Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Waldport Cape Cod Cottages - Waldport, OR Listing #1490

Cape Cod Cottages - Unit 8 - Waldport, OR

88 reviews
Max occupancy: 2 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
4150 SW Pacific Coast Hwy, Waldport, OR 97394

Quiet oceanfront getaway w/ocean views, walk to beach - dogs ok!

Lulling ocean waves and miles of sandy beach right off the private wooden deck make this one-bedroom Waldport vacation rental the perfect place to appreciate the natural beauty of the Oregon Coast. Quiet, quaint, and cozily furnished with all the comforts of home, plan a romantic trip for two or a spontaneous weekend getaway to the Cape Cod Cottages!

These Waldport vacation rentals are in the best location for easy beach access and are only a short, five-minute drive from Waldport proper. You will be enthralled by the spectacular shoreline and impressive views of Big Stump Beach. There are nearly six miles of sandy beach right outside the private deck for your enjoyment, and multiple recreational sites dotted along the Pacific Coast Highway for all types of activities.

This cottage is simply furnished with soft decor, which makes the ocean-facing wall of windows even more breath-taking. The cottage gets lots of natural light throughout the day, warming its wood-paneled walls, and the seating is arranged just so to get as much of that ocean view as guests can. There is a cute kitchen complete with a gas-range stove, microwave, and a refrigerator, with lots of cupboards to stock for your stay. There is a dining room table in front of the windows, and plenty of space to banquet on the deck.

There is one-bedroom home can host up to two easily with a queen-sized bed and a bathroom with a shower There's also room for the furry friends you just cannot be without (two dogs max, please, as space is limited; an additional nightly fee applies). This rental is perfect for a couple's retreat to spend some quiet time together.

This rental is also equipped with WiFi and a flat-screen TV that gets cable and has a VCR. There is a VHS library if you're feeling in the mood for a flick and some popcorn one night. You can also find a collection of board games, giving guests lots of options for how to spend their downtime: play a competitive game of Scrabble, watch an old favorite movie snuggled under a quilt, or just flop down and read while listening tof the ocean rumble outside your door.

Spend leisurely days at the shore exploring tide pools, beach combing, crabbing, clamming, or fishing. Drive a few minutes up the road and explore the Governor Patterson Memorial State Recreation Site: there are fantastic walking trails through the beach foliage, and good spots to windsurf or splash in the waves. This beach is also well-known for its whale-watching, storm-watching, and incredible sunsets.

This Waldport vacation rental is a great choice for guests looking for a vacation with relaxing activities and long hours of simply relaxing. Leave your shoes and worries at the door - you won't be needing them here.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Gas fireplace

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable

DVD player

TV

VCR

VHS library

Outdoor

Balcony

Deck

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

88 reviews

Darrell S. Nov 2018
The ocean view was fabulous. Great place for two people. An accommodating kitchen was nice.
Tom B. Sep 2018
The view was the main attraction for us. Spectacular! Easy access to miles of beach as well. Cozy accommodations and beautiful sunsets topped off our stay.
Ashley B. Sep 2018
My husband and I loved unit 8 at Cape Cod Cottages. If you are looking for something modern and updated, it is not that. It is definitely older but just the right size for 2 people and we loved the view and private balcony. The place made us feel like we were up north at an old little cabin. We also loved the great little kitchen with everything you'd need and the fireplace.
Karen J. Sep 2018
Love this place! There are reviews that are somewhat negative, but if you know what your going into its a great little place to stay. Its not fancy by any means, but you have a nice warm, clean, quaint unit to stay in with a full kitchen, bath and balcony. And oh the view!!! We sat on the deck and watched whales all afternoon one day until dark!
Have been here before and will go back again, as for naysayers, that just leaves the place available for me!!
Aaron F. Sep 2018
The ocean view was amazing. The deck outside had chairs, so you could watch the sunset. We will be back!
margaret m. Aug 2018
Needs a little up dating
Christine H. Aug 2018
I have stayed in Unit 8 four times now, it meets all my vacation needs.
Maria C. Jul 2018
So cute and retro, just enough space for two.
Tamara S. Jul 2018
Wonderful quiet private. Right on the beach.
Tammy R. Jun 2018
Yes it is tiny, rustic and could use some upgrades but the view is fantastic. You're right on the beach. We saw killer whales, seals and tons of different birds all from the balcony. The price is right. Will come here again.
David M. Jun 2018
Love the view new furniture would be nice don’t change anything in this unit but the furniture I been going there from 1963 the old is have the charm Thank you for a wonderful stay
Sophia R. May 2018
The property is so run down, dirty, paint chipped and peeling. My room was dirty when I got there. It's probably never had any improvement since the 50's or 60's. I felt like I was in a no tell motel from a cheap movie. The beach access was nice and the beach area peaceful. Instead of hearing the waves crashing at night you fell asleep to traffic from the highway. Disappointing stay
Manager response:
We do have spring deep cleans scheduled. Thank you!
jay w. May 2018
ocean view, fireplace, comfortable bed, nice shower. always nice.
Metta S. Apr 2018
The little cottage was exactly what we were looking for. Perfect location to get to Yachats and Cape Perpetua as well as Newport. Definitely nothing fancy, but it's right on the water and super cute and cozy. We spent most of the time at the house on the balcony overlooking the ocean. We were there in April and will be bringing blankets next time!
Robert R. Apr 2018
Positives:

