Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Pacific City Cape Kiwanda Listing #6718

Cape Escape - Pacific City, OR

62 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 4 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms  plus loft 3.5 bathrooms 4 dog max 
34369 Ocean Drive, Pacific City, OR 97135

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly house w/ ocean views, hot tub, arcade machine, & easy beach access!

Ready for a rejuvenating trip to the beach? This dog-friendly home in Pacific City is just the place, offering excellent ocean views, a private hot tub, easy beach access, and entertainment for up to 12 lucky guests to enjoy time here!

You'll appreciate a convenient location of this second row home, just off the beach with easy access to the shops and restaurants of town. A pleasant stroll north along the beach will even take you to Cape Kiwanda State Natural Area for gorgeous vistas.

The home itself is sunny and inviting, with stylish beach decor. Recline on the furniture in the living area and get cozy in front of the gas fireplace with a book, board game, or maybe even a puzzle to relax into the pace of vacation. There's a TV area with space to spread out, as well, with more furniture in front of a flatscreen TV that is equipped with a DVD/VHS player and cable. And for a little nostalgic fun, enjoy the arcade style game system with classic games like Pac-Man, Donkey Kong, and Galaga!

An open kitchen is fully equipped for all your cooking needs, with extras like a mixer, waffle iron, blender, coffeemaker, and dishwasher to make your job easier. There are chairs for nine to dine at one time at the table in the center of the room, and you'll find patio furniture to sit outside on a nice day.

Two large decks offer views of the Pacific Ocean over a line of houses, as well as Cape Kiwanda and Pacific City's Haystack Rock! Relax on the patio furniture sipping your coffee in the morning, grill up tasty food in the evening on the gas grill, then cap off the day with a luxurious soak in your private hot tub. When you want to head to the beach, just step off the deck and walk a short distance.

Upstairs, a sunny gathering room is great for games, drinks, and all other means of hanging out, with a raised table, mini-fridge, fireplace, CD player, and a futon. Come nightfall (or noon naptime), this room can also be used as a bedroom.

Three bedrooms and three-and-a-half baths make this home suitable for up to 12 guests - and dogs are also welcome for an additional nightly pet fee. Kids will love the bunk room, which features two twin-over-queen bunks, an air hockey table, and a flatscreen TV. Two more bedrooms feature a queen bed with their own full private bath and TV mounted on the wall.

Though there are multiple stories in this house, all you need is on the first floor, so it may be a great choice for those with limited mobility. You'll enjoy WiFi at this house, as well as a private washer/dryer for any laundry you may have.

This house is perfect for a large family, multiple families traveling together, or a group of friends - walk down the beach to Green Acres Beach & Trail Rides for some awesome horseback riding with the group, or rent stand-up paddleboards to explore the nearby Nestucca River. You might head down to Bob Straub State Park and Nestucca Bay National Wildlife Refuge to see some avian and marine wildlife, or walk up to Cape Kiwanda for a quick excursion.

In town, you'll find a number of dining options and shops, including the famous Grateful Bread Bakery, which you might stop at on your way out for adventure so you have a picnic all ready. For a sit-in meal, you might stop at The Oar House Bar & Grill along the river, or walk up to Pelican Pub and Brewery for glimpses of the waves while you eat classic pub food and drink delicious microbrews.

This next beach trip will certainly be one for the books - reserve today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





Children's games

Common areas

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD library

DVD player

Gaming system

VHS library

Wireless router

Sound dock



On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs


62 reviews

john p. Sep 2020
Interesting multilevel layout. The upstairs deck very nice with great view. Nice quiet back deck out of the wind, hot tub nice also. The rooms are oddly arranged though, unless your group would like several separate places to be or sit. Some simple amenities lacking in kitchen, measuring cups and spoons, cookie sheets, paper towels (only one). Beach access great of course. We did have a dog, and that limits rentals, but were pleased we had a large house that would accommodate. No odor of animal or damage from prior animals noted. The dog seemed to enjoy the vacation too!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, John. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Cape Escape. We have passed along your feedback regarding the kitchen supplies to our local manager. They will work directly with the owner to restock the kitchen with measuring cups, measuring spoons, and cookie sheets. To clarify, we provide a starter kit of supplies for our guests. This includes one roll of paper towels, extra toilet paper, toiletries, and cleaning supplies. Any additional supplies needed throughout the stay is the responsibility of our guests. Thank you for understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
William Z. Jul 2020
The proximity to the beach was perfect. The house was stocked well with towels, linens and basic kitchen supplies.

