Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1009

Heceta House and Fisherman's Cottage - Florence, OR

32 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 10 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 Bedrooms  Plus Loft 3 Bathrooms Dog Friendly 
88342 2nd Avenue, Florence, OR 97439

Dog-friendly home with guest cottage, private hot tub, and close beach access!

When you're heading to the Oregon Coast with a crowd, you'll want to consider this cute two bedroom Florence vacation home with its cozy next door cottage! Here you'll be right in the Heceta Beach area, so you can easily walk to the beach or just stay in and relax in the private hot tub. Ideal for a group where a couple of the members want a bit more privacy, the main home will sleep eight, while the cottage is nice and cozy for two. And don't worry, up to three dogs can join in on the vacation fun!

The main house has a true beach bungalow feel, with a large wrap-around porch, perfect for gathering everyone around for a cookout or outdoor cocktails. Inside, a cozy living room beckons all to come in and find their favorite spot. There's a TV with Dish Network and a DVD player for entertainment, as well as large as a wood burning fireplace for keeping everyone nice and toasty on chilly winter evenings.

When it's time for meals, the bright eat-in kitchen will not disappoint! Set the table with plates, glasses, and silverware so everyone can dig into a delicious vacation meal. Here you'll have all the major appliances for food preparation, including a dishwasher to take care of the mess. It's easy to set up a buffet-style feast and let everyone dig in, whether it's homemade clam chowder and bread or a big pot of spaghetti and meatballs.

A vacation getaway that is perfect for everyone includes a whimsical kids' room - and you'll certainly have that here! Little ones can sail off to dreamland in a bunk bed set that incorporates an undersea mural and boat-like frame. And for the adults, there are two additional bedrooms - each with a queen sized bed. The master bedroom even has its own TV with a DVD player and lovely private bathroom, complete with a claw foot tub. For more sleeping options, there's a sleeper sofa in the living room.

The last part of the main house to explore is the amazing top level loft. This is a great, beach-y, surf-shack-style space boasting beautiful Heceta Beach views. It's an ideal location for taking it easy in the afternoon, socializing, and enjoying a glass of wine with friends. Of course, perhaps the best place to relax is outside in the hot tub. After a day of hiking on the beach or just out exploring the town of Florence, just sit back and soothe those sore muscles while gazing up at the night sky.

For two members of your group that want to share a private space, just a few feet away is the adorable Fisherman's Cottage! Filled with reclaimed wood accents, a kitchenette, a small sitting area and a TV and a DVD player, there's no better place for some quiet time. There's also a queen sized bed and a bathroom, with the sink right outside for added convenience. A lucky couple can retreat to their own space whenever they want to get away.

And when meals in the main house aren't on the agenda, the small kitchen area includes the basics - a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, and a small eating area. It's ideal for warming up leftovers, preparing light breakfasts, or making microwave popcorn to go along with a midnight movie. The cottage will sleep two guests and one dog, while the main house will sleep eight guests and two dogs - though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply.

From your Florence retreat, access to Heceta Beach is only a few blocks away. Spend the days on a beautiful, long stretch of sandy beach while flying kites, hunting for shells, or building sandcastles. There's room to run with the dogs and play frisbee with the kids.

The main attractions in the town of Florence are just to the south. There's the Old Town historic district, with its galleries and restaurants, fishing in one of the nearby lakes, or golfing at the Sandpines Golf Links. Also, a stay in Florence wouldn't be complete without a day trip to the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, only thirty miles south.

