Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Southern Oregon Coast Coos Bay Listing #2194

HATS House - Coos Bay, OR

93 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
89970 Cape Arago Hwy, Coos Bay, OR 97420

Dog-friendly home w/ a wood-burning fireplace & ocean views - close to the beach

This oceanview Coos Bay vacation rental boasts a beautiful location, pet-friendly attitude, and room for a large family, so prepare for an amazing trip to the Southern Coast!

Located about three miles down the highway from Charleston, this home is in a lovely, secluded, wooded area right next to Sunset Bay State Park. While you're here you can walk over to the sandy beach, visit nearby Charleston, or take a scenic 20-minute drive into Coos Bay for shopping and dining.

With three bedrooms and a loft, this home is ideal for a family traveling with children. There is even a ramp leading up to the back door, so any guests who may have trouble with stairs will be comfortable here.

When you're inside, head into the bright and airy living room and have a seat on the leather sofa or one of the armchairs. A wood-burning fireplace keeps the space extra cozy, and a TV is perched in the corner. Throughout the home you will have many entertainment options, including cable TV, DVD and VCR players with a selection of movies, board games and books to borrow, and WiFi access.

A full kitchen is stocked with all the necessary appliances and tools you may need to feed your group of hungry vacationers. There are four seats at the breakfast bar area, plus a dining room table with room for eight. This is a perfect way to enjoy a hot breakfast together before heading out for a day of exploring the coastline and nearby towns!

This main level also has one bathroom and two bedrooms. The first bedroom features a queen-size bed and ocean views, and the second has a luxuriously large king bed. This king bedroom also has access via a ladder to a sleeping loft that has a full-size bed, so this space is ideal for a couple of older children who may want to stay close to their parents.

Upstairs is the master bedroom, which offers a king-size bed, gorgeous ocean views, a sitting area, and even a children's play area complete with a TV and VCR. This upper level also has the second full bathroom. There is an additional loft accessible by a pull-down ladder in the dining room that features two twin beds and would be another excellent place for children to sleep. All in all, this home can easily accommodate as many as six adults and up to four children for a total of 10 guests.

This house also has a laundry room, which will surely come in handy after a few days of playing on the beach and running around the large, grassy backyard. This is a pet-friendly property, so feel free to bring up to two dogs with you! Please note that a nightly pet fee will apply. Let the kids and dogs run around the backyard while the adults relax on the deck.

Because this home is so close to the sandy beach of Sunset Bay, you can easily walk over to the shore and play in the shallow surf. This area is also a great place for paddle-boarding and even surfing, and you can go boating or crabbing in the nearby Coos Bay. Passing right by the house is a trail system that links to Sunset Bay State Park and Bastendorf Beach State Park, so you can enjoy a nice walk to the parks without having to walk along the highway! This region has ample hiking and mountain-biking trails, and - of course - the famous Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area stretches to the north of Coos Bay and attracts ATV riders and sandboarders from all over the country.

In Charleston, just a few minutes up the road, you will find a quiet bayfront town with a few eateries and a marina. If you cross the bridge and drive into Coos Bay or neighboring North Bend, you will encounter many more restaurants, shops, grocery stores, and even a casino where you can try your luck. If you want to drive south along the coast, you will reach charming Bandon in about 35 minutes. There you can take a horseback ride on the beach, walk around the lovely downtown boardwalk area, or enjoy a round of golf at the renowned Bandon Dunes Golf Resort. With so much adventure to be had in this region, make sure to leave time to explore!

This gorgeous oceanview, pet-friendly Southern Oregon Coast vacation rental has everything you need to have a wonderful getaway with your loved ones!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Golf on-site

