Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #182

Little Bear Cabin - Government Camp, OR

43 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 3 Queen Bed, 6 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 3 bathrooms Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
30100 East Blossom Trail Back Cabin, Government Camp, OR 97028

Dog-friendly hideaway near Timberline, hiking, and other local attractions!

Feel the cozy embrace of evergreen woodlands at this charming Government Camp cabin, an inviting Mt. Hood retreat with a dog-friendly living space, a private deck with a gas grill, and an unbeatable location within walking distance of trails, restaurants, and thrilling adventures in every season!

What's nearby:
You'll find this two-level cabin two blocks north of downtown Government Camp, tucked away in the trees at the base of the Glade Trail (a favorite among skiers for connecting to Timberline's slopes). The house is also right on the banks of Camp Creek, a one-mile walk from Mt. Hood Skibowl and Summit Ski Area, and a short drive from the Mirror Lake Trailhead (two miles west), Trillium Lake (four miles south), and other incredible natural wonders. Please note that this cabin can also be rented together with the home next door as Big Bear Cabin and Little Bear Cabin, creating an ideal setup for extended families.

Things to know:
Dog-friendly for a nightly fee
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
No WiFi A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Century Link


Cable : Dish Network

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Gas grill : Private


43 reviews

Teresa A. Mar 2020
Stayed here for a couple nights during UP's spring break. Easy to find when following Google Maps. Cabin is clean and well-kept. Close proximity to Mt. Hood Ski Bowl east. Four stars because we weren't aware that the only way to get to the cabin was a narrow, icy alley that runs alongside Big Bear Cabin. Was a little difficult to navigate with a three-month old baby in a carseat. Otherwise, our party had a lovely stay, would likely come back for another snow-sport weekend.
Vitalii M. Feb 2020
We were for 2 days in this tiny home .Quit and very nice home .I hope we will come back soon ....
STEPHEN B. Jan 2020
Hey We had a wonderful weekend stay at Little Bear. The cabin was extremely clean and well appointed. Loved the location and walked to everything in Government Camp. Neighbors were welcoming and pleasant. I’lll definitely stay there again.
Rob Douglas J. Dec 2019
We truly enjoyed this cabin, there were nine of us so the space was very adequate. Location was great, up the hill and the scenery with the snow covered trees was beyond beautiful. Didn’t have any interactions with this infamous neighbor as I think they were out of town but honestly, if you’re respectful and quiet at night time like most of the neighborhood, there shouldn’t be any issues regardless.
Rachel D. Oct 2019
Great place set back away from the highway. Did not have any issues with the cranky neighbor that others have had. I believe they might have been out of town.
Ken B. Jul 2019
Helpful management and great location, surrounded by creeks and quiet environment. Only disadvantage was the grumpy neighbor.
Dane D. Jan 2019
Great location and Peaceful. The home may sleep 12 people but there is not enough space in the living area for 12 people.
Natasha C. Jan 2019
It was a small little cabin but slept our group of 5 adults and 2 kids. Loved that there was bunks in each room and the one had a small loft. Missed a hot tub
Nancy H G. Dec 2018
The house was great - plenty of sleeping space and 3 bathrooms. Also, it was close to places we sledded.
Alicia B. Dec 2018
We had 10 people we all fit well and had a great time
Jeff H. Feb 2018
Just as the reviews state the neighbor is rude and yelled at our kids for basically being on the property line. (So we assume it is) 3 ft from the house should be the line.. Hot tub and Wifi is at Big bear house. Wifi is not usable. The venting for the furnace and water heater of Big bear vent directly into the hot tub area. Hot tub was not clean. Over all the place is a lot smaller then the photos appear it to be. only 4 places to sit down for TV .. No kitchen table.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were some disappointments with this visit. There is no WiFi advertised for this home; we apologize for any inconvenience this caused our guest. The hot tub was cleaned and balanced just prior to this guest checking in. We are still working with the neighbor and appreciate our guests' patience in the matter. Thanks!
Leah G. Dec 2017
This cabin provided a great experience but I do have some feedback. As some of the other guests mentioned, things like oil, sugar, tupper-ware, saran wrap, etc was not provided but all other kitchen equipment was. We also could not get one of the upstairs heaters to work in the bedroom with the loft, luckily the bathroom heater worked so we left the door open. As another guest mentioned there is a very cold draft in the downstairs bathroom so we made sure to keep that door shut.

