Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Tierra Del Mar Listing #85

Guardenia Beach House - Tierra Del Mar, OR

72 reviews
Max occupancy: 7 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
5790 Guardenia, Tierra Del Mar, OR 97112

Dog-friendly cottage w/ easy beach access & a peaceful location

Soul-restoring solitude awaits you at the this dog-friendly Tierra Del Mar vacation home, which sits just 50 yards from the ocean. The long, often deserted stretch of beach running from Sand Lake to Cape Kiwanda is the draw here, as well as an outdoor firepit for enjoying cool evenings.

What's nearby:
This house is a short walk from the beach, while nearby Pacific City has all the amenities of a small coastal town you could ask for: markets, the excellent Pelican Pub & Brewery, art galleries, and coffee shops. While the three-mile walk is a bit much for most guests (since it would include a scramble over the Cape), you can drive from the beach house to Pacific City in just five minutes.

Things to know:
There is parking for three vehicles
Two dogs are welcome for a nightly fee
Internet requires an ethernet cable to use
Full kitchen

*Please note that cell phone service may be spotty or limited. A landline is available for your use.*



Children's games

Kitchen & dining








DVD player

VHS library




Washer/dryer : Private

Nearby activities & attractions

Board games




72 reviews

Connie H. Oct 2017
Pet friendly, close to beach and won't kill the checkbook! Thank you!
Lisa J. Sep 2017
This property met expectations and the photos were on mark.
There is some remodeling and construction going on to houses nearby, but overall it did not effect our stay. We did not feel uncomfortable or threatened by any neighbors, as some prior reviews showed some concerns about. There is some work that could be done to the decking outside, but again, this did not effect us, and our stay was comfortable for 4 people.
Theresa R. Aug 2017
This is a very kid friendly and well behaved pet friendly place to stay. Great selection of videos and reading material. Dogs must be on a leash due to deer and wild rabbits that wander into yard. You can relax here but the living room furniture is not very comfortable. The king bed in master bedroom is very comfortable.
Randy S. Jul 2017
Nice spot. Super close to the beach. And close to Pacific City, coffee, beer, surfing and beach fun. And close to Kiwanda to explore. House was ok. Lots of space and well supplied. Was a little musty when we got there but once aired out it was fine. Recommended.
Sarah P. Jul 2017
We have stayed at this house several times, and for us it is perfect! While it may not be a "high-end" resort house, it is ideal for a fantastic family vacation! We have three young kids so it is great to have the beach is such close proximity -- once you make it up a little dune you basically have a beautiful beach all to yourselves. Our kids also love the fire pit at the house which mean bring your marshmallows, chocolate, and graham crackers. The kitchen is well appointed for making your own meals and enough cannot be said about having a washer and dryer for all those wet sandy clothes.
We really do look forward to returning next summer, and I hesitate to write a great review for fear that the word will spread too much and it will get booked-up. Leave a week open for us in 2018!
Lyndsey J. Jul 2017
Our family enjoyed staying here very much. Clean, comfortable and right by the beach!
Glenn C. Jun 2017
I was totally dismayed when we arrived and saw this property. The yard was so gown up and unattended! The fenced back yard was unusable due to overgrowth. There are two abandoned, run-down properties between this house and the beach. Every single day I awoke to overturned trash receptacles, with trash scattered everywhere. Not a good neighborhood. My mother-in-law could not negotiate the rather steep path over the dune to the beach. Those are the negatives. The home was well equipped. The beds were super comfy. Perfect for three couples and one child. Layout was great for communal meals, games, TV. Heaters in every room. Plenty of towels, plus washer and dryer, with detergent and fabric softener sheets provided. Kitchen was well stocked. Fire pit was great for making S'mores, even had marshmallow roasters provided. Bench seat needs attention, as it was very wobbly. Overall, great, especially considering price. Might want to band together as a neighborhood and demand something be done about abandoned properties. Also the trash issue EVERY morning.
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments and difficulties this guest encountered. Landscaping services have been requested which will take care of overgrowth and general appearance of the exterior. Garbage cans have been secured to help combat the wildlife constantly attempting to get in. The bench seat has been secured so it no longer wobbles. Thank you!
Aaron L. May 2017
This property was amazingly close to one of the best (and emptiest) beaches in Oregon. It was a great value and the fire pit was great. The interior is a bit dated but it did not detract from our stay. My kids had a blast as well.
Sarah A. Apr 2017
Great rental, quiet location away from all the hustle and bustle!
Cassandra B. Apr 2017
This little house was great! A wonderful quite location. The house was very clean when we arrived. Wonderful amenities provided. The distance to the very private beach was incredible. We will be visiting again.
Renee B. Oct 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Guardenia home. Its close proximity to the beach made it an ideal location for our visit to Tierra Del Mar. We enjoyed its central location, making day trips north to Cape Lookout and Cape Mears, and south to Lincoln City.

