You can get to the comfortable loft via a ladder staircase. From here, take a short set of stairs down and find the remaining bedrooms and a fully-remodeled bathroom.

Sharing a home cooked meal might be the easiest way to dine together. The fully stocked kitchen is at your disposal and there's a breakfast nook and two dining table sets (each in brightly, naturally lit spaces) for guests to eat casually and mill about the main floor. Bonuses in the kitchen include a coffee bean grinder and a blender. Additional amenities here include a newly remodeled laundry room with a private washer and dryer.

Can a North Lake Tahoe vacation rental for adventurous guests get any better? Book your reunion at this glorious home!

What's nearby:
The main roads just outside this home are some of the first to be plowed in winter, so it won't be too difficult to take the two mile drive to Alpine Meadows Resort. An abundance of activities can be found year-round at both Alpine and Squaw Valley (just a five-and-a-half mile swing around the mountain). Your outdoorsy guests will be in heaven with access to premier ski runs, trails, and geocaching nearby. Families can share in aerial tram rides, mini golf, and roller skating, while bon vivants can indulge in dining, shopping, and massages at Alpine's Trilogy Spa. Aside from popular ski, snowboard, cross-country, and snowshoe trails, there is a full menu of both indoor and outdoor fun. Try horseback riding, rope courses, climbing walls, and roller skating with views of Lake Tahoe. This home is in a prime spot for a large group on a yoga retreat as Alpine has Wanderlust Yoga Studio and the area is the Tahoe site of the annual Wanderlust Festival.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
*Internet can be intermittent and may not be suitable for streaming or gaming
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.
Please note: Due to local rules and regulations, hot tubs, pools, and some activity spaces including private beaches are unavailable at this time. As local policies change by the hour, access to amenities is beyond our control. We encourage you to check local regulations before your trip so you can be as prepared as possible.

Parking Notes: A maximum of five vehicles are allowed (no garage parking is available) and 4WD is required in winter. Any and all RVs are prohibited from using the utility hook up at the home and are not permitted on the premises for any length of time.

County permit number: STR20-9431

You must be 30 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Mountain view


Internet : Suddenlink


Cable : Suddenlink

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby


Gas grill : Private

Beach towels


58 reviews

Derek P. Mar 2021
Very cool, classic retro Tahoe cabin in a fantastic location literally just down the road from Alpine Meadows. However, the house is definitely in need of some serious TLC and upgrades throughout. Some examples:

* Some beds have mattresses that have literally no padding whatsoever - just springs straight into your back.
* One of the downstairs rooms didn't get any heat at all and froze out a guest overnight.
* After getting back from a full day of skiing, all we wanted were hot showers - however, there was no hot water in the cabin and we had to call Vacasa to have someone come out and fix the water heater. A few guests had to take cold showers in the meantime.
* One of the showers did not work at all for the duration of our stay.
* There was snow melt leaking through the ceiling in the entryway.
* Broken/missing window shades
* Barbecue did not work
* Almost everything in the cabin is the same as it has been for probably 30-40+ years

The cabin itself has so much potential and we still enjoyed a couple nights there, but the house needs some serious attention and upgrades. Just be prepared before you book and arrive.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Derek, and are sorry to read you had some disappointments. The homeowner has been made aware of your concerns. Thank you!
Keana R. Oct 2020
Overall the neighborhood is nice and relatively close to Truckee and Lake Tahoe. Nevertheless, the house was not adequately clean (used menstrual pad on the deck - large dead rodent left in hot tub during my 5 night stay), dog droppings left on deck, the master bathroom was clogged and unusable (bad odor and wet carpeted bathroom during my entire stay) and the refrigerator was off when we arrived (bad odor in the kitchen because of this and reached out to owner via VRBO and no response). In addition, some of the furniture in the house was old and not in best condition (eg master bed and couch in living room).

