Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #553

Huckleberry Haven - Rhododendron, OR

68 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
27204 E Marion Road, Rhododendron, OR 97049

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Modern, cozy, dog-friendly mountain retreat w/private hot tub & central location

This quaint remodeled Rhododendron vacation rental offers guests a modern, cozy mountain retreat complete with a private hot tub and a central location. Dogs are also welcome!

What's nearby:
Close to two of the official Oregon Cascades Birding Trails, Rhododendron is a go-to spot for ornithologists. Mt. Hood Skibowl is almost nine miles away and Timberline Lodge and Ski Area is a little over 15 miles away. With its proximity to three rivers (the Sandy River is close by), fishing is a popular activity, and the 60 square miles of Mt. Hood National Forest offers opportunities for hiking, biking, and kayaking.

Things to know:
Kitchen (no dishwasher)
Crib available
Dogs welcome for a small nightly fee
*The loft area is not for guest use.
WiFi not available and cell service can be spotty A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

*Effective 7/27/2020, due to local fire danger levels, there is an open fire ban in the area. No open flames are allowed out of doors, including no campfires, warming fires, cooking fires, or ceremonial fires. Fires are prohibited in all campgrounds and other sites with developed fire pits.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Heating & cooling

Fireplace

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Deck

Firepit

68 reviews

Kym L. Aug 2020
I loved the fact that it was so close to the river that not only could you stroll to it, you could hear it from the hot tub and back bedroom. Hot tub is private and the fire pit was a nice touch at night. I happen to be there when the huckleberries were ripe which added a wonderful touch. Super quiet and nicely kept up.
Jeanita O. May 2020
this was an amazing getaway for our family for my son's birthday
Robert T. Jan 2020
Was a great cabin for my family and dog. We cooked most nights and brought our own streaming devices to watch on the TV. Easy to get up to the mountain early for some fresh tracks. Cute/clean inside. Hot tub helped us all relax, even when it was a mixture of frozen rain/snow :)
Andrey K. Dec 2019
It's quite a bit more cramped with the couches positioned in usable (for TV) position that we found vs the images. The images show them centered around the stove. That was not an issue though, although access to the wood stove was awkward. The place is dark though, I suppose that is a personal thing. We did enjoy the place, though we had to get our own wood for the stove as none was provided, and that is a must for me. Hence the missing star. If anyone has bloodhound nose like mine, grab a lemon for the garbage disposal, to make the dish washing experience a ton better. Will visit again, provided the chance, but will definitely grab firewood from home next time.
Manager response:
Hi Andrey, thank you so much for your feedback. We do encourage our guests to bring along firewood if they plan to use the wood stove. We hope to host you again soon!
Claudia E. Aug 2019
WHAT A PROPERTY. RENT IT! IT IS FANTASTIC!!!
Nora Q. Aug 2019
Convenient and quiet location even though there was light construction work on the cabin next door. Loved the use of the hot tub, however, instructions asked us to add chemicals (pre-measured) after each use. By day 3 we had minor chemical burns so I wish we had not followed those instructions so closely. Maybe just once at the end of your trip if you use the hot tub instead of each time. The furniture inside was very comfortable, however, the mattresses are in very poor condition and still need replacing as noted in other reviews. Kitchen and grill are both great, although no grill tongs. Be prepared to bring your own cooking oil and coffee and you'll have a great time!
Manager response:
Hi, Nora! We are sorry to see the use of the hot tub chemicals was confusing; the hot tub should be shocked at the end of each day it is used, not after each use. We have added tongs and suggested a mattress update to the owner. Thank you!
Krystal G. Mar 2019
Loved the cabin. Was a little disappointed that there was not wood provided for the first fire like they said there would be. Enjoyed the peace and quiet.
Stephanie B. Dec 2018
The house is very clean, comfortable, quiet, and well stocked. Perfect for a couple or small family. I would rate five stars but have to echo some of the other guest reviews regarding the bed being way too soft and on a rickety frame. Also they’re not joking about needing 4WD to get in and out, especially in the winter.
Crisa M. Aug 2018
There’s so much to love about Hucklebery Cabin I’m not sure where to start. Maybe with the quaint and cozy living room complete with fireplace, or the amazing hottub where you can completely loose yourself in the sound of the river rushing by only a few hundred feet away & and night sky glowing with stars up ahead. Maybe it’s the hidden gem of a pathway that leads you on a beautiful journey through time and history along the Zigzag River found only a short trail from the back of the cabin?
All of this and more completed our weekend getaway.
Alec E. Jul 2018
Great cabin! Clean, quiet and close to town but it felt like you were in the middle of the woods. The only reason I can't give 5 stars is the bed was quite uncomfortable, other than that, great cabin and we are already looking forward to going back!
Lynda M. Jun 2018
Cozy, clean, and in a beautiful spot. This rental is on a residential road with other cabins nearby but it was very quiet and we didn’t even see anyone around there. You can walk to the nearby Flag Mountain trail (though it’s an uphill path) and it’s close to lots of other trails and right by the creek.
This is the perfect ‘retreat’ cabin because it does have a secluded feel and there’s no WiFi, but there’s places across the road that does. Hot jacuzzi tub + stove fireplace + gorgeous woods = 2 happy campers!
Louise B. May 2018
I loved the location of this cabin. Right off a river!! And very close off a suspension bridge which takes you right to a market/into the town. Cozy cabin, great fire place, comfy beds, cool movies on site; everything I needed!
Meggan F. Apr 2018
The house was cozy and we loved the hot tub and fire burning stove in the living room. It’s a great location and is very close to Timberline Lodge and Ski Bowl. The only complaints we had about the house were that some of the towels that were rolled up to be used for the hot tub were still wet and slightly mildewed... and the beds were both way too soft.
Joshua M. Dec 2017
We loved it! Great location, good price, nice hot tub. This is a well-maintained property that feels like it is well-loved by a family. We had everything we needed and have found Vacasa to be a good company who is responsive if there are ever issues.
Breylan D. Aug 2017
We had a wonderful time at Huckleberry Haven and enjoyed everything Rhododendron and Mt. Hood had to offer us during our stay. We hiked around Timothy Lake and stopped for a quick walk into Little Crater Lake, which was a beaut! Skyway Restaurant & Lounge was fantastic, we even got to listen to a live Jazz band, which was a treat. The cabin is well appointed and easy to get to - if you're driving a smaller car you may want to take Still Creek Rd. to Marion, otherwise you're at risk of bottoming out on tree roots or potholes. A friend learned this the hard way.