We would definitely stay there again.
Rebecca J. Mar 2020
The house is adorable and super comfortable. The 4 bathrooms were a god send with as many people as we had. The deck out back with the spa was so cozy with a beautiful view. The kids always had something to do in the game room. I would recommend this rental to any family
Darcy F. Mar 2020
The views were amazing! Loved the closeness to the beach, the game room and the bar room on top with the little kitchenette were perfect for card playing and sunset view. The hot tub was a great bonus.
Kirk P. Oct 2019
This house is huge, great location, well equipped. My only thing is bring your own food. The two stores are spendy.We had a great time and will be back.
Morgan H. Sep 2019
We stay at this house every time we are in PC. The kids love it and it's a great spot to just kick back.
Gwen C. Aug 2019
Loved this house we rented. It was everything we needed to be extremely comfortable for 2 grandparents, their 2 adult children and spouses, and 3 grandchildren and 1 dog. What made our stay especially wonderful was Lonnie who is the manager and took care of every detail we had questions about. He is very personable and ready to be extremely helpful and promptly was available to help us. Wonderful week!
Duane H. Jul 2019
View unbeatable. Close walking distance to everything. Pacific City the best.
Christopher F. May 2019
Our group of 8 adults had a great time after riding Reach the Beach from Portland to Pacific City. The home was well equipped and the hot tub was much appreciated after the ride. Also steps away from the beach to take in the amazing views.
Michelle F. Apr 2019
The location was great one row from the beach. Ocean views, two decks, a large hot tub, game room and large open bunk area were all awesome. The only funky thing were the showers inside the two bedrooms but that was all manageable and worth it for the additional bathrooms for our group. We had some WiFi and hot tub issues which were resolved quickly by the Vacasa’s area property manager. All around great experience. Thanks Lonnie!
Ilda R. Apr 2019
this house close to the beach and dunes
david s. Mar 2019
Great house and location!
Amy L. Dec 2018
We had lots of fun with our pup at this cute beach house!
David K. Nov 2018
We loved how close it was to the ocean and that we could hear the waves and watch for whales in the upper sitting area. The house layout was great with multiple gathering places for different activities. We had such a great week. Thanks!
Marcus C. Nov 2018
This vacation rental was the perfect space for our trip! We loved the en-suites in the bedrooms. The hot tub was hot and clean and perfect when the rain was falling. The location was excellently situated between restaurants, Pelican brewery, and the grocery store. It was a great stay and we will be back for another trip in the future.
Mark B. Sep 2018
Great layout and nicely furnished; able to accommodate small to moderately large groups with enough separate sitting/game areas to provide privacy. Nice views of Haystack Rock and the beach. Easy beach access across the street.
Sally S. Aug 2018
Our week long stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Easy access to the beach. Loved evenings in the well maintained hot tub. Looking forward to another year at this home.
Kevin S. Aug 2018
Great location. The layout worked great for 12 of us in extended family. Views from balcony were awesome. Also enjoyed time on the large back deck with hot tub.
Great house for a big family or 2 families. It has all you may need from a house and more. Love it.
Kristi I. Jul 2018
Loved this layout for our two families. Arcade and air hockey was awesome! Hot tun was great size for the group and the proximity to the beach was perfect! Only thing we would suggest changing is the dining table only seats 6, but the house sleeps 12. We had to eat in shifts as it was too windy to eat outside. Also, we went to bbq and the propane tank was empty and grill was filthy. Waited over 45 min on phone before we could get any help. By then we were way pass eating time and disappointed we didn't get to grill our food.
Manager response:
We apologize it took so long to get to this guest due to the busy summer season. The propane has been refilled, and the grill has been cleaned. Thank you!
Nathan K. Jun 2018
Love the many levels and areas of the home for adults and c kids to be entertained. The proximity to the beach was the reason we rented Cape Escape, and I didn’t disappoint. The crows nest was outstanding for games with ocean views. Not to mention the hot tub! Will go again. Needs more hangers or stands for your suitcases, but other than that it was great.
Octavio C. Jun 2018
This place is absolutely wonderful. Right across the street from the beach, making it super accessible. The house layout is unusual but turned out to be awesome for our mixed group of adults and kids. Highly recommend!
Pamela J. Apr 2018
Perfect location on an amazing beach. We could see whales from the top floor. Our ten year old loved all the games, and it was great to be able to have our dog there too!
Blanca K. Mar 2018
I highly recommend this place fun/different layout! Space to get away from others to relax.
Tim J. Mar 2018
We had a late check in at the beach, around 7pm on a friday. There was an issue with the hot tub not working due to mechanical failure. Vacasa answered our phone call and immediately jumped into action to make sure we were happy.