Ultimately it can be a decent vacation rental but not for the price! I paid a little over $2,500 for my 5 night stay and I expect a refund.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us Keana! We sincerely apologize for the state of the home upon your arrival, and for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your time with us. We take this feedback seriously and have worked diligently with our local staff to ensure that the home has been deep cleaned and that all future inspections and cleanings live up to the Vacasa standard. We have ensured also that all appliances have been thoroughly serviced, and we hope for a chance to impress you in the future!
Shradha J. Oct 2020
Great home, very spacious! A lot of beds. We didn't have a problem at all. Close to a 7/11 down the street, about a 10-15 min drive from the closest grocery store. Great location, neighborhood is beautiful and there are accessible trails close by!
Evan H. Jul 2020
Great big, open cabin with plenty of space and sleeping areas. Awesome deck to get some sunshine and close to the Truckee River for a nice afternoon float.
Jody S. Jul 2020
This is an interesting, retro house but it needs some serious TLC. It has cobwebs on windowsills, dead bugs under picture glass, old problematic plumbing, grime in the kitchen's corners, rusty pans, cupboards full of old, dirty appliances, broken tile on the steps, broken art pieces, etc. Also, the service was challenging - despite multiple promises by the national Vacasa office that the local manager would call me, they never did. They did help us with the missing key and send us a plunger, but didn't call. And just to be clear, we did appreciate some of the architectural features and the beautiful surroundings. We certainly didn't let the griminess ruin our vacation.
Manager response:
Hi, Jody! Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We have spoken with housekeeping about the oversights so we can ensure they are addressed for our guests, and we will schedule someone to get up to the high ceiling to take care of the cob webs. The owner has bee advised of your other comments for their consideration. We hope to see you again!
steve n. Jun 2020
beautiful setting, awesome deck, almost no sound. plenty of room.
Kirill V. Sep 2019
What an incredible house! Not only was it incredibly spacious for all 14 of us who stayed there, but it was equipped with everything we needed from towels to toiletries (shampoo/conditioner/soap) to base ingredients like salt, oil, sugar, and tea. The house was extremely clean, pretty well insulated, and situated right near one of the hiking trails (just an 8 minute walk) and just a quick drive from the beach. The fireplace was a really nice bonus and gave off lots of warmth and a cozy atmosphere throughout the living room. The jacuzzi was amazing and had a very nice temperature of 100F plus the much needed massaging jets after a day of hiking. There were enough bathrooms for all of us and the showers were top-notch (strong, hot water). The decorations and artwork were really cool and the whole place had a very homey feel to it. Overall, I would definitely recommend this to any large groups (or even multiple families) looking to stay in the Lake Tahoe area. AAA++++
Steven C. Aug 2019
Great Place with so much Place. Big back patio and awesome hot tub.
Excelente todo
Albert M. Mar 2018
Excellent location extremely nice property.
Brianna M. Feb 2018
We loved staying here for the weekend with our friends. The location was fantastic, the hot tub and view off the deck were great, and the house was very big and accommodating for a large group.
Michael W. Jan 2018
Great cabin in the mounians .great hot tub lots of room we had 6 kids 8 adults.plenty of room
Ashley P. Dec 2017
We really enjoyed our trip to Tahoe with the beautiful home. It was absolutely perfect with breathtaking views! We were close to Tahoe city which was nice, but the place was so perfect we ended up just hanging out there the entire weekend! It is extremely close to Squaw as well! Loved the location.
Ville P. Nov 2017
We had a nice thanksgiving at the house. Plenty of room for 3 families with kids.
Camille S. Sep 2017
We held our family reunion in Tahoe and 14, including four small children and one dog, stayed at Dwengi. There was plenty of room for all of us, and there were even 2 empty beds! We were comfortable and could not have been happier.
Reilly R. Aug 2017
Wow, so nice - great!
Sharon S. Jun 2017
We had so much fun our teenagers weren't happy they needed more to do but it was a great trip loved th hot tub!!
Judy S. May 2017
this is a very good place for family vacation. We had a women 70th birthday bash had a great time. House needs a little maintaining, but would stay again. We stayed in May 2017
Rushil P. May 2017
We loved the size, location and amenities. Would highly recommend the place to others!
Bernice M. Apr 2017
We had a great time. The house is spacious enough to accommodate a large family. Located close to ski resorts, and mountains of snow to play. We drove about 30 minutes to Kings beach to play in the casinos as well.
Elizabeth N. Apr 2017
We liked the A-shaped frame and the layout of the house. Many rooms were available for our party of 12. The kids loved having the entire loft (2 sections) all to themselves. The hot tub is located outside on the deck so you can have a nice view of the mountain when relaxing in the tub.

