Virtual Tour
USA California The Northern California Coast Westport Listing #1985

Ocean Mystique - Westport, CA

79 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 2 Futon 2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Dog Friendly 
37022 Omega Drive, Westport, CA 95488

Dog-friendly home w/ocean views right outside your windows & a private hot tub!

Just back a bit from the bluff's edge, this adorable, two-bedroom Westport vacation rental offers gorgeous panoramic views of the stunning Northern California Coast! View the ocean from the large picture widows, out on the deck while you enjoy a picnic, or while you soak cares away in the luxurious, private hot tub!

Just 16 miles north of Fort Bragg, this quintessential beach cottage offers a laid-back vibe and lots of charm in the peaceful, quiet village of Westport. Right in town you'll have a small community store, a restaurant, and a gas station—in addition to million dollar coastal views!

When you do spend time inside this Westport getaway, you'll delight in an open floor plan, a gas fireplace, and an entertainment system including a stereo with a CD player, a DVD player, VCR, and satellite TV. After a day walking along the sand and building sandcastles (or even watching for whales in the winter and spring), come back to your Ocean Mystique cottage for some R&R in front of the oil-burning, glass-front stove.

The full kitchen and dining room make home-cooked meals an easy task here. There's even WiFi so you can look up a recipe for seafood pasta! And after you're done eating, be sure to spend time on the roomy deck, kicking back and watching an amazing sunset. Newly remodeled, the comfortable furnishings and laid-back atmosphere at this Westport vacation home will surround you with seaside ambiance, whether you're storm watching or reading in the sun on one of the deck's lounge chairs. You will even find a laundry area for your convenience!

The first bedroom has a queen-size bed, with a futon upstairs in the second bedroom for a restful evening. In addition, there's a futon in the living room, allowing up to six guests (and your dogs, for a small nightly fee) to share this special space easily. Bedrooms are outfitted with cozy bedding and convenient accessories like bedside tables and reading lamps, while the futon in the living room is a great location for kids to take over for late-night movie watching, playing, and of course, sleeping.

Just one block away is where you'll find the Westport Community Store for simple groceries or other supplies you might need. Fort Bragg is just a few minutes south on Highway One, with Mendocino a very scenic 10 miles further. Both towns offer more grocery stores, restaurants, unique shops, and galleries! But if you want to stay close to home during your visit, Westport even has its own restaurant—the Old Abalone Pub for afternoon tea, Sunday brunch, dinner, and even espresso drinks!

Whether you visit in winter to whale and storm watch or in summer to bask in bright, sunny days, this Northern California Coast vacation rental in Westport is sure to become a favorite California retreat!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Gas Fireplace

