Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Gearhart Listing #1200

Seventh Street Cottage - Gearhart, OR

61 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 1 dog max  (50 lb weight limit) 
656 7TH ST, Gearhart, OR 97138

Beautiful, dog-friendly cottage w/ large yard - just a few blocks from the beach

Spend your days walking on a long peaceful stretch of beach, browsing through small interesting shops, or playing a game of golf when you plan a stay at this charming two bedroom Gearhart vacation rental. Just a few blocks from the beach, families and friends alike will have space to relax and enjoy each other's company here, while still being close to popular tourist attractions like gallery browsing in artsy Cannon Beach and walking along the Promenade in bustling Seaside.

From the cute exterior's blue shingles to the laid-back and comfortable beach style inside, this vacation cottage has all that you'll need for a special and memorable getaway to the North Oregon Coast. A wood burning fireplace will provide both warmth and ambiance as you settle back on the sofa or one of the unique chairs to watch a DVD on the flat screen TV. Other entertainment amenities include a stereo, CD player, WiFi, and Roku so even on rainy days, you'll have many activities to choose from.

This home has a number of spots to snuggle up with a good book and a mug of tea. There are shelves overloaded with books and games for a cold, gray afternoon, making this vacation home ideal no matter the season. When it's time to sit down for a meal or you need some space to set up a board game, there are a few wooden tables to choose from, so everyone will have a seat.

The kitchen is full of beach house charm, with all of the major appliances you'd expect, including a dishwasher. There's even a coffee grinder for fresh beans in the morning. You'll also find plates, pots, pans, wine glasses, and silverware - everything you need for enjoying a home-cooked meal.

Two bedrooms are pleasantly decorated with wall art, accessories like iron bed frames, sitting areas, and antique furnishings. You'll have two queen-size beds split between the rooms, which will accommodate four guests. The one bathroom features wainscoting, black and white penny round tile, and a tub/shower combination. There's also a bright laundry room with a full-sized washer and dryer, so there's no need to overpack when you stay here!

This Oregon Coast vacation rental is on a double lot, so there's lots of outdoor space surrounding the house for kids to play or to entertain outside. This quiet, residential neighborhood also stretches out along the Gearhart Golf Links, which is the oldest golf course in Oregon. So golfers, don't forget to bring your clubs! The family dog is also welcome to join you for an additional nightly fee.

Other options for sunny days include a bike ride around the neighborhood, lattes and freshly baked pastries at the Pacific Way Bakery, or make the easy, 10 minute walk down to the beach. Once down on the sand, you'll have a long stretch of coastline to explore, hunt for sand dollars, or just watch a breathtaking sunset over the water.

There's nearby hiking a 15-minute drive away at Ecola State Park in Cannon Beach (as well as wonderful galleries to browse), and other attractions for the while family in nearby Seaside, including their famous Promenade. If you don't feel like cooking at night, you can pick up a take-out pizza at Pacific Way Cafe, or stay there for a restaurant meal featuring local seafood and Northwest cuisines. On the other side of the golf course, there's also a McMenamins outpost for beer, cocktails, and pub food.

The sleepy beach town of Gearhart offers a relaxing backdrop for your coastal getaway. This Seventh Street Cottage has everything you'll need for a wonderful vacation, as well as modern amenities paired with an eclectic, comfortable style just steps from the Pacific Ocean.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Game room

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Wedding venue

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Charter

DVD library

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Stereo

TV

VCR

VHS library

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

61 reviews

Ed B. May 2019
A very comfortable house in a quiet neighborhood. Well equipped with some fascinating antique art and photographs from years ago. If we're back on the Oregon coast it would be my first choice.
Marsha S. Sep 2018
Great place for a family get together, Love the home only drawback was a few stairs to different rooms were they done additions was hard on elderly parents
George U. Sep 2018
Lots of room and very nicely furnished. The area is quiet and liked the location. Liked the dog friendly invite, but not sure why no fencing for such a nice lot. Also please post TV instructions, had to contact VACASA Portland to get the TV to work.
Manager response:
Due to the size of the lot the owners will not be fencing the whole area. We have updated the instructions for the TV and appreciate the suggestion.
Sarah J. Sep 2018
Excellent week at this home. A true GEM! It was clean and so comfortable! We left it as we found it and can’t wait to come again! Beautiful!
Angela V. Sep 2018
We absolutely loved the cottage. It had everything we needed in it. Loved the outside deck and patio. Hoy see e was very spacious.
Steven M. Aug 2018
We really enjoyed the openness of the home the quaint neighbourhood close access the the beach. Cable and Netflix was great for my kids. Everything you need was in this great cottage. Definitely will stay again!
Vincent B. Jul 2018
This pictures dont truly do this place justice. From front to back. You have a large reading game room. A kitchen and dinning room that leads back to a awesome entertaining room. A rock deck off the back. 7 blocks to the gearhart shops. Beds were good. Kitchen was well stocked and the place was nice and clean. We look forward to booking again.
OLIVIA B. Jul 2018
Wonderful decor, very spacious, nice quiet neighborhood. Lots of towels provided. Great walking in the area. It was hard to leave!
Amy M. Jul 2018
A few things we didn’t like about this property.
No beach towels? For real? We traveled on a plane, then 2 hours driving, and are supposed to bring beach towels with us? Ridiculous for a beach town.
Kind of grimy. Could use some updating, especially the scratchy linens and sheets.

