USA Colorado South Fork Foothills Lodge and Cabins Listing #12897

Foothills Lodge 8 - South Fork, CO

Take a Virtual Tour
49 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy dog-friendly cabin with grill & free WiFi - 17 miles to skiing

Stay in the heart of South Fork when you book this lovely cabin-style vacation rental! This rental, in a small group of similar lodges, is best suited for couples, a few friends, or a family seeking outdoor adventure. The family dog is welcome to join!

South Fork is located in Southwest Colorado, near the Rio Grande National Forest. The nearest ski area, Wolf Creek, is less than 20 miles away, making this vacation rental perfect for travelers hoping to spend a few days skiing and snowboarding. If you're visiting in the summer, you'll have easy access to hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking, and wildlife viewing, as well as fishing and rafting on the Rio Grande.

The interior of this vacation rental is reminiscent of a classic log cabin, with rustic elements designed to make you feel right at home. After a long day on the mountain, whether hiking or skiing, the comfortable living room furniture invites you to put your feet up and relax while you use the free WiFi to share pictures with friends back home. Cooking is easy in the kitchen, which features all of the standard appliances, including an electric range, a full-size fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker. Everyone is sure to get a good night's sleep, especially Fido after a full day running around (please note a small, nightly pet fee).

Make the most of your vacation days. Book this South Fork vacation rental today!

