Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Pacific City Listing #4874

The Whalen House - Pacific City, OR

51 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 3 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max 
25990 Sandlake Rd, Pacific City, OR 97135

Enjoy serenity from this bayfront, dog-friendly home w/ private hot tub

Escape the everyday stresses of life and enjoy a quiet family or friend getaway at this dog-friendly Tierra Del Mar vacation rental, which has room for 10. Wake up to incredible ocean views from this bayfront home and soak in the steaming hot tub before climbing into a comfortable bed each night.

If you're looking for seclusion to spend some quality time with loved ones while enjoying the great outdoors, this is the place for you! Set in between Tierra Del Mar and Cloverdale, a drive into town for a few essentials is a breeze, but there's no need to go anywhere when you have all the comforts of home inside and the shores of Sand Lake just out your back door.

This fun and funky home will bring back childhood memories of spending time in Grandpa's cabin. Tall ceilings, ample windows, and bright walls and furnishings are sure to make you feel right at home.

After a day of hiking along the coast, sink into the sofas in the spacious living room. Gaze out the windows at the bay while warming yourself in front of the wood-burning stove, or head into the family room to watch a movie on the cable TV (DVD player attached). A desk is located in the family room, where you can use the in-home WiFi to post pictures and look up directions to tonight's eatery of choice.

Although going out to eat is always fun, you can save time and money by cooking up your own delicious meals at home! The kitchen comes equipped with major appliances like a fridge and oven/stove top, as well as a microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, coffee grinder, blender, toaster, and so much more. Toss some ingredients into the slow cooker in the morning and let them cook away without effort while you head out for a day of hiking - you'll come home to a hot meal all ready to fill empty bellies.

Two dining tables, including one off of the kitchen that is warmed by a gas fireplace, offer space for everyone to eat, and after cleanup is through, bring out the board games and wine! The hot tub on the deck is a great place to relax after a meal as well. And on warmer days, eat picnic-style in the grassy backyard.

The first floor offers one bathroom with a stand-alone shower attached to the master bedroom. A king-size bed occupies this welcoming room, which also has a comfortable rocking chair facing lovely water views, ideal for cozying up with a good book. A washer and dryer are set on the main level and make packing light a reality.

Three more bedrooms, each with a comfortable queen-size bed, a cozy nook with a twin-size bed and small TV, and one and a half bathrooms complete the upstairs. With five total beds plus a futon and sofabed, there's space for all 10 travelers to rest well.

Please note that up to two dogs are allowed to come along on the trip for a small nightly fee, but there is a nightly fee, and the dogs must stay downstairs.

Relish in the small-town feeling of Tierra Del Mar. Walk down the stretch of sandy beach nearby to start off your morning right, then bring the kayaks out to explore the city by water. Pacific City is a short five-mile drove south and offers delicious eateries, shopping, and horseback ride tours. Cape Kiwanda is a fantastic place to hike, snap breathtaking photos, and take time for a picnic.

No need to travel far, though. Bring or rent ATVs and take in Sand Lake to its fullest! Ride over dunes and past crashing waves.

Make and renew memories with loved ones at this Northern Oregon Coast vacation rental.

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Features

Gas fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Propane/gas home : Propane

