Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Gearhart Listing #3006

The Clay Miller House - Gearhart, OR

63 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
622 E Street, Gearhart, OR 97138

Stunning ocean townhome w/ large yard, easy beach access- dog-friendly!

This picturesque and dog-friendly Gearhart vacation rental is ready for up to six guests. Enjoy the wonders of nature all around from the custom back porch before an afternoon of playing on the beach nearby.

Nestled among the beauties of the Oregon Coast, you'll find a quiet family or friend getaway spot here, while still being just one mile from the beach and a short walk from Neacoxie Creek. Walk down Cottage Avenue to the grocery store for fresh meal ingredients, or grab some delicious pastries at Pacific Way Bakery Cafe.

After swooning over the gorgeous wood floors and unfinished wood walls and ceilings, you'll feel right at home among the comfortable furnishings here. You can cozy up by the fireplace with loved ones on a rainy day, or host a BBQ in the vast backyard with a gas grill, which includes a fire pit and endless green grass to run and play on.

Two wicker sofas and two chairs surround the stunning brick fireplace and coffee table. This will easily be the hot spot in the house, as it's great for games, late nights spent chatting, and movie nights on the flatscreen TV. Cable and a DVD player are included, and you can even stream your Netflix account on the Smart TV.

The crisp white dining room table sits beneath an elegant chandelier and has space for six guests - the perfect place for family meals, crafts, and board games.

As a chef's dream, the kitchen comes equipped with everything you'll need to whip up amazing meals for the entire group. Along with the in-wall oven and microwave, there's a refrigerator, electric stove top, dishwasher, coffeemaker, blender, and toaster. Four stools sit around the wood topped island, which is also a great place to set food for buffet style meals.

Just off the kitchen is a laundry room with a washer and dryer to keep each guest clean no matter how extensive your stay. A spacious bathroom with a tub/shower combination is accented by adorable blue whale tiles.

Two bedrooms are housed on the main floor. One has a comfortable queen-size bed, and the other has two sets of twin bunk beds, ideal for young guests to enjoy a cousin or friend vacation "sleepover".

A stunning master suite makes up the second floor of the incredible beach house. A king-size bed will surely please the couple who stays here. Grab a good book and sit on the oversize bench seat near large windows to have a quiet afternoon relaxing. Take advantage of rare sunshine by sitting on the private balcony before taking a long shower in the attached bathroom.

Provided WiFi and the fact that you can bring along one dog will likely make you extend your trip in this impressive home. Please keep in mind that if you do bring a dog, there is an associated fee.

Walk to the public tennis and basketball courts, play a round of golf at the nearby club, or take a stroll on the Ridgepath trail. Seaside is two miles away and offers walks down the Promenade, numerous boutiques to browse, and fun for all ages at the Seaside Aquarium. Hike through Ecola State Park in Cannon Beach, just 15 miles away. Cannon Beach also offers art galleries to explore, eateries, and shopping. And If you're looking for a nice night out, head to McMenamins outpost for beer, cocktails, and pub food.

From snuggling up with a good book to heading out for a fun-filled day on the beach, everyone will find this Northern Oregon Coast vacation rental to be an absolute favorite.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable : Charter