The cabin itself is quaint, and was perfect for our group of 4 adults. It was a short 1 minute walk to the beach, and an 8 minute drive to the grocery store in Pacific City. We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, which was great for unwinding. All the amenities in the house were wonderful, including the well stocked kitchen. We made dinners at the house nightly, and were pleasantly surprised at the fact that everything was provided.

We look forward to staying at the house again in the future!
Kevin C. Oct 2016
A beautiful isolated and secluded beach.
KANDACE R. Sep 2016
This place is perfect, quiet and close to the beach.
Brandy B. Aug 2016
It's a great location, the beach is right over the dune, close to Tillamook & other fun stuff. The house is cozy, and the exterior faucet is a great plus for rinsing off sand. The beds are very comfortable, and we would definitely rent this place again.
Ali S. Aug 2016
Nice property. Just as advertised. Well equipped. Well situated. Will stay here again.
Martha A. Aug 2016
The perfect little house for us, my husband my new puppy Abbey and myself.. Nice and Cozy!!! Beautiful quite Beach!! We will be back!!!
Marvin L. Jul 2016
Had a great 5 day's here was close to the beach but 10min from Pacific city with a great pizza place and any thing you might need. But also half way between Tillamook north and Lincoln south. The best part was the memories we made with our kids and we will be back
Jenifer N. May 2016
It's a lovely property. Very quiet and safe for the kids (ages 5 and 3). The kids loved the bunnies and the large size "yard" and woods. We also liked the fire pit and porch area. It was plenty of room for two families. The knives in the kitchen were not great, so I'd pack better knives. We also brought our own grill, which was great! Beds are pretty hard for my liking, but it was a fun place to stay for two nights.
Traci D. Aug 2015
Great place for little Beach goers. The house is cozy and well loved. Everything you need to enjoy your stay and create memories with your family!
Martha A. Jul 2015
We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay. We really enjoy our walks on the beach as well as our pet Bella Lulu ... Great place to come back soon!!! :)
Michael B. Jun 2015
Such a nice quiet beach and community. Having Pacific City nearby is nice but being a little more remote is very relaxing and peaceful. Having a little more space around the property just adds to the tranquility and splendor of Tierra Del Mar.
Jennifer W. Jun 2015
We have had a number of stays in properties managed by Vacasa and will always use this company. The homes have been exactly as advertised, without exception. Thank you, Vacasa for allowing us to make some great memories!
Andrea N. Oct 2014
Very clean and tidy, but it just didn't fit our family style. The dryer was broken so we had to put clothes on a chair in front of the heater. Didn't really feel comfortable cooking in the kitchen...the house was nice but didn't feel that warm welcome vacation stay...
Not toddler friendly either, several little end tables positioned around with fragile spindly legs. My petite toddler almost pulled over the bamboo shelves in the master bedroom...
Very clean and nice but not for us.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review of Guardenia Beach House! We are happy to hear that the house was clean and tidy. Although it was not a good fit for your family, we do hope you had a great time on your vacation, and were able to enjoy the beach and shops in town. We hope to see you and your family again soon at one of our many other rentals!
Dustina N. Aug 2014
Neighborhood was quiet, beach was easy to get to and not was very clean and comfortable. We had fun!
Dan G. Jul 2014
We had a great time, the house was everything you advertised and Vacasa Rentals is very easy to work with and we will use them again
Janet F. Jun 2014
It's not really a charming romantic getaway but it is a great spot for getting close access to the beach. You can't see the sea but it's a few steps away and it's clean and you can't beat the price. The beds were comfy and the kitchen was immaculate. I'll be back.
Manager response:
Thank you for your great feedback. I am glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful, serene beach just steps away. We look forward to seeing you again!
Natalie L. Mar 2014
This is a very quiet property on the Oregon Coast. It is in a quiet wooded neighborhood and just a few steps to a lovely open beach. The house was perfect for our two families (3 adults and 3 kids), cozy and comfortable with almost all needed amenity. Will make this a destination stay in the area for sure!
Paul Y. Aug 2013
This is the first time that we've used Vacasa rentals and we will certainly use them again in the future.