1. Great View of the Ocean and Easy access.
2. Nice Balcony with better views.
3. Full (albeit small) kitchen.
4. Off Season cost per night- EXCELLENT.
5. Blu Ray / DVD player.
6. Usable Fireplace
7. Fully operational Electric Rail heaters in the living room, bathroom & bedroom.
8. Ample overhead lighting in all rooms.

Negatives:

1. Bed: A ridiculously soft (evidently ancient) bed that’s a back-breaker. Suffered major center-sag that is so bad, I didn’t sleep all night. Had to go to Walmart up the road, the next day, purchase a decent auto-inflate air mattress, that we used the rest of our stay on the living room floor.

2). General Maintenance: The following items are non-capital, minor expense items that the owner(s), should be ahead of. (Wife and I could fix them in just days.)
- Outlets are old. Go to HD buy a cheap 15 or 20 Amp case of 10 outlets and replace. The plugs for the TV & DVD player just “fall out” after being plugged in. Had to tape them to the wall. Also, that outlet’s plugs (for TV and DVD player), get very hot, NOT from high amp pull, but because it’s inches above the wall heater. A quick junction box in that wall, and we can relocate that outlet out of harm’s way. (I tested amp pull and that’s fine, just need to move it.).
- The Balcony: Criminy, wish I’d a brought my sander. Sand all the wood railings, deck, cottage facement wood and canopy. Apply 7 year weather proof outdoor cedar stain from HD. It’d cost maybe $40, look drop-dead gorgeous, and you’d then be protecting your assets from water, wind and other erosions. This is a “No brainer”.
- Range needs some minor repair.
- Previous customer put all the dishes away filthy dirty. My wife (Evelyn), took all of them out and washed them. (And again of course prior to departure.)

Conclusion: We love the Cape Cod Inn. It’s quaint, cozy, and one of the best deals you’ll find anywhere/anytime on the Oregon coast.

This was our 2nd visit. We will go back for sure. We had either cottage 10 or 11 the 1st time we went a few years back; which are significantly larger. (I’m a 6 foot 3 inch, 63 year old tall claustrophobic so this may not concern you.)

Great deal, Vacasa folks were cool, easy beach access, and extremely cozy and private. We certainly recommend the “Cape Cod Inn” to anyone looking for beachfront lodging and the excellent aforementioned attributes.

Bob Richards.
Christine H. Mar 2018
Cape Cod Cottages is reasonably priced and provides all the basics you need for a vacation. I love being able to just bring groceries and have all the kitchen amenities to cook all my own meals. Waldport is a central location for many sights to the north and south. I highly recommend staying here.
Dale L. Mar 2018
Cabin 8 was half of a two-cabin unit with a common wall. It was a classic beach cabin but without a musty scent. Positives: small but well equipped kitchen except for drinking glasses; lovely view; only a short walk and about 17 stair steps down to the beach; covered carport for narrow cars; DVD, VHS, and flat-screen tv; on demand hot water; Negatives: no facial tissue; loud tv next door interrupted sleep one night; fogged glass in door to deck obscured view of beach; picture windows needed a good scrubbing; only two coffee packs for a three-night stay.
Jay W. Mar 2018
let's keep this gem a secret!
Barry R. Feb 2018
Loved the cottage and I will be back
Suzanne P. Jan 2018
Nice quiet. Good for 2 people. Nice view from deck
Tom L. Jan 2018
Sit on your deck and watch the waves roll in. This place is a gem. Perfect spot for a romantic getaway for two. Unfortunately, they do allow pets, so beware if you have an allergy.
Erika F. Nov 2017
We stayed here in early November. The views from the deck were outstanding and the fact that it's close to Waldport and Yachats made it a very convenient location!

