USA Texas Texas Hill Country Dripping Springs Listing #5210

The Studio at Whitetail Ridge Retreat - Dripping Springs, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
41 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Perfectly decorated, dog-friendly cabin with a shared pool and hot tub

****PLEASE NOTE: No fireworks of any kind are permitted on the property, due to the dry conditions in the area. Thank you.****
**Nothing over the size of a pick-up or trailers as there is no place to turn around for anything larger**

Brimming with character, this charming one-bedroom cabin in Dripping Springs is a great destination spot for your next family or friend getaway. Bring up to three other guests and your dogs to enjoy a shared pool and hot tub, plus all the comforts of home in a rustic modern setting.

If you're looking to escape the cares of the world and relax in a quiet, small town, Dripping Springs is just for you! This quaint town brings nature to you with plant and animal life. Watch deer meander through your backyard, or take a walk to the nearby wet-weather pond.

A cozy covered patio welcomes you to this delightful space, which is bursting with classic furnishings, wood floors, and wonderful antique accents. Practically every inch of this cabin has been lovingly appointed with decorations and welcoming features.

Straight down the small hallway through the front door is an open living area. Settle into one of the armchairs with a good book for a quiet afternoon in, or turn a movie on the flatscreen TV before turning in for the night. A DVD player is attached to the TV, and WiFi is included so you can stream music, look up directions, and post pictures of your serene home base.

Across the room is a white washed kitchenette boasting the essentials beneath a unique pail light fixture. Store fresh ingredients in the refrigerator, heat up easy meals in the microwave, simmer soup on the hot plate, and toss some refrigerator rolls into the toaster oven. A coffeemaker, toaster, waffle iron, French press, and slow cooker are also included, though please note there is no traditional oven. There is also an outdoor shared kitchen, perfect for getting your Texas-style BBQ ready!

Set the countertop bar for all four to eat together before a quick cleanup using the dishwasher. Then grab a glass of wine and head out to the porch to watch the sunset and stargaze before bed. The dogs will love lying on the porch or cuddling by your side. Please note that there is a nightly pet fee.

The one bedroom features a comfortable queen-size bed, and the red sofa in the living room pulls out to a sofabed, giving all four adventures a place to rest. Before heading out in the morning, get ready in the bathroom, which has a spacious stand-alone shower.

Grab a blanket and snacks and take a hike up a nearby hill to see why Dripping Springs was the first town in Texas to be named an International Dark Sky Community. Stars light up the sky like you've never seen before! During the day, visit the weekly Farmer's Market on Wednesday afternoons to find everything from fresh produce to locally made lotions! Pedernales Falls State Park is 20 miles south for more hikes, or take the 10-mile drive into Austin for shopping, tasty eateries, and festivals.

Everyone will feel refreshed after a stay at this serene Texas vacation rental.

Things to know:
Dog-friendly for a small, nightly fee!
Please note that the firewood for firepit is not provided.
The outdoor area, which includes the pool, hot tub, and grill, is shared with two other homes