The customer service: Very friendly, helpful and informative- really nothing left to chance. Email notifications of check-in procedure was especially helpful.

The location: Tierra del Mar was such a refreshing change from the commercialization that you see up and down the coast. If you want a low key beach experience with one of the best beaches on the coast consider this location.

The property: Guardenia house is a basic one story beach house, not fancy but entirely fine for a beach stay. We were very impressed with the care that Vacasa spent on upkeep, amenities and cleanliness. We did not notice any musty smell which was reported in other reviews.

In conclusion, we will certainly rent this property again in the future and will definitely use Vacasa for all of our beach rental needs.

Paul Y.
Manager response:
Thank you for your thoughtful review - we look forward to having you back again!
Leona W. Jun 2013
Be prepared to climb a sand dune to get to and from the beach. Difficult for anyone that may have a physical problem. Beach was beautiful and basically deserted. Nice not to have to deal with crowds and noise, even on the weekend.
Wendy B. Apr 2013
Very close walk to the beach. A cute little cabin that is very spacious inside. Loved the outdoor amenities with benches, fire pit, fenced area, and bunnies.
Tonya C. Apr 2013
I wish it were mine, we loved it and found it very homey and welcoming. Just steps away from the beach. We took our dog and she loved it too. The neighborhood was quiet and nice. Any musty smell was so slight and normal for the beach, we kept the dehumidifier going the whole time we were there and it worked very well. We will be booking for next year as we have finally found our beach house. The Pelican Pub & Brewery in Pacific City is a must.
We hope to get 3 days next year instead of just the weekend.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a great time and we look forward to having you back next year!
Patricia G. Oct 2012
(My husband also wrote a review, but thought I would write one as well.)
The cabin was perfect for us and our two dogs. It had everything we needed and was very comfortable. It was great to hear the ocean just outside and to be able to be so close to it for all the numerous walks we took on the beach. The dogs especially had a wonderful time. Unfortunately the time went by too quickly! Would love to come back again!
Patricia G. Oct 2012
The Beach House was great. The indoor amenities were very complete. Although there are surrounding houses, they were either vacant or the residents really very quiet. A very short walk and you're on the beach. It is very nice that you can walk north and experience and enjoy a near deserted beach. We enjoyed it very much and our dogs had a fantastic time just running freely on the beach. The one constructive criticism we could have is that the porch with seats have an open awning or a roof. One night it was steadily raining and we would loved to have been able to sit outside listening to the rain and the roar of the waves in the distance. As it was we set up an umbrella and sat under that. Being denizens of the Nevada high desert, a steady rain was very novel for us. Thanks.
Patricia B. Oct 2012
House was clean and comfy! Dishwasher, washer and dryer- wonderful!! :o)
King bed very comfortable- Dehumidifier works well- no smell! No bbq- and Internet *(ethernet) didn't work for us- had to go to the coffee shop in Pacific City.
Cell phones will work, on the beach! :o) Loved the art work- and the two big comfy chairs/foot stools. No ocean view- but the setting in the trees is very pleasant and private- ocean is only a few steps!! LOVED IT! WE WILL BE BACK!!
Christine C. Oct 2012
the house is very comfortable and the beach was beautiful if you need to shop stop in tillamook the store in pacific city is small and pricey but good fresh seafood and if you plan to head south leave lots of drive time this caught us off guard very slow going other then that was a great family vacation and thank you to vacasa for everything
Patty G. Aug 2012