It is very close to highway 101 and you can definitely hear cars from inside. But it's not so bad in the evening, so it didn't effect out sleeping at all. And when you're on the back deck, all you can hear is the ocean. Overall a great experience!
Joseph O. Oct 2017
Cape Cod Cottages are old but have the best view! Clean.
Melissa S. Oct 2017
Loved the ocean view and deck. Great little place for the price!
Roger G. Oct 2017
We have stayed at the Cape Cod Cottages off and on for the last 30 years and even though they have always been a bit rustic, they were always clean and well maintained. We just returned after about five years absence and found the place to be very run down and need of serious maintenance. We were very disappointed and will not be going back.
Manager response:
The housekeeping issues have been resolved, and we will work with the owner on updates. Thank you!
David M. Sep 2017
I've been staying at Cape Cod Cottages since 1963 and love the place the way it is; I'm concerned about the changes that are planned for the near future. We enjoy the charm of the units and hope the changes will be minimal.
Brenda And Pete S. Sep 2017
We booked Cape Cod after doing a lot of research and wanted to stay somewhere other than Newport. Took our chance, and it was great. The rooms are not fancy, but are cute and rustic. The view is amazing and easy access to the beach. The only issue we had was the DVD player wouldn't open for us to put a disc in, so I hope that gets fixed. Very clean. It was small but we didn't need anymore room, and love that dogs can come as we all had a good time. Definitely coming back soon to room 8!
Manager response:
We are so glad to see this guest enjoyed their stay! The DVD player has been replaced. Thanks!
Kelly N. Sep 2017
Loved our stay in cottage 8. The place was clean and has an outstanding view. VACASA was super helpful when I needed to switch cottages. Had a great trip!
Elizabeth D. Jul 2017
Love it!
JOHN C. Jul 2017
great place to unwind and walk the beach. comfy cottages with great views and close to lots of great stuff to do North and South of the cottages. Highly recommended
Tammy H. Jun 2017
The location of the this property is fabulous. Not quite in town, but close enough to amenities. We stayed in Unit 8 which was in serious need of updating, but it was super clean. Kudos to the staff. It was just right for my husband and I for the weekend.
Nicole K. Jun 2017
Waldport is a nice little community and we were satisfied with this rental. A few items could be added to enhance the stay. Unit is sparsely stocked.
Janice B. May 2017
We have stayed in this unit before. It is very cosy, with an awesome, covered deck and a "to die for" view.
Robert S. May 2017
This is a great cabin setting, with a perfect view of the sunset unobstructed. We chose cabin 8 with one bedroom for sleeps two. We didn't need more space but if you do this one will not work for you. We spent most of our time drinking wine, looking at the beach and sunset, talking, and getting into relax mode. Accomplished here. We found it perfect albeit some would say it needs updated. Bathroom was fine and everything we needed worked fine. A great place with a little history as a motor lodge I would assume and the big bonus...ON THE BEACH!!!
Tami (Skinners Attic LLC) S. Mar 2017
My husband and i came to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and of life. We stayed 8 days with our 2 dogs, 1 of them being an English mastiff. We have a very difficult time finding a place to go with him and they had no restrictions, he was a good boy, minded his manners and I hope they continue to allow these loving big guys to go on vacation with there parents. In my book that makes them a one of a kind place to stay and they were very courteous, the place was clean and the private deck with a view was out of this world beautiful. We will stay again and refer our friends and family.
Alexis W. Feb 2017
What a lovely view to ride out a winter stormy evening!
Carol E. Nov 2016
We enjoyed our stay atCape Cod Cottages very much.
Zeb F. Nov 2016
Small, quite, peaceful get away located just south of Waldport. Very pleased to see a stocked kitchen and a working fireplace with an ocean view. Not a lot of parking for larger trucks but there wasn't a lot of people around so we had no problem parking my f350 dually right in front, two entrances make it easy for getting in and out as well. We will stay here again!
Donald W. Oct 2016
great view good access
Patrice B. Oct 2016
