Virtual Tour
USA California The Northern California Coast Fort Bragg Listing #3967

Sandborn - Fort Bragg, CA

74 reviews
Max occupancy: 14 2 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
25241 Ward Ave, Fort Bragg, CA 95437

Dog-friendly, oceanfront home for 14 with hot tub - next to state park

As if the having the ocean right outside your Fort Bragg vacation rental wasn't perfect enough, there's even a hot tub here! This 3,200 square foot beach house sits perched on MacKerricher State Park among dunes and protected nature. It's the perfect site for your next big family reunion or any getaway for up to 14 guests! Dogs are also allowed for a small nightly fee.

About four and a half miles north of Fort Bragg proper, this home is in the quiet village of Cleone, giving you easy access to Highway 1 as well as the seclusion you seek in a vacation. Both Lake Cleone, for a serene stroll, and the Purple Rose Mexican Restaurant and Cantina for homestyle food, are a short walk away from your front door. Right outside your getaway are the MacKerricher dunes and trails, a perfect place for a headland hike and a picnic. You can also visit fun and funky Fort Bragg for brunch and a stroll around local boutiques or come for dinner.

As you approach this oceanfront Fort Bragg home, you'll be welcomed by the sea fog and a rustic but well-maintained facade. Greet the rest of your party from one of the two decks as they trickle in or head right to the hot tub with views of the dunes and ocean! On a clear night, take out the provided telescope and see what you can spy.

On the bottom half of this home, you'll have a spacious den to convene and make plans for the trip (with help from the provided WiFi). Take a moment to write out postcards or record moments in your journal at the desk or watch the big game together on the cable-equipped TV before the new sofa and comfy armchair. Play cards or a board game at the four-seat table before the wall of windows – or you can simply gaze out at the spectacular view beckoning you to comb for pebbles in the sand.

This den also doubles as a room for children to have a sleepover on the queen-size sleeper sofa. Two more bedrooms are available on this floor, each with memory foam queen beds.

Upstairs is the living room with brand new furnishings, kitchen, and two more bedrooms (the master has a king, while the guest room has a queen; both memory foam). The living room has a second TV and second queen sleeper sofa – a perfect room for close friends to have an old-school sleepover if they want! Of course, this space also has huge windows with panoramic views of the ocean.

Make popcorn or even a Sunday dinner around the solid wood table for eight in the fully stocked kitchen. Complete with all new stainless steel appliances, this kitchen provides all that you need. Pop a bottle of local wine to share on the upper deck while the kids play freely on the sprawling yard below.

With a full house of 14 guests, you'll have three full bathrooms to allow everyone their turn at privacy without a lot of time waiting. This property is solar-powered and has a generator, so if the rest of the town is without power, this home will still have electricity and be nice and toasty!

If you've never explored the area, take a mini road trip down the coast for a day trip to Mendocino and Albion, the latter about 20 miles from the home. Since Fort Bragg is definitely the biggest town on the northern coast, you'll have the pleasure of finding little, hidden gems in the smaller towns you find along the drive. Nature walks and farm stands dot the area for a true California experience you can't get in the big cities.

You can't beat the location of this Northern California Coast vacation rental! Come see for yourself how beautiful the area is from your own private getaway!

* This home is solar powered and it has a backup generator which supplies electricity to the home if the area experiences a power failure.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Game room

