USA California The Northern California Coast Little River Listing #18701

Little River Retreat - Little River, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
24 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Gorgeous coastal home w/ hot tub, spacious decks & amazing views!

Marvel at the beauty of the surrounding evergreens at this cozy home located mere minutes from the Mendocino Coast, where spacious decks offer privacy, a private hot tub, and gorgeous views of the surrounding area. This home features new, contemporary furnishings and plenty of space for a family or a pair of couples to spread out and relax. Prepare delicious meals in the fully equipped kitchen, and grab a cup of coffee or an evening cocktail to sip out on the deck.

What's nearby:
This home sits along the west side of the fairway at the Little River Golf Course, with a wealth of outdoor activities just around the corner. Go for an oceanfront walk at Mendocino Headlands State Park (four miles north) or get out on the water with Kayak Mendocino (less than a mile north). Enjoy local seafood at Wild Fish, admire the beauty of Van Damme Beach and Van Damme State Park, and head up to downtown Mendocino to stroll the charming streets and pop in and out of art galleries.

Things to know:
Free WiFi, but it may be limited due to the home's location
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: There is ample parking space in the front driveway, the garage is off limits for guests.

County tax number: 2432
County tax number: 11185

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Internet : DirecTV


Cable : DirecTV

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private


Safety & accessibility

Wheelchair accessible

24 reviews

Carolyn H. Aug 2021
We loved our stay at the Little River Retreat. The house was beautiful, clean and spacious. The outdoor deck was amazing and a great place to gather in the late afternoon.
Ethan W. Jun 2021
We had a great stay. The property is private and spacious and the beds are super comfortable! We can’t wait to come back.
Sue J. Jun 2021
The home “Little River Retreat” was the last house just off airport road. So very private and yet so close to all the activities we wanted to do. Highly recommend hiking at Russian Gulch, Van Damn and Mendocino State Parks, along with Navarro Point Preserve. All within 10 miles from the home. The hot tub and large back deck was a huge hit as we utilized it every day. Deer, birds ( even hummingbirds) were sighted often. The home was well stocked and the area was jaw dropping impressive around every turn. Absolutely loved our stay.
gizella b. Apr 2021
This is a nice home near a great beach (2 minutes by car!) Furnishings are nice. It faces a golf course, so there is some action in the mornings. You will have to bring everything: foil, kleenex, mixing cups, tupperware, batteries for their lanterns etc, extra towels (we only got 3 for the hot tub), coffee filters (size 4), first aid kit, shampoo and conditioner (we only got one set in one bathroom.) We arrived to a dirty hot tub with someone else's bathing suit in it. The manager got it drained the next morning, but it was a gross way to arrive. Wifi a little spotty, but that is how it goes in this area.
Manager response:
Thank you, Gizella! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for contacting us regarding the hot tub. Our apologies for this detail to be missed and please know this is not commonplace. We truly look forward to providing you with a more exemplary stay next visit.
Wendy K. Jan 2021
We would definitely come back here again. This house had everything we needed. We were so lucky to get this place at the last minute. My only complaint would be that the back deck was very slippery. The stairs going into the back yard were so slick. I was carrying my daughter down and we both fell. Luckily neither of us were hurt. Otherwise we had a wonderful time.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Wendy! We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit and felt right at home. We sincerely apologize that the deck was slippery and caused your fall. We have forwarded this information to local management so that they can work to make the deck and stairs safer for future guests. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. Please know that our guest services team is available 24/7 for any issues during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again!
Elias S. Nov 2020
The property is in a great location, closet to the beaches, hiking trails and Mendocino. It provided plenty of space for our family. A beautiful, quiet retreat.
Christopher M. Nov 2020
We very much enjoyed our stay in the Little River Retreat. The large house was conveniently located and very well equipped for our two families. Our grandsons loved the large yard and their parents enjoyed the hot tub. We'd be very happy to come again!
Cindy Z. Oct 2020
Perfect location. Quite. Clean. Everything was perfect. The only thing I would want future renters to know is that the kitchen is not stocked. No spices, even salt and pepper. No foil or wrap or baggies. So you need to bring everything with you. Other than that we give this place an A+ and will for sure be back!
sara h. Oct 2020
Very roomy, beautiful location.
Claudia V. Jul 2020
This lovely, spacious, secluded home was so comfortable and cozy. The bird watching was amazing, the beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen was well equipped. This was the perfect place for our family getaway.
Michael R. Nov 2019
We absolutely loved how big it is. The hot tub and fireplace were just perfect! It is quiet and isolated, yet very near to town for last-minute groceries or whatever we needed.. it's a perfect place for a family vacation, or a romantic getaway..
Arnaud P. Oct 2019
The house was great, with a fully stocked kitchen. The hot tub was a nice moment at the end of the day after exploring such a wonderful region. Stargazing at night from the deck was also a nice plus with the kids.
House is well laid out, with pretty big bedroom and enough bathroom that our stay with 3 adults and 2 kids was perfect.
Carolyn S. Oct 2019
This vacation home has it all. It is at the end of a quiet road, near Little River and Mendocino, close to beaches, restaurants and trails. Would book again!
Patricia C. Sep 2019
This house was amazing! It was clean, spacious, great views both front and back. The kitchen was so organized and well stocked with dishes and cookware. It was secluded. But, a very short drive to all the sites and activities of the area,
Julius B. Aug 2019
Very private home next to golf course. Beautiful woods with deer. Well kept home. Perfect stay.
ROBERT B. Aug 2019
This is an older home that has been well maintained. It has been freshened with new flooring, all new furniture, nice appliances, and all new, good quality kitchen equipment. Two of the stove burners don't work however. The house is spacious and airy. The decorating is just perfect. This is the most peaceful setting! At night it is absolutely quiet and dark. The beds are comfortable and the linens are good quality. There were little extras like Mrs. Meyers hand soap, and lots of matching wood hangers. It was lovely there among the big trees, yet the house was bright and light inside. The hot tub was a big hit.
Vivian P. Jul 2019
The house was very nicely decorated. It was roomy and at the end of lane adjacent to a golf course surrounded by woods. Very quite area.