We stayed at Cape Cod Cottages in part because my husband's parents have loved their warm, cheerful, oceanfront units in the past. However, a recent stay in Unit 8 was extremely disappointing. Upon opening the door, we were immediately met with a pervasive musty odor - uncomfortably resembling that of urine. Many of the furnishings appeared cheap (seating, mattress) as did the sheets. The balcony railing had a broken slat, window gutters were grimy - the place overall looked neglected. The table settings were quite nice, as was having a full fridge and stove/oven, and having a short path to the beach right outside the door! However, with the price paid, we expected a better cared-for unit. No staff is on the premises, so a complaint would have required a call in a poor cell-service area. We stayed our two nights, and will not return.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read about this guest's disappointments with their stay. The cottages will be renovated in the near future, and all of the issues mentioned will be addressed at that time.
Kenny T. Oct 2016
We had a great experience. We plan to be back soon.
Richard B. Sep 2016
We had a great time. Loved every minute of it. Left feeling relaxed and will definitely come back. Wonderful little find.
Megan C. Sep 2016
We really enjoy these cottages. This was my husbands first visit to the Oregon Coast. As a child, I stayed at these cottages every year with my family. Unit 8 is where my Grandma and Grandpa would stay. It was very nostalgic being in this Unit for the weekend. It was clean, comfortable and easily accessible. We like the easy booking and check-in with vacasa but I do miss the front desk people that worked when I was young. All in all a great weekend!
Chad H. Sep 2016
We had our honeymoon here, loved the view and the peace and quiet. Room was comfy and cozy. Stayed here 4 nights and would have stayed longer.
Kerry Z. Aug 2016
We had a fun time!!!
Wendell W. Aug 2016
Decided to take a getaway rather late in the season. Bookings were limited. We had seen this property many times before. We have been coming to the coast since 1982 on a regular basis and usually rent a house or apartment. We knew this area because we stayed at a home about 200 yards to the north on several occasions. Let me preface this by saying this is an old property. This harkens back to the days of the old motor hotels. Because of this, I expected the space to be limited. The living area is adequate, the kitchen is small especially if two people are trying to work in there. There are dishes and pots and pans but not much in the way of bowls or baking utensils. It won't make much difference if you're just doing takeout or a light breakfast or lunch, but if you like to cook and want to use the oven you may be a little disappointed in the selection of cookware. The bathroom is functional, the water heater runs out fairly quickly so you have to be careful with your bath or shower. The unit could use some cosmetic upgrades particularly curtains and tablecloth. Now the positive aspects. Location, location, location. Cape Cod cottages are close to many of the things we enjoy on the coast. It's just a short drive to Cape Perpetua, Waldport, Seal Rock, Newport, and Depot Bay. Access to the beach is good and there isn't a lot of traffic on the beach. It's good for children as a shallow and there are not rocks to fall on. The view from the deck is spectacular. We enjoyed some beautiful sunsets. Being situated right on Highway 101 he would think it might be noisy but we did not find it to be so.
We enjoyed our getaway very much, it was relaxing. This unit is a good value for the money. Could use some simple cosmetic updates.
Ryschel T. Aug 2016
We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved the view from the window. There's a nice beach access as well.
Katie S. Jul 2016
The furniture has been recently updated and is newer and nicer than the pictures. The coffee pot was brand-new! Great bargain. Wonderful views and beach access. I'll be back!
Jim C. Jul 2016
Highly recommend!
Jeannine R. Jul 2016
If you want to get away from the crowds, this is your place. Lots of open beach for humans and dogs to enjoy. Yachats jams included Yachats Brewing and Bread and Roses bakery.
Robert K. Jul 2016
The view and the sound of the waves was so mesmerizing and the price was so good that any incovenience seemed minuscule.
Susan T. Jun 2016
View, beach access....and clean.
Otherwise, I din't know if I'd stay again. A larger sofa
is needed and one more comfortable chair---not an office chair.
George L. Jun 2016
awesome beach great privacy
Deborah S. Jun 2016
Unbelievable views...cozy and reminiscent of Cape Cod itself ( we lived there for over12 years).
Julie F. May 2016
