Virtual Tour
USA California South Lake Tahoe South Lake Tahoe Listing #3586

Foxglove Terrace - South Lake Tahoe, CA

63 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms Dog-friendly  (25 lb weight limit) 
2082 Lukins Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Dog-friendly cabin with private hot tub near Camp Richardson marina.

This dog-friendly South Lake Tahoe vacation cottage is cozy, quaint, conveniently located, and has everything you want in a South Shore getaway. With a hot tub, furnished patio with gas grill, and being just a short distance from Camp Richardson marina and the Tahoe Keys, your family of six will adopt this as a home away from home.

If you come to Tahoe for skiing, visit Heavenly Mountain Resort just seven-and-a-half miles east. Have a heavenly summer when you visit for its breathtaking aerial gondola rides, zip-line adventures, and hiking. Just a bit past the resort is the state-line, where you will find Harrah's, Harvey's, and Zephyr Cover: all less than nine miles from the home.

Foxglove Terrace offers a homey atmosphere for those wanting to relax. Share meals made on the gas grill on the sun-drenched deck (a.k.a. the hot tub zone). The living room is equipped with the amenities you want - a flatscreen TV with DVD and plenty of cushy seating. There's even a VHS library that will make you feel nostalgic!

Fix breakfast in the fully stocked kitchen, which includes must-haves like a coffee maker and toaster. A bold color pairing of cerulean and ruby red alongside the eye catching hardwood floor (which has been well-maintained since 1956 when the home was built) in the kitchen will inspire you.

All six of your guests will have a private place to sleep after a full day outdoors. One of the living room sofas pulls out into a comfy bed, while each bedroom has a queen bed (one in a sleigh-style frame) and TV, as well as access to the Jack and Jill bathroom with a walk-in shower. There's also a washer and dryer in the home.

Not many South Lake Tahoe vacation cabins are pet friendly, so being able to bring your dog here is a real treat. Note that there is an additional pet fee.

Bring your bikes, because you'll want to take to the nearby paths and explore together. Strap your kayaks to your SUV, because you'll want to take them up to Camp Richardson just over one-and-a-half miles away. Indulge in a meal at Beacon Bar and Grill after paddling on the crystal-blue lake then head home and soothe your muscles in the hot tub.

In addition to nearby Camp Richardson and Heavenly Mountain for outdoor Tahoe activities, you'll find plenty of restaurants and shopping, too. Have a brunch and boutique morning at Heavenly Village. Bring the family to Magic Carpet Miniature Golf or play a full round at Bijou Golf Course. However you decide to spend your time off, there will be a hot tub waiting for you!

Bring your friends, family, and your dog to this Lake Tahoe vacation rental!

Please note that this home does not have central heating and can get chilly in the Winter. Prepare to bundle up.

ANIMALS: Tahoe is home to many animals. You may experience bears, raccoons, mice, ants, spiders and other animals. Meadows are home to many rodents. When these areas are filled with water or snow, these animals move to homes in the area. You may experience these animals in or near your home.
1 large dog or 2 small dogs are allowed at this home. If dogs are left alone, they must be left in a crate. An extra fee applies.
This home has no A/C.
IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU READ THE CITY ORDINANCES REGARDING VACATION RENTALS BEFORE BOOKING.

Guests staying at a South Lake Tahoe rental must adhere to all City Ordinances. In addition to noise, trash disposal, and parking rules, maximum occupancy cannot be exceeded under any circumstance. Fines of up to $2000 will be imposed by The City of South Lake Tahoe, without warning, for any violations.

*To book this home, you must be 25 years of age or older. All other guests must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by their parent or guardian.
*Please note that children of all ages count towards occupancy.

Property permit ID: 103476
Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Gas fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Space heater

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable : Charter

DVD player

Stereo

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Beach towels

Iron

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Enclosed yard

63 reviews

Rachael B. Apr 2019
We scored a great deal on this rental near the bike path entrance near Camp Richardson. The hot tub was definitely the highlight. The bed in the master was a bit squeaky, but very comfortable and I really liked the linens. Hot tub towels and the little gift bag was a great addition. Also, a little cottontail bunny stays in the front yard. She is cute, please make her feel as comfy as possible.

There are a couple things I think could improve the property:
Using more of the backyard to create more of an oasis
Nice lounge chairs, or an update table/chairs perhaps.

This house backs to a heavy used road, so please expect some road noise when you are outside.

