Virtual Tour
Belize Stann Creek Placencia The Placencia Peninsula Listing #8658

Casa Chachalaca - Placencia,

33 reviews
Max occupancy: 9 3 Queen Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Casa Chachalaca, Placencia, Belize

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible, no-fee options for trip changes and cancellations.

You can reschedule your trip, cancel it and receive 100% credit for a future stay, or cancel it for a refund (minus the booking fee) at least 30 days before check-in.

Note: If your trip starts after August 31, you have these options as long as you change or cancel your trip at least 30 days before check-in.

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Most Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Oceanfront, modern home with private pool, beach, and rooftop deck

Contact Vacasa for discounted weekly and monthly stays!

With the ocean in your backyard, there's no doubt you'll get to experience the best of Belize all day, every day. Placencia Village is a short drive south and offers shopping, dining, markets, and public beaches. Up to nine guests can stay at the beautiful oceanfront Belize house and enjoy the private pool and great views.

This upscale home has everything your group needs to relax and enjoy each others' company. The open main living area is complete with a full kitchen, dining table for eight, and a comfortable living room with a flat-screen TV. Watch a show or movie (cable and a DVD/Blu-ray player are included), chat with fellow travelers over a glass of wine, and use the WiFi to book an excursion for tomorrow. After dinner, head out to the pool for a dip and watch the sky change colors while sitting together on the patio furniture. Before heading to bed, step through your room's sliding glass door to the covered balcony and up the spiral stairs to the rooftop deck to enjoy some incredible views. Up the spiral staircase are four nicely decorated bedrooms and two bathrooms with a stunning tiled shower attached to the first bedroom, which has a queen-size bed. Two more bedrooms also have queen-sized beds and the fourth features a futon. This home also has a half-bathroom/laundry room downstairs for convenience.

What's nearby:
Placencia is bursting with adventure for in-between lazy days on the white sandy shores. Spend many hours on the beach or at a poolside, or go out with the canoe. Take a kayak expedition at Laughing Bird Caye, explore Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary, see the howler monkeys at Monkey River, and explore the Maya Temple sites and the jaguar preserve. Enjoy fishing, snorkeling, scuba diving, and dining on authentic Belizean cuisine. Take a tour of the nearby banana farm or the Marie Sharp's hot sauce factory. Make your trip to paradise the best it can possibly be by booking this beachfront home.

Things to know:
Full Kitchen
Free Wifi
Free available parking
Canoe on-site
Private washer/dryer

* The home is located by the main road and close to a restaurant that plays music, so please expect some noise.
**Please note there are four cameras around the property for security reasons.

You must be 18 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

High chair

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Nearby activities & attractions

Board games

On-site activities

Pool : Private

Kayaks

Outdoor

Balcony

Patio

Beach chairs

33 reviews

Robin S. Apr 2020
We were visiting at the start of the Coronavirus outbreak in the US, so travel was starting to slow and the Peninsula was fairly quiet. Beaches and restaurants were pretty sparse which was amazing for us.
The house is beautiful and well equipped. Beds were small, but were OK. Would recommend taking your own pillows though. The pool is very small, but fine for soaking. We were not sure it was properly chlorinated as we could not smell any chemical and the water was murky, so we mostly stayed out of it.
We had noticed many comments about the outdoor seating options being very limited and uncomfortable. That is the one thing we would also change about the home. It has an amazingly beautiful view, and comfortable and plentiful seating would definitely enhance the outdoor experience. There are a couple of small wooden chairs that are pretty uncomfortable and hard to get in and out of and two plastic chairs that are both broken in several places, so outdoor seating is pretty limited.
Other than that, the place is wonderful. Vero was extremely helpful to us in scheduling flights and tours and making sure everything was great at the house. It is right next door to the Green Parrot resort and we spent quite a lot of time there because we had a friend staying their. Their food is wonderful and their staff is amazing. Leo was extremely helpful to us with a variety of things.
Definitely recommend a stay here!
Amos G. Mar 2020
Home is well equipped on the beach with a pool. It is in a excellent location close to restaurants and a grocery store.
Karen F. Feb 2020
Casa Chachalaca is a beautiful home in a perfect location. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet with great ac and WiFi. We rented a golf cart, but would probably rent a car next time. It was within walking distance of markets, and restaurants. You could snorkel and swim right from the beach in front, but also had fun taking the canoe to False Caye where we found beautiful coral off the tip of the island. Leo, from the Green Parrot next door, was very helpful in setting up tours and a taxi. We did the Monkey River tour and a private snorkeling tour and would highly recommend both! We hope to return someday, and would definitely rent this vacation home!
Sam F. Jan 2020
We loved the house. Great open concept. Great sitting in and around the pool and beach. Wish we had longer time to spend
Katie D. Nov 2019
The house and location were great. It was very clean. The pool was amazing in the mornings to heat the Belizean heat. Some decent restaurants in walking distance. Placencia was a 15 minute drive. Our young kids really enjoyed the pool and beach. My only complaint is the chairs for sitting outside weren’t very comfortable. But we loved our stay here and would definitely stay again!
Christine G. Oct 2019
Absolutely love the house when you walk in the view is spectacular. Wonderful beach beautiful pool. We would definitely stay there again
Mathilde S. Oct 2019
So many things to love about Casa Chacalaca! The large downstairs allowed for late nights, long dinners and early mornings overlooking the pool, beach and water. The pool was sunny in the day, and shady in the afternoon (perfect if you have a little sunburn, as my family did!). The four bedrooms (one with a futon) were nicely sized and stayed relatively cool during the night (make sure the sliding door doesn't accidentally over-close for the porch bedrooms - my brother did this and it caused a gap which made his room very hot). The beds are somewhat comfortable, however I was very glad that I brought my own pillow. The bathrooms are also comfortable and with the extra half bathroom downstairs our 6 person group never had any problems. We particularly loved the third floor with the palapa - perfect for sunsets and for stargazing! There are many wonderful books in this house about Belizean culture, flora and fauna - my family loved perusing these. The kitchen was very workable and had all the pots and pans that we could need!

