USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Arch Cape Listing #954

S.S. Rose Haven - Arch Cape, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
88 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Comfy oceanfront home three blocks to the beach with amazing views - dogs OK

Perfect for a coastal getaway with friends or family, this two-bedroom Arch Cape vacation cottage offers beautiful ocean views, a quiet, relaxing location, and lots of nearby shore for exploring!

This cottage on the northern Oregon Coast is the ideal respite from everyday life - nestled right between Hug Point State Park and Oswald West State Park.

Inside, you'll be surrounded by comfy sofas, rocking chairs, hardwood floors, and a wood-beamed ceiling in the living area. Everyone will be able to pick their favorite spot to read a book borrowed from the shelf, watch DVDs and Blu-Rays on the TV, or just hang out and talk - all with breathtaking views right out the large picture windows. Not just for a summer vacation, you can watch dramatic winter storms right from the warmth of the living area. Any time of year, a wood stove provides both heat and ambiance to the living and dining areas, inviting guests to enjoy leisurely meals and post-dinner discussions while finishing off the wine and watching the sunset over the ocean.

A small, full kitchen provides you with all you'll need for whipping up tasty, homemade vacation food. Outside, you'll find a deck with a bench out on the bluff for unobstructed views of vast horizons, ocean surf, and stretching shorelines - from the prominence of Cape Falcon to the east to closer by Arch Cape, Castle Rock, and Hug Point State Park. Look north to distant views of iconic Haystack Rock and rugged Tillamook Head. If you look carefully or bring binoculars, you will see 'Terrible Tilly,' the Tillamook Rock Light House isolated a mile out at sea.

Other amenities include WiFi and a washer/dryer.

When you're ready to explore the shore, beach access is only three blocks away. The beaches on this part of the coast are quite scenic.

For a wonderful beach getaway to watch winter storms on the ocean or play in the summer sun, this comfy Northern Oregon Coast beach cottage makes a wonderful, oceanfront retreat!


AttractionDistance From Home
Hug Point State Recreation Site.9 Miles
Silver Point Interpretive Overlook2.8 Miles
Short Sands Trail - North Trailhead4.8 Miles
Cannon Beach, OR5.7 Miles
Neahkahnie Viewpoint6.0 Miles
Short Sands Trail - North Trailhead4.8 Miles
Manzanita, OR9.0 Miles
Tillamook Head13.8 Miles


