Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Yachats Listing #4795

Ocean Observatory - Yachats, OR

67 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Delightful home w/ ocean view & private hot tub - just three blocks to beach

Your next family reunion or friend getaway needs to be at this incredible Yachats vacation rental for 10. Three stories of beautiful furnishings, home essentials, breathtaking ocean views, and a private hot tub await.

Perched on a hill inside a quiet neighborhood on the east side of town, this home is wonderfully located to take in ocean views and vistas of the beautiful Coast Range mountains, make the easy walk to the market for dinner ingredients, and still feel perfectly secluded. Minimal light pollution way out here in Yachats allows for some of the best stargazing, and the back deck of this home is just the place after a fun-filled day.

Between the wood and plush carpeted floors, colorful art in each room, and brand new, high-end furnishings, you'll find this rental to be just what your trip needed. And everyone will feel right at home with the included washer and dryer and WiFi for looking up directions and streaming music. Best of all is the private hot tub nestled on the deck, waiting to bring your relaxation to the next level.

Enter the Ocean Observatory into the middle and main level. Decorated with greys and calming teals, the living room will be one of the hot spots during down time. Enormous windows let you peek at the ocean while snuggling up with a book on the armchair. Settle into the sectional and flip on the flatscreen TV to watch your favorite show using the cable or Netflix, or put a movie in the DVD player for a family movie night.

When the dinner bell sounds, sit at the modern wood table for six (there are three additional folding chairs and a leaf to extend the table as necessary) to gobble up a delicious home-cooked meal prepared in the adjacent kitchen. Equipped with everything necessary, you'll find yourself saving time and money by cooking meals right at home during vacation. There are major appliances, a microwave, coffeemaker, coffee grinder, blender, slow cooker, and so much more.

Before climbing into a comfortable bed, head downstairs to the great room to have a game of foosball, play cards across the small table, or even finish a movie on the flatscreen TV. The futon, two twin roll-a-way beds, and half bathroom down here allow for more sleeping space, and the kids will love having their own floor.

One of the three bedrooms (with a king-size bed) and a full bathroom are located on the middle floor, and two more bedrooms (one with a king-size bed and one with a queen-size bed) and a second full bathroom complete the third floor. With a total of three beds, two twin roll-a-way beds, and a futon, all 10 travelers will rest well each night.

This sleepy beach town is a great spot to relax, let the cares of the world drift away with the changing tide, and spend quality time with loved ones. Walk into town to shop at cozy boutiques and eat delicious seafood at Luna Sea Fish House. The Green Salmon Coffee Shop also offers fantastic, fair-trade coffee and pastries.

Head down to the beach for a peaceful stroll while listening to the waves crash, let the kids chase the seagulls and search for seashells, and see who can build the tallest sand castle. This stretch of the beach tends to be uncrowded and is particularly excellent for beachcombing and hunting for tide pools, as well. Waldport is eight miles north, and Newport is 24 miles away, both great places to explore.

Book this tasteful Central Oregon Coast vacation rental and long walks on the beach and soaking in the hot tub will be in your near future. A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private



