USA Georgia North Georgia McCaysville Listing #33993

A Tumblin' Run - McCaysville, GA

Take a Virtual Tour
43 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed 1 bedroom  plus loft 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly waterfront cabin with a firepit & porch swing!

Tucked away on the bank of Fightingtown Creek, this dog-friendly Georgia cabin has all the comforts and amenities you could want during your stay! Inside, you'll find beautiful wood-paneled walls, a wrought-iron spiral staircase that leads up to the second level, and a wood-burning stove perfect for heating you back up after a day in the water. Put on a big family event out at the firepit while swapping river stories with your guests, then enjoy a good read on the porch swing.

What's nearby:
Head on over to Papa's Pizza To Go, just two miles away, for their specialty pizzas, fresh cold subs, and quesadillas. Katz’s New York Deli is a great place to enjoy a Reuben sandwich or soup of the day after an afternoon on the river. Check out Habanero's Fresh Tex Mex for their rice and beans, enchiladas, and tamales. Bear Claw Vineyards & Winery has awesome wine tours, live music, and events, and is just a quick 9-mile drive south. Additional attractions include Mercier Orchard, Blue Ridge Scenic Railway, kayak rentals on the Toccoa River, whitewater rafting on the Ocoee River, and shops and restaurants right on the river in McCaysville.

Things to know:
Internet not available
Full kitchen (no dishwasher)
Coffee Maker
Firepit
Dog bowls available
* Please note: This cabin is not suitable for small children
** 2 car maximum
*** The cabin is on a small rocky road along the creek