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable : Charter

DVD player

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Firepit

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

51 reviews

Robert C. Jul 2019
big house
Jacklin b. Jun 2019
Plenty of room. Lots of beautiful flowers. 🦅
Denise E. May 2019
The house was perfect! just as described. Location has a beautiful view of some water with lots of trees around the home. Rooms were bigger than expected, beds were super comfy. My family and I truly enjoyed it, and if we ever get back to Oregon, would probably rent it again. The parking says fits 4 cars, but its more like 3 mid to full size (comfortably) or 4 tiny compacts. The only drawback was, there is no cell service around that area, until you get to the house which has WIFI... made it a little hard to get ahold of people, but we just used messenger through facebook which seemed to work just fine. Other than that, we used the hot tub which was extremely nice, and lounged in the huge living area with the perfect view.
john M. Apr 2019
Lots of privacy, and a great place for the kids to run around.
Megan W. Jan 2019
We loved the views. The location was great for our needs - we walked to the beach one day and around Whalen island the other. Both were quiet and beautiful and just 15 min walk away (in each direction). Pacific City was less than 10 min drive away. The WiFi was strong and we enjoyed the hot tub everyday.
However, the house has real deferred maintenance issues. There are mice in the kitchen, in addition to the ants others have mentioned. There are stains on the pillows and mattresses and quite a number of water stains on the ceilings upstairs. There are random holes in walls and doors. The upstairs bathroom stopped working midway through the trip. The downstairs mattresses sink in the middle and the upstairs mattresses seem to be no more than camping mats! There was mold/junk along the base boards of the downstairs bathroom.
We had a good time and the place could be amazing if it fits your needs - it’s an odd layout but does provide privacy if you have multiple couples/groups - but truly needs some real investment before I’d even consider staying again.
Manager response:
Hi, We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay. The homeowner is aware of these issues and has a scheduled hold on the home so that they may all be resolved for guest comfort and satisfaction.
Sara K. Jan 2019
Our multi-generational family, including two low-key canines, enjoyed our annual vacation at the Whalen House. We went crabbing and hiking at Sand Lake, saw some extraordinary sunsets, relaxed in the hot tub and enjoyed gourmet home-made meals made in the large, well-stocked kitchen. We spent the evenings playing games at the kitchen table and intermittently spent time puzzling at the living room table. We were able to spread out and sleep in different areas, which allowed everyone space to enjoy their own vacation sleeping schedules. Thank you!!
Mercedes K. Nov 2018
I loved the view and the layout of the house. It has everything you need to stay for any amount of time! However this house is not fit to be rented. There is black mold in every bathroom deep in the walls and at the top of the stairs. There were ants all over the kitchen. And to top it off there is no service and the wifi doesn’t work nor did the hottub. There is no beach access its on a bay/lake area. Disappointing.
Manager response:
We appreciate our guest sharing their concerns with us. The owner is taking care of the mold, the ant traps have been removed, and the WiFi and hot tub are working at this time. Thank you!
Grant S. Oct 2018
A group of 10 of us just spent a weekend at the Whalen House. The living room was great for group activities and the kitchen was large and well stocked. The home layout is a bit unique, but there's a lot of space.
Inessa S. Sep 2018
Good place , would come back and stay again ! Liked that it was pet friendly and lots of space !
Jeffrey D. Jul 2018
I’ve stayed at The Whalen House twice in the last 1.5 years and have enjoyed it tremendously. It is well kept, a great location, and it has a uniqueness to it. One thing to note, there is not cell service in the immediate area around the home.
Bess M. May 2018
The house is very comfortable and the kitchen is great for cooking for a group. The views from the living room and deck of the wetlands and many birds are wonderful. The beds are comfortable and the blooming rhododendrons and other flowers are beautiful in the springtime. We really enjoyed our stay.
sarah m. May 2018
This house was perfect for our trip. Ourdog loved running around in the backyard and it was the perfect setting for a bbq weekend get together. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we could need and it was very spacious.
Rachel R. Apr 2018
We had a great time staying at the Whalen House. We were traveling with young kids and so we appreciated the space, the games, and the ability to separate families into different sleep areas.
Stacie H. Mar 2018
Our group had a great time at the Whalen house. It fit everyone in our group and was comfy! The kids loved the loft area above the living room, the game selection and the backyard especially the creek.
Super cute house and very nicely put together! 💓
Colin B. Mar 2018
This house was fantastic! Plenty of room for all of us and our two pooches! Short walk to the beach, huge, clean hot tub, and a massive kitchen to feed all hungry beach explorers!
Sena W. Feb 2018
This is a great house for big groups, as there are plenty of rooms and beds, and it is relatively secluded. The view outside is breathtaking, as the house is in a little nook of the ocean. There are lots of ocean birds to see and it felt good to sit in the hot tub, watch the view, and listen to the creek that runs through the property. We played lots of board games and drove to the beaches during the day.

This house is not the newest, but everything was decently clean and we all felt very comfortable there immediately. My only complaint was a piece of scrap metal that someone left on the porch and got lodged into my foot.