67 reviews

Robin S. Jan 2021
We loved the house and town, and would definitely stay again: the only things I would change would be; 1) I wish they allowed us to bring our dogs, and 2) the kitchen was fully stocks as fare as dishes and even appliances goes, but they had nothing that most houses have as far as staples (olive oil, spices, etc). I’m used to there being some basic things, but they didn’t have anything except salt and pepper!
Julie V. Nov 2020
The home has it all. Super comfortable for hanging out with an amazing ocean view. It’s well decorated and homey. Many levels for good separation of space. Kitchen is well stocked with housewares.
John B. Oct 2020
Wonderful views, very clean and quiet. We loved it!
Jeannie M. Aug 2020
This house was lovely! It was clean, light and airy. With three bedrooms and a basement, it easily fit two families. We enjoyed walking to the beach and into town, relaxing in the hot tub, cooking in the well-equipped kitchen, and doing yoga with a view of the ocean on the front deck. We will definitely be back to this house and to Yachats.
Shelly H. Aug 2020
This house is gorgeous! It's obvious that the owners have really put a lot of care into it; all the furniture looks new and is in great condition. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked with appliances, tools, and gadgets (rice cooker, crockpot, etc). The bedrooms are all very comfortable with lots of room, big closets, and even laundry baskets. The downstairs game room was a hit with the kids, and the views from the living room and main bedroom were wonderful. It was nice to be able to walk down to the beach each day from the house (too steep for grandma though). And enjoying the hot tub at night under the stars was amazing.
There were some things that were annoyances though. There was no bedding for the futon or twin beds downstairs, so my son had to sleep on an ill-fitting mattress pad the first night. I saw this mentioned in an earlier comment and it makes me wonder if the local office just peeked into the storage room and saw bins labeled with bedding. The bins were there but they were all full of pillows. When we've rented homes before, we usually had basic spices and things like aluminum foil. This house didn't even have salt and pepper. The biggest issue for us is that we were nervous about renting a house during Covid. We spoke with a Vacasa rep and were impressed with the standards of cleaning during the pandemic (double cleaning, sanitation, inspection after cleaning, extra attention to high touch areas, etc). However, when we arrived, there were food pieces under the dining room table. The tv stand had a layer of dust where the remotes were, and I had to wipe down the kitchen counter. There was a dirty sock on the floor in one of the bathrooms. While none of these would normally be deal breakers (ok, the sock was gross and we never moved it), it didn't point to evidence that things had been highly cleaned, sanitized, and inspected. How could the remotes (obviously high touch items) be sanitized if they were surrounded by dust? I tried to let it go but kept getting more concerned as my kids were eating off surfaces and touching everything. I called Vacasa and the woman I spoke to was horrified. She offered to re-clean which didn't make sense at that point, but I did ask to have someone drop off some cleaning spray. The local guy I spoke to didn't seem concerned at all and didn't apologize. We also had to eat out the first night (which we did not want to do) because all our food that was thawed was to be grilled, and the grill was out of propane. These were minor inconveniences but the anxiety of not knowing how well things were cleaned put a damper on the first part of the vacation.
Manager response:
Hi, Shelly! We apologize for the issues you had during your stay and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about them. Your review will help us train our staff to meet our guests' expectations; we will be sure your concerns are addressed and cleaning protocol is followed. Thank you!
Marie B. Jul 2020
This house was perfect for us. It had plenty of room and beautiful views. It is so close to town and the beach. My family and my brother’s family were visiting my mom and we needed the extra space to accommodate us all. She lives just down the street, which was extremely convenient for us to go back and forth between houses. We were very concerned about cleanliness during the pandemic and this home was a perfect getaway.
Pamela G. Jul 2020
We stayed here for an extended family getaway—two grandparents and three adult children, of whom one is married with three young kids. It was the perfect spot for all of us to spend time together. The house was spotlessly clean, and there had clearly been great attention to detail in all the decor and amenities. It was also only minutes to the grocery store and the beach. We loved it and would definitely stay here again. Thank you!
David M. Dec 2019
We rented the house for our family to spend Thanksgiving. Great accommodations, everything you could possibly need. The house was also super clean. Do watch out for the front stairs they were pretty slick in the morning frost.
Amanda R. Nov 2019
This house is lovely. Clean, close to downtown, and great ocean views. Perfect for a cozy weekend with friends and family.
Robert B. Sep 2019
This is by far the best rental we have stayed in. The house has everything you need and more. Great views. We will be back.
Whitney D. Apr 2019
This house was by far the cleanest vacation rental I have ever stayed in. It was very impressive. There is plenty of room, the beds were very comfortable and it’s within two blocks walking distance to wonderful food and drinks. The only small issue was the hot tub had been locked and they did not provide us with the new key code to use it. I contacted the property manager and they were at the house within 20 minutes to remedy the issue and cut the lock to let us access it. I would absolutely stay at this house again. Great amenities and beautiful views!
angela f. Mar 2019
Beautiful view nice town but needs more choices of food lol loved all the room and quite impressed by the decor! Also maybe better cable/satellite TV😍 thanks for the wonderful week!!!!
Matt S. Nov 2018
I stayed here with my family and my sister's: 4 small kids. The house accommodated us perfectly, and with a beautiful view. Easy walk to Yachats' awesome restaurants. Will definitely try to stay in this place whenever I have a large group
Stephen W. Oct 2018
View was awesome. Hot tub was clean and not over chlorinated. Whole place was very clean.
Trinh P. Aug 2018
The house is spacious and homey, and fairly private. You can view the ocean and mountains from your living room or from the balcony. In case you have 10 guests or so, there are 3 and half bathrooms (so no need to fight over it ;) We had a nice time hiking around the areas and enjoyed sightseeing in this small town. Will come again next time.
Lindy M. Jul 2018
