USA Texas Fredericksburg Historic Rocky Hill - Fredericksburg Listing #5150

Historic Rocky Hill: Malbec Suite - Fredericksburg, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
67 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Plush dog-friendly suite with on-site tasting rooms, walk to wineries!

Escape to the heart of Texas wine country when you stay at this one-bedroom Fredericksburg suite, a romantic and dog-friendly wine lovers' getaway with a beautiful courtyard and four tasting rooms on-site.

This one-bedroom retreat is part of the Historic Rocky Cottage, a lovely and historic vacation property with five suites that can be rented individually for couples' weekends, or together for larger groups of up to 12 people.

Wonderfully located along the Highway 290 Wine Trail, this scenic property is just six miles from the restaurants, shops, and historic sites of downtown Fredericksburg. It's also within walking distance of Alexander Vineyards, Rancho Ponte Vineyard, Six Shooter Cellars, and Fiesta Winery, the latter of which provides live music in the courtyard most Saturdays!

These pioneer-style cabins appear rustic from the outside, but when you enter the Malbec Suite, you'll find a plush and elegant living space with lofty tin ceilings, rich furnishings, and comfortable seating.

After a sun-filled day of wine-tasting or hiking through Enchanted Rock State Natural Area 23 miles north, return home to read a book in the cushioned rocking chair or relax in front of the flatscreen cable TV.

Between the delicious lunches at the nearby Sunset Grill, dinner splurges at Vaudeville, and the locals' favorite ice cream cones at Clear River, you'll have have little need for a kitchen during your stay. But the Malbec Suite still offers a coffee maker and a microwave for your convenience.

As many as two guests will sleep comfortably in this one-bedroom, one-bathroom suite. The grand king-size bed features a beautiful coverlet, while the full bathroom offers a walk-in stall shower. For a small nightly fee, you're welcome to bring along one dog!

But perhaps the most attractive features of the Malbec Suite await just outside the door, where the large shared courtyard features a thicket of shade trees and a spa-like waterfall feature - the perfect place to open a bottle of wine and listen to live music on Saturday afternoons.

In addition to the four on-site tasting rooms, this one-bedroom property offers outstanding access to the renowned wineries of the Texas Hill Country. You'll be just four miles from 4.0 Cellars and Grape Creek Vineyards, seven miles from Becker Vineyards, and 12 miles from Pedernales Cellars.

Visitors will also delight in a stroll through the Fredericksburg National Historic District, which features a seasonal farmers market and more than 80 sites of historic interest.

Don't wait another day to book your relaxing wine country getaway - this Fredericksburg suite will treat you to the best of Texas!

We’re excited to inform you that this unit utilizes a comfortable style of bed-making known as Triple Sheeting. Triple Sheeting is proven to be more hygienic and is used by five-star hotels around the world. It consists of a fitted sheet, a flat sheet, a blanket, and finally a decorative top sheet.
Due to this change, the pictures for this home may not accurately represent the bedding that will appear during your stay. This has not affected any other amenities or the amount of beds available.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining







On-site services

Free breakfast

Bed & breakfast



67 reviews

brenda f. Oct 2022
Perfect location and very cute and accommodating
kimberly w. Aug 2021
Clean & comfortable
Megan W. Jun 2021
This was a clean, well stocked suite for a weekend trip. It is not very updated and the overhead fans were not working during our stay. Location is amazing.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your comments regarding bed comfort onto our management team for consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Elizabeth D. Mar 2021
We enjoyed our stay in this adorable room. It was clean, spacious & at a great location. We'd visit again!
Justin L. Jan 2021
The room was set up nicely, my only complaints about the stay.
1) the walls are super thin, I could hear the anointing rooms tv all night, thinking they might be already asleep. Until they come in 12:30 AM couldn’t tell if they where super loud and drunk or the wall was so thin you could hear every word and sound from the room.
2) The BNB was just a small fridge with a can of OJ and a 1/4 pint of milk, with two Danish pastries. So definitely not the breakfast I had in mind.
Other than that... it was a great stay. Ohh the address listed didn’t show up on either gps and navigation.
Manager response:
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway, Justin! We apologize for the items that were amiss on your visit. Please know that our guest services team is available 24/7 to assist with any concerns or issues you have during your stay. We hope to host you again for a more comfortable stay in the future!
Morgan A. Nov 2020
Overall the place was clean and the location was conveniently midway between main street and the wineries off of 290. However, the wifi is horrible! Could not even connect a cell phone to the wifi and get any web page to open up. The walls are so thin and not insulated that we heard our neighbors the entire time. We could hear them talking word for word and especially when they were using the bathroom. An alarm was going off in the other bedroom and we had to listen to it ALL NIGHT LONG!
Manager response:
Hi Morgan. Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that the wifi was so difficult to connect to. We have reached out to the homeowners with this information to get it fixed as soon as possible. We do hope that we have another chance in the future to impress you!
Bryce M. Oct 2020
We loved NOTHING!! Broken down, cracks in the wall, old rickety furniture, winery customers coming over and trashing the place, (Bed &)breakfast was a complete joke with a dime store danish and mini OJ in the fridge, had to unplug the coffee maker just to plug in the microwave, lamps and ceiling fan not working or threatening to fall off the broken table, dirty silverware, 1 roll of TP for 4 days, need I go on? The outside pic's are deceiving. You share this building with 2 other customers, 3 rooms total. This was the worst, especially considering how much they have the nerve to charge!! Run away fast!!
Manager response:
Hi, Bryce! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We have added a dining table since your stay and will be replacing the furniture soon. The homeowner will be taking care of the cracks in the wall. We hope to see you again once these improvements are made!
Emily F C. Aug 2020
Great location near a lot of wineries! The patio area was nice and relaxing!
Lee M. Jun 2020
Location, cleanliness, ease of use
Mark H. Jun 2020
Great room. Fiesta winery is one of our favorites so getting to stay on site is special. We brought our golden doodle cowboy and loved that the place is pet friendly. We will definitely be booking here again in the future
Diana R. May 2020
I was looking for a quiet getaway which was not always quiet. An adjoining room had a constant barking dog left in the room alone. Internet not reliable and teed 2 days calling for assistance. Waiting 1 hour on 1st day. Never did get anyone to speak with. Not my best stay here.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review and apologize you did not have a better experience. A storm did knock out internet access for the entire town during your stay; we are sorry to see this was a frustration for you. Due to COVID-19, we have been short-staffed, so we do apologize we were unable to assist you in a more timely fashion. We look forward to being fully staffed again soon! Thank you for staying with us!
Kevin D. Jan 2020
The room was not well thought out. The door nearly hits the bed when you open it and it is difficult to get in and out of with suitcases and such. The bed is comfortable as is the room. They did not clean our room after our first night, nor did they leave us fresh dishes which irritated me. No fresh towels, etc. We assume that it is because our dog was still in the room - the friendliest female Golden Retriever on earth who was in her kennel.

The room showed some wear as well. A chair with axis hide, which was cool, except that it was totally worn out and coming apart. That should not be in a room that costs this much.

