Virtual Tour
Belize Stann Creek Placencia The Placencia Peninsula Listing #8658

Casa Chachalaca - Placencia, Stann Creek

24 reviews
Max occupancy: 9 3 Queen Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Crib 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Mile 15.2 road to Placencia (16.617094, -88.353388) Casa Chachalaca, Placencia, Belize

Oceanfront, modern home with private pool, beach, and rooftop deck

With the ocean in your backyard, there's no doubt you'll get to experience the best of Belize all day, every day. Placencia Village is a short drive south and offers shopping, dining, markets, and public beaches. Up to nine guests can stay at the beautiful oceanfront Belize house and enjoy the private pool and easy access to central Placencia.

This upscale home has everything your group needs to relax and enjoy each others' company. The open main living area is complete with a full kitchen, dining table for eight, and comfortable living room with a flatscreen TV. Watch a show or movie (cable and a DVD/Blu-ray player are included), chat with fellow travelers over a glass of wine, and use the WiFi to book an excursion for tomorrow.

After dinner, head out to the pool for a dip and watch the sky change colors while sitting together on the patio furniture. Before heading to bed, step through your room's sliding glass door to the covered balcony and up the spiral stairs to the rooftop deck to enjoy some incredible views.

Up the spiral staircase are four nicely decorated bedrooms and two bathrooms with a stunning tiled shower attached to the first bedroom, which has a queen-size bed. Two more bedrooms also have queen-sized beds and the fourth features a futon. This home also has a half-bathroom/laundry room downstairs for convenience.

Placencia is bursting with adventure for in between lazy days on the white sandy shores. Spend many hours on the beach or at a poolside bar, or rent a standup paddleboard. Take a kayak expedition at Laughing Bird Caye, explore Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary, see the howler monkeys at Monkey River, and explore the Maya Temple sites and the jaguar preserve. Enjoy fishing, snorkeling, scuba diving and dining on authentic Belizean cuisine. Take a tour of the nearby banana farm or the Marie Sharp's hot sauce factory.

Make your trip to paradise the best it can possibly be by booking this beachfront home.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Kayaks

Children

Crib

High chair

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Central AC

Pool : Private

Propane/gas home : Propane

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Blu-Ray player

Cable

DVD player

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Balcony

Beach chairs

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

24 reviews

Douglas W. Jul 2019
Great home with amazing features including pool, multiple sliding doors, third floor access, clean sandy beach, and flexible sleeping accommodations. Thanks.
Zulema M. Apr 2019
It was my Birthday , some friends and i had a short weekend to celebrate , we came across Casa Chacalaca , which was more than we had expected. The house is clean, we had more than enough linens , towels and the amenities were perfect .
It has a gorgeous Sun Roof where you are able to relax , enjoy the vista of both Sunrise and sunset perfectly. The pool is cozy and clean , the beach was so captivating during the day looking out at the glittery ocean and all too perfect, that we just sat an enjoyed every color on the horizon at Sunset . On Sunday the house manager came by with champagne which was such a great gesture , and was sweet enough to let us have a late check out. This is definitely a great option for family or friends to book , you will not regret it. We will without a doubt be back !
Jim . Nov 2018
"The house was outstanding, very clean and well organized. Easy to locate everything we needed. The house was in a great location with local restaurants, supply stores and close to Placencia when we wanted to go. The Maya Beach area was much nicer and cleaner than Placencia. Overall the location, private beach, pool and house were excellent and I would highly recommend this property and return in the future. Great job by David and all his staff!! Jim Hagen"
Renee T. Sep 2018
House was a beautiful as pictured and worked perfect for our group. Everything was clean and spacious and we enjoyed moments of peace on all the deck. Thank you for making it available for our group.
Lucie B. Jul 2018
Close to great restaurants
Lots of privacy
Spacious living areas
Great views from upstairs porch
George L. Jul 2018
The house and surrounding property were quite nice, and the location to Placencia and shopping was perfect. However, we were there for 5 days before the beach was finally cleared of messy debris. Also the bathrooms smelled of old urine when we moved in before we cleaned them. The spiral staircase was a little difficult to negotiate, but other than these problems, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
JONI H. Jun 2018
We loved everything about this house! We were in Belize for our sons wedding with our whole immediate family. The house fit us and was perfectly located. The kitchen had everything we needed. The pool was a welcome relief from the hot sunny days! The only thing we wished we had was a grill. Great property! Can’t wait to go back!!
Annalise L. Jun 2018
We loved the location of the house to Maya Beach Hotel (which had a great restaurant for affordable prices) nice beach in front of the house, the main floor of the house and close proximity to Placencia.

