Virtual Tour
USA Texas Houston Houston House Listing #17655

The Magnolia Suite - Houston, TX

34 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom No pets 
1617 Fannin St #2717, Houston, TX 77002

Luxury high-rise apartment w/ shared pool, fitness room, and downtown views!

Spend your next vacation at this high-rise apartment in Houston, which boasts a central location close to all of the city's dining, entertainment, and shopping. The building has a shared rooftop pool, gym, and indoor basketball court for you to enjoy. Back at your apartment, you can soak in the views, play your favorite board game, or watch a movie on the flatscreen TV.

What's nearby:
This property is a short walk or drive from most of downtown Houston. The Toyota Center (home of the Rockets) and Minute Maid Park (home of the Astros) are within walking distance of the apartment, as are the Aquarium and the Museum of Natural Science. If you're in the mood for some culture, the Houston Grand Opera is one mile north in the thriving Theater District, while the parks along the bayou offer lovely views of the city's 19th-century architecture.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
One provided parking pass
AC is provided seasonally (and is shut off in the winter) A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Stove

Media

Internet : Xfinity

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Miscellaneous

Iron

Washer/dryer : Shared

Nearby activities & attractions

Board games

On-site activities

Pool : Shared

Heated pool

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Outdoor

Gas grill : Shared

Balcony

Patio

Firepit

Parking & access

Elevator

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

34 reviews

Chris F. Feb 2020
Let me begin by saying the view was the only good thing about this apartment. (Also, we had no issue with the parking garage others have mentioned. It is inconvenient, but do-able).
Got there a day before our guest arrived from Spain...luckily. Was going to prepare dinner in, since he would be jet-lagged. In the kitchen I found 2 forks, 3 knives and several spoons, 2 wine glasses, no bottle opener or corkscrew, several plates- you get the idea. This place is not set up to prepare a decent meal, and although it says 4 could stay here, there are only 2 tall chairs at the bistro table, or 2 chairs at the shorter table on the balcony...making it so that if you want to eat together you do it on the couch at the coffee table. They did bring a few replacement items after I called, but still grossly inadequate. We mostly out out after that, totally defeating the benefit of having a kitchen.
Since we didn’t have excess, thankfully it was necessary to run the dishwasher (but only suppled 2 dishwashing tablets but we were there for 4 nights). .When I got up in the middle of the night, the kitchen was crawling with cockroaches- not because we had any dirty items or food out. Now, I lived in Houston for nearly 10 years, and I know one battles bugs there...but this was not Houston, this was gross.
Not to mention, the trash cans at the elevators on the garage floors were overflowing with garbage. And Sunday morning , there was vomit in 2 of the elevators. I think where this apartment is located is in a building that is not cared for. (Elevators are fast, by the way- that was convenient)
Floors were sticky in bathroom and I made the mistake of walking around the bedroom in my socks- they were completely brown from the floor.

No extra blankets were supplied, and for the fold out bed only sheets and a blanket- no pillows (had to call about that).