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Propane/gas home : Propane

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

Blu-Ray player

Cable

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Stereo

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

74 reviews

Poulami S. Nov 2018
We stayed here for the weekend after Thanksgiving. The property has spectacular views, the house was very clean and spacious. We had a wonderful time.
Bonnie B. Oct 2018
This is a true gem, and I only hope to come back and visit as soon as possible. :)
David C. Oct 2018
Loved the location. Isolated and close to the beach. Great for up to four couples or in our case six old male friends
Lesley G. Sep 2018
The property is located at the edge of a 10 mile beach with spectacular views. I like that there wasn't any buildings blocking the view from the house for miles. It was like we were staying at a private beach. In late August--there was very little traffic on the beach. We saw seals, deer and a lot of sanddollar shells. Horse back riding tours are available down the street. The house was very clean and the wi-fi worked well. The Vacasa telephone customer service reps were extremely professional and friendly. The only cons were a few minor things such as the patio chairs are broken/worn out, the interior top stair landing posts are more than 4 inches apart (not good for small people) and the driveway gate didn't open if you wanted to walk out on the street (inside code-box didn't work); however, there is a side gate to a private trail leading to the beach. The Sandborn home is a place I will recommend and look forward to returning to for my next beach retreat.--
daniel m. Aug 2018
We love the view and the private trail to mackerricher park.
Mickey C. Aug 2018
This is a terrific home with fantastic views and accommodations - can't wait to come back for a longer stay.
Teresa N. Aug 2018
The view is amazing...the weather was perfect. It was a definite reprieve from the heat we've been experiencing in SoCal! Plenty of room for large family, comfortable surroundings.
Susan K. Jul 2018
The location was perfect. Views were outstanding. Living space was comfortable and well equipped. We had a fabulous visit at Sandborn.
Tabitha M. Jun 2018
You can walk to multiple beaches, enjoy sunrises and sunsets with your family. Absolutely wonderful.
Linda C. Jun 2018
Loved staying, again! However, tooo much chlorine in hot tub! It took the color out of our swimsuits!
scott d. May 2018
A group of us came here to attend a friends wedding in Mendocino. We arrived and found it to be clean and comfortable and easily handle four couples. The view is terrific and only a short walk to the beach. We saw lots of birds and deer.
Linda F. May 2018
The views from the house are absolutely stunning. House is comfortable and well equipped. Quiet, secluded and close to the beach.
Nicole L. May 2018
Beautiful Home with great amenities. Well stocked with Comfortable beds! Perfect for a family get together. Huge plus to be able to walk to the beach without have to load up all of the kids into the car.
Sasha W. Apr 2018
A wide natural view of sand dunes and the magnificent Pacific shore is visible from this home, and it uplifts the spirits in rainy or sunny weather. The beach is near for wonderful walks to the north and south. This home works very well to accommodate our group of singers, and we truly look forward to returning for our retreat next year.
Tonya H. Mar 2018
Loved the house. The view was amazing from both the bottom and top floors. Incredible wrap around deck with unobstructed panoramic views of the ocean. The house is secluded from the main street and walking trail nearby which made it nice and private. We seen tons of whales spouting close to shore, and a few deer nearby as well. The place is perfect for a large group. I wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed Fort Bragg and the Purple Rose Mexican Restaurant nearby. Overall we had a great stay, and I'd definitely rent it again.
Robin Z. Mar 2018
We struggled to find an affordable place that would accommodate our family, but we landed with this beauty! It is open, clean, big , warm and welcoming all at the same time.
Valerie P. Feb 2018
An amazing house. Location is outstanding. House just needs some updates and extra supplies. Bring extra blankets and kitchen supplies.
Sally S. Jan 2018
What a view! The location of the house was spectacular and the layout of the house is set up to take full advantage of the wonderful beach and sea view. The house itself was very comfortable and clean. The "great room" was perfect for a group who likes hanging and dining together. Lots of walking in the dunes and on the beach and wine on the deck moments.
Timothy A. Jan 2018
Our friends and family were amazed with this beautiful house and property leading right up to the ocean. We couldnt have asked for a better home to spend our vacation in. Just a few minutes to Glass Beach and Fort Bragg with so many surrounding trails and things to do. Thank you!
Flo P. Jan 2018
Loved the fantastic view from the great room. Very comfortable home. Well equipped kitchen.
Whitney D. Dec 2017