Washer Dryer : Shared

Propane/Gas Home : Propane

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Dish Network

Stereo

TV

VCR

Wireless Router

Miscellaneous

Beach Towels Provided

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Private

Balcony

Deck

Scenic

Water View

Water Front

79 Reviews

Dianna G. Oct 2018
What a lovely location. I could spend weeks in this yard. and the house was clean and easy to enjoy. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Frank D. Oct 2018
The ocean view is wonderful, the house is peaceful and quiet.
The only recommendation is the place needs new beds.
Yvonne S. Sep 2018
The house was nice, the view was spectacular. We saw whale spouts, an amazing amount of stars, the Milky Way and even a planet reflecting on the ocean. The nearby beach was great, we had it all to ourselves all 3 days. The only thing that would have made the stay 5 stars, would be if they upgraded the beds. But we are grateful to have had the opportunity to stay at Ocean Mystique. Thank you.
Steve S. Aug 2018
So quiet, peaceful and perfect. This was a lovely place with amazing views, a hot tub, and generous supplies.
Bjorg G. Jul 2018
We spent 4 nights at this property, and it was mostly great. Views and location are amazing, big windows on the property and it was clean when we arrived.
The downside is that there was no property "manual" or instructions available at the property, the 2 futons provided are extremely uncomfortable (one is very old). Seeing as there is no cell network reception in the area, nor open wifi, and power outages seem to be not that uncommon, it would be very helpful to have printed info available inside the property.
Manager Response:
We appreciate receiving this feedback. We do send information to our guests via their guest portal, and there is a book in the home with information as well. The owner will not be replacing the futons at this time. Thank you!
michael c. Jun 2018
House was very net and clean. beautiful view. be aware that there is not much around there and Ft. Bragg is the nearest town (14 miles). Would be a great place for a romantic get away.
Nancy H. Jun 2018
Beautiful view! Everything was great!
Derik O. Jun 2018
Nice and quiet
Stacey P. May 2018
The view, the best thing about this house is the deck and the view
Brianna F. Apr 2018
This place is a gem, about 15 miles outside of Fort Bragg in an adorable tiny town. Gorgeous views, relaxing environment, and all around wonderful place to get away. Not a ton of hot water for shower but we chose to use jacuzzi for long relaxing warm-ups, and shower to rinse. We will most definitely be back soon, planning already!!
Sheila G. Mar 2018
Loved the view, deck, HOT tub, close to Westport Headlands and stairs to the beach. Cute house with lots of windows to let the sunlight in.
David K. Mar 2018
The views alone make this place special. The house is also nice, quite cozy and thoughtfully furnished.
Bharat Reddy K. Feb 2018
I was awestruck immediately after I entered the room. The location was mind blowing, the place was cozy and the stay wonderful. One thing about the place I would want to comment on is that it has futon in one of the room and thats not very comfortable but considering the awesome location, its a trade off. Overall a nice home and will definitely recommend to everyone with small family.
Debbie E. Oct 2017
Done
Lili T. Sep 2017
The view was great. The house is comfortable for two couples but not anymore.
Andrea W. Sep 2017
House needs a bit of maintenance !
Sumit S. Sep 2017
Location and view is awesome however the amenities are not good enough.
Mickey C. Sep 2017
2nd time there and was completely satisfied .
Ruth O. Aug 2017
This is a fairy land house. It's so cute inside and very clean. I felt at home and very comfortable. I would recommend this house to anyone who loves looking at the ocean.
Samuel N. Jul 2017
Great remote getaway
Gail W. Jul 2017
The house was beautiful and comfortable. There are come things that need fixing but overall it was a great experience. The whale watching was incomparable, the hot tub was great and it served our needs very well. We will rent this house again.
Donna D. Jul 2017
Great view from the deck.
Vishal M. Jun 2017
This is a perfect place for a no-network, peaceful personal time - for one family; or two couples. The view and sounds of waves are mesmerizing and therapeutic. Hot tub especially - loved and used it multiple times. Kids went crazy for it. Also, the kitchen is well equipped - pots and pans, owens, dishwasher, and plenty of cutlery...wine opener.

Check-in and check-out was smooth...
Joanne B. Jun 2017
The view from this house is gorgeous -- the best we've ever had in many years of coastal vacations. Our only gripes were that there is really only one bedroom (with a rather saggy Queen bed). The other bedroom has only a hard futon pull-down couch. The other problem for us was that the 15 mile drive North from Fort Bragg had a stretch about 7 miles long of cliff-side switchbacks and a one-lane area due to half the road having fallen into the sea! This was so unpleasant to drive that we mostly stayed at the house. We just didn't feel able to 'hop in the car' and go back and forth for shopping, sightseeing and to eat at restaurants, especially at night. But....we admit to being elderly and the location of this house is unbeatable.
Kristen M. May 2017
View makes this totally worthwhile. There's not much in the immediate area so plan to bring food for the first night if you plan to check in the evening. This isn't a super swank but very nice for the price and the view.
Laura H. Apr 2017
The house is located along the coast. Though you can't access the water directly from the home, the sounds and sights of the waves are amazing. The town is very sleepy, but in a relaxing kind if way. Next time we'll be sure to eat at the local restaurant. The kitchen is well stocked. Though I had to improvise on a few things, it is stocked enough to bake a cake.
Seth B. Apr 2017
I've stayed here at least 5x and have never been disappointed. It's a great retreat location and perfect for writing, reading, relaxing, meditating, yoga and taking in the magic of the coast. Just get your groceries first in Ft. Bragg or Mendocino so you don't have to head back into town once you arrive.