We loved the location - right in the middle of things but very quiet, in a lovely neighborhood. Hot tub was a nice amenity. Tv choices left something to be desired and a little sterile on the decor. Overall good.
Elizabeth H. Jul 2018
The upstairs bedrooms are beautiful with amazing views and the middle floor living area is spacious and comfortable. The downstairs room is rather damp and dank (to be expected in coastal rentals). Only negatives were down there - the futon had clearly damp areas (like they'd been recently sprayed with a cleaning solution) that were hidden behind a large decorative pillow and we never did find sheets for the futon or the roll out beds. It speaks to how well appointed the rest of the house is that we noticed this and were so surprised.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest had some issues with the futon. We checked for damp spaces and were unable to find any, and we did find linens for the futon in the area marked for those. Thank you!
Nicholas B. Jul 2018
Had a great visit to this house near the beach.
Jerri W. Jul 2018
Loved the house and the view.
Dana C. Jun 2018
This home is very spacious with beautiful views. Nice decks on the main floor and upper bedroom. We saw deer come right up and eat in the yard, all kinds of song birds, doves and many eagles flying high. The only challenge was all the stairs we had to climb to get into and around this house - be we found it worth the views.
Jessica P. Jun 2018
Great simple house for a large group. Close to town/amazing beaches. Comfy beds. Nice hot tub. Kitchen was stocked useful things like extra paper towels, plenty of wine glasses, and Tupperware. Minor complaints: creepy locked bedroom closets, dull kitchen knives, and incoherent wall art/decor. I’d recommend this house and will probably book it again next year.
Nicole F. Jun 2018
It was very relaxing. Having everything there to cook or just relax made it feel like I’m home so thank you so much
Gabrielle G. Jan 2018
We're a group of 10 ladies from a Mom's group. I had concerns about the folding beds and futon but I was assured they were great. Though, I'm glad we didn't plan on putting two adults on the futon. That would have been ridiculous. The rest of the beds were really comfortable and all the things around the house worked! The cooking gear was very nice and the only thing we couldn't find was a cheese grater. The view is just as good, if not better than the house photos show it. I think we might have been able to see more ocean than rentals closer to the beach. It is winter, so we didn't spend much time outside but the deck looked nice and the hot tub worked. I liked being so close to the bay as well as the stores. I will definitely be renting this house again! I want to bring my family next time. Oh, and it wasn't full of breakable knick-knacks! Perfect for kids.
Don P. Jan 2018
Spent 2-3 hours in the dark during severe storm. Other than that, it is a nice place to stay. Need handrails on both sides of stairwells for safety. Beautiful views. Well-appointed kitchen. We had a wonderful time. A bit dangerous for elderly guests.
Anna K. Dec 2017
Everything was great and we enjoyed our stay here!
MBJ (Nichole) S. Nov 2017
What happened, we made a reservation through your site, we got a e-mail back in which you offer it for a total of $812,79 incl fee & taxes.
Due to the fact that we want to enter it the same day of reservation, we made a phone call to your company if that is possible.
You confirm it, and the lady want's my creditcard data and charge it for $1004 to which I say yes (thinking at that moment, that the add. $192 is a deposit).
Later on I called again to have a breakdown of the charge, which the lady gives me. To my surprise she tells me another charge for the renting of the house ($127 instead of $95) and that there is no deposit necessary.
So I pointed out about the first offer in the e-mail, upon which she answered, that she couldn't turn it back due to the fact that we already entered the property and that the money was transferred already to the owner (which is your policy !?).
So this gives me a weird feeling. Lured in for $95 and in the end charged for $127.
Cialin M. Nov 2017
Nice home, great kitchen supplies. Loved the view and convenience to town, good uphill walk from the beach. Downstairs had new -carpet smell, but aired out ok.
Matt S. Nov 2017
Beautiful house, beautiful view, and within walking distance of all of Yachat's great food. I've stayed on the OR coast several times, and from now on this will be the house I try to get!
Janell W. Oct 2017
We were very happy with this spacious clean home. We will definitely be back.
Alex P. Oct 2017
Overall the house was ok - great view - but we had a bunch of stuff for our wedding that we needed to store in the basement/ground floor and the inability to enter the house from the ground floor meant carrying a *ton* of stuff up and down many steep flights of steps. The limitation on hot tub use after 10:00 PM (which is fair, I'm sure it's really irritating to the neighbors) should have been mentioned *way* earlier, like, frankly before we rented the house. If we'd realized that we would not be able to use the hot tub more than once in 8 days we'd have rented a different house - the hot tub was the deciding factor on renting the house, and we barely got to use it.
Harry A. Sep 2017
The home was fantastic with three floors for all the separation needed. The view and sound was amazing. Plenty of kitchen utensils and pot and Games for the kiddos with the hot tub kept them busy. The dining table had plenty of room. We had a great time with the grandkids and mom and dad. I will try to this again with the family.
Valerie R. Aug 2017
We really enjoyed This location! It was beautiful quaint little place. The beach was so clean and not crowded!
Marion R. Jun 2017
The view and sounds of the ocean and the access to some nearby state parks made this a delightful stop in our vacation.
David H. Apr 2017
Great house with good lactipn, great furnishings, and good view. Would definitely stay here again.
Laura P. Apr 2017
As 4 women, we enjoyed our time in Yachats. We felt the house was well equipped for us to prep meals and relax. Beds were comfy and wifi appreciated. I'd definitely stay there again!
Benjamin V. Mar 2017
Enjoyed the home good clean and well maintained. In nice quite town.
Lisa D. Feb 2017
Beautiful home with amazing view. Great for a family getaway :)!
Loretta S. Jan 2017
A great place to stay, maybe a bit expensive. Also a shortage of enough hot water to accommodate a large family or group. But the view was wonderful and neighborhood quiet. We had no trouble with neighbors yelling at us but then we had a really quiet weekend. The kitchen was well stocked. We did all our own cooking so I purposely took extra things I thot I'd need. The decor is lovely. The hot tub is great!
Nicole D. Dec 2016
We really enjoyed waking up to the sounds of the ocean! I will definitely be back!
Eugene E. Nov 2016
Lovely place! Would absolutely stay here. The warnings not to be loud were scary until we got there- basically they are to scare off the frat bros. Normal people being normal just don't make enough sound to drown out the ocean.