Our Vacasa manager even took time out of his friday evening to line us up with a different rental that was an upgraded house with an even better view and a working hot tub! We were checked in by 8:30pm that same Friday night.
The level of customer service we were provided with was exemplary!

This is an actual, honest review, from a real person.
Believe me when I say that if you want to rent from a company that stands behind their product, don't hesitate to rent from Vacasa.

We won't hesitate to rent from Vacasa again in the future!

Thanks again!
Jennifer B. Dec 2017
Set up of the house is a bit odd, but overall we had a wonderful time! The games were fun, hot tub was awesome and we had a lovely girls weekend. The showers in the downstairs bedrooms are strange cause they are in the room and not separate, so make sure you are friendly with whoever is in the bedroom with you. ;)
Benita C. Dec 2017
View of haystack rock and walking distance to Pelican Brewery, what more could you ask. Clean and well stocked. Wonderful staff!!!
Carol L. Nov 2017
We just spent 8 nights in this house and laughed about it not being the best place for a complainer. For us there simply wasn't anything to complain about.

Our first impression was how much bigger it was in real life. Our second impression was how spotlessly clean everything was - even the appliances were sparkling and seemed to be brand new.

Our family (husband, college aged daughter, dog and I) have been through a lot in recent years, keeping us from taking a vacation, so we looked for a place where we could truly relax. This place met the mark with the awesome couches in the TV room, hot tub, sound of the surf, long walks on the beach across the street, and wonderful views (especially in the birds nest up stairs) - they all made this place an incredibly relaxing place to stay for our family. The beds were comfortable - especially with the thick slab of memory foam on the one bed with the wooden headboard. (I might have to buy one for my bed at home) We had one of the worst wind/rain storms I've ever experienced while there but in the rooms at the back of the house you couldn't hear a thing. The kitchen had absolutely everything we needed - which is saying a lot since we ate all our meals at home.

The hot tub was perfect - not too hot - just the way we like it - and felt great especially on those rainy nights.

My advice for anyone visiting: There's a great grocery store right in town so don't worry about stocking up on food before you get there. You never know what might be in the house for your visit but for us there were many staples - i.e. flour, salt, pepper, various other spices, pancake syrup and oil, etc. plus plenty of coffee filters. Also don't worry about bringing extra blankets, lawn chairs, etc. They have it all there. They even had an extra microwave. Oh and the washing machine is huge.