County permit number: SR2018-101

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining




Ocean view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Charter



DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

On-site activities

Board games


Beach towels


Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

88 reviews

Terry C. Jan 2023
This place has a wonderful view of the ocean through the large windows facing the ocean. perfect for a get away to just relax and look at the waves. Only had basic cable channels but the DVD player kept us busy a lot of the time.
Paul P. Aug 2022
This house has a great view of the ocean and beach. We thought the walk to the beach access might be a pain, but it worked out fine for walking on the beach a couple times a day. Our biggest issues were cleanliness and maintenance items. Both of these had been written up by previous reviewers, but had not been addressed appropriately. The kitchen backsplashes were dirty, and a lot of the dishes were greasy. Dried food on the tablecloth and a thick layer of dust under the couch looked like it hadn't been touched in many months. Water was leaking between the bottom of the toilet and the floor. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but there were some issues. And new mattresses would be a welcome change. With a few days of work and a few thousand dollars the owners and management could turn this into a five-star rental.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Paul. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties and these issues will be promptly resolved! Sincere apologies for any cleaning missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future with a much more enjoyable stay!
Elizabeth L. Jul 2022
The view was incredible. We were very comfortable.
Abigail P. Jul 2022
We come every year. Rustic but perfectly charming.
Maryna H. May 2022
Love the location (quiet and equally close to Cannon and Manzanita), the view (ocean right outside the window), cute little cozy cabin. Cleaning and maintenance: so much room for improvement!!! The toiled is leaking, the mattress is 20 y.o. or so, the bed is flimsy, the rose bushes prevent you from entering the house; bathroom rugs and table clothes are old, used and look dirty. New management and little upkeep is required to make it feel like a Dream.
Manager response:
Hi, Maryna! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. The homeowner's family came and did landscaping maintenance that we think you'll appreciate. The leaking toilet is being addressed by maintenance, and we have recommended the homeowner replace the mattress, bathroom rugs, and tablecloths. Thank you!
Cole G. Apr 2022
This home was perfect for our stay in Arch Cape! The view was stunning and just a short walk to a beautiful beach. The home was clean and set up well with plenty of amenities for our stay. The local manager Leslie was very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed. We already look forward to staying here again.
Janis M. Apr 2022
The view is incredible and the cabin cozy and clean
Eric H. Jan 2022
It was a great place to be able to relax.
LINDA J. Oct 2021
The house was clean and cozy and the view of the ocean was fantastic. Had our dog along so the enclosed yard was a great asset for us. Truly enjoyed our stay at SS Rose Haven
Abigail P. Jul 2021
No extra modern frills but totally cozy and clean
Judie B. May 2021
The view couldn’t be beat.
Virginia V. Feb 2021
The view from the house is wonderful. Great location with a lot of privacy
Terri H. Feb 2021
Overall we enjoyed our stay in this small but cozy beach home.  The view was great, when we could see it; on cold/rainy days when we were stuck inside, the windows were impossible to keep clear of steam and condensation, making it so we couldn't see the ocean which was really disappointing.  Some of the blinds are really difficult to get to stay open as well.  The beach access path is conveniently located about 10 houses to the South.  The small kitchen worked well for us, other than not having cupboards or shelves to put our pantry food items in, and having to clean a lot of food debris off that wasn't washed all the way off the dishes, bowls, silverware and pans.  

Good stuff:
- Ocean view and close beach access
- Fun kids bedroom with bunk beds
- Cozy wood floors and ceilings, and wood paneled walls
- Wonderfully toasty wood stove

- No empty shelves/closets/cabinets in bedrooms, hallway or kitchen to put our belongings and food in.
- Shower very small (different, slightly bigger than pictured) - minimal water pressure, lukewarm water pressure, felt like we were showering in our travel trailer which we avoid unless we have to!
- The double bed in the main bedroom was really awful to sleep on -- too small, squishy and very loud springs every time you move -- it was impossible not to sink into the middle.  
- House needs a deep cleaning -- there was a lot of dust and pet dander on shelves and under the beds, couches and under the couch cushions -- including some old cat toys and even a few hairballs stuck to the cushion.  The rug under the coffee table reeked of cat/dog urine.  It's nice to have the option of bringing pets, but I think that requires much deeper cleaning on a regular basis.