House is always well kept and has just the right amount of amenities. It's a little on older side, but the deck and hot tub right on the bluff is worth the trip alone. Will be back again for sure.
Gelareh R. Dec 2016
If you are looking for the best ocean view, look no further! Very cute town and most amazing views of the Pacific Ocean made our stay here one we most certainly will not forget.
Jason L. Dec 2016
Great price and location
Nancy A. Nov 2016
Great place for a quiet getaway. View is amazing from every room in the house. Very warm and comfy. Hot tub was great, even used it in the rain. Master bedroom has very comfy queen bed. Other bedroom has a futon. Not a queen bed as advertised. It wes perfect for my husband and I.
Jackie F. Oct 2016
Great views Nice neighborhood. friendly neighbors House needs a little TLC
Roger R. Oct 2016
very nice place on all counts
Brenda S. Sep 2016
Not maintained. No screens on some of the windows or sliding glass doors. Sliding doors open with a lot of effort. Stained carpets and rugs and dirty walls. Floors were very dirty through out. Linens for the studio bed were wadded up on the floor of the closet, so my daughter and I ended up sharing the only bed. Kitchen counter tiles were caked with grime. Pot and pans in extremely bad condition. Unfortunately, the view can't make up for the condition of the house.
Manager Response:
We are disappointed to see that this guest did not have a better experience. The sliding door is regularly lubricated to help with opening it. The carpets have been replaced, and we will soon have painters in the home to repaint the walls. The kitchen tiles have been cleaned, and new pots and pans are in the home.
Luisa K. Sep 2016
We loved staying at the Ocean Mystique. The house is well equipped and clean, but the best thing is the porch with gorgeous oceanviews and a hot tub! We hope to be back soon :-)
Mickey C. Sep 2016
Fantastic location - house could use a little TLC but the views help overlook the shortcomings.
Edward H. Aug 2016
Reasonably priced. Nothing fancy but view well worth it.
Scot M. Jul 2016
good place to rest
Jessica M. Jul 2016
The view was amazing and easy to see from the whole house. We enjoyed the hot tub and quick, easy walk to the little beach. The house was comfortable and had everything we needed. It does need a little TLC though. The neighbors were nice and the community was quiet. Fort Bragg is a short, beautiful drive away and has everything you need.
Ric H. Jun 2016
This is a great rental in a great, serene, location in a friendly and low-stress zone of Northern California. It held up to its description, but we had no notice of the cooktop and oven not working properly, and the microwave was completely out of order. Therefore, much of the food we brought went wasted and we had to eat out more than expected. The stove and cooktop are 1960's or 1970's vintage, so this is far past time to replace. The microwave is newer and easy to replace - just do it! About 6 of the 28 hot tub jets actually work, but it was still a nice place to sit and enjoy the ocean. Anyway, all-in-all it was a great place to stay; just plan accordingly for cooking.
Manager Response:
A new microwave and stove have been installed; we apologize for the inconvenience of not having these.
Tanya H. May 2016
My husband and I spent a long weekend there with our dogs and the best part was hanging out on the back deck watching the waves while sipping mimosas. There are nearby beaches to walk along and Ft Bragg has plenty of shops and restaurants to enjoy. We will definitely be back!
Lydia And Shannon G. Feb 2016
I found several amazing locations through Vacasa.
We were very happy with our mini vacation in Westport/Fort Bragg/Mendocino!
Perfect place to celebrate any occasion! Highly recommend going through Vacasa for rentals.
Elizabeth M P. Jan 2016
The description on line is better than the house really is. NO queen sized bed anywhere in the house. Lots of bugs on the main level floors every day upon rising in the morning. Furnace that doesn't work as easily as they say. NO Privacy!!! Neighbors are too close and lots of service people stopping by without the guests being told ahead of time
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that you did not have a better experience while staying here. The furnace has been recently serviced and tested by our Property Manager and is working well. A pest control treatment program has been started on the home and is proving to be successful so far. This home does have neighbors, but it is fenced and has its own space. These guests ran into service technicians because they arrived a bit early, and we do our very best to respect guest privacy and not interfere with any visits. The Property Manager will re-measure the bed to make sure we have the correct size listed. We greatly appreciate your feedback.
LaBonte E. Jan 2016
The Ocean Mystique was just the right size for 2 couples. The view from the large back deck is truly amazing! The hot tub added a serene ambiance , we enjoyed it while watching the sunset. Great quiet location to "get away from it all".
Harriet And John R. Jan 2016
Pros:
Amazing scenery, close access to beach within walking distance, quiet neighborhood/private, very secluded area & lots of wildlife, drive into Fort Bragg for groceries and civilization supplies is pretty, disc golf course up the street--also amazing views and wildlife, beds and living room furniture very comfortable, TV & wifi for after sundown amusement, kitchen well stocked with utensils and cookware (except a toaster, we found one that had definitely been on fire at some point, so back in the cupboard it went), washer & dryer were very helpful as we spent the bulk of our time hiking and exploring. Best part: waking up to the sound of surf and getting to look out onto the ocean first thing :)