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining








DVD library

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock


On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Board games


Gas grill : Private



41 reviews

Joel A. Dec 2021
Close but far away.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Joel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the home. We do hope you contacted our 24/7 guest services so we could attempt to make your stay more enjoyable. We apologize for the inconvenience and we hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Ozan A. Nov 2021
Nice quote cozy studio space for a vacation within the nature. Deers are wandering around the pool is great. Quote environment. Easily accommodate 3-4 people.
Chris H. Sep 2021
We arrived and immediately realized this place had no privacy shades, as one of three rental units in the same property, this is unacceptable unless one is an exhibitionist. I can't believe this wasn't brought up by previous reviews. As a retired cop, I found that to be a glaring issue. The slats under the very cheap and low-lying bed frame were not secured so the mattress dropped to the floor when we first sat on it. Luckily the drop wasn't that far because the bed frame is only about 12" from the floor and there is no box frame. My wife and I had to lift the mattress and reset all of the slats in order to go to bed, no maintenance around on a Saturday night. There was no internet connection and no help on that either after calling the 800 number. No return call the next morning. Only when the property manager happened to arrive to work on the main property the next day did we get an internet connection and TV. The layer of dust on the toilet bowl lid suggested the rest of this place was equally dusty on horizontal surfaces. Cable selection for local stations was limited because remote for the TV was not present and local channels other than Fox station were not programmed. Only Roku stations were available, which offered old movies and TV shows. Just what I wanted on a Sunday afternoon instead of the NFL, not! Luckily we weren't there long enough for that to matter.
Manager response:
We're disappointed to read you were unhappy with your experience, Chris. The bed frame slats have been secured, the TV remote has been located, and we have suggested privacy shades to the homeowner. Hopefully we can have a chance to host you in the future!
Jake W. May 2021
Nice place for a reasonable price. The pool/hot tub setup is great--just walk out the front door. There was a broken chair in the dining room but that didn't affect us.
Manager response:
Hi, Jake! We are sorry we missed the broken chair and have spoken with the homeowner who will be replacing it. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Dawn E. Mar 2021
Nice and quiet but the bed was only about a foot from the floor. For someone who has back problems and knee problems it was hard to get in and out of. WiFi did not work which wasn’t an issue for me as much as it was for my fiancé. I probably won’t stay here again just because of the bed. I would not have reserved if the picture would have been accurate.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Dawn. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The photos of the listing are current and up to date. We also include a 3D tour of the home that our guests can use to look at the layout and items within the home. We do apologize for the bed and hope to host you again very soon.
Jessie K. Feb 2021
Great little studio for 2. The cable and Roku didn’t work as stated, but there were games to play. We had to leave early and skip a night because of an ice storm, but over all it was a cute stay!
Manager response:
Hi, Jessie! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Roku and cable were unavailable due to the winter storm and are usually available for our guests. Thank you!
Rob and Julie A. Sep 2020
Cozy location with rural feel but close to everything The pool is awesome and relaxing.
Gloria F. Jul 2020
This was our second time to stay in the studio at Whitetail ridge. We had a lovely stay this just as we did the time before. The place was clean and so cozy.
Mauri S. Aug 2019
It was our second time back at this property, This time I stayed in the studio and brought my son. He loved it and absolutely swam in that pool every minute we were on property. I had my morning coffee in the rocking chair on the porch enjoying the absolutely beautiful scenery as well as every once in a while I would see a deer, Once my son woke up we had breakfast by the pool every morning and started each day with a swim. We loved exploring the property and the trail cut between the houses which had spectacular views. The outdoor kitchen area was a favorite of ours too and we really enjoyed the games the owner leaves on property. They really do think of everything, I really enjoyed venturing around the different little towns around dripping Springs, going to Lake Travis and exploring downtown Austin. We will be back again for sure,
Eric H. May 2019
Decoration, amenities and comfort were all great. Quiet, secluded, and romantic.
Mary P. Nov 2018
We absolutely loved staying in the cabin at Whitetail Ridge! Having the outdoor BBQ set up w/ pool and jacuzzi was a dream come true! The owners and Vacasa made sure everything was good and quickly responded if needed. What an awesome group of people! Thank you again, it was so much nicer than staying in a hotel. Many blessings!
Holly D. Jul 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming artistically inspired studio. The mini orchard out the front door, the outdoor grill and pool, and the tasteful decor made this a memorable and cozy escape for our family. So happy to find a dog-friendly stay! We saw deer, we enjoyed daily dips in the pool, enjoyed coffee on the front porch, and appreciated the peaceful location.
Elizabeth T. Jul 2018
We loved, I repeat LOVED the layout of the pool. First off, there are close surrounding houses and those folks were so quiet that they may not have even existed. The pool was perfect, waterfall, fountain and a personal remote to control the hot tub jets and lights. The grill was great right by the pool. Comfy chairs and bar by pool. The only downside was the upper lights to the bar /grill area didnt work. But we didn't mind that. The out door pool bathrooms were a great idea! Very cute and clean. The pool/grill and vacasa was all very clean as well. As for the inside amenities....the biggest issue was no room to set anything in the bathroom and no outlet to plug anything in the bathroom. The bed was small but very comfortable. The "check out" procedures said to do a load of dishes and laundry if needed before we left, to "help" clean...I had no problem doing that until I saw there was no dishwasher or laundry facility. I did do our dishes but felt bad I couldn't wash towels. The whole trip gets 5 stars for being quiet and was exactly what we needed. Also, Lyft drivers were easy to get there, they found it easily.
Kyle H. Jul 2018
Loved the property and amenities. Very cozy studio and beautiful pool and outdoor kitchen. We had a nice stay here for several days. Property management did a nice job of staying in touch and they went out of their way to accommodate us on short notice.
David J. Mar 2018
The property was very nice. We had an issue with the hot tub heater not working and the property manager had someone out in an hour to fix. Awesome!!
Sharice P. Mar 2018
The property was beautiful, ecletic, and clean. A nice quiet area (we were the only ones there at the time) with shady trees and nature all around allowed us the comfort to BBQ, swim in the pool, and soak in the hot tub listening to the waterfall in a relaxing setting.

The Studio was extremely cute and interesting! Lots of conversation pieces! I would ask for a little less in the bathroom, as it was short of places to put toiletries and such. The bed is also EXTREMELY squeeky, but that is my biggest complaint. The pool did have a lot of leaves in it, there's no way around that, but it was clean, obviously cleaned recently, and we enjoyed spending a little time on it as well.

