Virtual Tour
USA California The Central Coast Cayucos Listing #9967

Oceanfront Delight - Cayucos, CA

26 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
238 A Pacific Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430

Watch for dolphins and whales from this oceanfront rental w/ fireplace & deck

This lower-level, oceanfront home (part of a duplex that can be rented together to accommodate up to 12 guests) offers space for six, a furnished deck with a gas grill, fenced yard with spectacular views, and convenient beach access via stairs just a couple houses away.

Located right on Pacific Avenue just steps from the beach, this rental is close to the heart of downtown Cayucos with restaurants and shops just blocks from your front door. Paul Andrew Park, a small neighborhood pocket park with a playground and picnic tables, is just a few hundred feet away. And for visiting wine aficionados, several wineries with tours and tasting rooms are all about 20 miles northeast in the Templeton and Paso Robles areas.

Kick back on the deck or out in the grassy yard and watch for passing dolphins and whales in the water. Start a fire in the wood-burning fireplace and cozy up in the living room during the cooler months. Throughout the year, hop online with ease thanks to the free WiFi and catch up on all your favorite shows or watch a movie or two on the flatscreen cable TV with DVD player.

Book this quaint oceanfront rental with us today for a memorable vacation tomorrow!

* Please note that guests staying at this rental must be at least 25 years of age or accompanied by a parent or guardian.

San Luis Obispo TOT# 0000716

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Shared

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable

DVD player

TV

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

26 reviews

Susan E. Dec 2018
This is our second time to rent this home. The view couldn't be better. Would definitely stay here again.
Jane H. Oct 2018
So close to the ocean and town.
Betty Jo M. Sep 2018
The Whales, dolphins, seals the sound of the ocean
Martin G. Aug 2018
This property has a wonderful location - Cayucos is a great place to stay. We saw dolphins and seals from the balcony every morning for 5 days in a row, and going to sleep to the sound of the ocean was magical.

Unfortunately, our experience was let down by the state of the property. It was not properly cleaned before our visit with cupboards and counter tops sticky to the touch, and the windows dirty enough that you couldn't see out them to enjoy the beautiful view.

The age and state of the furniture is not really acceptable for the price being charged for the property - the dining room table and chairs need to be replaced (they are broken in various ways and collapsed under the kids a few times, I had to manually reassemble one of them a couple of times), as do all of the chests of drawers (they are old and smell - you wouldn't actually put any clothes into them). The house seems to be aiming for 'shabby chic' but missing the mark and coming across as just shabby - most rooms could also do with being repainted as many rooms have scuffed and stained walls.

We had some dishwasher woes, similar to some previous guests, but the dishwasher was replaced with a new one while we were there so hopefully future guests won't have any difficulties!

Finally, the whole property is badly cluttered (7 sieves, 4 blenders, 3 coffee makers, 21 mugs, 3 cheese graters - why??). There was no storage in the kitchen at all - we had to try to make room and found various things from previous guests like open packets of things that we had to throw out. Similarly, the couch had 9 decorative cushions on it meaning there was nowhere to actually sit.

Finally, if the property above (238B) is occupied, you will have problems with noise - there are squeaky floorboards and no sound proofing to speak of so it is quite noisy.

