Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Southern Oregon Coast Charleston Listing #1554

Deer House in Charleston - Charleston, OR

73 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 3 Queen Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options.

  • 7+ days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • 30+ days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee & associated taxes).

Exceptions apply. Read our full policy for details.

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean each home with an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Fisherman's paradise w/ spacious yard, views of nature & crabbing gear!

Bring the entire family because you'll have plenty of space to relax in the evenings while discussing your favorite moment from your day on Bastendorff Beach at this Charleston vacation rental!

Charleston is a tucked-away little town on Oregon's coast near Coos Bay, offering nature views and wandering wildlife. The fishing enthusiasts in your group will be in heaven here - because you'll be able to go surf fishing, clamming, crabbing, and deep-sea fishing in this charming town, known as a fisherman's paradise. You can also take a fishing charter trip where local experts can guide your tours. And with this home's spacious kitchen, you can plan to fry up the day's catch when you return!

The first thing you'll notice about this home is the big upper-level sunny deck.

The ground level has a toasty fireplace with a comfortable couch (also a sofa bed), a TV where you can watch your favorite cable show or a DVD, and a microwave - so you can pop some popcorn without disturbing anyone upstairs! In addition, there's a dining table where you can have a snack or play some cards. Or, bring your laptop to use the home's WiFi. Take a breather from the stresses of everyday life by cozying up in one of the living rooms (there's one on each level!) with a big bowl of popcorn and a mug of hot cocoa.

Head up the spiral staircase to the second level to find another couch, a fireplace, and two leather recliners you can really sink into. The dining room has a table big enough for the whole family, and the smell of dinner will waft through the house from the adjacent kitchen. The kitchen has everything you need to cook up a feast - including 6 crab pots and 6 crab rings. There's even a propane crab cooker outside for boiled crab. The kitchen's rolling island allows for lots of counter space, and the dishwasher makes clean-up a breeze. You'll also have a stove, microwave, refrigerator, as well as a washer and dryer in the laundry room.

When it's finally time to rest your weary bones, there are three bedrooms to choose from. Each bedroom has a queen sized bed with brand new linens. Add the sofa bed and this home will comfortably sleep up to 10guests. With all the big windows facing the tree-lined yard, you'll find peace and serenity in this home.

Of course, you won't want to spend all your time inside when there is so much to do within walking distance of this home. Choose from the picturesque Sunset Beach or the Bastendorff Beach. And don't forget Cape Arago State Park or the Shore Acres State Park's botanical gardens. Charleston is great because it is slightly off the beaten path, so you and your family will have space to yourselves and plenty of privacy. But you can always head into Coos Bay for groceries or to check out some of the charming eateries, when you're looking for a fun night out.

Why not take a few moments to gather your family together to make some lasting vacation memories here, in this charming Southern Oregon Coast vacation rental?
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