***The biggest minus about this house for us was the neighbor to the North who, almost daily, dumped a slop bucket full of food waste onto the grass on the very edge of where his property line meets that of the SS Rosehaven's, just behind an awkward lonely bush on his property that sits on the edge of the ocean bluff.  In doing this, a flock of 30-40 seagulls descended on the pile of food waste devouring it, fighting over it and dragging it all over the SS Rosehaven's nice grassy bluff and wood bench that overlooks the ocean.  It was absolutely disgusting and unsanitary!!! We were mortified. There were seagulls eating the waste and pooping on the bench, dragging corn cobs, orange peels, potatoes, large chunks of bread, etc. all over the grass right in front of the windows where we were subjected to having to watch the carnage as we tried to enjoy the ocean view.  All while the neighbor had minimal to no view of it given the location/position of his house!  We were shocked and grossed out, even my young children couldn't believe it!  Because of this we barely went out on the grassy bluff and never sat on the food and poop covered bench, which was highly frustrating and disappointing to us -- we simply didn't get to enjoy it as we'd planned.  I'm not sure why the neighbor does this, especially in that particular location as he's dumping it as close to the SS Rosehaven's property as he can, in the very corner of his property, and his house and property are at least 3 times bigger than the SS Rosehaven's.  I see this same issue mentioned back in a review posted on March 2017 and am shocked it hasn't been mentioned since.  It really added an element of stress and a disgusted feeling that we couldn't be out in and enjoy the ocean bluff yard without watching this or walking into a bunch of rotting food which was always on the grass.  Every time we looked out the front windows, we had to see it.  In addition, it brought a pack of racoons into the yard one night.  It's highly unsanitary, unsightly, disturbing, and just plain inconsiderate, and it makes me wonder what the laws are on this.  Something definitely needs to be done about this!!!
Jonathan F. Nov 2020
Rosehaven is our favorite place on the Oregon Coast. Arch Cape is a really unique place with a lot of natural beauty. At Rosehaven you can hear the lovely waves crashing down below the bluff all day and the best part is that you can fall asleep to the sound of the surf. The place is very comfortable and is ideal for a small family to stay in. It's located within a short drive to Cannon Beach, Nehalem, Seaside and Tillamook.
Ashley M. Jul 2020
We loved our stay in Arch Cape. The house is rustic and the views are gorgeous. No phone service in the house but the Wi-Fi was good so we were able to work. Perfect little beach house if you are comfortable with simple pleasures like long beach walks and bonfires at night.
Jennifer E. Dec 2019
The view is stunning! Just beautiful. The house is very cute and vintage. Beds were small but comfortable. The home has everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The kitchen is tiny, but who cares when you can look outside and watch the waves crashing. The home has a nice long driveway with plenty of parking and grass for your pup. The only thing that would make this house even better would be a fire pit. But then who would ever leave.... cant wait to book again.
Marcia V. Nov 2019
We enjoyed our stay at S.S. Rose Haven. The view was excellent, the house was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. We will be back!
Ana P. Jun 2019
Thanks for opening up your cool home. My girlfriends and I loved it. The extra touch from Vacasa was really nice...the dog dish, clean up bags and extra stuff. We really appreciated it and our pup loved the lawn and bench. We will be back.
Tom W. Feb 2019
Loved the hideway that this house gave even when nestled in between two story homes. Great neighborhood walking to get to the beach with lovely homes.
This is a quaint little space with great views!
Meshaelyn R. Jan 2019
Beautiful views, well kept house, a short drive from Cannon Beach...would definitely stay here again.
Daniel D. Dec 2018
great view, large open room
Judy M. Aug 2018
small but comfortable house and the view to the ocean was perfect.
Jacci M. Aug 2018
Location, convenience, enclosed yard for our dogs. The neighborhood is great!
Abigail P. Jul 2018
Simple but sooo sweet. Fabulous location and great yard.
Kris B. Apr 2018
Terrific views, great location. Super cozy. 2nd time renting this home. I will be back!!
Cindy S. Apr 2018
Our stay was amazing. Beautiful view from the cottage on a small oceanfront bluff. Only a short 5 minute walk to access beach. Arch Cape is much quieter and less crowded than Cannon Beach but it’s only a 5 min drive in to town. Very homey and comfortable. Had everything we needed. Would definitely stay again!
Kris B. Jan 2018
Great place to relax and enjoy the views even on a stormy day!!
Tim D. Jan 2018
Excellent ocean views, very comfortable house.
Pamela S. Jan 2018
Thank you for providing a wonderful home for our family vacation. Everything was so easy from booking to check-out. We all had a relaxing visit!!
Patty M. Nov 2017
This is a perfect, low key, cosy little beach house.
Jim D. Nov 2017
very comfortable and relaxing place to stay
Mona K. Oct 2017
Rose Haven is a delightful small house tucked away on the bluff overlooking a spectacular seascape. The house is surprisingly spacious, because it is very well organized -- well equipped with everything one could possibly need, and no extra stuff in the way. The view of the ocean is gorgeous. The owners have added several touches that make the property user-friendly, like a screen door with keypad entry and easy conversion from window to screen. Everything is thoughtfully labeled and very tasteful. The furniture is comfortable. The woodstove is very easy to use and draws well.
Be prepared to bring your own firewood, or purchase nearby. The shower is on the minimal side, but overall the property is one of the nicest I have seen in several years of renting vacation properties.