Overall we loved our stay at the Whalen House and would definitely visit again! Thanks for the awesome time!
Sara K. Jan 2018
Our family enjoyed spending our New Year's weekend at the Whalen House. We were able to spread out throughout the spacious house to relax on our own and also come together for dinners, conversation and games. We love Sand Lake and had a great time walking at Whalen Island and canoeing on Sand Lake. We will MOST DEFINITELY return to this vacation house. Thank you!
Melody A. Dec 2017
This is a quirky house but turned out to be perfect for our family vacation over Christmas. Kitchen is very well equipped and we enjoyed the tools, pots and pans! We even used the Nutri bullet for smoothies.
Elizabeth D. Nov 2017
The Whalen house is ideal for a large group -- friends & family. Though close to the road, the house was very quiet, and the large yard made it feel so secluded and private. We spent most of our time in the big room, loving the view, birdwatching and just hanging out. Will try to get back in the summer to spend more time outdoors!
Truus J. Oct 2017
We had a great time at the Whalen House. The location is great! The view from the living room is fabulous. There is a lot to see within a 30 minute ride Nort of the home. Don't pass up a meal at the Pelican Brewpub, just four miles down the road.
This place is great for families with children. You can easily fit two families of four in the home and have plenty of beds and places to hang out.
The home could be upgraded in terms of furnishings, a coat of paint in several rooms, and better access to the hot tub.
Michelle S. Oct 2017
Thanks! We enjoyed our stay and our dogs loved the yard. Great space for several couples to cook and enjoy the view.
Roland R. Sep 2017
It was very nice could have had the bird nest removed before they had eggs laid there. Thanks for providing a pleasant place to stay
Michael W. Sep 2017
Thanks for providing such a great home with room for the whole family. Our dogs loved exploring the back yard and the kitchen was incredibly well equipped. A good time was had by all. We'll be back!
Lida P. Jul 2017
Awesome place for a group or family.
Kevin R. Jun 2017
This was our 3rd year in a row staying here. Main complaint was a number of small maintenance issues needing attention when we arrived, and missing or short on some basic housekeeping supplies.
Sarah K. Jun 2017
We enjoyed our weekend in this beautiful bay front home! Some of us worked on a puzzle in the family room, enjoying the view from the lovely bay facing windows, while the boys played games in the ample yard space (and tree swing!) The fire pit was perfect for s'mores and the hot tub (complete with sunset!) were the best way to end the day. The house is within walking distance to a state park, which we enjoyed visiting, and the kitchen was perfect for cooking a large meal to share with friends! We'll definitely be back!
Preet G. Apr 2017
Our group appreciated that the place was a good price, accommodated dogs, and had a great hot tub. While comfortable, the home could use some much needed updates. Specifically, the pots and pans appeared to be well used and scratched up. The lighting was all fluorescent and super bright and a lamp in a living room had a buzz like a fly trap. These aren't deal killers but it sometimes felt like things were not given that personalized touch or arranged in a way you would use them if you lived there yourself.

On a positive note we all enjoyed the hot tub and close access to a state natural area. There were bath robes provided, plenty of towels and sheeting for everyone. It was spacious, had a lovely balcony, and was a wonderful way to spend the weekend.
Manager response:
The lamp has been adjusted to eliminate the buzzing sound, and the owner is purchasing new pots and pans for the home. Thank you!
Daniel R. Apr 2017
With three separate couples, we were very pleased to have so much space to both be together as a large group, and to get privacy. Loved the sunrises out on the porch!
Susan J. Apr 2017
I throught it was a wonderful place for our family to get together for spring break Plenty of room everyone had their space to relax. So thankful for our trip to refresh us!
Lauren M. Mar 2017
The Whalen House was a cozy place to spend a rainy Spring Break with family friends. If this house were closer to Netarts for better clamming and crabbing access, we'd stay again.
Our favorite parts were the efficient wood stove (tons of firewood was onsite), the firepit outside for s'mores, the hot tub (but wear rubber boots and a headlamp to find your way if the ground is soggy), the great separation of space for privacy as we had two families there at once *upstairs: is a half bath, two queen bed rooms, and an extra twin bed on the large upstairs landing; *downstairs: is a full bath adjacent to a queen bedroom, the living room with deck and stairs to the yard, dining room, breakfast room, tv room/office (with computer tv and DVDs, kitchen (well stocked); and *down a short flight of steps: the entry, laundry room, and king bed room with and en-suite and walkout steps to the firepit).
We enjoyed the location -- in a bay surrounded by lovely landscaping, evergreens (with bald eagle sitings), a shallow creek with two small bridges (the kids were thrilled), and cozy furnishings. It had a great, though outdated, sound system with tons of CDs--with an eclectic mix to choose from. It really felt like being at Grandma's beach house...the downside was that though we're right on the bay beach the nearby landowner prohibited access so we're limited to the large fenced yard.
Ryan J. Jan 2017
Nice large space to accommodate a large group. Furnishings a little dated but clean and comfortable, and what one would expect for a coastal home. The large windows were great for day gazing at the lake and surrounding area. The ocean is pretty far off in the distance but you could see some waves crashing.