We rented two homes side-by-side on this quiet street in Fort Bragg. The location and views were great, and the home was laid out well. Unfortunately, it appears that little money has gone into this property for several years. The front gate is broken and doesn't allow you to walk out from the front -- requiring you to walk out through the sand dunes and back-track along the trail to get to the roadway or the beach at the end of it. We had the home next door, so this presented a serious problem. The young guys could hop the fence, but most of us had to either drive next door to trigger the gate or walk through sand dunes and along the trail to get the house just a couple dozen yards away. The hot tub was not functional, which was a HUGE part of the reason I booked this home instead of others close by. I thought I would try to recreate a hot tub for myself in the jacuzzi tub in the master, but there wasn't enough hot water (nobody had taken a shower for ages or done laundry) and the jets also don't work. The adarondack chairs are severely weathered with broken wood and exposed screws. The kitchen appliance were well past their service life, and it was difficult to cook on the stove for a large family. We spent most of our time cooking our meals at the other home. The furniture is a blast from the past, but most of is still in good condition. With the high nightly cost to rent this place, it is a shame that the owners haven't put more into maintaining it. We rented the home next door which was approximately the same size and cost, and it was newly renovated with a professional kitchen, a usable yard, even closer to the beach, great views, several nice bikes for use, fire pits, etc. It made the condition of this property all the more disappointing. This property needs to either be improved, or the price needs to drop substantially to reflect the condition of the property.
Manager response:
We have verified the front gate is indeed working if guests are using the code provided. We apologize if the guest had difficulties with this and wish they had contacted us for assistance. We apologize the pump for the hot tub shorted out for this stay. A new pump is on its way so the hot tub will be functioning correctly. The Jacuzzi bathtub is not a functioning one and is not advertised as such. We apologize if this was a disappointment. The owner has plans to deal with Adirondack chairs during his next visit. Thank you!
Pamela L. Dec 2017
Sandborn was exceptional our family of 14 could not have been happier! So much room, breathtaking views and the most positive vibes as soon as you pull into the gate! We can not wait to come back thank you!!!!
Jeanie F. Nov 2017
What a wonderful house, can't wait to come back - hopefully the refrigerator will be working properly.
Tim D. Nov 2017
We loved our stay. The view was incredible. Woke up the second morning with a great horned owl on the deck rail and 5 deer in the yard.
John C. Nov 2017
We loved the view of the ocean from the windows that surrounded the dining, living room, kitchen area. The amazingly clear day between two rainstorms was delightful. A walk to the ocean is a must and easily done either over the dunes or down the road. This is a large house but felt fine for our small group of 8 also.
Check to see if the ant problem has been taken care of and the kitchen updated if you plan on cooking meals on the premises.
Manager response:
We are sorry for the inconvenience in having to deal with the ants. We do have a problem with them on the coast, especially when it starts to rain. We leave spray under the counter and we put out bait traps for this reason. The owner recently purchased a new toaster oven and frying pans for the kitchen. We appreciate this guest letting us know about those items that were needed in the kitchen.
Guests F. Oct 2017
Beautiful view and house, as well as pretty private location keep guests happy at this property.
Lori U. Oct 2017
Our family of 13 really enjoyed our stay at the Sandborn house. The house easily accommodated everyone and had plenty of room for cooking meals and playing games. The view was spectacular and it was a very easy walk to the beach. We had two minor house issues, a broken door knob and sand in the hot tub, both of which were immediately addressed by the management company. We look forward to returning to the Sandborn house again.
George O. Sep 2017
This was a BIG deal for us: 6 nights in a beach house w/ family and friends. The house is in an unusually scenic, quiet, isolated location. Walking to the beach barefoot is a kick - 200 yds to a gorgeous, long beach. Fort Bragg and Mendocino have great shops, etc. BUT - the house has serious limitations and really needs attention from the owner. It does NOT sleep 14; 4 nice b.r.s; the den pull-out is shot. Roll-aways are shot. Otherwise, plenty of space, kitchen stuff, etc. Just do your homework.
Manager response:
We apologize if the sleeping arrangements for this group were less than ideal. The owner has purchased new linens, the den's pull-out mattress has been replaced, and two roll-away mattresses have also been replaced. Thank you!
Samantha D. Aug 2017
We had a wonderful time at this property! It was very open and airy with all the amenities we needed. A short walk to the beach - but if you prefer you can drive two blocks and park. Beach was very secluded. The home was perfect for large families and entertaining. Thanks Sanbourn home owners and Vacasa!
Cesar L. Aug 2017
Excellent location
Jon W. Jun 2017
Location was great, private area. Close to town. I would definitely come back to Fort Bragg, and would stay here again
Stay away from the skunk train if the tunnel is closed and it's only the one hour tour.
Ruth W. Jun 2017
We had a great weekend, loved the house and the privacy.
Jeanette K. Apr 2017
We loved walking over the sand dunes to the beach. Breathtakingly beautiful views and a lovely, clean beach. The house was clean and accommodated our family of 7 perfectly. The hot tub was perfect.... They really have provided everything you need.