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Wood stove

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Riverfront

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Miscellaneous

Wide clearance

Nearby activities & attractions

Playground

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

Lanai

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

43 reviews

Riley M. Jan 2023
The cabin was very clean and well maintained, perfect location overlooking the river. Made for an awesome weekend trip for my partner and I. We will be revisiting!
Tracey h. Nov 2022
We loved the quaint cabin, the loft was wonderful for our kids to have their own beds. The creek was so peaceful. The kitchen was well-equipped. The fireplace was perfect (just remember to bring a lighter/matches because one is not provided). The bed in the master bedroom needs to be updated, it was very worn and springy and pretty uncomfortable. Other than that we could not recommend this place more!
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Tracey; it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the great views and location of the home during your visit. Thank you for sharing your feedback and bringing some items, like the bed, to our attention that may need some updates. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager, who will work with our homeowner to make the necessary upgrades. We truly hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Rebecca M. Nov 2022
This is the second time we’ve stayed at this small cabin and we absolutely love it! It is small but has all the necessities you need. It’s a quick trip to either McCaysville or Blue Ridge downtown. The loft area was perfect for our daughter and friend while we stayed downstairs. There is nothing better than sitting outside by the fire pit and listening to the creek. Such a peaceful haven. We will definitely be back!
Heather W. Oct 2022
We absolutely loved the cabin! It was so nice to wake up to the view of the river from the bedroom - not to mention the peaceful sound. It was absolutely gorgeous with the changing of the leaves! The directions were spot on (although - don't trust your navigation!). The gravel roads were fine with my Honda civic, you just have to take it slow! Check in and check out was a breeze! I was worried about not having phone or internet service, but I actually found it to be very relaxing. Everyone needs a break from technology once in a while!
Kyle B. Oct 2022
When you eventually find it, you will find the location is hard to beat. The French doors open up to a porch that peeks over the creek that makes for a peaceful morning. The wood burning stove was a nice touch for an immersive log cabin experience.
Dennis P. Jul 2022
Cozy cabin. Tubing on the water and fishing from the back deck. Enjoyed the nature and seclusion.
Dana C. Jul 2022
You can’t get any closer to the river!
BRENT W. May 2022
Look this is a cabin in the woods...near a creek. You are going to have bugs, spiders and maybe a snake or two. There is no internet here and cell phone service is spotty plus the road in there could get a little questionable; depending on your vehicle. If you cannot handle this, go stay at a Marriott. Otherwise, enjoy the scenery, the water, the quiet. This place makes you disconnect from today's society. Yes, we caught fish....some quite large so there is fish to be caught. It is a question of how hard do you want to fish to get them!
Kaye H. Apr 2022
It was the perfect weekend getaway! Exceeded expectations!
Mark K. Feb 2022
It's a good place to go couple. During the fishing season, you can fishing directly from the porch.
Miles P. Feb 2022
Loved the Cabin and Fighting Town Creek. We loved the sound of the running water. Cabin is on a very nice section of the Creek. The bed was one of the best we have slept on in a rental. My only complaint was the road getting back to the cabin. I have a full size truck, the road is rough, and turning around at the cabin is very tight. We loved the area, McCaysville was wonderful.
James R. Jan 2022
We absolutely loved the layout quiet and peacefulness with a touch of snow, however my wife and I were slightly offended by Trump pens and memorabilia in cabin, it’s cool as politics aren’t that important it was just like a uneasy feeling. I would definitely recommend this property!!
Manager response:
Hello James, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for these items in the home and we confirm they have been removed. We are glad you enjoyed the home and hope to host you again soon!
Wes L. Dec 2021
Loved the cabin, we will be back! River sounds and view are awesome. Road was a little tricky.
Rebecca M. Nov 2021
Wonderful location next to the creek. The sound of the water is so soothing and this is a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the peace and solitude. We will definitely be going back.
Dianne S. Nov 2021
Quiet, peaceful, clean. and stocked with everything you could ever need. The main attraction is the river views and the tranquil water sound. Anxious to go back.
Kim B. Aug 2021
Positive: The cabin was in a beautiful location. It was peaceful and relaxing. We saw trout but never caught any. Negative: The road in was awful, we drove a truck and had difficulty turning it around in the space provided. The trash outside the cabin was not emptied from previous tenants, so raccoons had strung it all over. There were no cleared paths to the creek. The outside of the cabin had a lot of spider webs and spider. Also the charges tacked on for for host fee, cleaning, and service fees double the cost of the cabin rental (not counting taxes)… As pretty as it was there it was not worth it, I felt scammed, but we booked late so canceling was not an option. We made the best of it and to spite how crooked this deal felt, we enjoyed one another on our anniversary. Also we stopped at 5 locations in the area for information and directions, no one could help us??? This is a community who relies upon tourism, you would think they would be more prepared to promote it. Some could not even communicate in English. The question I asked were, where are the closest waterfalls, do you sell fishing license, and where is the closest Walmart??? I don’t work in tourism but can tell you these things for my town. This experience will make me Leary of booking with Vacasa or VRBO in the future. My past experience were much better, so maybe it was Vacasa that was the problem.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Kim. We are glad you enjoyed the location of this home but apologize for the details that were amiss. We are so sorry that animals found their way into the trash. We make every effort to collect the trash as soon as we can but occasionally animals get there first. We are so sorry for the inconvenience this caused. We are also sorry to hear you felt the cost of renting this home was misleading. We aim to make the price of our rentals as completely transparent as possible and provide a breakdown of each cost you pay towards the rental before, and throughout the booking process, including all fees and taxes. Please know our team is available 24-hours a day via phone call and would have been happy to answer any questions you had prior to booking. Thank you for letting us know there is room for improvement and we hope to host you again for a more comfortable stay.
Melanie C. Jun 2021
The view is great, Sadly it ends there. The cabin is leaning into the river. The exterior was very dirty and not maintained in a very long time. We left early and only stayed half of our reserved time. I would not recommend.
Manager response:
Hello, Melanie, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the great view! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Brent W. Apr 2021
Cannot ask for a better location. Fishing was great...weather was just about perfect...did not need any air or heat. If you want to go to a place to get away from all the technology of today, this is the place for sure!!
Anita S. Apr 2021
This is our second anniversary trip to A Tumblin’ Run. We love sitting on the porch and listening to the water rush by. So relaxing. We hope to come back soon.
Blake s. Apr 2021
Great cabin and location the heat doesn't work to well so plan on having a fire thats the only complaint on the cabin now the neighbors thats another story they were up till 3 both nights hooping and hollering and we had a creek between us and still kept us up at night
Kristi G. Mar 2021
The covered porch sitting right on the edge of the rushing creek provides a tranquil space for much needed rest and relaxation. We enjoyed watching the trout swimming beneath us and listening to the rushing waters just outside the bedroom at night.
Julie L. Feb 2021
This place was amazing! The river is beautiful and the location couldn’t be better. The road was a little intense driving into the place but once you drive it once you’re good! Cabin was spotless and we had everything we needed. We definitely will be making this a once a year destination. We were here for 5 days, and we literally only left the cabin once that’s how relaxing it was. We let out the couch to a bed and opened up the living room doors so we could watch and hear the river while we watched movies lol! It was a very relaxing vacation.
Cassandra S. Jan 2021
This cabin was perfect for our weekend getaway. Loved that it was dig friendly , our St. Bernard was very comfortable here.
Mark H. Dec 2020
Secluded and right on a little river. Well decorated and cozy!
jeff j. Oct 2020
The cabin and the little river was just wonderful.My wife and I had a nice get away for a few days, would recommend for anyone. The road leading in could use a little work very narrow.
Jason C. Oct 2020
A great time in October with my family.
We loved the cabin right on the river. A very cozy place. One note, bring your AWD if available...
JC
Emily W. Oct 2020
Great cabin north of Blue Ridge. McCaysville and Copperhill are enjoyable too. Cabin was clean. It has central AC and heat. Would visit again!
Kathy C. Aug 2020
The cabin inside was semi-clean (could've been better); it was not thoroughly cleaned and the towels smelled horrible. The outside was filthy. The porch swing was covered in animal and human hair and the porch was covered in spider webs and just overall dirt and grime. The grill outside does not work and the propane gas was not hooked up properly and is very unsafe. This was completely unacceptable as we brought food to grill and could not. Moreover, the cabin is very ran down and in a serious state of decline. This trip was our 5th over a span of 7 years. The entire cabin is sinking and leaning toward the water. Literally. The porch was so unstable that we did not want to be on it at all as we were fearful that it would fall in. We were unable to relax the entire trip because we were so uncomfortable and worried about the stability of the cabin and porch. Even our bed was sloping downward, toward the water. It's completely unacceptable for the amount of money we paid to stay there. We left exhausted when we should've been refreshed. Sadly, we will not be looking to book here again. Clearly, VACASA is not concerned about maintaining their rental properties. It was a very frustrating stay for us.