Other permit number: 2018-0118

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Mountain view




Cable : DirecTV

DVD player


Gas grill : Shared


Safety & accessibility

Accessible bath/shower

49 reviews

Marnie W. Sep 2021
The "cabin" was nice. It was not clear when I booked that there would be multiple attached cabins in a row. I had the impression it would be a detached cabin. There was a cleaning fee of $60 that was charged nightly, even though they don't clean in the middle of your stay. The instructions for the TV said to use HDMI 2, and the cable box was plugged into HDMI 2. However, the TV was stuck on HDMI 3. I had to move the cable box to HDMI 3 to watch TV. Now, the instructions will not be helpful to future guests.
Laurie M. Aug 2021
The cabin was clean and had plenty of towels and blankets etc..
Location is wonderful and we loved it.
AMY F. Aug 2021
Cute cabin feel. Very clean. Old but nicely updated. Very roomy for 2 adults. Saw the hot tubs but didn’t use them although they did appear well taken care of. Will definitely return next time we travel through.
kenneth m. Jul 2021
nothing to love. the person who showed up to change out the towels and sheets was very helpfull
David D. Jun 2021
Perfect size to accommodate needs.
Needs some attention to details such as basic utensils. A wire wisk, flyswatter, can opener that works, tongs, dishcloth, and hand towels for bathroom. Only one plastic bowl for prepping salads.
Hair and dirt was on shower curtain.
Ceiling fans would help circulate air better. We found the room to be hot even with windows and box fan running. A screen door would add considerable comfort for airflow
Fridge was noisy and hard to control temperature. Windows very difficult to latch. King Bed was comfortable.
Television remote would not go down in volume... only up. The walkway outside the rooms was not swept. Just basic upkeep seemed lacking compared to other cabin properties in South Fork we've been to.
Manager response:
Hello David, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize if your stay at our home was less than stellar and we appreciate you bringing some items to our attention that may need some TLC. We have passed your feedback to our local staff to work on improving the home for future guests. We hope to have the chance to impress you in the future.
David C. Jun 2021
I have stayed here many times. It is a good value and the rooms are clean and functional.
Jennifer M. Mar 2021
We were looking for a place to stay close to Wolf Creek Ski Area.. this place was super clean, had just what we needed (kitchen amenities including a crock pot), comfy king size bed and fold out couch for the kids. Dog friendly. When I couldn’t figure out the tv, Christi at the management office on site came and troubleshot for us! Within walking distance of liquor store and Pizza place! I would definitely stay here again! My only complaint is that hot tubs were not in service due to covid restrictions (which was not advertised).
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review, Jennifer. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We shared your feedback with Christy and are so glad she was able to assist. Regrettably, some of the shared amenities have been closed for the time being due to the current health pandemic. We truly apologize for the disappointment this posed. We hope to host you again very soon.
Grace S. Jan 2021
We loved staying in South Fork which was just about a 20min drive to Wolf Creek Ski Area. Local coffee, breakfast, bar, grocery store and resutants all within 5min or across the street. Hot springs in pagrosa just less than an hour away. Check in was easy, no hassle. They had the lights and heater on for us when we arrived just a couple hours after check-in (thank you!!). Cabin was clean and had everything we needed! Charming town and cabin! Would visit again. (Hot tubs are not up and running right now because of Covid.)
Jessica W. Sep 2020
The cabin is adorable and nice! Super clean when we came and such a pretty view!
Morgan E. Sep 2020
All the basics are covered, with extra TV options. The king sized bed was also a bonus. We were also appreciative pets were allowed.
Sean B. Aug 2020
Great value!!!
Kenneth Y. Jul 2020
The cabin was nice an clean but could be updated but I would stay again for sure
William Scott T. Jul 2020
Would have been nice to have had better communication on the fact no one is on site. Local phone did not work. Air in the bedroom would have been nice.
Manager response:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your home. We sincerely apologize you had difficulty reaching our staff. Due to COVID-19, our call and email volume has been higher than expected. Our team is working diligently to hire more agents and staff so we can better fill our guest's needs. We are sorry this experience had a negative impact on your stay, and we hope to have the chance to impress you in the future!
Donna S. Jun 2020
Charming well maintained lodges and rooms.
Kerri M. Jun 2020
We had a great time. It was a little warm at night but thankfully we brought our fans from home. They provide two fans but our family loves sleeping in the cold 😁
ZACARIAS G. Mar 2020
All excellent for 2 people, if for 4 like my case, the sofa bed is not confortable.
Eric M. Jan 2020
Super comfortable bed and a great value for the price!
patricia h. Nov 2019
I loved the quiet,and Relaxing atmosphere.
Ray K. Oct 2019
Comfortable and clean
Tim J. Oct 2019
Just nice clean place for long weekend stay. Will be back next year. Wife and I really like the rustic appeal.
Cindy B. Sep 2019
Lodge 8 was awesome. Had everything we needed. Very quiet. Bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. Hope to see you next year!
Stephanie H. Sep 2019
This room was super cozy and had all the amenities we needed. The lodges could definitely use some TLC. The curtains fell when we tried to open them and the shower drain wasn’t flowing properly but all in all a good place to stay. We didn’t have issues with the key pad checking in but it would be great if there could be instructions on how to lock and use in a good way as we had some issues locking and getting back in a few times. Great location to many attractions and hikes and several cute little towns. Hot tub was super nice!
Manager response:
Thank you for leaving feedback, Stephanie! We’re pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay at this lovely home located in the heart of Gearhart. We apologize for any trouble with the curtains or the shower drain, and we encourage guests to reach out to our dedicated, local Vacasa team via the contact number provided in your check-in email for assistance. We have scheduled a maintenance visit to ensure these issues are addressed, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Vicki S. Aug 2019
The cabin was small but adequate. It was clean and conveniently located. The king size bed and pillows were comfortable. It would have been nice if there was a TV in the bedroom.
Camilla W. Jul 2019
Rustic, homey cabin but very basic. Bed was comfortable, bathroom not too much. Water pressure in kitchen was about non-existent. Had constant trouble with the keypad unlocking mechanism in Cabin 8. Would probably try a different cabin next time.
Jim N. Jul 2019
King bed was comfortable and the bedroom was roomy everything was very neat and clean
Marilyn W. Jun 2019
Was clean had what I needed convenient. What I didn’t love hot tubes out of order and the mandatory $30 fee for one night stay.
hollie g. Feb 2019
We enjoyed the #8 lodge for our recent trip to South Fork to go snowboard at Wolf Creek. It is by no means fancy or new, but you can already tell that from the photos. Given that, my husband and I had plenty of room for our bags and such. Bathroom is a bit tight but that’s ok. The unit was clean and the towels were nice too. Sometimes, you get cheap, dinky ones. The king bed was comfy also. It definitely served its purpose. We loved the key pad entry as well. We did use the hot tub a few days. It could probable stand to use some stronger chemicals or be cleaned out better. My only (miner) complaint was that the kitchen could use a cookie sheet and maybe a pizza cutter.
I will def be checking into the foothills availability when we decide to make the return to South Fork from Tennessee.
Gareth V. Nov 2018
Great little cabin style room for our powder getaway at wolf creek ski area. Cozy and Clean.
Paul D. Oct 2018
This room was a bit aged and is need of a renovation. It served our purpose as we were hunting and didn't need much after camping but I wouldn't bring my wife there
Patrick E. Oct 2018
Came down to South Fork to ski Wolf Creek early season. Fantastic price and a great room! Way better than expected! Easy check in and checkout just to make things even better. Will definitely be staying here again.
Brian C. Jul 2018
Enjoyed my stay. The room was stocked when we arrived and was clean. The staff was attentive and responded quickly to a few issues such as needing sheets for the pullout couch. All the appliances and amenities functioned properly and were provided.
Karyn S. Jun 2018
This was a very basic, but suitably equipped cabin. The kitchen had everything we wanted. The outdoor seating was very nice for summer weather. We had some trouble with the furnace and the stove producing significant pilot light heat. The pullout sofa completely blocked the front door and was in pretty bad shape.
James & Devon S. May 2018
You don't see anyone unless you have an issue, then you call the main number. If someone is not on site you need to leave instructions in the room for how to cool the room in summer, what to do with the trash, etc.
Aaron M. Apr 2018
This place is cozy and nice staff is helpful even though most things are self service I found that more comforting. Would definitely go back.
Karen L. Mar 2018
Great location. Clean and spacious. Bargain.
Leticia C. Jan 2018
The staff were considerate and helpful to our needs. The cabin we had was perfect for us (a couple) very romantic, peaceful, and great area to walk and see the beauty of the mountains.
Cal H. Dec 2017
Great location for accessing Wolf Creek Ski Area. Prices are good, even in-season. This rustic Inn has everything we need, including well equipped kitchens. The staff is always helpful and friendly.