If you want to vacation, go somewhere else. If you want to spend time taking inventory, calling for replacement kitchen items and normal bedding items (even at a hotel), and mopping floors- this is your place.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read you did not have a better stay, Chris. The units are treated by pest control on Tuesdays. We were happy to replenish the silverware and bring out additional blankets and pillows for your comfort. We will follow-up with housekeeping regarding the oversights you encountered. Thank you!
Ottie D. Jan 2020
Nice accommodations and near the Toyota Center. The check-in instructions were a little complicated but the staff were very helpful. The roll-up door to the garage was a hateful thing that we had trouble entering and leaving.
Sharon M. Dec 2019
Everything was clean, the balcony view is great, the 9th floor pool area is nice too.
Matthew W. Dec 2019
It was good.
Kawon W. Nov 2019
The kids enjoyed playing in the basketball court.
Suzie D. Nov 2019
Stayed for the week to take classes at Quilt Festival. Easy walk to GRB. Comfortable bed, clean unit. Hot water only the first 4 days. Kitchen could be better stocked - has shot glasses, but few eating utensils and no spatula. Overall, would probably stay again, but bring some stuff from home.
Manager response:
Hi, Suzie! A broiler went out that is being replaced to ensure the hot water is working correctly, and we will be taking inventory on the kitchen so we know what to replace. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Vernon L. Oct 2019
If you are doing anything in downtown Houston this place is close by. The place was clean, minor wear and tear as you’d expect from any place that is used. The feel of the building is great. Diverse groups of people. A great mixture of people who live there and people who are visiting creating a unique atmosphere.
Peter S. Oct 2019
This is a good unit. It is similar to the other 1Bd/1Ba units at Houston House. One star off for Key Cafe. I've stayed at HH a few times and have never had Key Cafe work the way it is supposed to. A couple times I've had to leave keys at the front desk and once it took over an hour to retrieve keys as the unit kept rebooting.
JEFFREY A. Oct 2019
Easy access to the locations I needed to get to.
Brendan O. Oct 2019
Nice condo.
Andi M. Sep 2019
Ok
Jesse G. Aug 2019
Houston House is a good location but not exactly a great neighborhood. It is in downtown Houston so one block from the metro rail and very close to the Toyota Center.
RYAN W. Aug 2019
It was a good time
JANOS P. Jul 2019
Space station, public transport, Cornel Bakery Coffe
Valerie A S. Jul 2019
We stayed here for our surprise trip for my 15 year old son. We were here to see the Astros play. It was a short Uber to the game and back, which was awesome. We were able to save money by cooking breakfast at the apartment. We would have grilled in the pool area had we gotten back in time. The place was very well kept and had everything we needed. There aren’t spices or things like that so you know. But there are plenty of dishes. The basketball court was my kids favorite. Even though he’s an avid baseball player, he loves shooting hoops. He spent hours in the court. We went and bought a basketball. Not sure if they have them at the desk, we didn’t ask. Great stay for a family. We had a great time and my kiddo wants to come back soon!!
Chase C. Jun 2019
This was a good location for what I needed. The bus stop is one block away. Nice coffee shops and things close by. I could see the Toyota Center from my balcony. It looks like about 6 or 7 blocks away.
Tamille H. May 2019
Latitude Medical Apartments are right in the medical center of downtown Houston. It was so comfortable in the condo and the common areas with the pool and business center are second to none.
Valentin L. Jan 2019
My family who stayed had nothing but positive and they in particular mentioned the location really facilitated their needs. I was impressed with the cleaningness and security measures that are in place. Great experience and I will definitely recommend it and use it again soon.
Geoffrey W. Dec 2018
This was a very comfortable apartment in downtown houston! It had a great view and was a very short walk to the House of Blues.
Also, the bed was more comfortable than my own home.
Tiffany E. Nov 2018
Me and my sister loved our stay in the Magnolia Suite. The views were wonderful, it was in a great location, and it was much nicer than I was even expecting when we got there. It was decorated very nice, and it was very spacious. Another plus is how safe it is. In order to get anywhere in the building, even the elevators you require the black "chip" that's on the keys. This made feel very secure in a place we had never been before. The location was great as well, and very close to everything. Overall it was a wonderful stay, and any questions we had were answered very quickly. If we find ourselves back in Houston we will definitely be staying here again.
Beverly M. Nov 2018
It was close to MD Anderson. Great view!
Sheryl C. Oct 2018
The location (less than a mile from downtown) was great and the apartment is just as pictured. Vacasa has been wonderful to work with.
Eavan M. Sep 2018
Excellent concierge service. Felt very safe as a solo (female) traveler. Nicely appointed. Well situated.
Jose C. Sep 2018
Nice little cozy apartment in downtown. The view was very nice. Place was very clean and we kept. Would definitely stay here again!
Michael F. Sep 2018
Our stay was very good and the view was incredible. This was our first stay at a VRBO and have to say it beats a hotel! Only thing I would suggest is to fix the broken blinds in the master bedroom as the city lights are pretty bright at night.
Manager response:
The missing blind slats have been replaced. We are glad to see the stay was otherwise enjoyable!
Iqzi B. Aug 2018
Loved the decor, the room includes parking which is awesome! Overnight parking alone at a hotel in Downtown Houston is $30dlls, so this condo was a great deal! Great views, fast internet, spacious, new appliances, clean- I will defenetely be coming back!!
Kimberly W. Aug 2018
I traveled to Houston for work and found this condo to be perfect for my needs. Very friendly concierge, fantastic amenities, speedy wifi, coin-op laundry, pool, etc. Amazing views! Everything was exactly as it should be. The bed was very comfortable. In fact I slept better here than at home! I'll stay here again next time I'm in town! Thanks Vacasa!