On the plus side there is plenty of sleeping space for everyone, while the kitchen/living area are a little tight it was not a huge issue. I did not read the other reviews thoroughly before booking to realize that the hot tub is shared between the two cabins - it didn't turn out to be an issue however as the people in Big Bear were very friendly. I do think it is a little absurd to only offer 2 parking spaces for a 12 person cabin, that was a bit of a pain point for our group. We ended up having people drop their stuff off then parking in downtown Govy which is conveniently only about a 5 minute walk.

I would say overall the biggest stress was the multiple emails regarding the neighbors and the issues experienced with people on their property, parking near their house, or making noise after 9pm. With a group of 12 people it can be difficult to keep quiet so these threats were quite stressful to me as there was talk of a $1,000 fine if a noise complaint was made. I was emailed multiple times about this before my stay to the point where I was hesitant to keep the reservation, luckily they were out of town when we arrived so it turned out to be a none issue. I would say if you can avoid the neighbors it is overall a good experience!
Fred F. Aug 2017
This is a lovely lodging in a wonderful setting by a rushing stream. The town of Government Camp is in a great location to many trailheads. We did Mirror Lake, Umbrella Falls/Sahalie Falls Loop, The Fruit Loop and Columbia Gorge waterfalls. We only stayed 3 nights, next time we will stay 4!!
Michael C. Feb 2017
First, the positives:
1. Property located in an ideal location near Timberline (5 min) and Meadows (20 min).
2. The heating system works great (except upstairs thermostat broken).
3. Plenty of clean sheets, towels, linens, and blankets.
4. Washer and dryer are full size and pretty new.

1. Little Bear is directly behind Big Bear. The walkway to Little Bear is right under the eave of the roof for Big Bear. The walk way was NOT shoveled at all. Had to climb over piles of snow, stepped in a sink hole to my knee walking in, and the entire path up to the porch was covered in snow - no real attempt at shoveling. Just terrible - law suit waiting to happen. I would never let an elderly person try to walk that walkway - thankfully we did not travel with grandparents this time - I would have demanded a refund.
2. Although the advertisement does clearly say that cooking supplies such as oil, sugar, tupper-ware, saran wrap, etc was not provided, generally speaking, this is the first place I have ever been to that did not at least provide simple amenities. If you plan to cook, bring everything you need, or plan on buying it at the Govey Store down the street.
3. Lots of light bulbs blown and not replaced.
4. Advertisement does NOT clearly state that there is NO DINING TABLE. The kitchen island doubles as the prep center and dining table, with 8 tiny stools tucked under the eaves.
5. Upstairs thermostat is broken - either the heater is on, and it gets too hot, or it is off, and it gets too cold.
6. None of the bathroom doors have locks!!! How crazy is that? You want to go #2 and you can't lock the door? Ridiculous.
7. Parking area is only modestly shoveled out.....doubtful you can fit 4 cars as the signs suggest. Thankfully, no one in Big Bear while we were there.