House rules

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router


On-site activities

Board games





73 reviews

Rodney M. Nov 2020
Clean and quiet
Rebel W. Sep 2020
Great house, spiral staircase isn't the greatest, but a great location and view. Did have some weird issues with a neighbor with a dog walking through the yard, and up and down the house stairs at 1am like they were checking things out a LITTLE TOO personally if you get my drift. Upstairs couch bed has issues and is need of repair, we couldnt use it.
Shelly D. Jul 2020
This was a comfortable and spacious home, with plenty of room for our 7 people. The back yard was incredibly beautiful and the ocean view was lovely as well. Kitchen was fairly well stocked, tho needed one large pot. Plenty of dishes.
Stairs are narrow, so a wee bit scary, especially for younger kids.
Could nt figure out the heating system, and it blew cold air for a long time before finally getting warm.
Downstairs bed not so comfortable, especially for 2 people.
Downstairs bathroom sink slow draining, and shower barely gets above warm. Needed 1 more chair at dining table.
So a few issues to sort.
But overall, roomy, clean, comfy couches and recliners and lots of awesome windows. We enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Shelly. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We have reached out to our local manager with your comments and suggestions. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope to host you again soon!
Tara H. May 2020
The house was nice and clean with a good kitchen, beautiful view decks and a huge backyard. Would give another star if more paper towels and garbage bags available for replacement when empty(had to buy some extra ones), and a closed lid container for kitchen waste. The kitchen garbage container had no closed lid, so all the kitchen waste and garbage in there stink the whole area which connected to the living room. There were no replacement garbage bags available for constantly taken out trash.
Manager response:
Hi Tara, thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We provide a starter kit of supplies in the home which includes garbage bags, toilet paper, paper towels, etc. For any additional supplies needed we ask our guests to bring extra. As for the garbage bin, we will be sure to pass along your comments to the local manager. They will work with the homeowner to make any needed replacements. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
Simina P. Mar 2020
The house has a great location close to many beaches, nice trails for running or walking, and close to the formal gardens at Shore Acres State Park. We had a great stay -- the house has everything we needed, the kitchen was well equipped and Wi-Fi was good (we had work to do so that was important). Two deers visited us one late afternoon (unfortunately only once). Would definitely stay again!
Katee Z. Dec 2019
House was comfortable and had a great view. Everything was clean and everything worked!
Julie W. Oct 2019
This was a very nice spot. It is close to Sunset Beach and the price was very affordable. I'd stay here again. The back yard is huge, beautiful and we saw a mama deer with two little ones. They came right up to the back door.
Michele M. Oct 2019
Beautiful back yard like forest view with deer strolling in throughout the day. Close to Charleston Marina. Very comfortable. Probably not recommended for older people that have a problem with stairs. Enjoyed our trip.
Deanne A. Sep 2019
The house has three bedrooms with queen beds, which is perfect for three adult couples. We loved the park like back yard and enjoyed the deer watch us play games. Just beautiful. Thank you for sharing this wonderful home.
Margie S. Aug 2019
The backyard is huge!
Corbyn R P. Jul 2019
This hone was perfectly situated to enjoy all of Cape Arago. It is cozy and has all you need for a relaxing trip.
Judy R. Jun 2019
Beautiful home. Wonderful yard. Easy to get to dunes to ride.
Viewing from living room amazing. Deck was nice. Quiet evening an sunset breathtaking.
Andy B. Dec 2018
The home was clean, beds were comfortable, had a partial ocean view from the second floor. It had been stormy, and we came down for the huge waves at Shore Acres State Park! We decided to add a night to avoid driving home in the next really big storm. Around 4:30am we lost power (all the CPAP's stopped working, LOL)... a tree took down a power pole about 100 yards down the road, blocking it, so we couldn't have left even if we wanted to! Ended up having the entire cape all to ourselves. They fixed the pole, cleared the road (power returned) around 4pm. The home was perfect for going back and forth to the park(s). Charleston had a good tavern for food, and Chucks seafood had smoked Tuna that's to die for. On the negative, the heater didn't put out much heat, and (like most rentals), there was a shortage of cutting knives.
Michele M. Oct 2018
Beautiful serene backyard with Park/Forest setting. Deer walk through almost every day. Partial ocean view from upstairs. Lighthouse theme throughout the home.
James L. Oct 2018
The house was so comfortable and restful. Located minutes from Sunset Bay. It has a small ocean view from the top level.
Kelly B. Aug 2018
This house was wonderful! It was immaculately clean which I always appreciate in a vacation rental home. The backyard is huge and absolutely beautiful. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you to the owners and Vacasa!
GUOQUAN Z. Mar 2018
Coos bay city is a very good holiday destination, Deer house in Charleston is also very ideal family holiday villas. Hope to have the opportunity to go.
Lori C. Nov 2017
Our family of five spent a great weekend crab fishing and walking the beaches. It was terrific to borrow the crab rings from this rental, and then return and relax with out catch. The view of the water was perfect for winter - not too close, but you could still see it.
Richard R. Oct 2017
This house was a great place to stay, lots of amenities, close to the harbor and beaches. The house was clean and comfortable. I look forward to my next visit at the Deer house. Thanks to the owners for making this available for family and friends to enjoy.
Carly O. Oct 2017
Great place to stay if you want to do some crabbing or fishing. They have tons of gear!
Christine H. Aug 2017
Great location - so close to 3 beautiful parks on the coast. The backyard is a park in itself and has a trail throuh the forest. Be aware there are staircases only and it can be a hassle to get heavy suitcases and groceries up to the main part of the house. Not recommended for elderly or very young people due to the staircases.
Andre L. Aug 2017
Upon arriving the house hadn't been fully cleaned...we were unsure if the sheets were cleaned and we had to replace them ourselves. Garbages weren't emptied, bathroom sinks were cleaned, no new soap or shampoo, used toothpaste and washcloths left out, very disappointing. But the house was a great house in a great location.
Alan L. Jul 2017
Nice house, nice location, terrible upkeep. Do not rent if you have elderly guests or small children they will not be able to go up and down the spiral stairs.
Shane J. Jun 2017
Make sure to bring kitchen items. Plenty of plates, bowls and cups. Limited pots and pans. May want to bring what you need.
Back yard was amazing. Park like setting. Very peaceful.
Shaun J. Jun 2017
It was a great location - within minutes from Sunset Beach (literally down the road) and Bastendorf Beach. Up the road from Sunset Beach, there were some trails we walked down and were able to see Sea Lions playing in the ocean. The area is absolutely beautiful!