Manager response:
Hi, Kathy! We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to read you were not fully satisfied with your experience. The grill has been replaced, and we have verified the porch swing is clean. A contractor has been to the home to verify the porch and house are safe and not leaning. Thank you!
Mitch W. Aug 2020
We loved the river views and settings. Cabin was spotless, clean, and comfortable. We look forward to renting again.
Travis S. Aug 2020
Was perfect for me and my girlfriend to get away for a week! The view of the river is perfect! Will be staying again!
Laura B. Jul 2020
This cabin was the perfect getaway for our family after a summer stuck at home! The creek right outside our door was amazing! We’ll be back!
Crystal H. Jul 2020
The cabin was perfect for us and our two teenage children. Catching trout off the porch was the highlight of the trip for our son. My five star suggestions would be to scrub the shower better and to add a washer/dryer.
Wade L. Jun 2020
We took a long weekend to North Georgia and had a great time in the area and in this cabin. Located right on the water and was a perfect size and location for the 2 of us. No complaints except the fish weren’t biting.
. Oct 2018
We came to " a tumbling run " to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. And boy did this cabin deliver!! Just sitting on the porch and listening to the creek tumble by was enough to make you forget everything. Very relaxing indeed!
. Oct 2018
Gravel road was a little tricky without all wheel drive View from front porch Clean Good variety of cookware
. May 2018
Beautiful cabin,scenery and serene at its finest... looking forward to visiting again
. May 2018
Beautiful scenery.... beautiful cabin.....serene at its best..... can’t wait to return
. May 2018
I booked this cabin as a surprise getaway for my husband. The staff was friendly, courteous & very helpful with my many questions & my planning. I chose the “stock the fridge” option & that was the greatest thing ever. We walked into the cabin with music playing & a stocked kitchen. All we had to do was relax & enjoy it! I highly recommend this quaint cabin with an awesome view. The relaxing sound of the running creek was an added bonus. We will definitely be back!
. Feb 2018
No Wifi or signal It was hard to get to the cabin. Cabin was nice and clean ???? warm Love it????????
. Feb 2018
We went as family of 5 great time . cabin clean and cozy we love it !!see you soon