Some general comments:
Neighbors are sensitive. Our kids (ages 5, 7, and 8) were playing in the snow by the side of Little Bear and the neighbor yelled at us that we were on their property. No signage, no posts, nothing to indicate we entered their property. We apologized and cleared out, but delivery was rather rough. The property itself is handsome - a real log cabin. My happiness at finding such a nice property was rapidly squelched by the snow packed walkway and multiple annoyances throughout the house (noted above).
Manager response:
We are incredibly disappointed to read about this guest's experience as the property manager and home owner take great pride in this cabin and spend a lot of time preparing it for guest arrival. There was very heavy snowfall this winter, but the walkway to the home was shoveled just prior to the guest's arrival. The light bulbs that are out are specialty bulbs that have been ordered; they are not the main light source for the room. The thermostat has been inspected to be sure it is functioning correctly. We very much look forward to sharing this home with our guests as we believe it is a delightful place to stay.
Rebecca K. Feb 2017
The cabin was quite nice with comfortable sleeping spaces and bathroom for everyone. The living room and kitchen area was quite small however and difficult for all of us to hang out together. It may be better for the summer when you can spill out on to the porch. Access to it in the snow is tricky as well as it's behind the larger cabin and you need to walk on a narrow snowy trail to get there.
Jenny S. Jan 2017
We loved little bear, perfect size for 2 families. Be careful trying to get back there in the winter but it was cozy and a great weekend snow getaway.
Peter M. Jun 2016
Giant exposed log beams, semi-isolation in the woods, and big windows to see the woods made it feel rustic, but it was (mostly) very comfortable.
Gary B. Mar 2016
Gaining entrance, with the "key lock" (we're not familiar with these) took about 20 minutes before it we got it opened. Once we got the key in-hand it took another 30 minutes to work the lock. Honestly, our whole weekend depended on this. Calls to the office were not answered/or returned and came very close to turning the whole group back home. Once open (like picking a lock) the door latch did not work properly, locking us out if someone was not on the inside to simply open the door. Very, very close to shutting down our whole vacation.
Manager response:
We apologize that the lockbox and door lock were difficult for you and that we were hard to reach. The Property Manager will inspect the lock system in order to make any necessary adjustments, and we are currently hiring more agents to assist on the phones so that we are easier to reach.
Corinne H. Feb 2016
We stayed at Little Bear Cabin for my daughters wedding at Timberline. The cabin is well maintained, cozy and comfortable. It's missing a fireplace though. We were there during a snow storm and would have froze had the power gone out. There were some concerns over the safety of the pathways on the property when snowing and the cabin was hard to locate. Overall, a high rating for the cabin, but not so much the pathway to get to it. The pathway had snow fall into it from the Big Bear cabin and we had to dig it out. Other than the path and the lady that lives above the cabin who yelled at us to stay away from her property, the cabin itself was great. Cabin was well stocked and very comfortable for 8 people.
Toni L. Jan 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Little Bear Cabin immensely! The location was great, the cabin was updated, very clean and absolutely adorable! We would definitely stay here again!
Irena Z. Jan 2016
So nice house and location
Brian S. Jan 2016
Worst rental experience we have ever had! Our group is made up of 30-60 year olds who have rented in Government Camp (and elsewhere) for many years. We thought the price was a little high when booking, but it had a hot tub and the other property we were considering didn't, so we booked it. The first surprises came with the check-in instructions one week prior to our arrival: Only two parking spaces for a rental that actually sleeps 14 (but is advertised as sleeping 12). I immediately call Vacasa to explain most vehicles only seat 4-5 people, where can we park any others? Down in Government Camp and shuttle people back and forth. Fine. Then, there is a threat of a $1,000. fine if the neighbor complains about noise after 10:00 p.m. We were renting during New Year's Eve - what does everyone do New Year's Eve?!?!? They make noise! Fine, we're not a bunch of young kids and we'll be inside mostly anyway.
We arrive at the cabin to find the narrow and long path to the cabin is covered with compact and fresh snow that is very uneven and steep in some places and all very slick. This made packing in all our food, gear, and bags very difficult.
Then the two parking spaces out front were not wide enough for two vehicles, so we had to shovel and dig into the snow-bank to make enough room. While we are digging we meet the renter in the other cabin who has "three" parking spaces. He says he is the only one there and we can use one of his. Great, Thank you! He could only give us one because he only had enough room for two. The owners think since they put up five parking signs, that will make five parking spaces. . . they need a tape measure. The next day, I get a call from Vacasa saying the owner is going to tow our car in the extra space given to us from the renter in the other cabin. I explained the situation to Vacasa and apparently that is ok, because I never heard back. I get another call from Vacasa saying we have our Subaru parked in the neighbor's driveway and it is going to be towed. I explain no one in our group owns a Subaru - not our car. The next night the neighbor comes over furiously banging on the door, screaming for us to move our Subaru. We say "it's not ours." He continues screaming "I know it's yours. they said it is!!!" Didn't say who "they" were, but eventually moved on and found it belonged to someone else in another cabin.