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable : Charter

DVD player

TV

VCR

VHS library

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water view

93 reviews

Roger M. Jul 2019
Fabulous weather! Hats house was in a perfect location for awesome beaches within walking distance. Great week with the family.
SHIRLEY S. May 2019
I really hate to give this fantastic house an average review. :( Although we enjoyed our stay for the most part - there were 3 issues for which I am deducting stars. -1 star for no propane at grill. -1 star for no access to locked hot tub. -1 star for no answer to the customer service number that was provided in instruction book to call about first two issues which could have been resolved, but ultimately weren't. Aside from that, the house is great. Location was not too far from where my parents live and right down the street from my favorite oyster and crab markets. Disappointing that we were not able to grill our oysters as I stopped to grab those before checking in thinking we would have a fantastic grilled oyster dinner. :( Plenty of space for our family as everyone had their own bed and room. I would definitely stay again if they could fix their issues - and answer their phone if called for assistance at the house.
Deborah M. Apr 2019
Everything you could possibly need for cooking.
Justin C. Mar 2019
Definitely will be back!!!
Beth C. Jan 2019
It was a great house to have family and friends gather for a holiday feast and time together, The kitchen is extremely well equipped with enough dishes for cooking and eating. The house was large enough that my grandchildren had places to play without being under everyone's feet.
Tracy S. Nov 2018
Everything was just perfect! From easy check in to easy check out. Perfect for each family member.
Harry B. Nov 2018
The location was quiet and peaceful. Food and dog hair under the furniture. Hot tub Was not operating because of a recent ordinance code. Wished they would have informedusprior to our arrival. Cold in the living room, downstairs Master bedroom even with the temperature set at 84 degrees. Had to move to the upstairs bedroom to keep warm during the night. Maintainence guy finally brought over a radiant heater after several days that finally made it comfortable for the rest of our stay. DVD player didn’t work and there was only enough wood to last a couple of days at most. An egg was stuck to the floor under the dishwasher along with a dirty tennis ball. No protecter floor plate under the dishwasher. Dishes were dirty with stuck food. My wife and me spent most of the day cleaning. Comforter had what appeared to be a blood stain. Had to wash it. This place needs heavy cleaning and maintenance work.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see our guest was disappointed with their experience here. The hot tub found at this property is not advertised nor pictured on our listing, so we are surprised to see our guest felt the need to be informed beforehand it would not be available. We did send a tech out within a few hours of receiving the call about the heat not working, and he found the heat working as it should. Despite this, he did bring a heater to help our guests feel more at home. We did refund our guest for their inconveniences. Thank you!
Deanna B. Oct 2018
Very nice home for a group of people with plenty of room for everyone to have their own space.
Dorothy P. Oct 2018
We were traveling with six adults so enjoyed the larger living space to spread out & visit.
William G. Sep 2018
It was close to several great beaches and parks. Handled lots of people well. Hot tub was nice. Lots of parking. Big yard and trails up into the hills. We will stay there again. Bill Galli
Roger C. Aug 2018
Our family had a wonderful time.
glenda j. Jul 2018
Room for a larger family getaway with the beach a walk away.
Megan T. Jun 2018
We had a blast staying here. Our 4 kids loved the lofts and the old VHS kid movies were a great nostalgic bonus.
Michelle T. May 2018
We had a great time and everything we needed was right at our fingertips. The location was perfect for our needs to go clamming, great lunch at Miller's and crabbing all within a short distance. We would definitely go back.
Giles T. May 2018
Great Space lots of privacy perfect for a getaway at the Oregon
steven G. May 2018
The house is great for a group or multiple families. Has nice deck, BBQ and hot tub. Plenty of towels, sheets and so on. Ample parking. Great setting and view of ocean from up stairs.
Plenty of nice plates and kitchen stuff. we had a very relaxed stay and wish we could have had a couple more days. short walk to awesome beach state park, good eats just few miles up the road. Fisherman Grotto
Julie S. Apr 2018
I loved how amply supplied the house was. I absolutely loved how attentive Vacasa was. I would recomend it to anyone in my family and to friends. Thanks for a memorable family reunion.
Ted M. Apr 2018
The house worked out great. Another great easter in Coos Bay!
Joshua W. Mar 2018
This place was in a perfect location. The house had plenty of room for our whole family. i would definitely stay here again!
Sherry B. Feb 2018
I will stay here again. This is well kept and roomy enough for a larger group. Plenty of dinnerware and spices etc.