Jennifer G. Oct 2016
We have rented a house with vacasa in Newport, Florence, and now this one in Yachats. This home and town was by far my favorite. The view from the living room is spectacular. The house is clean and cute decor. If you are just looking to relax for a few days this is the place. Only complaints are one garbage bag was supplied for a 4 day stay. Also, it is suggested in the "what not to bring" not to being shampoo and conditioner. There was 1oz supplied for a house that sleeps 10 adults. Bring your own unless you plan on going to the market to purchase. :-) great stay overall. Will be back!
Nicole A. Sep 2016
We stay here for the weekend by the time Sunday came around we wished we could stay longer. The house felt very comfortable from the moment we walked in. Everything was clean we had no issues at all. The kitchen had everything you could need to cook with. The layout of the house is perfect for families. Downstairs had a game room with a TV the kids had a really good time. Overall we LOVED this house and we are already planning on coming back.
Heather N. Aug 2016
This rental is gorgeous and located in a great spot with wonderful views! The only thing that really impacted our stay at this beautiful house was the neighbor. I had read a previous review about someone yelling at lodgers for being too loud when they were not and we had the same experience. There are signs inside saying to be quiet when using the hot tub as the neighbors are "extremely sensitive to noise" which gave us pause - as we are not a raucous group, though, we took note for using the hot tub. However, just an hour or so after we arrived, we were out on the front deck talking and heard a series of weird guttural sounds - they were really eerie. We were concerned and called down "Is everything ok?" to make sure someone or something wasn't hurt and a woman screamed up "SHUT UP!" Mind you, we were a group of 40 year old women, simply sitting on the deck at 5:30pm, talking and laughing - there was no loud music, shouting, or the like. We went inside to continue our conversation, but it left a shroud on the delightful time we had been having and we felt unable to enjoy the beautiful decks in the sun with the great views. We also felt reserved when in the hot tub. This has obviously been an issue in the past and needs to be addressed somehow as it really does not feel good to be yelled at and a bummer not to be able to enjoy the wonderful decks and hot tub. I would only recommend this place to a friend if this were addressed. If the neighbor were not an issue, we would have had a perfectly stellar time as the house is wonderful, the view amazing and the location in Yachats ideal!
Jay A. Aug 2016
We had such an awesome time at this house. We had already been on the go for nearly a week, and needed some downtime. This house could not have been better! It was so comfortable and had everything we needed. The foosball table and dartboard in the basement were very well used, and loved the hot tub in the backyard. The town of Yachats is cute and has nice cafés, restaurants, and shops, but we really didn't explore all that much. The house is a short walk from town, as is access to the coast. The Oregon coast trail goes through town, and it is quite a beautiful walk. Our only complaint about the house, and this is very small, is that it lacked some basic pantry items like oil and sugar. Most of the other places we stayed during our visit to Oregon had these things, along with a few other items like garlic powder and pepper flakes that make cooking easier. This is such a minor thing though, and we highly recommend this house.
Jo Ann M. Aug 2016
This is a very comfortable rental (except smaller ktichen). Beds are very comfortable. Place is clean and well-maintained. Great view of the beach/ocean from the the decks and main level. Great for multiple families.
Callie B. Aug 2016
We enjoyed our stay at this home, very clean, well supplied, amazing views and short walk or drive to town. Thank you!
Beret N. Aug 2016
The Ocean Observatory was super clean and very comfortable; and we loved the new dishes/utensils/pots. And then the location is ideal for a family to explore the beach. We'll be back!
Brett S. Jul 2016
Our family loved this nice quiet place. It was very nice with everything we wanted for our 4 night stay. We hope to come back again.
Holly K. Jul 2016
This was a great place for our family to stay at the coast and enjoy Yachats. The house was clean, nicely furnished, and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Valentina P. Jun 2016
We had a group of 8 people, the home location is closeproximity to anything, everything was clean pleasant we enjoyed our stay very much.
Chelsea H. May 2016
We had a great stay! It was clean, had comfy beds, and had a great view of the ocean. There was no cooking supplies like salt and pepper, so remember to bring your own. Other than that, we would stay again!
Lyndi G. May 2016
We loved this property. If you will be getting to the beach I would count on a short drive. Not easily walkable, but we were fine with that as we did not have children this weekend. The house is tastefully decorated and clean. We did have one maintainace issue with the hot tub, but the property manager dealt with it promptly. Great weekend! Thank you.
Heidi C. Apr 2016
I was very impressed with the modern and new decor..very well done. The beds are incredible and I want to know where to get some pillows like that! I'd rather sleep there than my own bed! Kitchen was fully stocked,only thing we needed but didnt have was cooking spray. The twin beds it talkes about in the description are actually little roll aways that you pull out into the game room(not what we expected but it didnt matter to us). Our single guy friend was fine on the futon and all the couples enjoyed their rooms. Hot tub was nice,but does not have true jets. We had an amazing time. The TV is great, very nice living room, we took advance of the game room... Good price split between the 8 people we had there. Good sized bathrooms. No bad things to say about this place! We want to make it a yearly tradition and stay in this house again!
Monet B. Apr 2016
We've been renting houses in Yachats for years. We've finally found one we will go back to, again and again! It was great for our family plus two others and our young kids.
Very clean, well organized, newer furnishings. There was a "basement" room perfect for the kiddos to hang out! Beautiful balcony off the living area with ocean view. Hot tub. Quick walk to downtown and our favorite restaurants. Longer walk to beach (but doable, or 5min drive).
Overall, we are very happy to find a place we can return to regularly with extended family and friends!!!!!
Misty A. Apr 2016
Great place. Wonderful view and a nice roomy house! We would visit again.
Terrah B. Apr 2016
The house was very well stocked with lots of extra towels and linens. The kitchen had everything we needed. However, it did not have any spices, typically there is at least salt and pepper. But we made due.