We were disappointed upon arrival to find the first floor air was on and was nice and cool but the upstairs where the bedrooms are was not cooled for our arrival. It took almost 24 hours to cool down the bedrooms jeopardizing a good first nights sleep after a long day of travel. We were told the futon in the 4th bedroom was very comfortable - it was not. It was incredibly uncomfortable. They really should put a bed in the 4th room. The pool furniture is in really bad condition - broken and unusable. We brought this to the management companies attention and they said maybe it would be replaced before we left. It was not. They had floats that were not usable as well. There were cleanliness issues including a dirty bathroom and a dirty pizza pie pan in the oven. After two days we asked about toilet paper and garbage bags...we were told where the store was. This is the first vacation rental where i've supplied my own toilet paper and garbage bags. This house has a lot of potential but it appears they don't want to spend the money to improve the guest experience. Rooftop and balcony are unusable as there is no furniture (or very uncomfortable) to sit on. The spiral staircases are difficult to get suitcases up. The toiletries provided were not what you would think you would receive - close to empty liquid soap bottles, used loofa scrubs. I would review reviews carefully and take seriously what is being said about this house.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments this guest experienced during their reservation with us. We are very sorry about the issues with cleaning and have followed-up with our housekeeping team. We did send a housekeeper out the same day to address the problems our guest discovered. It is standard policy not to run the air conditioner when guests are not in the home; we did start them just prior to guest arrival and apologize if it did not cool down quickly enough for guest comfort. The furniture the owner will be purchasing to replace what is currently at the home is only available for purchase in the village during the third week of each month. We apologize we were unable to purchase it in time for this guest to use and enjoy. We provide two trash bags per garbage can, and three rolls of toilet paper for each bathroom. If guests need additional supplies, they will need to procure them. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause our visitors. We hope to have another chance to impress this guest and look forward to sharing our home with others in the future. Thank you!
Virginia K. Apr 2018
The house is perfect for 3 couples with everything one could possibly need in the kitchen. The pool and beach are lovely. The house is conveniently located to a couple of fabulous restaurants.
Amadou D. Feb 2018
This is a beautiful and spacious house, very tastefully decorated. We cooked a lot of meals in the well-equipped kitchen and enjoyed the very comfortable beds. AC units were in every bedroom but we just opened the patio doors for the ocean breeze. We loved having the pool and the sunrise and sunset views over the sea were incredible.
Christina C. Feb 2018
We went here with another couple and loved it. The location is perfect—in walking distance of grocery, and a number of great restaurants, including the Maya Beach Bistro, which was fabulous. The property is secluded...you can't see the house to the north at all and the house to the south is mostly blocked by trees. While we were there, neither house was occupied, so we had the entire beach to ourselves. The water is very warm, no waves and shallow. The pool is cool-ish, but nice mid day or if it's very hot. The furnishings are beautiful, tasteful, amazing art...and AC works very, very well. Placencia is a fabulous place, great snorkeling, cute town, great seafood. There's good hiking, etc. but you have to drive an hour to get there. Check out Lyra and Taste Belize Tours. Loved our stay here!
Joseph H. Feb 2018
Exactly what we were hoping for. We would definitely stay at this property again!
Jennifer K. Feb 2018
We had this rental with two other couples. There was a lot of space and quiet for us to enjoy the stay. Loved how we were right on the beach. A quick drive to the wildlife reserve (about 20 minutes) or to Placencia (about 15 minutes) for groceries, restaurants and tours. Appreciated the hosts and how helpful and available they were. The better grocery stores are a bit farther down so don't stop at the first one you see.
Susan C. Jan 2018
We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Chachalaca in Placencia. The property managers were attentive and quickly resolved any issues we had, and the location was terrific. We enjoyed the beach access, and the activities and excursions offered nearby.
C B. Jan 2018
We have rented houses all over the world. Here are the pros and cons. We had two families, 8 people, kids were 18 to 22. Stayed one week. Dec 26, 2017 to Jan 2, 2018.