There was a smell - like other reviewers talked about. It was hard to adjust to. It was an old, musty smell. We tried spraying air freshener, but it was a temporary fix. There were a few maintenance issues with a lopsided toilet seat and lights that didn't turn on. We spent most of the time upstairs where the kitchen is - which is a climb especially with groceries and luggage. It's a lot of going up and down stairs that are narrow and wind up. If you have small children or elderly, this could be a problem. But honestly, for the price and location, it was nice to be so close to everything we wanted to do.
RACHEL V. Jun 2017
It is a great stay and convenient. It was perfect, it housed my family and myself and it felt like home.
Tina C. Apr 2017
This home was well equipped with plenty of room for at least 6! Within close proximity to beaches. Great view from the top floor.
Buddy O. Apr 2017
Me and my family had a wonderful time at the house .. the backyard was huge for the kids to run around and play .. had a okay view or the ocean off the back purch .. the only downfall was the whole house only had 1 older tv witch I couldn't hook my Xbox up too so I went to the closest wal mart and got a cheap little one
Steven W. Apr 2017
Brought the family and enjoyed the beach and park trail. It is a double level living space so be aware with the elderly or wheelchair. we loved it! Only a small old tv, it was fine for us but if the owners wanted to make an investment I would suggest another tv for family viewing upstairs.
Jeff E. Mar 2017
It was a great place to stay.
Portia W. Jan 2017
This was one of nicest vacations I have every had. This house is just right for people who want the amenities of home but don't mind a little rustic decor. It was warm, cozy and well appointed. Beautiful windows with a view of the ocean in the front and the most unbelievable emerald green forrest as far as the eye can see at the back. The highlight of my vacation was running in the forrest along the trails going straight from the backyard. I was able to run "Francis's Loop" enough to get in a few miles: so serene, so beautiful.

We enjoyed the quaint town of Charleston, delighted at the absence of a fast food restaurant and thrilled to have fresh fish meals at the little local restaurants.

I can't wait to return!