We had a great meal at North Coast Brewery and stopped at Mendocino Chocolate co on our way out of town, yum!

I've already recommended this house to four of my friends!
James O. Apr 2017
We held a reunion of sorts with our family at this home. Everything was perfect! Enjoyed the hike to the beach and all the amenities the home offered. There was plenty of room for our large group.
Chris T. Apr 2017
We stayed here with 12 people. We had a great time and enjoyed the location and the size of the home. Certainly would do it again! Thank you
Chris E. Apr 2017
House worked perfect for our family get together!
Manya W. Mar 2017
The view from this home is wide and wonderful. A walk along the dunes brings you to the Pacific shore with miles of sandy beach to explore. For those who love nature, this is an exceptionally fine place on earth. It worked wonderfully for our chorus retreat. We'd sure like to return next year.
Petro L. Mar 2017
Love the view, the trail to a state park by the ocean
Kathy O. Feb 2017
This was our second time renting this house and again, it's perfect! We celebrated my husband's 60th birthday with all of our kids and grandkids and it's large enough to accommodate all of us. The views are to die for from the second story and it's just a short pathway to the beach. Vacasa was great to work with. I would definitely recommend them and also this house!!
Michael M. Feb 2017
House was as advertised. Very clean. We will be back.
Paula D. Feb 2017
It was wonderful!
Amy T. Jan 2017
We stayed at this property for a 40th birthday. The house was very spacious and the veiws were awesome. I would definitely recommend this property and would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Stephanie W. Jan 2017
We stayed at the sanborn the first week of January, it was better than I Expected, the window blinds were all open so when we talked upstairs the view was amazing!! Two of the days we were even able to watch whales from the upstairs windows, it was great!! The only thing I think I would say is if you have little ones to be careful with the railings, we had a one year old that could stick her head through and if she wanted to her body, but it wasn't anything table cloths from the dollar store and some tape couldn't fix!! We had a great stay and will be back again!!
Flo P. Dec 2016
Beautiful house, beautiful setting. We had three generations fro age 79-16. It was perfect for all. Couldn't ask for better location and views. We'll be back!
Cindy C. Nov 2016
Great views. Lots of space to spread out during the rain. Plenty of wild life in the yard. Just a nice place to enjoy the holiday with family and friends.
Ryan S. Oct 2016
Good location and very clean. Provides everything you need. Doesn't have 14 actual beds but there is plentiful of couches to lay you head for the night. I would stay again and recommend this place to anyone.
Jules F. Sep 2016
Sanborn comfortably accommodated 8 of us. The view is second to none
John K. Aug 2016
The Sandborn house is an interesting mix of great and sad. The greats include: great views from the many windows, great bedrooms (including comfy mattresses), great kitchen space for team cooking, and a great location for beach combing. The sads include: almost no working windows (the house had a funky smell that we couldn't eliminate because almost none of the windows open), tired appliances (the stove was way over the hill, for example), worn outdoor decking that threatened splinters if you dared to walk barefoot, dorm-room quality plates, glasses and flatware, and fixtures and finishes that were well past their "resort quality" service life.

The 4 bedrooms were great for our 4 couples and there was plenty of space to spread out. When packing, keep in mind that you will be carrying EVERYTHING up at least some stairs, so rolling bags/carts are not helpful. The refrigerator is on the small side and slow to deal with a sudden influx of a lot of food, so plan to keep at least some of your food in coolers as you gradually introduce your produce and meat to avoid spoilage. The wifi is your only connection to the outside world (cell coverage is spotty at best, which is reasonable considering the location) but you should plan on rebooting the wifi every morning and night if you need to be constantly in touch (but it IS VACATION so maybe not).