Pros:
Location, though a bit of a drive to Placencia, is right next to Mangos and the Bistro - two of the best restaurants in the general area.
Parking was good. House is beautiful inside and out.
Their price for the week was good.
Montse was extremely helpful before our arrival. Leonardo was very helpful upon our arrival. Both of them were out of town during our visit and it was unclear who to contact for minor concerns (blown fuse, animals in garbage).
The beach right out in front of the house is very nice and sand continues out for a bit then turns to grass - we brought a travel volleyball and badminton set and played tons of volleyball. The water right out front is excellent and swimmable.
Kayaking out to False Caye (the island you see from the beach) has good snorkeling. Takes 30 minutes to paddle out - so be ready for a workout - anchor around the north point on sand.
The house is very nice - I thought the artwork inside was the best of any house I have rented, but that's a matter of opinion. Furniture is comfortable. Kitchen was solid - easy to use - had good pots/pans. Table is big - seats 8 without being crammed. Bedrooms were good. Our bed in the master was comfortable. 3 bedrooms face the water. Sound of the ocean is great - but not too much because the water has very small waves (or none on some mornings when it is calmest).
Air conditioning in every room (via mini splits) but we didn't use it.
Hike to double waterfall (3 hours total - hike up, swim, hike back) at Cockscomb Reserve was exceptional. Hike is strenuous but the waterfalls are swimmable and absolutely spectacular - as is the jungle. Wear the lightest long pants you can find - bug bites are itchy.

Cons (nothing major):
Spiral staircases look great but are a pain with luggage and everyday use.
One bedroom has a futon, which is silly since there is no use for this room but as a bedroom. We brought an inflatable twin and am super glad we did.
The rooftop needs furniture and it's pretty much impossible to get any furniture up there. We ended up not using it much. There should be high bar stool furniture/tables so you can see out. Could use more outside furniture on the beach.
Pool is nice but would have preferred the pool to be heated (even if we paid extra)- wouldn't take much to heat it because it is not that big. Inflatable kayaks are not easy to inflate or use.
Monkey river tour - don't go on it if it is raining or it is pure hell. 40-mph with rain pelting you for 40 minutes to get to the island... Then do it again on the way back.

Overall this is a 4 rating. I recommend this property. We had an awesome vacation.
Sharyn N. Nov 2017
House was in a great location. Near grocery store and restaurants. The beach was great. Short walk to water.
David R. Nov 2017
well equipped beachfront home in maya beach
Mary P. Jun 2017
This
house was exactly as we saw it on Inet. There was plenty of room for all 8 of us. The open area concept worked great for entertaining and easy access to the pool and water. The balcony on the 2nd level allowed for awesome views of sunrises and sunsets. The house is absolutely amazing and the price is great!!! It was so awesome to end our trip here, especially since we were previously in San Ignacio staying in a lodge with no AC. So coming to a home with AC along with wifi, pool, ocean as your backyard, and especially a washing machine and dryer was all a welcomed sight. Definitely a sight to see!!!
Joann W. May 2017
The Casa was awsome, loved the pool and the location, on the water.
Julian T. Apr 2017
A little pricey but the location is lovely, the view is great, the pool is awesome, and a good house.

The people are really helpful as well.

(Loved that they had toys, kayaks, and goggles all available)