Stereo

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Firepit

63 reviews

Ewerton S. Aug 2019
Awesome location, quiet but close to all destinations around. Clean. Functional. Complete.
Kayla S. Jul 2019
My husband and I stayed here with our wedding party for the weekend and it was absolutely perfect. The interior of the house was stunning and spacious; there was plenty of room for everyone and all of our wedding supplies. The landscape outside was gorgeous as well. I was very happy with this house.
Patti G. Jun 2019
Nice yard with a fire pit. Good location. Well stocked kitchen and the beds were really good. Great house for our family.
Marlene J. May 2019
House is very clean and well stocked. We had a wonder time .
Jonathon B. Mar 2019
Nice house, in a nice neighborhood. Loved the deck, yard, and bbq. Beds were comfortable and house was perfect for our vacation.
Jamie H. Mar 2019
Nice, cozy home with great yard and rooms.
Anita D. Oct 2018
Beautiful beach house in a small and friendly beach town. Walking distance to the beach. Fabulous find.
Catherine C. Oct 2018
Great getaway home. Clean and tidy. Comfortable beds. Plenty of room to stretch out. Close vicinity to the dunes. Lovely wrap around porch and deck.
Katie L. Sep 2018
Loved the yard and fire pit! Very clean.
Kate H. Sep 2018
Our family had a wonderful long weekend staying in this home. Close to town and the beach. Cozy beds. All the amenities you need.
Edward A. Sep 2018
Nice home and very convenient walking distance to the local cafe, tavern, and beach. If there hadn’t been a burn ban, the fire pit would’ve been amazing!
Robert V. Aug 2018
Loved the house and it's proximity to the ocean. The house was reasonably stocked and clean when we got there. I have but one complaint...the master bed is terribly uncomfortable, if not bowed a bit in the center. The mattresses in the other bedrooms were a bit uncomfortable as well, but the master bedroom mattress is in need of replacement. In the past we have always had stellar accomodations with VACASA rentals, and thought you should know that this doesn't meet the standard you have set in the past. Thanks, Robert Vickers
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback and have brought it to the attention of the owners. Thanks!
Brenda H. Aug 2018
Our family of seven recently spent several days enjoying Gearhart. The Clay Miller House was the perfect landing spot for us. It's on a secluded corner lot which we loved and only a short walk to the beach. We hit the beach a lot during our stay but enjoyed our time in the house too. The side deck with the table for six was perfect for meals outside and I loved the double doors leading out from the house. It's also only a few blocks from a quaint ice cream parlor and the bakery/café in Gearhart. We felt right at home in the house.
Hillary S. Jul 2018
This was a very nice home. Very surprised on the quality cookware, my sister wanted it for her home!! Not a lot of utensils, but we made do. Just wish had a second bath downstairs, very hard for my older dad to use the tub shower and he was not able to climb the stairs to use the shower stall upstairs. Loved the grass yard and with all the trees around, was very private.
Omid N. Jul 2018
Cozy, felt just like home.
Scott S. Jul 2018
Comfortable house and we love that we could bring our dog. Will definitely keep this on our list of rentals that we would visit again.
Danielle S. Mar 2018
Na
Ariana S. Jan 2018
Spacious House took a while to warm up. Lovely wood paneling and high ceilings. Some Kitchen basics need replacing like rusty sheet pans. The main living areas do not have curtains. Elk walked thru the backyard one morning. Short walk to new pub/deli ‘gearhart crossing’ and other cafes.
Manager response:
The owner will be updating the kitchen utensils and cookware. Thank you!
Mary D. Oct 2017
I would not stay here again until the owner updates the furniture and the queen bed. The TV also needs to be replaced with a bigger one and hung over the fireplace. Both bathrooms need to be updated. Overall it is not a bad place to stay.
Manager response:
We have brought these items to the attention of the owner so they can determine what they would like to do. Thank you!
Christy W. Aug 2017
but very little bedroom space.
Melissa C. Jul 2017
The pictures show a lot of yard when there is really very little. Barely room to park 2 cars. Couches are dirty and extremely uncomfortable. Very small TV in large living room. No window coverings on any windows except bedrooms. Most blinds in master bedroom broken. Most disappointing is the kitchen! Very sparse basics - 3 terrible old pans, no measuring cups, very few serving bowls. No cupboard or pantry to put food. This is not enough for a home that accommodates 8 people. No broom. Small refrigerator. The size of the home is good but for the amount of money they charge, they need to do some serious updating! I would not stay here again.
Jennifer C. Jul 2017
This home is very beautiful and a wonderful location to stay on the Oregon coast. We had a great time exploring the area including Seaside, Astoria, and various Lewis and Clark sites. The home is light and open and decorated beautifully. The beds are all very comfortable for a good night's sleep. The kitchen has a wide variety of dishes however, the cookware is sparse and not in good shape. Also, the wicker sofas in the living room are extremely uncomfortable for spending any amount of time on. Overall this home is worth a stay & I would stay again but a few changes would make it exceptional.
Jacqueline H. May 2017