Although the house was probably built many years ago, many parts of the house have been renovated. All bathrooms and upstairs bedrooms looked new with comfortable mattresses. The downstairs bedrooms (especially the room with the bunkbeds) were not as new and had cheaper quality "springy" mattresses that lumped down when I sat or laid on them. The sofas in the living room and especially the loveseat in the den dining area should be replaced. The kitchen cabinets are old.

The house is a short drive to Squaw Valley ski resort. Alpine Meadows is closer.

There is no cell service for AT&T subscribers, but Verizon works great in this house. The house wifi can not reach the bedroom with the bunkbeds because that room is located downstairs hidden from the router.
Bradlyn W. Apr 2017
This is pretty much the best party house ever!!!
Nicole D. Mar 2017
We had an amazing time! The house is super cozy and fun and it's a great deal! Would definitely stay here again!
Carlotta P. Feb 2017
Lots of sleeping spaces, great windows and architecture, fit description.
Marie Thuy T. Jan 2017
Greg was very kind and let us leave our belongings a couple hours before check-in. It's a beautiful cabin and has lots of bowls and cups for the many people that plan to stay. The living room has a TV and we connected out laptop to watch movies. The hot tub was wonderful and even with it being outdoors and with the snow, it was extremely enjoyable. There are rooms below the first floor, on the first floor, and on the second floor (close to the roof). There are also two dining rooms to fit all the people and play games at. There's also a pool table on the lowest floor. Lots of towels were provided and there were plenty of pillows and blankets stowed away in the closet so it really lightens the packing load for all of the attendees. My family & I extremely enjoyed our stay there!
Oliver J. Dec 2016
This was a great location and big enough to sleep a large group. The place was clean with plenty of rooms and a working heater to warm up the house. The hot tub is a huge plus too. The only thing is that the place could use more lighting but that does add to the whole "winter cabin" vibe. Definitely would stay here again.
Audrey M. Dec 2016
Great house. Would recommend.
Luisa S. Dec 2016
Great location, spacious house was perfect for our group of 12 (and there were beds to spare!). Love the hot tub and the fireplace.
Ron R. Sep 2016
Nice house plenty of room good location
Connie K. Sep 2016
I have hardly ever been able to see all my children and grandchildren at one time in one place. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect spot for this memorable gathering to take place. The house is cozy, comfortable, and fully accomodating for a large family. The appliance work beautifully. It's a nice location and easy to get to.

Most of all, this house has "heart", an ambiance from the decorating and the convenience, that just makes everyone happy to be there! Our 3 generations will never forget it!
Nicole H. Aug 2016
At the end of the day we made the most of it but this house was not what I expected. The pictures are not an accurate portrayal of the property. Very outdated. I think because the kitchen and master bath and carpet are so old it just doesn't feel clean. There are 2 bathrooms that have been updated and those are nice. All the rooms are musky. There are 2 rooms downstairs and a loft upstairs but the stairs are extremely steep (just an FYI). It was tough for us with older people and a toddler. Also, (no one's fault) but the deck and hot tub were a huge reason I rented this property but there are a ridiculous amount of yellow jackets in Tahoe in summer so we could barely be outside without getting swarmed. I would not rent this property again.
I finally called Vacasa when I returned home and the manager explained to me that guests were vandalizing the pool table which is why the owners locked the room. I still wish they'd given people a heads up who had already booked. I also wish they would have gotten a plumber to fix the bathroom. We had 10 people and only 2 bathrooms (only 1 on the main floor).
Kurt G. Aug 2016
Carlos C. Jul 2016
The house was big enough for a large group
Leslie H. Jul 2016
Great place, location and accommodations. We had a great time.
Jeff W. May 2016
Not as shiny and new as some of the photos make it look, but a solid house with lots of beds and rooms.
Stacy F. Apr 2016
My family had a wonderful time at the Dwengi Cabin. It is very spacious and cozy.
Love the fireplace! Thank you.
John P. Apr 2016
Stayed 5 days at Dwengi house in late April 2016, and skied at Squaw. House has many rooms and beds, and the beds were very comfortable. Out bedroom - the Master - was quite cold at night but the bedclothes were snuggle and warm. Plenty of hot, hot water. To be honest, the house could use some updating, but I was looking for a comfortable, convenient ski house, not the friggin' Ritz. The location is awesome, close to Alpine and Squaw, and on a main access road that should be kept well plowed. The kitchen is well equipped and functional. Do bring a teapot if you are a tea drinker. There is a breakfast nook with a table for 6 or 7, and a large main dining room table. Some of the chairs were a bit threadbare, but, as I said, I wasn't looking for, or expecting, the Ritz. There is an impressive fireplace, which we did not try to use, in a living room/den with 3 comfortable couches.