Jean E. Sep 2017
The location was quiet - great view.
Elizabeth P. Aug 2017
We spent a week in this cottage and enjoyed being able to sit outside and inside and be able to see the beach and ocean. Wished we could have stayed longer.
Cottage was plenty big enough for us to spread out.
Shower was not the best, very small and no water pressure but it was just like pictured on the site.
We definitely would stay there again.
One of our favorite vacations.
Jacci M. Aug 2017
Great little house for big and little! Easy to keep pets and kids safe from the water but the access was great. We loved the deck and the BBQ area. Great place to watch the sunset.
We had a blast!
Thanks for the memories!
The Millers and the Jolley's and our four footed buddies Ziggy and Barley
Steven S. Jul 2017
The view from the house was spectacular but the house itself was extremely dusty and in need of a lot of cleaning and updating. The access to the beach was further than we expected and the yard is full of weeds. The house is as picured - tiny bathroom with no tub (barely any water pressure in the shower), double beds, no dishwasher or ice maker.
Pamela S. Jul 2017
We lost our reservation at another property due to a sale, so we found this last available location. Tremendous views from a bluff right on the Arch Cape oceanfront. The cottage is very small, the kitchen too small to really use, and the cottage could use more shelves to store food & belongings. But the weather was fantastic.
Bert S. May 2017
Rose Haven is perfectly located right above the Arch Cape beach. It's a short walk to the beach access trail, and the deck and yard are perfect for sitting on the deck chairs and watching the whales (if you're lucky), approaching storms, or the sunsets.
Cheryl (Chip) C. May 2017
Cute lil cottage. Awesome views worth the walk down the road to the beach access.
Vern M. Apr 2017
We love the Oregon coast and were happy to find this dog friendly house available. It was presented on vrbo very well. We felt comfortable from the minute we walked in. Easy beach access and beautiful view. We had lots of rain but slept good because of it. The area has a lot to offer. Thank you for opening you house to us.
Tiffany B. Apr 2017
It's like staying at your grandma's beach cottage - super cute, comfortable and cozy. Great location, great view watching the surf. Easy access to the beach. We will stay again!
Lindsay S. Mar 2017
I've stayed at several other rentals on Arch Cape over the years, and love the location- so I was exited to find this cozy spot for myself and two others. The house was cute and tidy. The beach access is a short walk down the road - it was pouring, hailing, and actually snowing when I was out there, so not great conditions for being outside, though my friends and I managed a small surf session. The views of the ocean can't be beat and had it been nicer, we would've enjoyed the bench out above the beach.
A few oddities of the house: Kitchen is a one-person kitchen, as others have mentioned. The table / seating could be improved - picnic table against the wall only allows for one side to be used, and the other table in the far corner behind the couch is awkward. Found the bed to be extremely soft, sorta like ending up in the middle of a taco shell, but that's just me.
My main 2 pieces of critique:
It would have been good to know that firewood was not included (or maybe I missed that if if was mentioned). I have so much firewood at home and would've gladly brought some rather than spending money on a very small bundle. Maybe 2 logs could be included to get you started and then you purchase more on your own?