The beds were really comfortable except for the single twin. The house was clean and the kitchen well stocked.

The hot tub is a little distance from the main home so bring shoes to wear back and forth since it can get muddy.

Overall, good stay and we'd come back.
Saffron W. Dec 2016
The location was difficult to find but the view was awesome from the house. The hot tub was extremely dirty, not warm enough and in the end unusable because the vacuum to clean it with was not found. The gas heating was questionable and hazardous and then they were asking money for the firewood which ended up being the only way to heat up the house. There was not beach access from the house which would have been nice for the dogs but the back yard was pretty sufficient.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconveniences this guest experienced. The hot tub was cleaned just prior to this guest's arrival, so we are surprised to hear that it was dirty. The gas stove is currently experiencing difficulty, but there are electric heaters in most rooms that are effective, and the owner does sell wood $5 for a bundle for guests wishing to use the wood stove.
Janet M. Nov 2016
We had a very nice 4.5 days at the Whalen House for Thanksgiving, a 2nd Birthday and to welcome home my son from the Peace Corps (he served in Senegal) It was cold, wet, raining, but we did not care. The kitchen is stocked for cooking and the house set up for large noisy family. We would absolutely reserve again.
Carl P. Nov 2016
The view from the living room is just spectacular. A great escape from the city hustle and bustle. Room for two families plus pet. Bring your own firewood to save money, or bring cash to use the home facility ($7/bundle). Regarding recent post specific to spiders, we saw none in the three days we stayed there, so that has been taken care of :)
Marlana R. Oct 2016
This house was not the easiest to find since some map programs take you to the wrong place and there is no cell phone service in the immediate area. The house definitely has enough space to accomadate a lot of people but the layout is a bit choppy. It is a little bit of an older home and there are some minor things that could be updated and the floor slopes a little toward the center fireplace. There was plenty kitchen stuff for cooking your own meals including a glass 10x13, lots of pots and pans, strainers, cutting boards, etc. Good yard for kids to play, hot tub was in good condition. I wouldn't really call this an "ocean" view home. It is right on the bay(Sand Lake) which is good in its own way, but you are not close enough to actually see or hear ocean waves. There are great beach accesses just a little south down the road, though. Overall, we had 4 adults, and 10 kids (1 under age 2) and this house fit all of us and we were very comfortable.
Elizabeth H. Oct 2016
Lovely house for a group or family. TV room had no comfortable seating, but who needs tv when you have the view to enjoy.
Sheena M. Oct 2016
The home was adorable, just like the pics. A little funky like beach homes often are. :) There were plenty of comfortable spaces to sit, and the beds were cozy.
However, there was a serious spider issue. I don't have any bug phobias. But this was ridiculous. They were everywhere and HUGE. We're talking about the size of a silver dollar or bigger. Every window and doorway had several webs. It looks like no one has taken a broom to the outside of the house ever. I get that it's the county and bugs are more prevalent, but this was something else. I had a hard time relaxing. :(
Manager response:
We are so sorry to see that spiders were such a nuisance during this stay! The Property Manager has taken measures to remove the spiders from the home, and housekeeping is being more attentive to dusting the spiderwebs.
Lee D. Sep 2016
Overall, good location with some reservations as listed. Had a wonderful time and would rent again.
Aimee J. Jul 2016
This was the perfect house for 3 couples and kids. Plenty of space for us all to spread out and not feel remotely close to cramped. We rented this house to attend a wedding and get family time together, I would be happy to stay here again because it was such a magical experience.
Dalyn L. Jul 2016
The Whalen house provided an amazing getaway for my family and I! Stunning views, plenty of space, great hot tub, wonderful fire pit, wildlife all around, and very close to the beach! It is a home away from home, we will definitely visit again!
Tammy S. May 2016
The house was great but I emailed and called staff and received no response. Also there was cable advertised and was not actually working.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear you thought the home was great, and appreciate your feedback about the cable not working. We are notifying our property manager in the area to address your concerns. We want to thank you for choosing Vacasa and hope to have you back soon!