There's so much to do here, that you'll never want to leave. This Florence vacation rental is ideal for your next friend and family getaway. Plan a stay to play on the beach, soak in the hot tub, and explore this unique section of the Oregon Coast, all from this one-of-a-kind, beachside retreat.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Child Games

Features

Washer Dryer : Private

Wood Fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Century Link

Cable : Dish Network

DVD Library

DVD Player

TV

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Private

Deck

32 Reviews

David P. Jun 2018
Great location with traditional beach house feel. Nice open lay out in the main house. Love the separate small cottage. Kid and pet friendly.
Steve B. Jan 2018
This was a spacious home. The loft was an awesome sleep/play area for the kids. Will definitely rent again.
Robert R. Jan 2018
The pictures of the place are a few years old at least. The "kids room" is just a loft over the main living room area, and it means that if you want to put your kids to bed but stay up yourself you are out of luck.the whole place feels like the owners gave up caring about it 10 years ago. The windows don't all have blinds, which means you are up with the sun whether or not you want to be. There is no view of the ocean at all. And the hot tub is not very well maintained either. I would never stay here again or recommend anyone else stay here.
Manager Response:
We are disappointed to see this guest felt the owner has not been caring for the home and feel it must have been a misinterpretation of the owner's style. For example, the kitchen floor was reclaimed from a high school gym floor and kept as it is for a rustic look. The windows were purposefully left without blinds as people cannot see in, but guests can still enjoy looking out the windows. The hot tub was serviced just prior to this reservation and is working correctly. Thank you!
Claudia R. V. Aug 2017
This was a great home for a nice family vacation experience!
Paula M. Aug 2017
great location, walk to a beautiful beach. Florence is a very nice town
Lauren L. Jan 2017
It was an ok house and met our needs thanks
Tanya B. Oct 2016
Comfortable accommodations, great dining table for family dinners and games. Great fenced deck with seating and a baby swing. We enjoyed the hot tub and looking at the ocean view from the crow's nest. The fisherman's cabin had a fun rustic feel with the tin roof and fun decor. Main house is a loft style with only one bedroom that is fully closed off from the rest of the house. The kid's bunk beds are fun, but if kids go to bed before adults they may need to sleep somewhere else due to the loft style of that room.
David L. Oct 2016
A group of 10 of us stayed in this lovely home that is within a short walking distance to the beach (some of the walk is along the road with no sidewalk, but it's not a busy road). The amenities were very nice (fireplace, hot tub, the nearby beach) and the tile shower downstairs and the claw-foot tub upstairs really set a nice tone for relaxing in the house. The kitchen was decently stocked with spices from previous guests and a good selection of cookware from the owners. Our only complaint was that while the house is marked for up to 10, we had a hard time accommodating all 10 of our party in a few ways. The bath linens there were not adequate for 10, especially when you factor in cooking every meal at the house like we did (there were not enough dishwasher tablets or kitchen towels). We were able to manage the bath linen shortage ok, but the bedding shortage was very problematic for our group - we would have been glad to bring more bedding, but the welcome email mentioned that we wouldn't need to...thus we did not bring bedding. If you plan on sleeping more that 8 comfortably, bring bedding for at least 2. Other than that, this house was amazing and we would highly recommend it!
Manager Response:
We apologize that linens and towels were in short supply for this stay. Housekeeping has been reminded to leave an adequate number of both, and guests can always call us if they find there was an oversight with stocking the home. Thanks!
Autumn M. Jun 2016
Great location. Rustic. Good decor. Close to beach but noisy neighbors and dogs.
Lisa M. Jun 2016
This house is wonderful, inviting and very authentic. It felt like, and is a real home. The loving care of the paint, furnishings and decorations were greatly appreciated. The beds were comfortable (except the small, uncomfortable hide a bed). There was plenty of room for 10, although some trading off for the hide a bed and bunk beds were required! However, even my adult children and their partners had fun manning the ship, teasing about who would be captain for the night. It also presented a great backdrop for a fun family photo.
The Hot tub was a hit! More than enough towels to go around, and we loved the big sunny porch in the morning for our coffee.