The cabin is close to other cabins but we didn't have an issue with it or really even notice too much as neither neighbor was home during our stay. You're within earshot of a couple rivers/creeks, which provided a lovely environment to enjoy while reading a book or taking a dip in the hot tub. There are plenty of trails and roads to take in a nice walk with your pooch if you decide to bring one.

The only bummer on our trip was how soft the beds were and the condition of the grill. Other than that, the stay was superb and we do plan to return.

Thanks for a great stay, Vacasa!
Casey O. Jul 2017
Wanted to have a BBQ get-away for a holiday weekend. This place offered everything we needed: grill, hot tub, fire pit, stacked kitchen with plenty of spices, etc. Place was clean and comfy, super close to several stores and markets. Overall, great experience!
Kristy M. Jul 2017
Excellent. We have stayed here before. Love it! Thanks again. 😊
Rolando C. Feb 2017
a
Darby B. Nov 2016
We had a great time over thanksgiving! Thanks!
Morgan M. Jul 2016
Cute little house when you arrive. We didn't mind the closeness of other houses which several folks on HomeAway complained about. But when you start to get settled, several things made this house uncomfortable. Their description is a bit extravagant: "great amenities, and an unsparing taste for elegance."

The house was cold when we arrived (they ask you to turn the thermostat to 55 before you leave). The hot tub wasn't even warm so we couldn't use it until the 2nd day. When we did get in, it smelled really moldy and gross, so we only used it for 10 minutes, but paid $10/day for it. The beds were uncomfortably soft. The TV screen was broken, and no wifi meant no shows or movies.