Overall we really enjoyed the property for the 2 of us. We were able to walk to places for eating and take nice walks, bikerides from the property. We would definitely come back.
Rosemary F. Apr 2019
It’s a good place .. felt really comfortable in this cabin .: my kids really like the place too they did not want to leave especially because the jacuzzi
They have everything you need , and store are really close by really like this place
Devin C. Mar 2019
We booked the Floxglove Terrace for a weekend get away. It was a perfect fit for two couples and a pup. Location was great, not too far removed from activity locations but far enough to enjoy some piece and quiet. The house had everything we needed, including extra space if we had needed it.
Ashlyn C. Mar 2019
The beds in this place are amazing! And the big living room with plenty of couches is great for board games and hanging out with friends. The hot tub is an extra bonus. I highly recommend for 2 couples.
Andrew P. Jan 2019
Vacasa was very informative and easy to get in touch with at all times. Keypad entry was convenient. Home was spotless. Fully stocked kitchen and bathrooms. Beds and couches were very comfy. Hot tub was higher-end, seemingly new, and plenty spacious for 4. We thought heat may be a concern with just the gas fireplace in the living room but it was actually perfect and didn't even use the multiple space heaters provided. Would absolutely recommend staying in this home!
Alejandro G. Dec 2018
Very well equipped, very cozy. I liked the location.
Maria H. Dec 2018
I got the house for my 30th Birthday. It was everything I hoped for: very comfortable bed, luxurious jacuzzi, and quiet neighborhood.
Emily M. Oct 2018
This place was so charming and perfect for that quiet getaway. The hot tub was relaxing and the bed was very comfortable. Clean and tidy. Also very close to the lake and had nearby trails and state parks to bring the dogs to. We loved the fenced in backyard for the dogs. We would book this again for sure!
Johnathan R. Sep 2018
Great location. Very cozy and awesome jacuzzi. Only wish was the beds were a little more comfortable and there was a wood fireplace. Other than that was a perfect stay.
Tina M. Aug 2018
Love this little cabin. Very close to everything. Plenty of towels and fresh Sheets if needed. Jacuzzi was awesome. Dog friendly is always a plus. The only issue I had was there should be instructions for the TV for us old folks that don't know new gadgets hahaha
Ray C. Aug 2018
Very good location next to Camp Richardson. Needs a little updating with all appliances. Bring your own coffee maker.
Danielle C. W. Jul 2018
All the creature comforts, plus a grill and jacuzzi. Very comfortable for our family 4. Close to beaches, bike paths and hiking. Would definitely stay here again.
Nicholas G. Jul 2018
"Tahoe was very gorgeous and the kids loved it!" The cabin was a nice and clean and updated with little rustic flair, which was all part of the charm. Thanks for a marvelous stay, .
Shannon C. Jul 2018
Great location! Perfectly located close to everything Tahoe has to offer and not lacking anything you need - including an amazing spa!
Irina S. Jun 2018
Location close to the dog friendly beach. House has a hot tube.
We had a great, unforgettable time ..
Rama Venkat Suman S. Apr 2018
Our stay was wonderful and memorable. Vacation home is clean and well maintained.. my kid loved to play and wish to stay some more days 😊.. fun side of the stay.. we watching all horror movies and the home been old style, our imaginations has no limit 😜.. overall we loved it.. thank you.
Boi S. Mar 2018
We were very excited to come to this place since it had a jacuzzi. Upon arrival we were desillusioned by the oitdated property. The jacuzzi was actually the best feature. Not sure if the time of season played a role but we did not enjoy Lake Tahoe and actually decided to go to Reno instead the same day.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was unhappy. The cost per night is extremely reasonable, and the pictures are accurate for this home. It is set at a great price that reflects the amenities. The home has 3 brand new couches, a brand new driveway, a 1-year-old hot tub, a newly remodeled upstairs bathroom, a newly installed bear box, a brand new stove, and allows dogs. Thanks!
Jordan K. Feb 2018
Great location in south lake - perfect for two couples! Hot tub was great - very large. Kitchen was well stocked and wifi was strong. Gas fire provided plenty of heat but was a bit noisy. Would stay again!
Michelle G. Jan 2018
Great location if you love the outdoors. Definitely not comfortable enough to hang out in all day. The couches are covered with what seems to be patio furniture fabric and the beds are extremely uncomfortable. The hot tub was super clean and big though and was appreciated after some long hikes. A little too far from the Casinos and shopping though.
Linda L. Jan 2018
I’ve stayed at many South Lake Tahoe cabins and I feel here I did not get the value for what i payed. Priced a little too high for the cabin.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this and always appreciate specific feedback that will help us make improvements to our properties and services.
Kaitlan R. Nov 2017
This home was adorable and absolutely perfect for our annual girls trip!!!
Christopher J. Oct 2017
O
Jamie P. Sep 2017
Enjoyed our getaway. Simple, cozy, bear minimum cabin. Location very nice!
Gaynel W. Sep 2017
Had a great time with my adult kids in the cabin. We sat out in the hot tub in the evening and it was beautiful!