The hot tub, on the back deck, is quite large and we enjoyed it immensely. Rent the Dwegi house, you won't regret it.
Seema K. Feb 2016
Great time!
May T. Feb 2016
Dwengi House was an excellent location for my co-workers and I to have a winter retreat in Tahoe. Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley are both a short drive away, as is Tahoe City for groceries and restaurants. We were a group of 16 and the house was a good size for us, though I hadn't realized that 16 means that the double beds (of which there are two up in the very cool loft--one of the double beds basically has its own suite with a door while the other has to share the open space over the kitchen and living room with two twin beds) would have to be shared. My co-workers weren't comfortable being that intimate with each other so we had some folks on the couch, but there were plenty of extra blankets and pillows tucked in the many closets around the house so that was fine. With a big group like ours, it was also a relief that there was enough parking out front to squeeze in the five cars we had and lots of pots and pans and dining utensils for all of us. Besides that, we all really liked the alpine design of the house and enjoyed the living room fireplace as well as the hot tub very much. There were a few things that prevented our stay from being perfect (not enough towels, no firewood, dead batteries in the TV remote, and a game of phone tag that couldn't be resolved in time to get us those missing things), but if I were looking for a reasonably priced place in North Lake Tahoe for a large group of people, I'd definitely consider staying here again.
Yasna C. Dec 2015
This was a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday for our family. This home has so much character!! Is has plenty of double and single beds. We had a group of 13 people including adults (couples and singles), kids and teenagers and everybody just loved the home. There was beds for us to choose from!
Although the kitchen could use an upgrade it is very well equipped. The dinning table was big enough to sit 10 guests and the rest of our group eat right across from us at the coffee table in the living room.
The location is beautiful and private as well as close enough to supermarkets and restaurants.
This home has soooo much to offer. It is cozy, great location, and VACASA made it so easy for us to book it, to answer all of our questions and to show up right away when we called them to complain about the trash being full when we got there.
Thank you so much VACASA! We will be back! ;)
Ruimeng L. Aug 2015
This was a last minute trip before summer end. We had a budget of $1,000 and Vacasa was the only one that has what we were looking for "location to Reno, Jacuzzi, and Gas Grill".
The booking process was pretty easy. An email was sent to us 7 days before our check in date. It has all the information that we needed for check in and check out.
We read some reviews about Vacasa's other properties and some of them weren't very good. So we were kind of nervous initially. But this property is as good as advertised. Big living room enough for 10+ people to sit and watch TV. Dinning area next to the living room has enough space for a table of 8+. The kitchen has everything you need to cook a full meal. Dishes, cups, coffee bean grinder. Coffee maker, refrigerator, dish washer all worked properly. The outside deck was clean and big. The Jacuzzi and gas grill worked great. One thing really surprised us were the two shared restrooms located in the main floor and basement. They were recently remodeled and were super clean. Feel just like home. The only noticeable imperfection were the dated master room bathroom and the shaky internet connection. The basement area pretty much has no connection at all. But the pool table in the game room helped to provide some entertainment for the guests live in the basement.
Location of the property is great. Only 5 minutes to Tahoe City where all the restaurants are and near the beach. Also, it's 10 minutes from Truckee, a small little town next to I-80. You can find Safeway and Starbucks there.
Good overall experience from this trip and will book Vacasa again. Hope they will keep up with the good work.
Hellen H. Aug 2015
The property is well maintained and they had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. My only complaint is that the kitchen needs to be updated. The stove, oven and microwave lack heating power. Dishes that typically take 30 minutes to cook took over and hour. The master bath is outdated and old. The shower head was loose and it felt as if it could break at any time. However, overall the property was clean, well maintained and was a comfortable stay. I would stay at the Deengi house again.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback and will take it under consideration. We are happy to see that you were pleased with the home overall, and we hope you had the opportunity to relax in the hot tub. Thank you!
Paige S. Aug 2015
This place is perfect if you have teens who need space. The pool table was a huge hit as was the hot tub. We would rent it again.