The location was great, close to seaside cannon Beach and shops/restaurants. If you want surprise company at your vacation spot then rent this home!
Manager response:
The landscaper was at the home during this visit. We apologize if his presence was a bother; unfortunately, we cannot control his schedule.
Claudia C. Mar 2017
The house is very clean and furniture and kitchen are well maintained. Looks like recently renovated. We don't like the fact that the furnace is on second floor and makes lots of noises. There are no drapes or blinds even in the bathrooms.
Katelyn P. Mar 2017
Beautiful home in a great, quiet neighborhood.
Christopher R. Feb 2017
The Clay Miller House was quite beautiful and we enjoyed our 3-night stay there. Gearhart is a nice sleep town with other beautiful homes... it is also close to Astoria and Seaside, as well as the beach. Overall, the only complaint we have is the wicker furniture in the living room. It was hard to find a comfortable position after a day on the beach. But! That is a small complaint, right? We would definitely recommend the Clay Miller House!
Perry M. Feb 2017
We loved the beams and wood, it helped to make this home cozy and charming. It needed better lighting, every thing was dark and shadowy. There was plenty of linens and blankets. We wished the kitchen had more regular glasses and plates, it also lacked sufficient pots and pans for a family eating at home. It was very comfortable and we only wished the weather was better so that we could have enjoyed the area more.
Shannon B. Sep 2016
This is home was nicely located and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was modestly stocked with cooking equipment.
Vivian T. Aug 2016
Great location and clean. Beautiful home.
Would appreciate more privacy as I guess you can expect people to show up and water the garden without notice. Bring your own firewood.
Sandy G. Jul 2016
If the owner were to fix the items mentioned above, I would give this house five stars. It's light (except the entry—chandelier is currently missing), open, and well equipped. Gerhart is a fun vacation spot.
Pamela S. Jul 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at 622 E Street. The house is really beautiful with plenty of space and lovely furnishings. It was on a very quiet street just a short walk to the beach. We hope to stay here again soon!
Nancy F. Jul 2016
The Clay Miller house is a beautiful, clean and a perfect spot to stay. We loved our time. Thx
Julie P. Jul 2016
We only spent 2 nights at the Clay Miller House and didn't have the best weather but we made the most of our time and managed to have a campfire one night. The beach - which is right at the end of the street - is GORGEOUS and practically deserted. Gearhart is a beautiful little town (reminded us of Martha's Vineyard) and it is conveniently located close to the Seaside amenities without the tourist-y flavor. There is a post office and a few little shops within walking distance. The Pacific Way Bakery is a must, their baked goodies are delectable - we didn't try the adjoining cafe but if their food is anything like their baked goods, we missed out! The house is pet friendly - which is great - but we did wish the property was fenced so the dog could roam the yard without having to be leashed (he's on vacation too). We also wished there were screens on at least a few of the windows. We also wished we had a few more days to spend there!
Brock S. Jul 2016
great location in gearhart and the house was perfect for two families with children. the kids enjoyed the yard with sandy areas and also the deck and quiet street for riding their bikes. Adults enjoyed the sitting area on deck and kitchen was conducive to socializing while cooking. overall a great time and house.
Mark W. Jun 2016
The Clay Miller House is larger than the photos seemed. There was plenty of room for 7 of us without feeling crowded at all. Our extended family from age 8-60something, including 2 teens, thoroughly enjoyed the home, fire pit, quiet setting, easy walk to the ocean beach, comfy beds and good pillows. Seaside, Oregon is just down the road, a very quick drive. Cannon Beach is only 10 miles from the great Clay Miller House.
Steve H. Jun 2016
This is our second time staying at the Clay Miller house, we love the open floor plan, their is plenty of space,great big yard for our dog.We had bbq one night, steak,salmon,and shrimp, great night. There were deer walking thru the yard ever day, and on the way to the beach we saw a large herd of elk in the beach grass. We had my relatives from Kentucky they loved the house and Gearheart and Cannon Beach
Everybody played tennis and rode bikes.A couple of us even went bodysurfing.We took advantage of late checkout, it was over 70 that day, it was hard to leave.
The Clay Miller House is great,can't wait to stay there again
Steve
Mica L. Jun 2016
This house is in a great location for playing on the beach (slight hike) or driving to town to get access to driving onto the beach. It is quiet, clean, great firepit, had everything we needed (we did have to buy a can opener, but left it there so now there is one) The only complaint we had was with the unusual hot weather we had, the house windows didn't have screens and we could only get one of them open (kitchen sink window) to get any circulation. The furnace fan helped so it wasn't too bad. There are giant mosquitoes, so bring repellent! We would definitely come back!!!!
Kaitlyn S. May 2016
Had fun, the house is cute and homey!
Jessica P. May 2016
The Clay Miller House is impressive with its interesting finishes, large windows, clean lines, and open concept. The location and adjacent outdoor space were an added bonus. We'll certainly be back again. Thanks!