My suggestion to the owners is to invest a little bit in the property, replace some of the decrepit old furniture, do some repainting, and get ruthless with the clutter - throw 75% of the stuff in the house out and leave space for guests to actually enjoy the great location.
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments and difficulties this guest experienced and hope the refund offered them helped to compensate for those things. We have hired somebody to regularly tend to the garden and window cleaning, kitchen inventory will be taken care of during fall deep cleans, and we are taking care of the dining set. Thank you!
Mark K. Aug 2018
The view to this home was amazing! The noise from the tenants above is almost unbearable. You can hear everything! Unfortunately, the house was not very clean either. There was mold on the shower curtains and in the shower. Rug was very dirty and the vacuum and dishwasher did not work. Closest beach access was closed and the other beach access was rocky and not kid friendly. The deck was our favorite spot!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were some negatives to this stay. The shower has been taken care of, the vacuum and dishwasher have been replaced, and guests are always welcome to reach out with any noise complaints. Thank you!
Sharon A. Jul 2018
No welcome bag this year and it would have been nice if there had been a note about the broken dishwasher that we used and then had to bail out the standing water. It wasn’t fixed while we were there, if it’s even fixed now.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read about this guest's experience. We wish this guest had called for assistance with the dishwasher; it is now repaired. Although there is no longer a welcome bad, all the items are still provided: paper towels, dish soap and sponge, toilet paper, laundry/dishwasher tabs, and all cleaning spray. Thank you!
Lisa L. Mar 2018
Breathtaking views while listening to the crashing waves. Picturesque relaxing on the porch. Huge windows allow you to get swept up in the views of the ocean and wildlife that come with it. Quiet neighborhood which was very walkable. Beach access is close by. Kitchen was well equipped and beds were comfortable.
Anna D. Jan 2018
Just pulling up into the driveway, you feel welcomed. The garden is beautifully maintained and ushers you in to a beautiful get away. I could have spent my whole weekend simply sitting on the porch, staring at the water, or curled up in front of the fireplace at night. The owners leave firewood in the garage, which is a huge bonus. We enjoyed the fireplace every night after the sun went down. This house is a perfect distance from downtown. When the tide is out, you can walk along the beach to the restaurants, and come back via the road when the tide is in. House, kitchen and garden are all beautifully maintained. I look forward to staying here again.
Kim R. Jan 2018
We stay at Cayucos frequently and brought out of town relatives this time. This house was quaint and cozy. Perfect for what we needed. The location and view was wonderful!
Ruth D. Jan 2018
This house has a stunning view, clean and comfortable.
Definitely will come back to this property.
Mark W. Jan 2018
Perfect getaway for our two families, including two preschoolers.
Michael G. Jan 2018
There was no beach access and we had to walk into the downtown area to reach the beach. Steps at 1st street are closed off due to damage. The wood floors above this unit were a little loud when people walked from room to room but the people above us were very courteous.
Ilsa N. Dec 2017
This is a lovely home, centrally located, in a quiet neighborhood. The situation of the house is incredible, with views of Morro Rock in the distance and the waves and beach a stone's throw from the porch.
The kitchen is well laid out and equiped. We didn't even want to go out to eat! No restaurant could compete with that view.
The beds and bedrooms were very comfortable.
The only disappointment was the inabiliry to use the gas fireplace. Hopefully that will be addressed by Vacasa.
Stay at this house. It is worth s month of therapy!
Manager response:
We do not currently advertise a gas fireplace for this home. We apologize for any disappointments in this regard. We are otherwise delighted to read this review and hope to see this guest again. Thanks!
Jeffrey B. Nov 2017
Great place with amazing view, comfortable accommodations, and short walk to the pier and "downtown" Cayucos. The only downside when we were there (Nov 2017) was that the beach access to the right of the property was closed due to some unspecified hazards.
Peppe R. Nov 2017
Wonderful views and great location. Comfortable house and well appointed kitchen.
Kartika W. Nov 2017
Location location and very clean
Winnie K. Oct 2017
Our family (4 adults and a 3 yr old) loved it. The view was perfect, the price and location. The kitchen and dinning area was perfect as we love to cook and play board games. I think our next stay will be 7 days instead of 4. If you're looking for a please to just re -energizer and gather yourself, it's really got a great set up for it. You are 10 min walk from downtown, feel safe, another 5 min walk to supermarket/ playground ( great if you want your kids to burn of some extra energy without dealing with sand.) and another 5 min walk to the stairs to get down the beach.

Please note : You can hear your when people are walking around and stuff , if you are on the bottom floor. So if you don't like that... maybe select the upstairs to rent.
Mark Z. Sep 2017
We have stayed at this outstanding property three times in the past four years and I can tell you that it never gets old. The view from the decks, both upstairs and downstairs (we rent both at the same time due to a large family), is unsurpassed anywhere in Cayucos, as this great property sits up on a bluff overlooking the ocean. In my humble opinion, the best time of the year to come is in the Fall, when the weather is still warm and the sun sets into the ocean, as opposed to the summer, when the sun sets a little further north and over the land. Always one of the highlights of our stays is watching the whales, dolphins, sea lions and otters come swimming or floating by. Bring your binoculars.

If you want to shop for your entire stay, there are no major chain grocery stores in town, but they are close by. The restaurants and businesses in town are great if you don't want to cook.

The property was clean and tidy upon arrival, inside and outside. The beds are comfortable. The front bedroom is the real star here. It has accordion doors and an ocean view that is fantastic! The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils for just about anything you'd like to cook. The grill is clean and full of gas. The big refrigerator should hold everything you need for a week's stay.

Bring some lawn games with you as there is a small lawn just below the decks. Bring games like "cornhole" or the non-dangerous kind of lawn darts.

The neighbors are very nice and very quiet. All in all, a great place that we like to think of as our own little slice of heaven.
Sheri K. Sep 2017
We loved our stay at this home, fantastic ocean views! We enjoyed all kinds of whale and dolphin sightings. The house is well equiped and very comfortably decorated. We hope to make this visit a yearly event!
Tiffani G. Sep 2017
We enjoyed our stay here. The place was absolutely beautiful and the view was breathtaking! We would definitely stay again!
Carolyn W. Aug 2017
Great location
Rebecca B. Aug 2017
We stay here every couple of years. We love the location and the comfort, very easy to gather our family together here.
Sharon A. Jul 2017
Great view of whales, dolphins and otters
Mary S. Jul 2017
We've been renting this same unit for approximately 13 years. It is consistently clean and well-furnished.