The Fishermans Cottage is especially nice for a large group, allowing my mother and I a quiet respite.
Also, we were able to bring our Border Collie along for this trip. Being pet friendly was a big deal for us.
I would definitely consider booking this house again for our family. We all enjoyed the home. It has a great vibe, and an earthy feel.
Sincerely,
The OhMajors
Robin F. Jun 2016
This is a great place to get away from it all. The wrap around porch with a gentle breeze is a great place to have your morning cup of coffee. There are stairs to get up to the house so if you have conditions not permitting you to walk at an incline this is not for you. House is not right on the beach but only a 5 minute walk from it. Enjoy the dunes, lighthouse, and the old historic town of Florence, also enjoy the garden store on the way to the lighthouse. It is awesome. The sea lion caves are great for kids but a steep incline hike. The Heceta Beach is beautiful but cold and windy. Bring jackets and a blanket. Enjoy.
Lesa Beth T. Feb 2016
wonderful place. everyone loved it.
Sonjulaine W. Jan 2016
Vacasa has changed over the years. They refuse to even Acknowledge you as a customer, when things are missing, lacking ,or just down-right FILTHY! Called several times about our issues with the house (the hot- tub was FILTHY!!) and the manager refused to respond. We have stayed with Vacasa through the years over and oner in Netarts, Pacific City, and Lincoln City area I think( Starry Starry Night), and had good experiences...but times change. Customer Service should be important to a business seeking Brand Loyalty, and Sustainabiility.
Manager Response:
We greatly value our repeat guests and are very sorry to see that you were not treated this way during your stay. We have changed in that we manage many more homes than we used to and are still filling in all necessary positions; we are actively hiring more Guest Services Agents in order to ensure all of our guests are taken care of to the best of our abilities.
Steve K. Jan 2016
I stayed in the little side cottage. It was perfect for one or two people. cozy and clean. Bed was comfortable and slept well. Thanks!
Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Kurt And Juliette F. Nov 2015
We loved our ocean get a way at Heceta House and will likely return. Nice walk to beach and great house to relax in. Only one cell bar (ATT) but surprisingly able to have many phone calls. Wireless was great and text worked fine- I have to work a bit on vacay so need these items working. Really great place to unwind. Bridge water grill was great - gluten free burger option . Movie theater offers popcorn with real butter and beer/ wine - even gluten free beer. The dishwasher is a pain - needs replacing but works. We lived our stay and will go again. Like this location better than on the beach - water views from lift and wind protected- also very private with trees. Except for deck and little guest house- property not gated- so your dog will need walking for bathroom.
Manager Response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a thoughtful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit again soon. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Alvin C & Julia J. Oct 2015
Very nice beach house with great location only a few blocks from the beach. Nice area. Heceta Lighthouse is a must see. Dune buggy rides are great fun. Only drawback was limited comfortable seating in the living room if there are more than 4 people.
Rita C. Sep 2015
my husband & i felt it was the best vacation we ever had. the home is fun, the surrounding area & activities are very entertaining. the whole experience made us want to come live in florence, oregon.
David E P. Aug 2015
We had 7adults, 2 children, a baby and a dog. More than enough room! Great for our family, we would rent it again!
Lorie S. Aug 2015
Had a wonderful time, but the guest cottage was quite dirty! Had hair, dust balls, cobwebs etc. . The whole house needed to be dusted thoroughly as well. Seemed like it was just surface clean. Really had a great time though!!!
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that the house was not properly cleaned and will follow-up with housekeeping. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the house itself, though!
Joe B. Jan 2015
We had a tough time finding the house and our phone and internet service was a hit and miss in the area. The house was very pleasant with unique furnishings. We had a comfortable stay. We would stay there again. The fisherman s cabin was very cozy. A nice walk to the beach.
Caren B. Aug 2014
great house !
Daniel M. Jul 2014
We had a wonderful family reunion at the Heceta Beach house. The house is comfortable and has lots of seating areas for conversation. The walk to the beach is not bad and the beach in that area is sandy and perfect for kite flying.
Alan D. Apr 2014
We have stayed at this house twice now and love the location, view and amenities. The Fisherman's Cottage is a great addition if you need more space.