We have used VRBO quite a bit for family get-togethers, and this is the first time we weren't blown away by the quality of the property we rented. At this price level, a lot of refurbishment is needed. Great location, a house with great "bones", but feeling the effects of some neglect.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that there were several disappointments with this stay. The owner is getting a quote for replacing the windows, and it will be determined at that time what the next step is. The owner is not interested in replacing any appliances or fixtures at this point.
Julie W. Aug 2016
our family of 14 took a motorcycle ride to the coast and stayed at this property because of the space. Great house with lots of privacy. Everyone had a blast and we look forward to making this an annual event!
Vicki N. Aug 2016
The location of this house is great but the hot tub only had 1 jet that worked and the jets in the tub didn't work. The steam shower didn't work and the windows were very hard to open. Good for kids to run around in the sand dunes
Manager response:
We apologize that this stay had some maintenance issues. The Property Manager has made a list of these items and will take them to the owner for their consideration.
Karen E. Aug 2016
We had a great family reunion here. Made kites that we flew off the deck and down at the beach. Hung out in hot tub. Rode bikes to town. Enjoyed the deer in the yard. Took in the beautiful views from Den and Living room. Close to town so we were able to come back for lunch on days we were exploring town. Glass beach was a real hit for all ages.
Mark S. Jul 2016
We had a great experience with VaCasa and this home! First time using a service instead of renting privately nearby for years (our group has outgrown our usual spot). Best view around which allowed us to keep an eye on our fishermen during stay, inside and out.
Anita & Scott D. Jul 2016
Spectacular sweeping ocean views and a great property. Loved our stay and would definitely stay here again if we take another family vacation to Fort Bragg. Biggest problem we had was not enough sets of bath towels/handcloths were provided so bring your own if there are more than 8 people in your group. Prepare for dealing with ants but I doubt that is an issue specific to this home. Highly recommend it for a relaxing summer stay.
Manager response:
The Property Manager has spoken with housekeeping about making sure the appropriate amount of linens/towels for the maximum occupancy is provided, and has sprayed for ants.
Diane S. Jul 2016
Spent a weekend here with 2 other families (6 adults and 7 kids). It is a great location with beautiful views and easy access to the beach. It is located at the edge of a sand dune preserve and feels quite private. We saw quite a bit of wildlife right from the deck. The 2 story design worked out well. The kids could play or watch a movie downstairs and the adults could socialize upstairs. Overall, a lovely home and a wonderful place to spend some time.
Donna W. Jun 2016
We had a family of 14 stay here for 7 days and we loved the location. Very secluded, quiet, and lots of wildlife to watch and listen to. We hardly knew there were neighbors. A trail from the front yard leads down to the beach. The kitchen has everything you need. There is a Weber BBQ available. The free wi-fi works well, and free Netflix is available on the tv, as well as a DVD player on both floors, and a few movies and books on a bookshelf downstairs. The dishwasher & washer/dryer are very convenient. There is a telescope set up in the living room for watching boats or whales, etc. We enjoyed the hot tub outside, but the Jacuzzi in the master bath does not work. There are many amenities for guests to enjoy at this rental - the only downside was all of the beds provided downstairs are uncomfortable and need to be replaced. Also there was no ping pong table, which we were looking forward to.
Manager response:
Housekeepers are currently spraying for ants, and we're hopeful this will take care of the problem. The jacuzzi jets are not functioning at this time, and we are unsure of when that repair will take place. The hole in the wall has been repaired; we apologize that this was not taken care of before this reservation.
Helen M. Jun 2016
It was a great place to stay
William B. Jun 2016
Spectacular views and location! This property is one of the best choices in the Ft Bragg area.
Linda C. Jun 2016
We love this place! Love the sand dunes -- very private. Love being close to beach. Lots of room and beautiful sunsets!
Leah P. May 2016
This cabin was perfect for a large group. There was nothing we didn't love about it.
The view was amazing and location was as well.
We made a ton of memories that we will never forget. Definitely plan on this being an annual thing we do.
Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us. We'll definitely be back....
The Silva Lounge Crew. :)
Traci C. May 2016