the cut wood ready for a fire is awesome! A television in the master bedroom would have been nice. I have recommended this to others who will be staying there soon
David C. Feb 2018
nice place very clean
Deborah B. Jan 2018
On my last stay, I had sprained my ankle very badly because of the different levels in the floor that were not indicated. This time, they were indicated with bright yellow tape. Thank you.
Jamus Q. Dec 2017
This house is perfect for a beach getaway. The fireplace made it very cozy when it got cold outside.
Leiann C. Nov 2017
This house has a great layout. We spent a family vacation there with 5 adults and a child. Plenty of room for more people. The kitchen had everything we needed. It poured most of the time we were there, but since the hot tub is covered and close to the back door it was a great time to enjoy it.
Lee P. Oct 2017
We enjoyed the house and the location. Being able to have our dog was great. There were several house keeping issues that need to be addressed but overall a nice home.
Manager response:
We will work with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards are met. Thank you!
Greg M. Oct 2017
...........the house lacked some cleaning under the furniture and outside on the deck. Overall we enjoyed our visit, the beach was nice, not to far.We had a good time, I would rent the house again next time we go to the Coos Bay / Charleston area.
Monica B. Sep 2017
The house could have been in much better shape
The location is nice, but the house itself needs work
The staff was great
Wendy A. Aug 2017
Excellent layout and location for family visit!
Sherry C. Aug 2017
The house was in an amazing location right down the street from the beach. The home had plenty of room for all of our family. The kitchen had every pot, pan, appliance, and silverware we needed. I would have liked to have access to a mop and vacuum. We stayed a week and wanted to clean up the dust and sand daily. We had an opportunity to meet the owner, he was a very nice gentleman. He helped trouble shoot the heater for us.
Jim & Connie K. Jun 2017
We were at the beach for a wedding at Sunset Bay. This was a perfect house for our family. The kitchen is well stocked with almost everything you could need. The house is clean & comfortable. We did pay extra to be able to use the hot tub but we did not use it because the water was cloudy & merky & we felt that it was unclean. It is a fun house for the kids. Beds are comfy.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see the hot tub appeared dirty for this reservation. It has been drained, cleaned, and the filter has been replaced. The Property Manager's phone number is posted in the home for guests to call if they need assistance with amenities during their stay. Thanks!
Donald D. Jun 2017
Nice house, good location for several parks and the town.
Debra L. Jun 2017
Very clean, comfortable, cozy home. Kitchen nicely equipped, beds were super comfy! Great location. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you for sharing this lovely home and at a very affordable price.
Christopher M. May 2017
A lovely home not far from the beach. Lots of room and well stocked.
Melinda C. May 2017
House was smaller then pictures suggest, but an overall nice stay.
Maddie S. Apr 2017
Lots of nooks and hidden features that is fun for all ages. Upstairs shower had mold in it and we weren't comfortable showering in that. But overall beautiful property very close to some of my favorite beaches. GPS doesn't take you to the house so once you find it "drop a pin" when sending the address to others
Genevieve S. Apr 2017
Overall a nice home. Plenty of room for the whole family. Kids loved the loft and we loved the hot tub. The dryer wasn't working. We did a load of laundry and had to pack our clothes wet after waiting for a few hours to attempt to dry them. Someone should fix that, but overall a pleasant stay.
Manager response:
We are glad to see this guest enjoyed this home and would like to apologize for the inconvenience they experienced while doing laundry. It turned out to be a flipped breaker causing the dryer to not work.
Jill M. Apr 2017
This house is built to use every inch of space. The three bedrooms are good sized, especially the upstairs one, with a sitting area with beach view. There are also several open, small lofts with beds that would suit children or teens best. Two generous bathrooms. Furniture is comfortable and in good shape. Property has lots of space around it and is bright and open with good windows. Home is in good condition. Room for larger group at dining room table. So close to Sunset Bay park with trail behind the house that will loop up and back, coming in through campground to beach trail. Kitchen functional to cook for a crowd. We celebrated my dad's 90th birthday and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed our stay very much!
Shyiel S. Mar 2017
We loved the HATS house. We will definitely be booking it again. It's a big beautiful house that is well maintained. We cooked many meals at the house however we wished there were more garbage bags, laundry, and dishwashing soap available too use. The chocolates in the lighthouse on the kitchen counter were delicious. The staff was so helpful when my grandparents couldn't get into the house they showed up on sight to assist them! Overall a very wonderful experience and look forward to staying again.