Things need fixed badly. Stove burners weren't even plugged in. Screen door, couch and stove all broken. No door knob inside the door made it hard to get out. Super small for 4 people more for just two. Only thing good about the place is the view and the bed was comfortable. But we won't be staying there again.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that this stay was not more enjoyable. Per the owner's request we have changed the maximum occupancy of this home to 2 and will no longer offer the sofa bed. The stove is working well, all doors have handles inside and out, and we will replace the screen as soon as there is an opening in the schedule.
Vicki W. Apr 2016
I HAD BEEN TO CAPE COD COTTAGES 6 YEARS AGO WITH A FRIEND WHO TREATED ME. WE HAD A 2-BEDROOM COTTAGE AND WERE VERY PLEASED AND HAPPY. WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. THAT IS WHY I CAME BACK TO CAPE COD COTTAGES. BUT THIS TIME I FELT MANIPULATED AND GIVEN A COTTAGE THAT WAS NOT READY FOR GUESTS, WITH A SOFA BED [THAT SHOULD NOT BE OFFERED IT NOT CLEAN AND FUNCTIONAL]; STOVE BURNERS THAT ARE NOT FUNCTIONAL & GUESTS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO [HAVE] TO ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS WHILE ON VACATION/TRIP.
Manager response:
We apologize that the sofa bed and stove stop were not working for this stay; the Property Manager will get both of those addressed as soon as possible so they are not a burden on anyone's time here. This guest was given a free night due to the inconveniences experienced.
Christine E. Mar 2016
terrific view!
Masha B. Aug 2015
This was a great place to stay, access to a beach that goes for miles with barely any people around, amazing views from the deck, close to everything in terms of groceries or food etc. We ll definitely stay again!
Scott B. Aug 2015
The location was amazing - pretty much had a private beach all week in the middle of summer even though the place was booked out. It was just a few minutes from both yachats and waldport and both towns had some great spots to eat at or get provisions. The cottage was simple and perhaps dated, but the location, views, and service made up for anything that was lacking in the furniture. While we were there, the management company even got our cabin new dishes, utensils, and such, which was a nice improvement and a great surprise! There's not normally a manager on site, but we bumped into them while they were doing some maintenance - he was extremely friendly and connected us with a long time resident that gave us pointers on where to crab and clam (along with his autographed guide to Alsea Bay shellfish). All in all, it was a fantastic stay, at the right price, in the right place.
Ryan M. Jun 2015
I would definitely stay here again. Our vacation was great!
Allen S. Mar 2015
We loved it and the area. We will be back again and again. The pictures made it look a little bigger than it was but we loved it just the same.
Cheree D. Mar 2015
We had an absolutely wonderful time staying at the Cape Cod Cottages! The location was fabulous, the set up perfect, and the price was FANTASTIC! This was my childrens first trip to the beach, and I could not have asked for a more perfect spot to take them that had such a great location with a homey feel. Thanks! We will certainly be back and have already told family and friends about your cottages!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing how happy you were with the home. We're glad you enjoyed the location and homey feel of the cottage! Thank you for the great recommendation to your friends and family, we greatly appreciate it.
Robert C. Feb 2015
These are older units that are kept very clean. Bed was real comfortable. Real fireplaces are nice.
Would be nice if you could print out a listing of all the television channels that you have available.
We really loved the great ocean view, and it is also easy to walk down to the beach. Thank you all!!
Manager response:
Thank you for the 5 star review! These are great beachfront rooms with vintage style and feel, we love the great ocean views and listening to the waves come in while relaxing by the fire
Tersa S. Nov 2014
The unit was tiny - but worked ok for two. I wouldn't suggest anymore than two people - unless you aren't planning on spending much time in the unit. The access to the beach is easy - and the view (except for the neighboring house with a large picture window) - is spectacular. The location allows quick access to both Waldport and Depoe Bay - without having to be right in town. The unit was clean and well supplied (pots, pans and dishes) the extra freezer came in handy with seafood purchases. The carport was small (and our pickup didn't fit) - but it was tidy.
Heather M. Nov 2014
Direct beach access and a special treat for my boys was the container of beach toys by the stairs to the beach, thanks. The fireplace warmed up the cottage very quickly and we were so warm all night. Loved the cottage and will return someday for much longer.