Kevynne L. May 2016
We were four adult women looking for a quiet get away for a few days to relax, do yoga and some crafts. The house was amazingly comfortable and grand in scale. We loved the wrap around deck and comfy deck chairs as well as how quiet and serene Gearhart is. Dead silent at night. We will definitely be back time and again, if allowed.
Laura M. Apr 2016
We had a great stay, as a family of five, for two nights. The property is in a fantastic location in Gearhart, a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of Seaside/Cannon Beach, but still within reach. The home was very quiet and had a nice layout. We enjoyed the artwork and rustic feeling of the home. Loved the upstairs master suite! It's a quick walk to the beach, as well as to the local bakery (be sure to get there at opening!). Kitchen was well appointed, including plenty of coffee filters for this caffeine-loving family. We hope to stay again!
Jason L. Apr 2016
We took the family here during spring break and had a blast. Usually we stay in Gearheart because it's proximity to Seaside and it is a quieter vibe. This was the best home we've rented yet. It's a little bit of a ways from the beach, but it's quiet and roomy. Will stay again.
Susan K. Apr 2016
We had a great time.
Steve H. Mar 2016
The house was great. The house was clean and very well maintained. We had a lot of fun, the property was big,nice fire pit,and the yard gave a sense of privacy.My family and dog love house , Gearheart, and the beach.
We also got some some which was needed after the long winter
Linda O. Feb 2016
Stayed the weekend with four adults and one young child. Home is large and very nicely furnished. Short drive to beach access.
David P. Feb 2016
Up from Texas. Stayed here for 4 days in mid-February for an event in Astoria. Home was in an excellent location and clean. Surrounding areas are charming and friendly. Would definitely consider staying here again if I was in the area.
Peter P. Jan 2016
Great house, great town. The only drawback - the forced air heating system is extremely loud upstairs in the master bed room. Think about ear plugs.
Debbie K. Jan 2016
The Clay Miller home was the perfect place for my family to have an early Christmas gathering! It is a great home for a family vacation year round. The open great room allowed us to keep an eye on the children as they watched TV or played in the large sitting area. The upstairs master suite was the perfect getaway for this Grandmother when the parents and children wanted to stay up late! We had rain the whole week so we did not have the opportunity to utilize the great yard and fire pit. I can see that in the summer especially this home would be great for the children to play outside. The walk to the beach is beautiful and a good hike for older children to burn off some energy. The walk to the little Gearhart Grocery/Deli is perfect! The people were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return with my family!
Gerard L. Nov 2015
This place looked and felt even better than it appeared in the pictures. My family was a little concerned that the house wasn't close enough to the beach, but it was only about a five minute walk away through the beautiful neighborhood of beach homes that were so cute and beachy that I started to think about buying a house of my own. We had two families with some small kids, so the house was a perfect launch point for daily adventures . When we needed a break, the house was warm and spacious. The fire pit in the garden was tempting, but it was cold enough to choose the fireplace inside to roast marsh mallows after a big family meal. If you are sharing the house with another family, make sure you get there first and grab the upstairs bedroom--it's the best!
Kate J. Nov 2015
We had a great stay at the Clay Miller House. Great location with the beach just a quick walk down the street and the downtown square just down the road in the other direction. House had a nice layout and it was really nice being able to light a fire at night. One small suggestion would be to add another lamp to the upstairs bedroom. There are no overhead lights and the one bedside lamp wasn't enough.
Wendy M. Oct 2015
The Clay Miller House was perfect! We especially enjoyed the yard and the firepit. The home was spacious and well kept. It was clean and inviting. The town of Gearhart was especially charming. We'd love to stay here again!
Nicholas W. Sep 2015
Highly recommend this home for its flexible and open layout, plenty of beds (comfy beds, too!) and nice backyard. A great place for families to relax!
Jennifer S. Aug 2015
The house was serenely peaceful. It's a restful place to stay.
Jean S. Jul 2015
A family of four stayed in this home. It was larger than we would need but being that one child is an infant, we chose to do this to space out the cries that ensue at night. I (mom) stayed upstairs in the main bedroom with the baby. I took a pack and play and chose to set it up in the large bathroom. Sounds strange, but it was spacious enough and seemed less stimulating that the open room and it was much darker. Plus, there's a fan for white noise. I didn't want to wake the baby coming in and out of the room so this worked out great. My son, just turned 3, and stayed in the bunk room with my husband. That was enough separation to drown out baby cries in the wee hours. The kitchen is well appointed, house was exceptionally clean and a close walk to the beach, about 10 minutes. The grill looked brand new and there was a nice area for a fire out back. The neighborhood was quiet and we enjoyed our time there.