Ps. If you're using google maps it does not take you to the house. Start looking for the address a mile before google says you are there.
Candice W. Mar 2017
We had so much fun staying here. Everything was fantastic
Eric C. Mar 2017
We have rented this house before and had a great time there. This time around there were multiple maintenance/housekeeping issues that lowered the rating. I have full confidence the problems we had will be addressed and this rental will be back to it's full potential.
Bruce S. Jan 2017
This spacious house had three bedrooms, one of which had a loft bed in addition to a king size bed. There was also another sleeping loft accessible by fold down stairs. The large master suite upstairs had a view of the ocean and a beautiful bath. The kitchen was well-equipped with ample eating areas - two tables plus chairs at the breakfast bar. We visited in December so it was pretty cold. The rooms had individual heaters and the fireplace wood stove insert provided a lot of cozy heat. All in all it was a clean, comfortable place to stay in an absolutely beautiful area.
Shasta H. Dec 2016
More effective heat source and a different TV in the living room would be great, but other than that it was a fantastic house :)

thank you!
Nova P. Dec 2016
A lovely house that accommodated 3 families coming together. The covered hot tub was a great addition on the rainy winter day.
Cecilia C. Dec 2016
Very Nice vacation rental with plenty of room for all. The living room is very comfy with a wood stove and plenty of dry firewood. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to enjoy large meals. The large upstairs bedroom has a nice and only view of the ocean. Beware of the narrow driveway if you are bringing your boat for fishing and crabbing otherwise large enough for multiple cars. The house is very clean with updated furnishings. This house is nicer than other rentals in the area.
Lanni M. Nov 2016
Great location, easy to find, great hot tub. This house is comfortable and the kids love all the extra cubbies and hidden places to sleep/play. The house is roomy enough for two families to enjoy without bumping into each other.
Peter S. Oct 2016
we had a great time
Chelsey H. Aug 2016
Very comfortable house. Close to beaches and amenities.
Katherine M A. Aug 2016
Our grandchildren loved the several sleeping areas (lofts). Great location for beaches, and easy access to North Bend and Coos Bay. Very nicely updated appliances and interior.
Corey H. Jul 2016
Spacious home, lots of amenities, easy access to the beach and small trails. Did some clamming in Charleston Bay, very fun! We really enjoyed the HATs house. A very memorable family trip!
Guy G. Jul 2016
Everything was exceptional! This property was the best that we have stayed in.
Victor P. Jul 2016
There was 4 adults and 4 children (13, 8, 8, 2) in our party. The house was spacious and very comfortable. You can hear the ocean from the house. This house was very close to where we launched our boat (Charleston), between two beaches and a short drive to the Botanical Gardens. We had a two year old in our party and I didn't bring a baby gate so she tried to climb the stairs and ladders to the lofts. The driveway was a lot thinner than we thought from the pictures which only is a problem if your towing long boats (Ours was 21 inches so not huge). Pulling in we only dipped on the side a little. We also had a trailer with 4 wheelers that got in fine. Once inside the driveway we were able to turn around. The kids really enjoyed the house and thought the hideaway loft was really cool. They also found a "dinosaur trail" around the side of the house into the wooded area. Helpful Hint: DO NOT rely on Google Maps do get you here. I typed in the address and put it on navigate. It took us a mile further down the road to Sunset Bay Campground.
Kathleen T. Jul 2016
We have a very big family and to find a house that could sleep so many was amazing! We rented another house in Bandon and it was not nearly as nice! The hidden "Harry Potter" and extra places were very cool for kids. Pet friendly, Great yard and very close to beach access. We loved it! We will be back!
George B. Jul 2016
We loved this place. it was clean, organized and kid friendly. We are already talking about staying there again. Five grandkids and they were never bored. Hot tub was a very good time.
Terrie O. Jun 2016
South Oregon coast is beautiful and area restaurants are great !
Richard B. Jun 2016
We went to family reunion and had 3 couples and 2 teenage girls staying at house. The house was very clean and the loft was a hit with the girls as well as the hot tub. Will put on our list of future stays.
Sharra S. May 2016
We will definitely be back. The house and location were perfect for our group of 8.
Cathy Z. May 2016
We had a wonderful stay. The home had plenty of room for 6 adults, 1 newborn and a couple dogs. We'd stay again!
MARGARET E. May 2016
This is a nice clean house with very comfy beds. So close to a state Park with a wonderful beach.
Peter S. May 2016
3 rd time there
Rene C. Apr 2016