Several maintenance issues exist in the home.
The jets in the Jacuzzi tub/master bath do not work
The shower steam in the master bath also does not work
Light fixture broken and exposed bulb in master bath
The fan is not usable in the downstairs bath
The windows were filthy...also foggy from failing double-pane glass making the "panoramic view" a little blurry
Most dishes in the kitchen were also filthy, greasy and had to be washed before use.
It was disappointing that cleanliness and maintenance were big issues for us. We won't be back to this home and will physically inspect any future rentals before before booking a Vacasa property.
Manager response:
We apologize for the maintenance and cleanliness issues this guest encountered during their stay. We are scheduling a repairman to address the bathtub jets and shower steam. The Property Manager will take care of the light and fan, and housekeeping has been asked to take care of the windows.
Satvinder C. Apr 2016
The house was large and accommodated the eight of us very easily. The house was clean and was very close to the beach. We enjoyed seeing the deer and the turkeys down the road from the house. The property also had its own resident deer in the front which we loved seeing every time we left and returned.
We were disappointed with the small size of the bbq , it meant that we had to cook our meals in several stages. For a house that size, I think that a bigger bbq would be a good investment. The furniture and furnishings were outdated, which was a disappointment. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, utensils, pots and pans. The coffee maker was terrible; it took forever to make coffee, when it worked and it would leak sporadically. We stopped using it after two days.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wildlife in the area! We are always welcome to feedback that may help make our guest's stay even better, so we have reached out to our local property manager to address these concerns and resolve the problems with the coffee pot. We hope to have you back with Vacasa soon!
Wendy W. Mar 2016
I took my kids and a couple of their friends for a much needed break! The entrance is deceiving and a bit hard to locate, we loved the little country lane that leads to such a beautiful home. It's secluded & so close to the beach. The only neighboring home I could actually see from afar was out the small window in the master bedroom. We can't wait to go again!!!
Renee R. Mar 2016
This house is in a good location, is clean and has a very well stocked kitchen. I do not think it is a good fit for young kids or people with mobility issues, there are a lot of stairs. The lack of being able to use the laundry if you are there less than a week is an issue since you are near the water and the weather can be stormy at times
Denise B. Feb 2016
View is beautiful...size of house is great. Does have some maintenance issues
Kitchen items very well stocked
Anthony V. Feb 2016
Debra V. Jan 2016
What an awesome home!! The best so far!! We will stay again for sure!!!
Micah B. Jan 2016
We had a really great time at Sandborn. Beautiful views and great location. The house was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Plenty of sleeping space for 12 adults. Reservation, check-in and check-out were all painless.
Judy P. Jan 2016
Overall this is a great property but has a few maintenance issues that need to be resolved. The upstairs heater & thermostat need to be easier to operate. The downstairs heater & thermostat are straight forward and easy to use. The water temperature while showering changes from just right to Cold to Hot. I think this has something to do with on demand hot water. Otherwise the house is clean and very comfortable. The view made up for the lack of heat upstairs the first night and the cold and hot blasts of water while showering. We rented the house for a family gathering and very comfortably slept 11. We will most definitely stay here again. A great location with a great view!
Michelle M. Nov 2015
The house itself and the layout were great. Nice view of the ocean, and very quiet surroundings. However the house had some maintenance and cleanliness issues, but other than that, its a great place. There were 6 of us and we had PLENTY of room….no worries about feeling cramped or on top of each other. Upstairs great room and kitchen is very large and open, with a great view of the ocean. There is a big downstairs "den" that is pretty roomy with a second TV in case you want to leave the group. Or if you have kids, great place for them to hang out.
Manager response:
We appreciate you sharing your experience and apologize for any cleanliness and maintenance issues you might have encountered during your stay. The Property Manager will perform a walk-through to see what needs to be addressed. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the space that this home provides - 3 bathrooms for a large group is fantastic!