Abbee E. Sep 2017
Cozy clean great place to be!
Karina G. Aug 2017
The house was really spacious and it had absolutely everything we needed. The location was super convenient to hiking, horseback riding, restaurants, the lake, and anything else we wanted to do in Tahoe. Would definitely stay here again.
Alma R. Aug 2017
❤️ It how close it was to everything
Anton M. Jul 2017
We stayed at Foxglove Terrace over the weekend. The house was very clean, quiet neighborhood. The staff was very helpful. We had an enjoyable weekend.
Marielle S. Jul 2017
This was a great place for my 4 friends and I and our 2 dogs to stay for the weekend. Beds were super comfy, the hot tub was clean and roomy , the shower was nice too! The house was very close to some great restaurants and a Raleys with Peet's Coffee. Close to many beaches as well. Overall, a great weekend.
Angela L. Apr 2017
I love this place because it is fenced and it's dog friendly . It's located in a nice neighborhood and there are nice trails to walk the dog ..!
Kaze M. Apr 2017
Quiet area. Safe street to walk dog. Everything needed for your stay is provided from light toiletries to 2 vacuums. Light cleaning supplies to keep things tidy during stay.
Pise G. Feb 2017
Pros:

It was nice that we could bring our dog with us for the trip. Hot tub was really nice and big for 4 of us. I like the fenced in yard for the dog. Bed was comfortable enough to sleep in. TV was nice. Central location in South Lake Tahoe.

Cons:
The house is cute, but was not cleaned very well. We found food on plates in the cabinet. Sheet has blood stain on them. Bugs in the bedroom and bathroom. They only provided one tiny bar soap for 4 of us for 4 nights and 1 shampoo hotel size with 10 conditioner.
Adan V. Feb 2017
Nice area quiet
Nicole M. Feb 2017
Upon arrival the front door was unlocked and there was a pile of dirty laundry on the table. There was a large black garbage bag leaking fluid from the laundry room to the kitchen. There was scattered kibble on the kitchen floor. There was feces in the toilet and all the bedrooms were stripped down with no linens. there was dog poop in the upstairs left bedroom. The backyard was unkept. this was a pet friendly home however a dog could have easily jumped over the fence because of lack of maintenance. the patio table had been shattered with glass everywhere. beer bottles, cigarette butts and packs were left scattered around the hot tub. there were full propane tanks buried in the snow as well.