The main problem is there was a single set of guest keys. There are 3 or 4 doors. Each door has a DIFFERENT KEY. So not necessary. ALSO, you need a key to get OUT of the house?! This is such a fire hazard. And when my kids and husband walked to get a coffee down the way, I was LOCKED INSIDE. I couldn’t meet them, or get out if there was a FIRE. Huge liability for Vacasa and property owners. Also completely unnecessary! Besides there being two Large living rooms and only one bathroom, it was fine. The AC was pretty annoying and kept turning itself off, and the first night, we barely slept due to the stuffy air and it was just too hot. We rigged a fan in the window the next evening though and made it work, but meh. Just ok.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest appears to have been underwhelmed in their experience with us. We are unsure of which doors the guests were trying to use, but the keys are for use with the guest entry door which does not require a key to exit. All bedrooms have approved emergency egress windows in case of fire. As with most homes on the coast, there is no air conditioning, although the fan in the furnace can be run to circulate air. We have added beach towels. We do wish this guest had called us for assistance with these things during their stay, and we hope to have another chance to impress.
Victoria H. Jun 2018
We were looking at the last minute for a place in Gearhart that we could take our dog. The cottage was cute from the outside and very clean inside. Could use a little bit of decor update and some wine glasses but very comfortable for a week of clamming, golf and relaxing at the beach.
Kristopher H. Jun 2018
We stayed Father's Day Weekend and had a very relaxing stay. Upon arrival it was very clean and well stocked with all the things we needed to have a great grilling session. It's located a few blocks from the beach and just across the fairway from McMinnamins Sand Trap which serves amazing Vanilla Bean French Toast (yummy). The little store just down the street also has a butcher block with meats and other deli items which saved us a trip into town when we ended up having added friends and needed more steaks.
Super quiet neighborhood too!
Gabriel C. Jun 2018
Cozy feel with comfortable beds.
AGNES K. May 2018
I loved the ambiance of this place that felt just like grandma's home. The simple comforts of many couches to lounge on, clean décor of the bathroom, the large kitchen for family meals. It all made us have a great time.
Victoria P. Feb 2018
Wonderful place to stay in Gearhart. Close to beach and bakery. Walk to beach.
Michelle V. Nov 2017
My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway with our two spoiled dogs. The location is great, quiet neighbors, close beach access and very close to restaurants. We would definitely recommend this place for another couple or small family with one-two children. Just be aware that there is only one bathroom!
Anne R. Jul 2017
We loved our stay here. Very welcoming home - our kids loved all the kid toys and our daughter was so excited to sleep in the toddler bed. Our one year old navigated all the little steps just fine. Only wish it wasn't such a hike to the beach, since you have to walk around golf course. Gearhart was a wonderful place to stay though - neighborhood was very quiet and a short walk to the restaurants.
Grace S. Apr 2017
This had two areas to gather and have family/friends chat. Everything worked well. The one bathroom was clean and presented no problems even with considerable use by a number of guests. Everything worked that we tried/used, which has not always been our experience with rental homes.