The other odd thing about this place (and which I think really does merit some action) is that every day the next door neighbor throws out an enormous pile of random food waste and the local flock of seagulls descends upon it. This is not down on the beach but directly in front of the living room window. It was pretty gross because the food was strewn all over the ground - the seagulls seemed a little full - big pieces of bread, tortillas, salad. And like I said it's a few feet from the living room windows and in front of the ocean view. I initially thought the owner of Rosehaven would like to know this, but then I noticed on the wall a framed photo of said seagulls eating said food waste, so maybe it's a mutual hobby? Aside from the health implications for these birds, it was pretty unsightly and I think the neighbor should be contacted. Other than that, had a lovely time here.
Deb C. Feb 2017
Doesn't get any better! We only had a few days. Next time I'll book for a longer period of time. Got some great pictures! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home! It was just right for a small group!
Kathy P. Feb 2017
Thank you for a peaceful weekend!
Dustin E. Jan 2017
This cabin is a wonderful spot for a small group. The place is very clean and accommodating. It is about four miles south of Cannon Beach with a small store close by. The view is unbelievable but beach access is limited. You cannot get to the beach from the hose due to a very steep hill. We did find a trail to the beach about a block away though. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this place to anyone.
Daniel D. Jan 2017
Doug B. Jan 2017
great place easy access to beach
Leon O. Dec 2016
the beds are advertised as queen size, but they are not. the local area is fantastic.
Manager response:
We’re glad you brought this to our attention. Our local manager has updated the information. Thank you.
Elizabeth L. Nov 2016
This house is small, but cozy! I very much enjoyed spending the weekend in Arch Cape. We were a party of 4 adults, one medium dog, and a tiny baby. Even one more person in this house would be too much, its small. But its clean, comfortable, and has an incredible view of the ocean. Absolutely perfect for a weekend getaway with friends. We ended up having nice weather and were able to get some hiking in, but if it had been stormy I wouldn't have left the couch, watching the wind and the waves.

Things to note:
The kitchen is also small. Very small. The knives are pretty dull. But we were perfectly able to whip up some awesome food.
The beds say queen sized, I am skeptical.
There is no direct beach access from this home. You can see it, but you need to walk a few blocks to get to the path.

I would happily stay here again and again and again.
Katherine L. Sep 2016
We were pleasantly surprised by how functional this cozy house was for our stay. We were visiting for a writing retreat, so spent a good deal of time in the house. The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed. A GREAT little house. Would love to stay here again!
Leon O. Aug 2016
the location and property were great. the clean place was refreshing. the bed was not queen size as advertised. the neighbors were great.
Victoria B. May 2016
Good things come in small packages! While the house is small and bedrooms tiny the place works! The view of the beach is well worth it. Also appreciated that we could bring the dogs. It was a rainy weekend but between ability to wander in Cannon Beach and watch the ocean and weather at the house, Rose Haven was heaven!
Eira L. Mar 2016
It was awesome! The coziest little cottage with an amazing, relaxing view of the ocean. Raincoats in the closet were a nice touch. Fireplace was a treat. The heater in one of the bedrooms stopped working, but I was too lazy to call Vacasa maintenance - I know from experience you guys would have taken care of it in a jiffy. The fireplace kept us plenty warm.
Manager response:
After further evaluation, the heater is working fine now.
Nicholas S. Mar 2016
The view is spectacular. Beach access is 3 blocks away. The furniture would look shabby in a cheap college rental.
Manager response:
I wanted to update our response. The owner has replaced the couch and a bed.
Rebecca C. Feb 2016
We loved the location and the view was spectacular! Cozy and cute - loved the fireplace. Only bummer was the beds- they could use new mattresses as one you could feel the springs poking into you. Other than that, great place!
Brigette P. Jan 2016
Loved the feel of home and view.
Kris S. Jan 2016
The house was great. Check-in time of 4pm is too late to be able to enjoy your first day...kind of a waste! The view is amazing! At least one of the beds was really bad...old and extremely soft!
Fun few days though...we'd be back...but we'd probably bring an air mattress to sleep on.
Bria M. Dec 2015
We stayed for our anniversary and really enjoyed the storm that came in over the weekend. We woke up without power on Saturday morning, but it encouraged us to explore the area and found an excellent - though a bit odd - little place to eat, Cannon Beach Hardware & Public House, great fish and chips (or rather we had beer battered onion rings which were amazing) and a deliciously spicy Bloody Maria for lunch while waiting for our power to be restored.

The house was perfect, quaint, laid back and relaxed which is exactly what we were hoping for. We had a great view of the ocean, and got to watch the stormy weather on the waves, the wood stove was a perfect romantic touch and kept us warm when the power was out.