Upon our arrival, I was startled by someone, this person introduced himself as the cleaner. he apologized for the mess and told us it was his first day. he asked if we could leave so he could clean. we told him no. our check in time was 4:00PM and at this point it was about 4:15PM. we then called the Oregon office and advised them of the situation. they too asked if we could leave and they could comp us a dinner in order to get the cleaning done. We could not do this. They offered to find us another cabin but they could not find one that would allow pets. A local manager "Emily" came over and gave us cleaning supplies and we told her about all of the problems. she apologized and did not know who they were sending to plow the snow. It was the original house cleaner. It took him over 20 minutes to unload his snowplow with the help of his female companion, he had ramps which kept falling off his truck and then the snow plow finally fell on the ground. He then could not figure out how to turn it on. We then told him our primary concern was the snow in the backyard. He brought the snow plow to the backyard and again struggled to get it on. He asked my husband to help him, which my husband could not. he has a broken hand. The employee continued to whistle and dance around the fact he didn't know how to start a snow plow. I was extremely disappointed with this cabin, the customer service and the lack of responsibilities held by Vacasa and its local employees.
Manager response:
We are incredibly sorry to read that this guest's experience with Vacasa and the home was not more positive. Situations like this are very rare, and the guest was refunded for their troubles. Housekeeping has received further training, the home is comfortable, and the snow is delightful to play in!
Sara D. Jan 2017
Very quiet and peaceful yet conveniently located to fun and food
Ashley W. Jan 2017
overall this house was perfect, although it was slightly aged and creaky. The location made up for it. Close enough to stores and restaurants and the lake but far enough in the woods you feel a sense of privacy. The private hot tub was great on the snowy nights! Perfect for our group overall. we got snowed in and the property management was super accommodating in allowing us to stay another night. My only complains are that the cleaners could have done a better job, (clean under stuff, random trash under most everthing) and i shouldn't have to take laundry out of the dry and fold it.
Kevin R. Jan 2017
This house, and this company are amazing.
Jorge G. Nov 2016
The house was in a location that was easily accessible. It was very clean and well equipped. We spent 4 nights on Thanksgiving week, and enjoyed the area that was close to many hiking paths and other activities. There are many nearby stores which made it easy to make up for items we forgot to bring. The fenced yard gave our dog enough space to step out without our having to worry about her. We liked the place and how it was kept, and would rent it again.
Sheree B. Nov 2016
The neighborhood is very nice. Bikes can be rented a few blocks away, and close proximity to a bike trail. Not far from Camp Richardson and sight seeing.
The cable was out in every room. We called VACASA after trying to trouble shoot it ourselves. With no response from the first call, I called back a few hours later and was told they didn't receive any notification of a problem. She eventually notified the management of the property, who came down to fix the cable. With help from my son, they were on the phone with the cable company trying to trouble shoot the problem for a while. It couldn't be fixed over the phone. The cable company came out the following morning at 9 am, along with the manager. Finally they got it working, but to find one of TV's still not working, my son had to run out the door to stop the cable guy to come back in; eventually replacing the cable box! The radio in the living room doesn't get reception what so ever, should be removed entirely! I feel these things should have been available and working from the moment we walked through the door!
The upstairs master bedroom floors creak extremely loud, from sitting on the bed, to just walking on the floor! I was in the backyard, and could hear the movement from the backyard, coming from the rooftop area! I would consider it a safety issue, as we seen one small joist/supporting beam that had been attached, most likely due to the water damage for additional support! If I was to call an inspector, I'm sure there would be some sort of issue with renting this home out for public use! Since I weigh more than my children, I decided to take the smaller room, and not add additional weight to the problem. The beds need replacing. I'm assuming they added the memory foam to help, but with the mattress so old; it was useless. I washed the white towels that were their for our use, but the washer shakes the upstairs beds. My son couldn't sleep, and I thought he was kidding me. I went up, and my bed was shaking as well. The house is not safe!!
The smaller room has a nasty greasy large hand print just above the pillows on the bed of the slanted wall. Also, a extremely dirty patch on the side wall. You can't see it until evening, when you turn on the soft lighting.
Kathy is great at her job, she was able to help me out with our reservation. She also honored a discount that was possibly emailed to me by accident!
The manager was kind, but I shouldn't have had to use my vacation time for property up keep! There is a lack of communication between VACASA and management. I received a email for late check out for $75 more, when I should have received an apology for the cable problem! Or even a follow up call would have been nice!
This property should be taken off of VACASA . I was excited to stay at this location, and by just looking at it; it seemed perfect. Actually the downstairs area and kitchen is quaint. The backyard is large, the BBQ grill came in handy. The hot tub was working.
I went to Tahoe for family time and relaxation. Our family hadn't been on a vacation together in over a year. Sadly, because of the extreme floor noise with every little movement, the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on, we all lost sleep. I got possibly 8 hours sleep in two nights! We all left tired and cranky! We took Monday off, as we were exhausted and needed catch up sleep; some vacation! I challenge VACASA and management to sleep overnight, so they can have the experience we had and possibly make the necessary upgrades to this property for safety reasons alone!