Cons:
This house was probably amazeballs in 1989. But it's 2016. We walked into piles of bugs on the floors downstairs (and ended up vacuuming--who does that on vacation?). Main heat source is a gas stove that wouldn't light (seemed like gas wasn't even actually connected) but phone calls to management went unanswered, so we rummaged and found space heaters for warmth during our stay, in January. Hot tub was murky and over-dosed on chemicals. Ants will find anything edible you set down for more than 10 minutes. Westport seems to have a population of stray cats, many of whom use the deck as their lair. Door handles felt unsecured and we returned one afternoon to find the front door blown wide open. Showers are cramped, and didn't use the bathtub, which was also mildly disappointing in size, but the downstairs bathroom is sheer 80's brilliance, fyi.

Overall it's quaint, has all the basics, plenty of space to hang out inside and out, decks are awesome upstairs and down, but the 'classiness' of the amenities is lacking. It reminded me of staying at the family cabin: bugs, stale air, dust and all, not quite as 'resort' quality as I'd expected from online appearances. Maybe we were just the first to stay this season and the upkeep is minimal during off-peak times, but it showed. This is our second 'vacation home' type rental--different companies--and it honestly fell short of our expectations...having to vacuum, less than enjoyable hot tub, no heat...minor details on their own, but in combination it created a not-terrible but not quite great experience.
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The Property Manager has been provided with your review so he can look into the items that caused problems for you - especially the heat! We hope that you found the home enjoyable after you were all settled in!
Angela W. Dec 2015
We spent a nice holiday here. Although neighbors are close, you only notice the beautiful view.
Virginia W. Nov 2015
This cottage has some charms, but basic comfort was sadly lacking. The one queen bed (two were advertised) was terribly uncomfortable, nor was there a comfy chair upstairs for ocean viewing. Many small 'amenities' were broken or not useable-- a busted cd player, arm-wrenching slider doors,a mystery gas stove. The view is gorgeous, however, and the stray cats very gracious as they gather for food on the deck. Needs TLC-- plus a good bed.
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We regret to see that you were not more satisfied with your stay. The Property Manager has been given a list of the maintenance items that need attention so he can work on them with the owner. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the wonderful view and hope you were able to relax in the hot tub as well!
Linda P. Oct 2015
Beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. Convienient location. Deck and hot tub overlook is spectacular.
Maria L. Oct 2015
The house accommodated six adults comfortably, we cooked meals and everything that we needed for cooking was available may be a newer baking pan would be nice other than that everything was wonderful the shampoo and conditioner and soap's and Kleenex provided in the bathroom were nice. We would definitely recommend this vacation rental and return to the house. The backyard view is amazing to hear the ocean all day all night long and as you're sitting in the hot tub is so relaxing!
Cheryl S. Sep 2015
We enjoyed this property and it's proximity to the Pacific Star Winery, where my daughter had her wedding. Other guests stayed at the Inn a block away. This is a beautiful, relaxing location. Unfortunately the weather was not the best and we did not get to fully utilize the deck, but it would be perfect for every meal. I wish we had time to walk down to the beach, but we were pretty busy preparing for her big day.
Jean C. Sep 2015
Ocean Mystique is so peaceful - yet within driving distance of many great beaches, parks, the Redwoods, restaurants and grocery stores. There are two grocery stores in Ft. Bragg. We liked the Harvest Market - Great selection of "To Go" dishes. Walks around the little town of Westport are fun meeting many
of the local people who live there year round or part year. WiFi service at
Ocean Mystique is excellent.