Probably won't be staying here again.
Manager response:
We apologize that this stay was not as relaxing as we would have hoped. The hot tub has been serviced and is looking great, and the TV has been replaced. This guest was refunded for the lack of hot tub and TV during their stay.
Elizabeth M. Jul 2016
Beautiful place we will be back for sure
Jeremy T. Dec 2015
Nice simple cabin in the woods. Enjoyed a single dad Christmas. We're cabin bound due to a horrible storm. All in all a nice place and nice location. Maybe a bit to close to the neighbors but still fairly nice.
Nathan G. Aug 2015
Very easy to find. Less than one hour from Portland. Nice jumping off point for mountain adventures. Don't be fooled, there is no river access or hiking out the back door. Private property restricts access. Sit on the back porch and relax, but don't be tempted to walk to the sound of a rushing river, cause you can't. A short drive to National forest access.
Amy L. Aug 2015
Great location for doing all things on Mt Hood. Ranger action just short distance away on 26 was perfect-helpful staff and trail maps to get me on my way. I especially enjoyed my early morning walks on the trails right behind the cabin! After two days full of hikes, the hot tube was a hit at night with my muscles-very clean and temp just right! I did a lot of research before selecting this cabin. I will be back!
Lynda M. Apr 2015
The cabin was adorable. Tastefully decorated. Comfortable furniture. It had everything we needed. The only complaint would be that we couldn't use the hot tub. My daughter had suggested that we look inside the hot tub before it gets dark. Upon lifting off the cover we discovered that there was brown fungus growing inside all over on the walls. Thank goodness she thought to check before dark!
Also, from the pictures on VACASA website, you would never know that the cabin sits so close to so many other cabins. Super close! But the cabin was clean, comfortable, updated and safe. Probably would go back due to lack of privacy.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted that the cabin met your needs and you felt it was cute and cozy! We are terribly sorry about the hot tub issue you experienced and have notified the local property manager to address as soon as possible. Also, this charming cabin does have neighbors so we apologize that it was not as private as you would have wanted. The area is so beautiful, however, with plenty to explore and we truly hope you were able to have a wonderful stay overall. Thank you for choosing Vacasa and we hope to receive another chance to impress you in the future.
Kristy V. Dec 2014
The cabin itself was great - just the right amount of space for s small family (in our case 2 adults and 2 dogs). The proximity to Mt. Hood can't be beat and the local restaurants nearby were great. Things to take into consideration are how close the cabin is to the neighbors and the fact that you cannot access the river at the back of the property due to it being the apparent private property of someone else. That said, I would definitely stay there again when looking to head back to the area.
Charmian C. Feb 2014
We enjoyed the home and the hot tub. Everything was very clean. The main issue was how close this property is to the others on either side. City close. It didn't feel very private when going out to the hot tub. But we did enjoy ourselves and enjoyed walking around the man made paths in this community.
Sharon L. Feb 2014
If the items we mentioned here were addressed we could recommend it as a cozy spot on the mountain. But if not, we could not recommend it.
Daria E. Jan 2014
The cabin was beautiful and very cozy! Loved every detail, very well equipped. Would love to stay here again.
Jessica M. Mar 2013
Had an amazing time. Very relaxing, very romantic. We didn't want to leave! Thanks so much for a great weekend.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear that you had a great time!
Jenifer M. Jan 2013
Right when I walked into the cabin my boyfriend of 5+ years proposed :) it was a romantic stay. the cabin is really nice and so are the neighbors to the cabin.. very animal friendly which we appreciate!! cant wait to stay here again soon!!
Tom v. Jan 2013
Enjoyable quaint cabin with a wood fireplace on a snowy winters weekend. Below freezing temperatures outside and it stayed nice and warm inside. Take the time to run out to the hot tub bare foot with a few inches of snow on the ground and jump into a nice warm soothing tub with a view of beautiful fir tress covered in snow all around you. We will be back
Sara C. Jan 2013
Our first house was cold and did not have heat but our Vacasa specialist helped us and moved us to Huckleberry Haven which ended up being a great vacation home.
Manager response:
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Huckleberry Haven. As to the heating matter, we are resolving the issue at the Coyote House. We do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.