Highly disappointed :(



Manager response:
We are disappointed to read that this stay was not more enjoyable. The Property Manager is confident the house is structurally sound and guests needn't worry. The water marks are from an old leak that has not been a problem since the new roof was installed; painting will be done after the new year to help finish the project. The beds are new with high quality foam toppers, and the radio works perfectly (it needs to be adjusted manually as it is not a digital radio). The hand print has been removed and housekeeping has worked on the cleanliness. Thank you!
Stanley H. Nov 2016
Property is a quaint 2 bedroom cottage, a bit dated, and lacks central heating. Fine for the summer, very cold for the winter, even with the small gas fire place in the living room.
Tushar S. Oct 2016
Clean and convenience house. Close to the lake and trails.
Evan K. Oct 2016
I drove up here from San Francisco with my parents and brother and his small dog, and we had a perfect family outing: plenty of time and space in which to relax. It actually rained most of the time we were there, so we didn't get out much, but it was a cozy place to catch up with each other and it was close to everything, which we hope to enjoy again in the future. Thank you!
Donna R. Sep 2016
We loved our stay at Foxglove Terrace! The queen bed was a dream...almost as good as being at home! We loved the fenced yard for our dog and the home was clean and very comfortable!
Jim F. Aug 2016
Amanda was a big help
Manager response:
Thank you! We love hearing when our employees have made a difference in our guests' time with us.
LaDonna R. Jul 2016
The location of this rental is perfect! It is close to the Y, and a short walk to Pope Beach and Camp Richardson. I like that my dogs are welcome to vacation with me. I will definitely rent this cabin again!
Kimberly D. Jul 2016
Nice house in established neighborhood among plenty of pine trees. Previous reviews had us questioning the couch situation. Yes they were older and older looking, but still very comfortable to sit on. Nice backyard with very clean and inviting spa!
Mary P. Jul 2016
It's a wonderful cabin. Not far from stores or beach. I loved the big kitchen....had 3 women in there cooking. Great that you had some spices. I forgot to get and it really saved me time not having to run to store. I would highly recommend this cabin. Thanks for making our trip extra special....so much better than hotel. Felt like home.
Charmaine S. Jun 2016
This place is not the ritz, but met our needs and then some. The property management service was responsive ana very helpful.
Fred J. May 2016
Place was fine the sofas need to be replaced there were no chlorine tablets for the hot tub none in the floater we did not get to use it the 2 large barking dogs next door were very annoying at times also . I would look around for a different spot to stay next time we made do but was a little disappointed area was great .
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that this stay was disappointing. The Property Manager will make sure the hot tub is ready for guest use.
Angela L. Apr 2016
We enjoyed our stay, we had a great time. All appliances worked fine, house is very well equipped and in a convenient location. Quiet neighborhood. I loved the fact that I could take my dog with us. House has a well sized fenced backyard and a nice hot tub . Will consider another stay, as long as my dog can come with us again :) Thank you !
Esmeralda S. Mar 2016
This home is small, but cozy. Our family, specially our kids enjoyed our stay. During our time there it snowed and the kids had blast playing outside in the front yard. Location is great close to everything.
Kenyon B. Feb 2016
Nice location, quite neighborhood, cute cabin.
David & Nancy D. Jan 2016
Not maintained, dirty....pictures on Vacasa website are filtered and obliviously dated, property has not been kept up over time!!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We regret to see that you did not have a better experience with this home. The Property Manager will check for any maintenance issues, and we will follow-up with housekeeping regarding the cleanliness. We hope that you still enjoyed your time in the area!
Sarah M. Nov 2015
This rental was amazing for my husband and I when we recently vacationed to South Lake Tahoe. The only complint I have is that the beds were VERY firm and extremely uncomfortable. The location was great as well as it having an extremely cozy atmosphere!
Skye L. Nov 2015
Foxglove is in the perfect location, close enough to the main strip but far enough away to experience the tranquil quietness of the woods. This cabin is a perfect get away for two.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate the feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Lynn W. Oct 2015
This is a comfy home. It is dated but has everything for a comfortable stay. The house is heated by a gas stove in the living room that must be lit by the guest, so beware if you are nervous about doing that kind of thing, but it does have space heaters. Also, the stairs are very steep so it is not good for anyone handicapped, or the very young. The location is good, close to stores and the Y.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review! The fireplace has been replaced since your stay so future guests should not have to worry about lighting it themselves. Thank you so much for your feedback and we have you come back soon. Thanks again for choosing Vacasa.
Robert R. Sep 2015
This place is close to Pope beach and other places to spend the day with friends amd family. Plus it has a hot tub...
Kim K. Aug 2015
We loved our stay at Foxglove Terrace!!! It is literally right by the bike trail that leads you to Pope Beach and Camp Richardson. It was very quiet and well maintained. And the hottub is a little extra bonus! Loved it, and will definitely be staying there again!!!
Sharon O. Aug 2015
Had a nice weekend at the Foxglove rental. The house worked well for us and our dogs. Great location. We never really expect 5 star accomidations when renting pet friendly houses and this place was about a 3.5 and felt like a work in progress. We would rent this cute place again if they replace the beds, they are really hard. The hot tub was perfect in the evenings!