We had a great time and were happy with the house and the location. A bit hard to get to the beach if you're walking..there's a golf course between the house and the beach. If you drive, it's no issue. It's close to the central area of Gearhart and very quiet.
Justin S. Jan 2017
Great little cottage for two couples or two small families. The 2 separate living rooms make it easy to spread out and get some space. Be careful of the multiple levels and step-ups/downs as they could be dangerous for older folks.
Larry G. Oct 2016
Everything about this place was cheap, dirty, old. One TV in entire house and it did not have access unless you had a Roku account. I've never paid so much and not had access to a TV. That should be a basic. Steps all throughout home. Bad layout. Different locks and keys to each entry. Dirty, stained towels. Cooking pans old and food stuck. Cheap uncomfortable furniture. I have never complained about a rental nor written a review. I am going out f my way now to tell about this disaster and the poor service of Vacasa. Yelp is next.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see that this guest did not better enjoy their rental. Netflix is provided for guest use, and the furniture is older but in good shape.
Shannon G. Sep 2016
Loved our stay here! The house was immaculate, the beds very comfortable, and we had everything we needed for our stay. Lovely location on a very quiet street, not too far fm the beach. We were 4 adults and 2 small children and would definitely stay here again!
Janet K. Sep 2016
We were there for my son's wedding and had an issue with the tub/shower backing up and finally plugging up. It only has one bathroom and we could not take showers. Called Vacassa several times and finally got in touch with an agent. They got in touch with the property manager who could not fix the problem and said this property has many issues. He indicated he would try to get a plumber out but couldn't promise. After talking with Vacassa several more times, they finally got a plumber to come out at 6:30PM to fix the problem. Whew, wondered if the six adults we had in the house would get showers for the wedding. Also, the house has many different levels in it. Two step here to go into one room and steps to get into the bathroom from bedroom. We really had to watch where we stepped. My husband fell one time and others caught themselves from falling as well. Would not rent this property again.
Manager response:
We apologize that the resolution for the clogged drain took some time; we do appreciate this guest's patience in the matter - especially with such a big event taking place. We did refund these guests for the inconvenience.
Syd J. Aug 2016
We had a good experience
Regina W. Aug 2016
My family of 10 had a wonderful experience at this property. Within walking distance to city center and beach. Good family memories!
Lisa G. Jul 2016
Traveled with another family. Great home. Plenty of space for everyone. Only wish there was a second bathroom, but we managed just fine. Beds were comfortable and house felt very clean and homey. Would highly recommend.
Leanne G. Jul 2016
While the location is great and the cottage is cute and has lots of room, the Roku box does not work and the furnishings are run down and well used. The little trundle bed in one of the downstairs bedrooms was great for our 3 year old granddaughter.
Manager response:
The Property Manager will ensure the advertised entertainment devices are in good working order. Thank you!
Sally M. May 2016
As i said in the title, this house is not what i would call 'Elder Friendly' at all. The main floor steps up or down 3 different levels, some half steps, multiple half steps, full steps, etc. I have no walking or vision impairments and tripped several times. my kids fell a lot. of course they are fine, it's a little trip, but still pretty annoying to me to have to think about it. Very confusing layout of the home as well. Furniture and decor was lacking taste and quality. Most windows had no screens, including upstairs which meant it was so hot up there cause i have little kids and couldn't open the windows - important to note too that the windows upstairs we very low to the floor, so even my 2 year old could have walked right up and fallen out. Not a fully stocked kitchen by any means. The pots and pans were all old and most of them the food stuck to. Couldn't even find pepper. Also very dark in the kitchen, couldn't see very well to cook at all. Just an odd house. Could be so cute with some well thought out planning and a little bit of care.
Manager response:
We apologize for any disappointments and inconveniences experienced during this reservation. The kitchen, living room, bathroom, and a bedroom are all on the main level and only three steps up from the front sidewalk, so we do consider this home elderly accessible. The Property Manager is inspecting all kitchenware and will be cleaning and replacing as necessary. We hope this guest enjoyed being just steps from the beach!
Sandra K. Mar 2016
Very roomy home and walking distance to the beach and bakery Very close drive to Sesside. Located in the beautiful community of Gearhart. I slept with my window open and loved going to sleep with the sound of the ocean waves. I think they are getting mixed up with other rentals. Plenty of room in this house to have company and to entertain It felt very homey
Scott B. Jan 2016
This house has two very comfortable, separate living spaces and dining areas: great for a group that wants to travel together but not feel 'on top' of one another. The layout is a little odd but more so charming. The beds were very comfortable and the house was dead silent at night; very peaceful. The only downside to this place was the single bathroom. Gearhart is a very quaint little area with good access to the north coast. We've stayed at a number of places on the coast through VRBO over the past few years and this may have been the best value we've ever had. We'll definitely consider returning to the Seventh Street Cottage again.
Jennifer T. Nov 2015
This house was perfect for 2 families. We enjoyed not having to get into our car and simply walked to the beach, to McMenamins Sand Pit Inn for dinner, and the bakery for lunch. The house is very spacious and quiet with 2 living rooms, 2 dining rooms, and 4 bedrooms in various parts of the house. This allowed the kids to have a play area to their own and the grown-ups to stay up late with out waking the little ones. We will definitely stay here again!
Sara M. Sep 2015
My family loved this property. The beach was about a 7 minute walk through the neighborhood and it was a really nice one- gorgeous view, pretty dunes, etc. We liked the location of the cottage- very close to Seaside (5 to 7 min driving) and grocery store, tourist attractions, restaurants, etc.