The beds were TINY, definitely full size, however we are not big people, and it was our anniversary so we didn't mind sleeping a bit closer - it was cozy!

The kitchen is also tiny, but we brought a crockpot with us so we didn't have much cooking to do, but the kitchen seemed fully functional, and had plenty of stuff we needed. Only real issue we discovered was the plumbing from the kitchen sink and bathroom sink seemed to be backed up. It was exceptionally stormy, we think the weather caused a collection of sand to back flow through the pipes, and leave a lot of sand in the sinks. Made doing the dishes a little difficult, having to wait for the sinks to drain - but otherwise didn't hamper our stay at all!
Steve S. Dec 2015
I really liked the location of this house. There are no stores and few people on this stretch of beach. There are plenty of sand dollars and numerous places to explore. Cannon Beach is 5 miles to the north where you can shop, dine, and enjoy the numerous art galleries. Then it is back to the beach house for some relaxation.
Florin D. Nov 2015
The house has amazing ocean views and a nice ocean front yard, the great room is very attractive and has seating for a lot of people. The beach access is close by (2-3 min walking).
Llyn F. Sep 2015
What a beautiful view! Very clean! This is a small home with only one bathroom with a stand up shower, keep that in mind when you book. The kitchen is a one person kitchen, very tight. Overall a very good experience. Canon Beach very close only about 5 min. North.
Thomas F. Aug 2015
Lovely view, 5 min walk to beach, very convenient small fenced area for the dog, quiet area, very nice stay.
Stephanie B. Jul 2015
Easy access to the beach, we had the beach to ourselves, was absolutely wonderful.
Michael B. Jun 2015
We really enjoyed staying at the SS Rose. It's small but cozy. Very easy access from main road and to all points of interest. There isn't direct beach access from house but there is just a block down the road. We would stay here again anytime!
Lisa A. Mar 2015
A very comfortable house and the view of the ocean is fantastic. Definitely on the small side, especially the bedrooms, but the additional space given to the living room with the big windows and comfy couches is a good trade off.

The fenced side yard is a nice feature for someone with pets.
Brent B. Jan 2015
This is not your elegant, completely redone beach house. This is a beach house as it might have existed 50 years ago, and it's exquisite. Great place to sit during a storm, watch the waves, and relax. It has endless charm and we thought it was perfect and a great deal amongst so many overpriced charmless options!
Jeff T. Sep 2014
Great views! We were sad to go, we enjoyed our little beach cottage so much. Single common room with dining and game table, kitchen is very tight, but comfy beds and stocked with books, games, puzzles, and best of all was the beach shovel and bucket for our girl! Very easy access off Hwy 101, and quick access to beaches as well as the market, restuarants and galleries in Cannon Beach.
Clifford A. Apr 2014
a very affordable and enjoyable place to stay, my wife and I will be back. with our dog. Thank you so much for sharing your Rose with us.
Courtney E. Jan 2014
This little beach house is a gem! A seriously breathtaking view and comfortable furnishings made our stay perfect. If you're looking for a quiet getaway close to busier towns, this is the perfect place.
Greg S. Dec 2013
We spent three amazing days at Rose Haven. The views are amazing and the food right next door in cannon beach is wonderful! We will be back for sure!
Jessica H. Dec 2013
The S.S Rose Haven was a lovely getaway for two couples and a dog. It is centrally located between Manzanita and Cannon Beach. Although there is no beach access from the house, there is a fabulous ocean view. The house was extremely well equipped. The only issues we had were with the beautiful wood floor that must have been waxed immediately prior to our arrival. We could have seriously hurt ourselves on this floor; it was so slippery, even with shoes on! The dog could be heard struggling to get up and walk around during the night. We picked up throw rugs and put down yoga mats to help us get around. Also, the beds were listed as 2 queen and 2 twin bunks, but the queen were definitely on the small side, probably only full size. We would stay here again because it really was quite lovely, but we will definitely have to remember our yoga mats and rubber bottomed slippers for that floor!