Cliff H. Nov 2016
Located couple miles from Charleston boat launch. House is big and clean. Lots of crab gear and cooking items. Good parking. Kitchen is upstairs so if you have disabilities this is not the property for you.
Leiann C. Oct 2016
Different group, same house and great time!
Donnelly M. Sep 2016
The house is beautiful and very liveable. Tons of space for kids to run around and hang out while adults have their own space. The only set back is the carpet smell, its a little musty at first but eventually you will get use to the smell. The view of the ocean is not as what we wanted but we can hear the waves and its good enough to relax your tired body and mind. If your driving at night it is easy to get lost because there is no clear mark that you can see easily especially if the road is to foggy. the house needs more light outside to be visible to commuters who might check in late.
Sarah C. Aug 2016
Loved the area too bad the house was not up to par. Mix match worn out towels. Stained bedding. Worn pots and pans. Smelly bathroom. Furniture and carpet worn and outdated. We made the best of it for 5 days.
Manager response:
We appreciate receiving this feedback and will take it under consideration for improvements.
Richard I. Jul 2016
We enjoyed the view of the ocean from the Deck & the back yard was beautiful .We enjoyed playing games there . The crab rings and outdoor cooker for crabs was a big plus for us. The only thing I would caution people on is that the pull out couches are not comfortable for adults. Probably ok for kids.
Laurie E. Jul 2016
What a great house! Beautiful yard to gather in, lots of space in the house and close to beaches. I would recommend to anyone. Could use some updating on the bedding but the house was very clean and had everything we needed!
David & Debbie B. Jul 2016
This home is perfectly located between Basendorf and Sunset Beach and short car rides to Shore Acres and Cape Aargo. Great view across the street of the ocean, we look forward to coming back here again!
Skaidra S. Jun 2016
This is a decent sized home with a great backyard. There isn't much of a view, but is only a short walk to the beach. It comfortably accommodated 5 adults, with room to entertain family and friends who live in Coos Bay.
David B M. Jun 2016
We have been going to the Coos Bay area for almost 30 years for our summer vacations, including the year we spent a month in Europe. The first 20 we spent in yurts in Sunset Bay State Park right around the corner from this house, but after my daughter rented the house almost next door for two years while in grad school, we thought we would try renting houses, instead. It was much better than a yurt.

The kitchen is not as well stocked as intimated in other reviews, unless you don't mind giving up a working mixer, potato masher, or hot pad for 10 cork screws or 25 nut/crab crackers. Some reviewers said they need another TV upstairs. Why? It was nice to send the grandkids downstairs if they had to watch TV, and we could sit upstairs with the windows open and the ocean out the window.

All of the stairs were a hassle. My 5-year-old grandson hurt his bum falling down the circular stairs - which were kind of tricky to navigate. We mostly used the outside stairs to go up and down. The light switches were a novelty - trying to figure out which switches operated which lights - and we never did figure out how to turn on the lights in the upstairs family room. But the light switch in the bathroom in the middle of the house the turned on the outdoor flood lights really took the cake.

The huge back yard surrounded by forest was wonderful for the kids to play in. The close proximity to lighthouse beach was very nice. And my kids had fun watching the man across the street burn piles of wood in his outdoor pit - they concocted a story about his burning the remains of his former wife, and each new person who drove into his property was either there to help with that, a new almost former wife, or an undercover cop. They were a little bored at times.

Being so close to Sunset Bay was perfect. The weather was unusually sunny and warm - we spent most of our time on the beaches. The extreme low tides made it possible to see the effects of the wasting disease on starfish - we only found 3, and 2 of them were missing at least 2 legs. How sad!