The outside of the cottage is really well taken care of. It has a large, unfenced yard and the neighborhood was quiet. I felt safe letting my older children outside unattended. The inside was wonderful- four good sized bedrooms with tasteful decor, comfortable mattresses and nice linens. The kitchen was well equipped and there are two rooms to gather in- a large family room with TV in back and a front room with chairs and a couch. Great if big kids want to watch a movie and adults want to play a game. There are also two places to eat (kitchen and in the front room). Nice washer and dryer, well stocked kitchen. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a stay in Gearhart.
Leah T. Aug 2015
This is such a great house. It is really big and very comfortable. It is on a dead end street so our kids could ride their bikes and scooters. It is also a quick drive to the beach and you can drive your car on the beach, which was nice. The only downside was the 1 bathroom. For 2 families, this was a pain. That is the only reason we might not stay there again. We all thought it was our best beach trip so far (this was our 6th), except for the bathroom. The kids requested this house for next year. And we were surprised by the Netflix and wifi that is available. Great place! Great neighborhood!
Cindy S. Jul 2015
The 7th St. Cottage was a perfect place to be with friends, have time to sit and talk, and most of all, rest. The area is quiet. The neighborhood tucked away. Yet you can get to the beach, the golf courses, the town easily. We are already planning our next year reunion and hoping to make it even longer this time.
Cody A. Jul 2015
We had alot of fun at the home. Great location to beach and downtown Gearheart. The kids had a blast at the 4th of July parade. The only thing that would have been nice would bea place to dine outside on the patio and also a bbq to use. Overall a good experience.
Marsha H. Jun 2015
It was an unexpected trip and the house was perfect. The rooms are big and nicely decorated, two congregating places places worked well with little ones, and we loved the quiet beach town and the driving on the beach was a treat too. House was clean, eclectic and comfortable. One bathroom worked out fine...are are all just spoiled at home. We will go back.
Harvey P. Jun 2015
We enjoyed our stay. A person needs to be careful of the step-downs from room to room and the stairs going up are narrow and steep. The cottage is easy to find and in a very quiet family neighborhood. Gearhart is a very small, pleasant beach town.
Caleb B. May 2015
The big pro is the gearhart itself. You are about a 5 minute drive from downtown seaside (and safeway) and 20 from cannon beach, so you can get to those places without dealing with the crowds or parking. You are about a 1/2 mile walk to the beach (go down 3rd street), so it is a bit of a walk and you won't be hearing the ocean from the property. If you are ok with that its a nice big house. A bit eclectic but good for our purposes. Be aware of the single bathroom. I would recommend the house overall.
Kerry D. Nov 2014
Even though we had some issues with our experience via Vacasa - in the end Vacasa made the effort to provide compensation for the problems we encountered and I have to give them credit for their efforts. The 7th Street house is very nice and is a good value for the amount of space and location. It has it's downfalls ( 1 bathroom and no access to tv broadcasting) but as long as you know that going in its a great house and wonderful accommodations. The bathroom deficiencies is what it is - however the owners if this property need to step up and purchase basic cable service so that guests can watch news - sports - or whatever.
Clifford L. Aug 2014
The house was exactly as described and clean. I will definitely rent through vacasa again.
Cynthia O. Jul 2014
The house is very comfortable. The only drawback is the single bathroom, but we managed it OK. We had a delightful barbecue in the back yard patio. The grill is gas, not charcoal as stated in the amenities for this house.
Kathryn H. May 2014
Even with one bathroom our full house managed fine because the bathroom is quite large. The beds were very comfortable with nice linens. Well stocked kitchen. It was nice to have both a living room and a family room. We enjoyed our stay in Gearhart for a family reunion.
Laura W. Apr 2014
Originally, we had booked a house in Cannon Beach (our favorite place!) and paid, confirmed the reservation with one person at Vacasa and in an email. Then we got another email that said we could NOT stay there. I called and was told that I should not have been able to rent/confirm because there is a city rule that says you can only rent a house there for two weeks out of the month and someone else had already been there. I was very upset and asked Vacasa to find another place, which they did. When we arrived at the new place, it was not open (I had given them the wrong dates- not their fault). Everything was very booked b/c it was Spring Break. I mentioned seeing this house and they graciously agreed to work out the payments so that we had a place to stay rather than having to drive home and miss our vacation. We were not able to stay in this house as long as we had planned due to other renters coming in for the weekend, which was sad, but we would probably not have chosen this house and found that it was exactly what we needed and better suited us. It had toys, a child's bed, dishes made for children, etc. for my 18 mo. old granddaughter that I am sure the other rental places would not have had. We loved the feel of the house (like staying with Grandma/Grandpa at their place and very comfortable/ homey!) Though we didn't miss it much, cable tv would be a plus. Thank you for working with us to make this a memorable vacation!
Manager response:
We want to thank you for this great review of your experience with Vacasa. We apologize about the initial error about the rental restrictions in this area. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct the issue with you. At Vacasa we strive to go out of our way to accommodate our guests when issues arise. It's great to know that in the end we were able to find a home for you to stay in during the busy spring break season. We're so pleased that you ended up in a home that you ended up loving.