The home was nicely stocked but there were things I wish I had brought.... foil or saran wrap. There was only one dish towel provided in the kitchen but the bathrooms were well stocked with towels. The beds were very comfortable.

Check in is at 4:00 pm which is a little later than most places we have rented. But it was a great place to relax at and we enjoyed our stay there.

PS They were in the process of conneting up a hot tub which will be a plus.
Janhavi A. Apr 2019
this home featured this gorgeous deck amongst the woods that gave a sense of tranquil and calm that it made the vacation amazing.
Suresh G. Jan 2019
My wife and I stayed here over the weekend with another couple and their kids. It was quite comfortable for 6 of us. The place is tucked away at the end of the private street next to the golf course. Surrounded by nice big lot so the kids could run around safely. Good furniture and well stocked kitchen.
Only negative which made us be late for canoeing (and miss it because we missed the timing of the tide) was because only two of the 4 stove tops were functional. We had to juggle to make breakfast and didn't factor in the extra 45 mins that were needed for cooking. Hope the maintenance staff fixed that, but otherwise we enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. Will stay here again.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see the stove caused you to miss out on a fun outing. We understand how frustrating that must have been. The stove is certainly older, and a technician believes the burners are all currently working, but the cook top is on the top of our list of things to replace in the near future. Thank you!
Robert L. Dec 2018
Great place. Good layout. I’d rent it again. FYI. I suggest leaving tv operating instructions. Hard to figure out
Nazrin K. Nov 2018
Very cozy and beautiful house. Wonderfully designed and upgraded with all new furniture and kitchen utensils Love to cook and entertain in here. Wonderful fireplace that heats right up Loved the big bed in master bedroom Would love to come back!