So, would I rent it again. Probably. It was nice to have my daughters and their families all together in one building next to a place we all love so dearly.
Joy S. May 2016
We had a fabulous time at the property.
Merideth N. Apr 2016
My friend and I brought our kids here for spring break...5 kids between the ages of 6 and 14, and everyone had a great time! Plenty of room for the kids to run around and play, and the house was big enough that we did not feel like we were crowding each other. The house had everything we needed and more! The beach is right down the street, and the market in town has all of the necessities. This was so much nicer than renting a hotel with the kids...I would definitely stay here again.
Chris R. Mar 2016
This was a great place to get away from the traffic and just enjoy the silence of the great outdoors. A beautiful view from the second story, great to just relax and feel at peace. clamming and crabbing gear to go just up the road to get a good catch of crabs and clams. A nice carport to get in and out of your car to the house without the rain getting you wet. Just a good place to escape to.
Christie N. Feb 2016
We enjoyed the fireplace and relaxing. The beach and the trails were great. We had a great time crabbing and the people are friendly.
Kathleen H. Dec 2015
This house, because of stairs to the main portion of house is best for younger set, a perfect fit for us with older kids and younger adults with a great view and easy access to the Charleston, Oregon Pacific playground!
Heather M. Dec 2015
Although the house isn't directly on the ocean, you get a descent view through the trees.
Bernice S. Sep 2015
We were able to visit with our granddaughter who is an intern at the South Slough
Research Reserve. The Sunset Beach, Botanical Garden, Mammal reserve are so close by and are spectacular
Kay P. Jun 2015
We loved it here. 2 couples and plenty of room for more. The grounds were beautiful!! The TV and den room were downstairs and if I was to request anything, it may have been to have a second tv in the upstairs living area. If there were children, they could watch their own shows downstairs. Otherwise, absolutely no complaints of this rental. The price was right and it was very quiet and peaceful. Close to parks and hiking trails. The four of us had a fantastic visit. Thank you so much from us all.

Kay and Del and Bud and Jana
Elizabeth W. Jun 2015
We have not used the VRBO service prior to our small break in Charleston at the Deer House. We were pleased. Home was clean, very well equipped and most pleasant. There were two small children with us and they found it a lovely place - a huge back yard to run around and close to the beach. I would recommend this location for a quiet break.
Kyle O. May 2015
They had everything we needed waiting for us. A grill, towels, bathroom necessities, even crab pots!!! Great weekend!
David O. Apr 2015
Don't know where to start. I have never rented a house before. We (7) had a great time. Was more than we had planned for. Everything we needed was already there. I didn't need to take my crab traps or other clam gear. They even had a good selection of rubber boots. The crab cooker worked great and the BBQ was good too. Nice local, not too close not too far. Stairs ok, my wife brought one of those things to keep the babies from getting on them. if you have little ones you might put one in. The little accordion things that expand in a doorway to keep the kids off the stairs. Was great will do this type vacation again.
Deanna T. Mar 2015
My husband, me and my 3 children and another family, husband wife, three children stayed the weekend here. The property was very clean and had everything you could possibly imagine. They have the place fully stocked with everything from every dish, silverware, pot and pan and utensil you can think of. There are enough blankets and pillows for more than the maximum occupancy, shampoo, conditioner and body wash are all complimentary as well. We shared the house with another couple and their kids and NO ONE complained. They all had a blast and asked if they could live there forever. My husband and I are already talking about a return trip. We will definitely use Vacasa Rentals again and will recommend them to friends and family. (Only the close ones though, so when we want to return we won't be out-booked.
Manager response:
Thank you for this great review and recommendation! We are so happy that this home was perfect for your stay, and can't wait for you to visit Vacasa again soon.
Edwina M. Jan 2015
Awesome place! Tons of room! Everything so close to the house! Wonderful weekend of crabbing!
Dennis B. Dec 2014
Nice place to relax and have family time. The stay was enjoyable.
Tina C. Oct 2014
We travel to this area often from New Mexico because my husband is from Coos Bay. We've stayed in other vacation homes in the area but none as wonderful as this. The upstairs family room was incredible. We sat in the recliners for hours and watched the surf. We couldn't get enough. Plus the place is open, warm and very clean. It had all the amenities you could want. I don't watch TV much but some in our group do and they didn't miss watching TV because it was just an awesome place (there is a TV downstairs for those who can't do without). We will stay here every time we travel to Coos Bay. Thanks to the owners for sharing this magnificent property.
Jackie Y. Oct 2014
House and location were wonderful. The only issue the six of us had. Us all being seniors, were the stair ways. They are a bit difficult , bringing food and luggage up and down. Jackie