Susan & Arnie S. Aug 2015
House is extremely clean and comfortable. Can't beat the ocean view out the living/dining room and bedroom windows. Great deck for ocean viewing, reading, eating, relaxing. Very quiet location. Excellent for exploring nearby beaches. No nearby restaurants so pack in your own food and enjoy eating in watching the waves and rocks!
Partima N. Aug 2015
Spent 4 nights here. Overall it was great, location-view-comfort, we had a great time. Nice to hear the waves, see the ocean. Went to beach nearby. Corner store has a lot of things. We cooked everyday. BBQ grill rusty, take your charcoal and foil. Pots n pans hv lot of oil marks, stove slow to start but worked well. Did not use oven, but it looks very used. Jacuzzi was enjoyed the most. But in evening my kids got bored as tv did not hv anything appropriate. Has dish but only few channels, remote did not work and when i called about it they were not able to help.Staying out on the deck is very nice but gets too sunny. Beautiful sunset. Fireplace warms up the house, used in mornings. Upstairs qbed comfortable. Did not use other bedroom. Took the mattress downstairs. Plenty of towels. Wonderful house to stay at but with some tlc it would be better.
Wesley D. Aug 2015
The pictures don't do the cottage justice. We were very happy with our stay here the home had everything we could have needed. The house is very open and bright and the views are some of the best I have seen. I spent alot of my time on the back deck with my dogs just relaxing to the sound of waves crashing against the rocks. Evenings we're spent back there also playing cards with the kids and in the hot tub winding down the day. I can't say enough about how relaxing and wonderful the home is we will definitely be back and it's worth every penny you spend renting it.
Nanbipfti S. Aug 2015
Everything is good and little improvement needed on wifi part it is 0.2 MBPS..i wish would be at least 10 MBPS to browse decently..as this place doesn't have any mobile networks.
Apart from that..no second thought of giving 5 Stars..Thank you for letting us stay.
Linda W. Jul 2015
2 couples spent a week here. It was super. 2 bedrms. And 2 bathrms. In a perfect place.
Santiago G. Jun 2015
had a great time in a awesome location
Andrew W. Jun 2015
The location and views earn this place a 4-stars right off of the bat. The back deck area is where most of our time was spent and it was time well spent. There is staircase down to a "private" beach within a 1/4 mile walk of the property that I wish we had known about earlier in our stay.

Overall had a great time, but did have a few minor complaints. Primarily the bed(s) were not very comfortable so we didn't quite get the sleep that we were expecting to at such a relaxing place. And lastly, although we didn't visit the property to use the TV, we were a little upset that the TV is probably 20 years old and thus does not have an HDMI input, leaving our Apple TV useless for the stay.
Manager Response:
Thanks for your review and feedback. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the location as well as the gorgeous view this home offers. Guest feedback is extremely helpful in ensuring we can quickly address concerns. We value your feedback about the beds and television and will follow up with the local staff immediately. We apologize that this affected your stay. Thanks for choosing Vacasa!
Katherine W. Jun 2015
This cottage is well appointed and very comfortable. It was great for a romantic get-away but would be a fun place for an escape with a small group of good friends. There is only one bed but two futons would make space for guests. We've often found that rental homes don't always have the most comfortable furniture in the living room for hanging out. This home is an exception. We found the couches in the TV area welcoming. The fast and easy Wifi was great! The hot tub is immaculate and relaxing in it and watching the surf was a wonderful way to begin and end our days. The house is directly on the bluff and the waves crash spectacularly on the rocks below.
Leah C. May 2015
This place was absolute heaven. The view from every window was great, but of course couldn't beat the backyard. The deck was fantastic for all meals, just lounging or a dip in the hot tub. The house was in great condition, very clean and comfy. I would HIGHLY recommend this location to anyone looking and can't wait to return to it again one day.
Manager Response:
We are so glad you enjoyed the beautiful views that Ocean Mystique has to offer and that you recommend it to friends. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Thank you for choosing Vacasa.
Michelle P. Apr 2015
This property was a wonderful family getaway and vacation spot. We had a wonderful relaxing time. Staff answered all questions quickly and efficiently.