The house was pretty clean when we arrived. However, the hot tub did not appear to have been cleaned after the prior guests had departed. The neighbor behind the hot tub did not like when anyone was using the hot tub.

We really enjoyed hiking down to the beach at Cape Perpetua. There is a great combination of sandy beach and rocks to explore. We would stay here again!
Jessica W. Mar 2016
We loved our stay here. The updates to this home were nicely done. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to cook our meals.
Edith B. Mar 2016
Beautiful home and location. It was a wonderful place for us to stay during our visit to the coast.
Rebecca L. Mar 2016
My family and I stayed here for just a weekend, but were thoroughly impressed with the updated ammenties, cleanliness, and space of the property. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to others!!
Trisha B. Mar 2016
The pictures don't lie and this home was everything it promised. Three bedrooms with three real beds is hard to find. The living room furniture was nice looking and quite comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked with cooking items and dishes. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend and hope to stay there again myself some day.
Holly S. Mar 2016
The home was much bigger than we expected, which was a good thing. The view from the upstairs along with the sound of the crashing waves made an amazing spot for some downtime studying. Everything you would expect to find in a home, you have access to. We all were thoroughly pleased. I know it's not really plausible, but a balcony hot tub....would be superb!
Katie O. Feb 2016
We are so pleased that we found this gem in Yachats. The location allows easy access to restaurants and state park attractions, and the house itself was clean and nicely decorated. We loved the hot tub and the views