The hot tub (which was the only reason we chose this property) was like warm bath water the first two nights and was finally hot enough to use on our third and final night.
The living area is tiny. There are eight barstools crowded around an island in the kitchen, but not enough space for eight people on them. The space for people in the living room is even less.
Mouse poop in the upstairs master bath.
Very strong, cold draft in the downstairs bathroom.
Hot Tub is surrounded by compact snow, we had to dig stairs along side it so we could climb in without sliding along the snow in our skin.
Cable tv is advertised - it's satellite, which doesn't work if the dish is covered with snow. WIFI is advertised, but is sometimes non existent because the router is in the cabin next door.
This cabin gets two stars because it provided the beds and shelter it promised, but had so many other blood-pressure raising hassles it was not the fun relaxing vacation it was supposed to be. If anyone NEEDS to rent this property because nothing else is available, I would say never in winter with any snow accumulation and don't bring more than eight people - since the parking and living areas won't accommodate any more.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize that your group had a difficult time with the parking options and the neighbors disturbed you during your stay. We have shared your comments with our property manager and they will work with the owners to ensure the home provides a comfortable and accommodating experience for our guests. We hope you had a great time around Mt Hood and made some wonderful memories!
Thomas F. Dec 2015
The house was great!
Gina B. Dec 2014
the property was amazing. The supplies at the cabin were well above what was expected. They provided everything possible even down to the laundry detergent to paper towels in the kitchen. The cleanliness of the cabin was spectacular.
Didn't have the correct key code to get the door key. I had to call Vacasa to get correct key code. What if I couldn't get ahold of anyone, then what would I have done turn around and go home? This is very disturbing. When we got the correct key the lock is so badly keyed we finally got door opened . It took 20 min to get key to turn in lock....NEEd TO GET A Locksmith out their to fix lock. Leaving was just as difficult to lock back up.
WiFi is pretty non existent router in big cabin. Get a service exclusively for little bear. Cost is enough that we should have service. I had to use my hotspot on cell phone.
In email that gives you key access should add wifi password.
The welcome binder said to put garbage out in receptacles outside. No receptacle anywhere so we bagged up trash neatly and left for house cleaners with note.
However the cabin was excellent and provided all comforts of home. Fix the items outlined and they stay would be perfect. I will go back.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback about the cabin. The Property Manager is looking into the door lock, the internet service, and the garbage. We will get these items addressed in the most timely manner possible. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Dave M. Sep 2014
If I was going to stay here again I would have a large enough group of neighborly and less than rowdy individuals to take up both the lil and big bear cabins. Otherwise, I would not stay here again.
Sarah G. Apr 2014
The place was perfect for what we needed. Gov't camp isn't all that exciting, but had some great restaurants, Hood River was close enough to drive to for the day as were the slopes. The house was awesome, bedrooms were a little tight on space, but we really didn't spend any time but sleeping time in them. The kitchen had everything we needed except a baking dish. We were super concerned about making too much noise and not getting fined, but the creek by the house drowned out any noise coming from the inside so it wasn't an issue. We just made sure to stay out of the hot tub after 10 to be sure we kept our outside noise down. The hot tub we shared with Big Bear cabin, I was a little surprised to find that out, but it worked out. Our neighbors in Big Bear were great and we had no conflict of timing with hot tub use. This place was exactly what I was wanting for my birthday weekend.
Sam S. Feb 2014
Definitely coming back! So many ski area nearby and Government Camp is an awesome town.
Brittni V. Jan 2014
While we didn't get the snow we hoped for, this little cabin was big on sleeping spaces and perfect for families with kids. The location is walking distance to town and the Glade Trail is just up the street, perfect for sledding. There were a few maintenance issues that need to be fixed, and the wifi may not work, but otherwise it was a good house for our weekend there. For cooks, be sure to bring 1 or 2 extra baking pans - the kitchen is well stocked with stove-top saute pans and skillets, but not for baking or roasting in the oven. There is no dining table - just a kitchen island with a lot of stools around it. Great for casual meals, but a little cramped for more than 6 and the place sleeps 12.
Deena L. Aug 2013
We had a great time staying at Little Bear. Very clean and it was stocked with everything we needed. We would recommend this cabin!
Greg R. Mar 2012
Let me start by saying how much I loved this cabin. Really charming and in a beautiful little spot in the woods not too far from Government Camp. But you're not reading this for all the ways it's good. So here are my warnings:
- There are plenty of beds and space for people to stretch out once they go to bed, but the kitchen and living room are small. There were 6 of us and kept tripping over each other while we were cooking
-It's tucked behind Big Bear Cabin and if it's snowy it's pretty tough to climb to, even if you're a hearty skier.
-A little pricey for my tastes.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback. We just wanted to let you know that a snow fence has been added for easy access to this cabin.
Frances K. Dec 2011
Everything was perfect. Only thing that we wished we had was a cheese grater. Thanks.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We will add a cheese grater at the house.