I was able to take my 77 year old mother who loves the ocean and my stepson's family with 2 small grandchildren (1 & 3) and their was fun for all. My mother enjoyed several short daily walks by herself to keep tabs of the moving tide and the serenity of the ocean while my stepson and his family were able to load up his restored Volkswagon bug and head down the road a few short miles to explore the Sandlake dunes. The evening brought a gathering place for all around the firepit to discuss the adventure of the day. It was a wonderful time for everyone including my husband and I who had a few walks on the beach of our own.
Karla A. Jul 2012
The house was great and very comfortable. Had a wonderful time.
Debbie Z. Jun 2012
this place is great. nothing fancy just simple and to the point, exactly what we were looking for. the house is charming, it is pet friendly but does not smell like dog, and it has a lovely little yard with a nice deck to drink you morning coffee on and watch the giant rabbits that run around, and a fire pit for the evenings. the beach is literally about a minute walk, its beautiful and uncrowded. very quaint little area, and if you want a little more of civilization, pacific city is a very short 3 miles down the road. we all loved it and spent a wonderful weekend here.
Molly H. May 2012
I'll admit the pictures do not do the property justice. That's why it took me so long to book the reservation... I was very skeptical. But my kids wanted a fire pit so I took a gamble and it payed off big time! We LOVE this location!!! The house felt homey and the heaters where kicka**!! The house did smell a little musty but investment in a newer de-humidifier should take care of that. Of course, the best part of the whole weekend was the BEACH!!! I mean who cares if the house is a little musty when you have that kind of easy access to the beach!!! One afternoon, I sat for about an hour on the beach and saw no body! It was beautiful sunny day too... but there was no body there but me!!! We LOVE this location and are already trying to figure out dates for our next Tierra del Mar adventure at the Guardenia House!
Manager response:
Thank you so much for the review; we're glad you had such a great time and nice weather. We appreciate the suggestion of a dehumidifier and will pass it along to the owners. We look forward to having you back.
Tonya F. May 2012
The house (for us) was just perfect, the "master bedroom" was very comfortable, the kids loved the bunk beds and they loved that it had a tv. the queen room is nice as well. There are 2 things that we LOVE LOVE LOVE about this place, the fire pit and how close it is to a VERY nice beach! where the house is located is nice and remote, but it is close enough to the town so you can get out and go do something if you wanted to. The only thing that was a slight bummer, was the 2nd shower was working, but the other bathroom had the shower so it was a big inconvenience. Honestly we WILL be renting again later this year!!! Thanks so much!
Manager response:
Thank you for review, we fixed the water flow on the second shower so all is well, we look forward to your return!
Annette M. Oct 2011
This just looks like a little house, but once you enter, it actually had tons of room! The master bedroom had the nicest bedding you could imagine, comfy little chairs in the living room to snuggle up into and all in all, just a really nice, affordable place. Only a house distance away from a trail that leads to the beach. Also...the beach! Just 2 miles north of Pacific City but without the Pac City crowd, so nice! Our first, and definately not the last, time we will be renting through Vacasa!
Ryan B. Jul 2011
Location is advertised - right near the entrance to the beach. Beach was quiet and we had it to ourselves at times. The house was great with plenty of room (3 beds, 2 baths, kitchen, dining, and living room). Only complaint was that it smelled too musty (like our basement). I think this can be remedied so hopefully it will be in the future. Even with that in mind, I'd still return as I think this is an excellent beach location.
Karie H. Jul 2011
This was a great location. Seeing the beach was our goal and we visited several times. Fabulous private location. House was OK and met our needs for the price. Things could have been a little cleaner and make sure to bring paper towels, coffe filters and toilet paper.