It's only about a 10 minute drive to town, which is nice. We had everything we needed :) Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to get away from the city, or enjoy family with a bit of luxery and a lot of peace! *

*Note: I don't know what it's like when the other 2 houses are rented out, but it would be so nice to rent the hole thing for a family reunion or wedding party.

Dominc L. Dec 2017
Absolutely Perfect!
Samantha S. Nov 2017
Deb H. Oct 2017
Wonderful property! Beautiful setting in the Hill Country
Karen S. Jul 2017
We had a great time staying at this adorable cottage. Even our dog and young kids were pleased!
Alanna B. May 2017
Great property, we had a great stay. Would stay again.
Ana G. Apr 2017
Comfort and convenience can be found here. Clearing off of horizontal areas for placement of personal items is needed , but that can be done to make for a pleasant visit.
Jen U. Mar 2017
My two boys, 13 and 9, and our dog, stayed at the Studio for 4 days this week and had a wonderful time. It was a perfect size for us. We loved the outdoor area and took lots of walks. The hot tub was a big hit for our kids and for the kids that were staying in the adjoining homes. The Studio was decorated in a super cute "Junk Gypsie" kind of way. I would stay here again or one of the larger houses depending on how many people we have. Would make a great family trip or girls trip!
Bobbi B. Jan 2017
Our family stayed in all 3 units on this property and it was perfect for our 3 generations to enjoy the Wedding Weekend of our daughter and son-in-law in Dripping Springs. Leeanne made us feel very welcome, from a phone call before our visit to fresh flowers and champagne awaiting the betrothed couple. She truly cares about her guests and provides all sorts of amenities and toiletries not seen in other vacation homes. The Ranch House, Cottage and Studio are all furnished with beautiful antiques and memorabilia, unique artwork, and lovely linens in all the rooms. We mainly used the Ranch House kitchen and it was well furnished with everything one would need. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained with its own artwork and memorabilia scattered about. Several deer were sighted passing through. I confidently give this property the highest recommendation and would definitely stay here again
Damon B. Dec 2016
Perfect place for us. Secluded,quiet,private and very nice. We will definitely be back.
Ed M. Nov 2016
Cute 1 bedroom cabin. Eclectic country decor. Everything you need is there. It's not as private as it looks in the pictures. There is a larger house next door, but it's still very private. Plenty of towels, blankets and pillows and kitchen supplies. Easy access to 290 too!
Robert M. Oct 2016
Joseph J. Oct 2016
A cute house to spend the weekend in. Very comfortable bed, nice décor with all of the antiques in the house and outside. Loved the hot tub, just what we needed after a long day in Austin attending Austin City Limits. Quite at night, got to see a whitetail buck, very appropriate. Would definitely stay at this location again.
Jimmie C. Aug 2016
Spacious and comfortable, & perfectly relaxing. We had a perfect time getting away from Houston, but still close enough to enjoy Austin. We have a son lives in Austin, so it was convenient to have him come out to this rental and spend time with us. The gas grill, bar and sink are perfect for cooking out. Everything you might need by way of implements is provided for, and if there's anything you need, you can get to, through, and back from HEB in 30 minutes, & yet you are in nature, deer abound in the scenic hill country, but with a pool, hottub and comfortable sleeping. We will for sure be back. Next time, we would like to coordinate w/family and friends, and have them rent the other homes on the property. We were very happy. :)
Jason M. Aug 2016
Great vacation spot and nice property.
TAMMIE J. Aug 2016
Super fun property, awesome pool...loved the wildlife. Very peaceful but just a hop away from Austin or Wimberly for day tripping!
Jamie M. Jul 2016
We rented the property for a company retreat! We do this every year and this was the absolute BEST!! We could not have been happier. Vacasa has a fantastic staff!!! Won't rent from anyone else!
Gloria F. Jul 2016
We loved the space so much and would definitely recommend to our friends and stay there again!
Sherri L. May 2016
The house was perfect, every time I walked in a room I would see something new to be enthralled by. Very comfortable. The management team went above and beyond. Can't wait to stay there in December.
Rachel W. May 2016
We absolutely love this cute cottage and couldn't have been happier with the pool and property. The property was so peaceful and far enough from other neighbors that no one will bother you. Right off the back porch is a wooded path to the beautiful pool. Lots of sunny spots to enjoy the sun but just as much shade to relax in. We loved the outside grill and bar. It was so nice to have a mini fridge outside to keep all the condiments cold while we cooked too. The owners have done an amazing job decorating and stocking the house. While the house doesn't have a stove their are plenty of appliances to make up for it and their all in prestene condition. We can't wait to rent this property again. Next time we plan to rent both houses on the property to bring more friends.