I would probably not choose this one again with so many good choices in the area.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback. Housekeeping will not enter a room with a dog that is unattended. We hope you will stay again soon.
Jay S. Dec 2019
Great little place. When getting there, use the six Shooter winery, not where Google maps shows.
David S. Nov 2019
Room was cozy, quiet, peaceful. May lack attention on pastries left for clients - a bit on the moldy side and hole in the cereal box. No clothes hangars in closet. Otherwise great for a temporary stay.
Manager response:
Hi David, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will pay closer attention to our welcome pastries and other supplies going forward. We hope to host you again soon!
Megan J. Sep 2019
Great location! It's close to the city, but even closer to a few wineries! Quiet and beautiful!!
Tamara H. Aug 2019
Great for a short stay. Cool room, comfy bed & conveniently located between wineries. A little loud at times and no easy access to get luggage etc into room. Should’ve had ramps for easier access. For longer stays, need more supplies.
Paul M. Jun 2019
We loved everything but could hear some conversations.
Denise L. Jun 2019
Place was beautiful we stayed Friday night to Saturday am it was so quiet and quaint
And so easy to get to ! Plenty of wineries near by and we had a concert to attend on Luckenbach , totally worth it would visit again ! Cake was great byw!
Eloy F. Apr 2019
Location, privacy, fun.
Shannon W. Mar 2019
Great location although thin walls and lots noise from 290 when sitting outside. AC did not want to work at first but did after a bit and main ceiling fan wasn't working but they did have a back up fan. Fantastic berry cheesecake large danish waiting when we arrived and right with a vineyard and winery. Nice stay.
JAMES D. Feb 2019
We loved the room-it was quaint, with lots of charm and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. And there was coffee, orange juice and water along with a yummy sticky bun cake for us. Very nice.
Nick C. Jan 2019
The room was nice.
Ryan W. Dec 2018
Very nice room had a great time. Definitely will be staying again.
Mark H. Oct 2018
These folks made every effort to accommodate us and were successful. Thank you for willingness to help!!!
Tom C. Sep 2018
My wife wanted an escape from reality. To be "Us" and was able to find it at the Historic Rocky Hill Bed and Breakfast.
Scot M. Aug 2018
We were very happy with the room and especially the location of Historic Rocky Hill. It's close to several wineries, but not too far from the town of Fredericksburg. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was good. We did have a mechanical problem with the air conditioning unit that could not be fixed while we were there (which explains why we could only give 4 out of 5 stars to the Malbec Suite), but Vacasa was able to move us to another very nice place in town. I have to give Vacasa 5 out of 5 stars for customer service! In spite of the mechanical issue (which wasn't anyone's fault), we had a great experience with Vacasa.
Diane G. Jun 2018
Everything was beautiful and clean, and a nice coffeecake was in the room, along with cereal, for our breakfast. Extremely nice lodging for the price. Would highly recommend.
Steve A. May 2018
Rustic and beautiful interior!
Unfortunately The maid did not come in on sunday and we used all the dishes(on sat and sun) and had to wash the in the bathroom sink ((not fun) for Monday morning use.
The Biggest Problem was the trashed out court yard -wine and water bottles everywhere and trash can over full!
Then the tree service crew started up at 8:00 in the morning and covered up the whole court yard and parking in cut-off limbs and did not clean it up for 3 days!
Manager response:
We apologize if this guest was surprised by the lack of maid service; this is something we detail to our guests at check-in and is also listed on their property card. We apologize we were not informed of the tree cutting by one of the other businesses in the area so we could ensure it would not hinder our guests.
Lina R. May 2018
The location was perfect! Excellent price per night for proximity to everything! Loved that it was right in a wine tasting site and rooms were nicely decorated!
ROLAND P. Apr 2018
We loved waking up to the view of vineyards in the morning.
Harley M. Mar 2018
My boyfriend, dog and I really enjoyed our stay in the Malbec suite! Super easy check in with keypad code lock and having no worries of keeping up with a set of keys.
It was smaller than what we thought and a tad further from downtown Fredricksburg than we anticipated driving but dog friendly Uber drivers helped us with that part too!
Very cute and quaint.
Stephanie N. Feb 2018
This was my husband's first time to Fredericksburg, and we were able to take our furry baby on the trip and stay in the Malbec! We really enjoyed ourselves at Rocky Hill and we loved how there were wineries right outside our door. Yes, you can hear the neighbors talking, but it didn't ruin our stay at all. We loved it!
Colton S. Nov 2017
Very pleased with our stay. Wife wants to make it a yearly visit!
Trenton B. Aug 2017
Awesome location and clean place. Only negative is we could hear the neighbors very well and their baby and dog.
Kathryn W. Aug 2017
This property is in a very central location to downtown Fredericksburg and wineries off of the 290 trail. Check in and check out were very easy and simple. My only complaint is that my boyfriend and I could hear the neighbors next door very clearly.... Other than that, this stay was great!
Annette C. Jul 2017
The suite was exactly as advertised. Everything was clean and the AC was set comfortably low on arrival, which is appreciated on a hot summer day in Texas. The suite that I stayed in was dog-friendly so I took advantage of the on-site wine tastings and interim walks with my pup. The suite includes everything that you could want for an easy breakfast (milk, OJ, creamer, coffee grounds, cereal, and homemade pie) and a mini frig and microwave. My only warning is that there are no restaurants within walking distance of this complex and Uber/Lyft does not exist here. There are lots of good options for food in Fredricksburg but you may need to call a cab after a day of drinking.
Diana R. May 2017
Loved the intimacy and location!
Katelin F. May 2017
My boyfriend and I opted for a last minute hillcountry getaway. The booking was seamless and having access via keypad rather than having to go pick up a key was great. Is a shirt drive from Fredericksburg and very close to the wineries. We were even able to catch a show at Lukenbach right down the street!
Tom A. Apr 2017
Very convenient location with 4 winery tasting rooms on site. Access to Fredericksburg and the Hill Country is easy. Highly recommend staying at Rocky Hill!
Gina B. Mar 2017
Loved the decor, the strudel and comfort of the suite. Thank you
Lori M. Mar 2017
Very easy check in after hours & the room was beautiful!
Garrett B. Feb 2017
Experience was great. Brought my wife here for a birthday/Valentine's weekend surprise. She loved it. Having four tasting rooms on site was awesome. We will definitely be staying here again in the future. This place fit perfectly for what I was wanting out of the stay. We spent a lot of time away from the room, but it was really cool to have our evenings to spend at Rocky Hill. The only complaints are that the walls are very thin, so you can hear everything going on in the next room. So, if that is a deal breaker, this might not be the place for you. Otherwise, you can't beat this place!
Vikki T. Feb 2017
Great room for people on the go. It is not a room for lounging in all day as the neighbors can hear all conversations. Just enough room for two people for 2 night and same property as 3 different winery's.
Shelia C. Nov 2016
This is a great place to stay. You are about 15 minutes from Fredricksburg and Luckenbach. Nice rooms, cozy stay. :)
Susan R. Oct 2016
Location is great for on the spot wine tasting.
Duane S. Aug 2016
Need a key drop at location inconvenient to drive back to town
Ryan G. Aug 2016
Good location. Close to wineries. Nice to not have to fight Fredericksburg traffic every time we went out.
Jolene F. May 2016
We had a wonderful time. The place was awesome. We enjoyed sitting out on the porch at night enjoying wine from the local wineries.
Michael P. May 2016
Great place. Great location. Can't wait to come back
Jill R. Apr 2016
Good location on 290 for wine tasting. In fact rooms are set in the midst of 4 wineries-Live music, trees, and shade. You don't even have to drive anywhere else if you don't want to!
Kelly C. Mar 2016
Great location!