The house was great, especially for the kids. They loved the lofts and 'secret room'. The beds were almost too comfortable, since it was hard to get out of them in the morning to go on our adventures. The house is so close to adventures too - the Cape Arago area had so many options for hikes and other things to do. We brought kayaks, bikes, a boogie board and other surf 'toys' and used them all - except for the kites, which we would have taken out but ran out of time. We even went crabbing and clamming with another family who were staying at a different rental house in Empire, right off the tidal flats where we caught our limit in clams within an hour an a half. We planned for a week and still didn't do everything we could have. We will definitely have to come back!
Shari K. Apr 2016
This place is awesome! We had a great time! My kids really liked the lofts and all the hind and seek places. It's really a beautiful house. If you use navigation, only use it until you get to HWY 101 Coos Bay. At this point make sure to use the directions that were given to you from Vacasa. Navigation will send you to the wrong location.
Judy M. Mar 2016
Everything about this home is wonderful! The furniture, the layout, the amenities, etc. Perfect for more than one family with or without children. The location is spectacular for visiting Coos Bay and nearby State Parks!
Eric C. Feb 2016
This house was a great find for our 2 families - 4 adults, 5 kids - with plenty of room for everyone (the kids kept switching up which loft they wanted to sleep in), and space for them to roam outside (including a "jungle" path). There are beautiful ocean views, however walking access to the beach isn't direct - about 1/4 mile up the road for one access point, and then Sunset Beach is south about 1/2-1 mile and Bastendorff (our favorite of the local beaches) is north about a mile or so. Charleston is a very short drive (less than 5 min) and they have all the extras you may have forgotten, and is a fun little town on it's own. Kitchen has a waffle iron - BIG hit with the kids - and the washer/dryer was a great amenity - big hit with the moms. It's nice there are 2 rooms with king sized beds, as we had 2 couples. Also - to be clear - in the lofts there are 2 twin beds in one loft, and a double bed in another. We had 3 boys and had thought there was a double and twin in one loft, so we assumed that would be boys headquarters, but instead they all took turns between the 2 lofts. All in all - it was a GREAT time, GREAT location, GREAT amenities - we are already planning another trip back.
Scott L. Feb 2016
Great home. Clean. Well furnished. Comfortable. We met for a family gathering with kids ranged from 6 to 15. They all had a blast for 3 days playing hide and seek in the house. They couldn't get enough of All the attic spaces and cubbies. Will def be back
David P. Jan 2016
This was an amazing house to spend our weekend at. Our Grandaughters fell in love with the loft spaces and the hot tub. We would definitely stay here again if we needed a place on the Southern Coast.
Deborah B. Jan 2016
My family really enjoyed our stay here.
Eric F. Dec 2015
We celebrated our holiday here at the HATS house. This is a great place...plenty of room for my six kiddos, best friend, husband, and I. The furnishings are luxurious and we really appreciated the attention to detail. We felt right at home, and the children are already planning next year's trip.
Jennifer B. Dec 2015
We stayed at the HATS house with our kids and grandchildren and had the best time. The house was clean, very child friendly, close enough to the beach to walk, really just everything we could have asked for to make our family vacation fun and relaxing for all of us. We loved that we were also able to bring our 3 dogs along. We will definitely be coming back for future vacations!
Tori E. Nov 2015
Our kids (ages 1, 3, 6, and 12) LOVED the oversized plush animals. The upstairs room with the two sitting areas made a nice quiet place for adults or kids to relax. Everyone enjoyed the fireplace and hot tub. Such a treat.
This house is great for big or multiple families. Very accommodating for sleeping and eating.
Ellen H. Aug 2015
Fabulous place to stay! Close to shopping, crabbing walking, beach. We would Definately stay again.
Susan W. Aug 2015
This is clean and comfortable house near Sunset Beach in Coos Bay. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and the furnishings are comfy. We were two couples and a dog and found the property a wonderful place to visit and enjoy the Oregon coast. The hot tub was an added bonus!
Misty T. May 2015
I rented this house for my daughters 16th birthday. It was big enough for family to join us. It gave us all a chance to spend quality time together and we enjoyed playing at the dunes and sunset bay just down the road from the house. Thank you for the fun times!
David L. Apr 2015
Quiet location, Great property, all the amenities of home while on vacation. Central to many local attractions and locations. Will definitely stay here during our coastal trips in the future!
David H. Apr 2015
Perfect size for our 2 families 4 adults 4 kids. Kids loved the big yard. We would definitely stay here again.