We're from Alberta, Canada so the November weather for us was comfortable, even when raining... and we loved how green everything still is. I highly recommend this time of year for a vacation as the prices are low and the beaches are practically deserted. Which was especially great for our dog (who by the way loves Oregon - because in Oregon they treat dogs the same way they treat people - Fantastic!!!... that's our dog Dezzy's contribution to this review :))

We highly recommend this fun and very comfortable home to anyone.
Robert V. Nov 2017
This is the second property that my family has rented in Kiwanda Shores and we were not happy with either home. We will not be renting there again.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read about this guest's disappointment. We always appreciate specific feedback from our guests in order to make improvements. Thank you!
Julie B. Oct 2017
Great house! Fun vacation! The house was big and comfortable! We had everything we needed! We will be back!!!
Dana B. Oct 2017
Vacasa was excellent to work with. Great follow-up and service. Matt was so helpful. And our rental in Pacific City was outstanding! Beautiful property!
Karen G. Oct 2017
We had 10 in our party stay, and there was plenty of room for everyone. The views were amazing, and there was easy beach access. The house was clean, and the property manager checked in with us to make sure everything was good. Will definitely stay here again, and recommend to others.
Ryan M. Sep 2017
The house was fantastic. Cozy and quite. Just a 100yards to the water. Hot tub is a great cap to the cool nights and a wonderful way to end the day after being on the beach. Will be returning in the future for sure.
Wesley W. Sep 2017
Great spot
Betty R. Aug 2017
Amazing views, and games galore! Nice hot tub. Very relaxing and loved the upper deck. Things were not as clean as we would have appreciated. Nicely located for beach access, though.
Manager response:
We apologize if this guest felt cleanliness was lacking. We will follow-up with housekeeping regarding our high cleanliness expectations. Thank you!
Colleen M. Jul 2017
Other then listed above, this is a great house and would definitely come back.
Brenda C. Jul 2017
Beautiful decor. Very spacious. Comfortable beds. Plenty of entertainment to do in the house if the weather is bad. Grandkids and adults enjoyed the PacMan arcade! Hot tube is a plus for chilly nights. Beach access is very close. We would definitely stay here again.
Michelle G. Jun 2017
Looking forward to staying at this home again!
Marshall S. May 2017
This was my second time at this specific rental, and maybe 10th in Kiwanda Shores. Such a great location with beach access, proximity to the Pelican and the dune, and Whalen Island (clamming!). We had a large group that rode bikes from Portland for the Reach the Beach ride, and couldn't have been happier with the house!! Can't wait to come back!
Rachel L. May 2017
The home was very warm and inviting, the layout worked wonderfully for our group of 4 couples/families. Favorite room in the house was the top level turret. Beautiful ocean views! We ended up sleeping on the futon in this room and loved gazing at the stars at night. A few items were showing age but overall our experience was excellent from booking to check out. Great location! Easy process and great service!
Ann Marie A. Mar 2017
Enjoyed our stay and loved the amenities and the location! Wish we stayed longer! Vacasa was very helpful in making this stay amazing
Suzanne T. Mar 2017
Very nice home
Shawn A. Mar 2017
Plenty of places and seating to relax, great views. Comfortable beds, plenty of bathrooms, and the hot tub makes it!
Preston M. Feb 2017
After a rocky start. The home was not cleaned when we arrived. We contacted the management and they did a great job to get the cleaning crew on in short time.

Once we where settled in we had a great time. Weather was good and kids, friends and Dog had a fabulous stay and was very comfortable home.
Karen P. Dec 2016
This is a very special house with multiple living spaces. There is a parlor with a fireplace, a tv room, a kitchen/dining area, a bunk room with air hockey and tv and a poker parlor with a wet bar, mini-fridge and deck. Excellent for a large group with varied recreational interests.
Sam A. Oct 2016
We spent a few days here with our family in Mid-October. Even though it was a bit chilly, the kids still had a great time playing on the beach. The house is big enough that people aren't stepping on each other, but still easy for everyone to gather for meals and games. The property is well maintained, comfortable, and clean. Highly recommended.
Elena A. Oct 2016
We were pleased with our whole beach house vacation experience! The beach is so beautiful, with nice walking trails around neighborhood. The house met our needs and was a great place to be in!