The location was perfect for our needs as well. We rented 2 golf carts for 6 people, and this was a great to explore the entire peninsula. This house is in close proximity to a grocery store, many restaurants, and resorts. South you will find the town of Placencia about 25 minutes away; the airport is about 15 minutes, and the resort Naia (with a great restaurant, 1981) less than 10 minutes by golf cart. Then to the north you will find resorts such as Belize Ocean Club and Hotel Placencia, no more than 10 minutes by golf cart. We loved Maya Beach Bistro, Singing Sands Resort and the Green Parrot, all lovely resorts with bars and restaurants attached. We returned to the Green Parrot multiple times to sit on their dock/palapa and chat with the wonderful Isabel.

My family is already talking about how much we would love to come back. Perhaps one of the BEST parts of this vacation was Veronique, the concierge. We had flight issues and she was INCREDIBLY helpful, re-booking our flights from Belize City to Placencia without a second guess. She also provided fabulous references, as hiring Cara and her father for a traditional creole meal was so amazing, we did it for two nights!!!! We were blown away by their skill, warmth, knowledge and engaging personalities. Not to mention the food!! Omar dove into the ocean that morning and caught us fresh lobster! Talk about a dreamy vacation!!!
richard W a. Aug 2019
Pros-Very nice home, great ocean views, convenient to plascencia, great staff to help(thanks chris), we saw a catamundi in our yard!
Cons- a lot of seaweed in front, only way to second floor was a winding stairway, hard beds
Chun Ni C. Jul 2019
“This is great experience to visit Casa Chachalaca in Placencia. We had wonderful time; pool and beach offered great activities to children. Store and local restaurant are closed, amazing view; it would be greater if there’s outdoor bbq griller. Will visit it again when we came back to Belize.”
Douglas W. Jul 2019
Great home with amazing features including pool, multiple sliding doors, third floor access, clean sandy beach, and flexible sleeping accommodations. Thanks.
Zulema M. Apr 2019
It was my Birthday , some friends and i had a short weekend to celebrate , we came across Casa Chacalaca , which was more than we had expected. The house is clean, we had more than enough linens , towels and the amenities were perfect .
It has a gorgeous Sun Roof where you are able to relax , enjoy the vista of both Sunrise and sunset perfectly. The pool is cozy and clean , the beach was so captivating during the day looking out at the glittery ocean and all too perfect, that we just sat an enjoyed every color on the horizon at Sunset . On Sunday the house manager came by with champagne which was such a great gesture , and was sweet enough to let us have a late check out. This is definitely a great option for family or friends to book , you will not regret it. We will without a doubt be back !
Jim . Nov 2018
"The house was outstanding, very clean and well organized. Easy to locate everything we needed. The house was in a great location with local restaurants, supply stores and close to Placencia when we wanted to go. The Maya Beach area was much nicer and cleaner than Placencia. Overall the location, private beach, pool and house were excellent and I would highly recommend this property and return in the future. Great job by David and all his staff!! Jim Hagen"
Renee T. Sep 2018
House was a beautiful as pictured and worked perfect for our group. Everything was clean and spacious and we enjoyed moments of peace on all the deck. Thank you for making it available for our group.
Lucie B. Jul 2018
Close to great restaurants
Lots of privacy
Spacious living areas
Great views from upstairs porch
George L. Jul 2018
The house and surrounding property were quite nice, and the location to Placencia and shopping was perfect. However, we were there for 5 days before the beach was finally cleared of messy debris. Also the bathrooms smelled of old urine when we moved in before we cleaned them. The spiral staircase was a little difficult to negotiate, but other than these problems, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
JONI H. Jun 2018
We loved everything about this house! We were in Belize for our sons wedding with our whole immediate family. The house fit us and was perfectly located. The kitchen had everything we needed. The pool was a welcome relief from the hot sunny days! The only thing we wished we had was a grill. Great property! Can’t wait to go back!!
Annalise L. Jun 2018
We loved the location of the house to Maya Beach Hotel (which had a great restaurant for affordable prices) nice beach in front of the house, the main floor of the house and close proximity to Placencia.

We were disappointed upon arrival to find the first floor air was on and was nice and cool but the upstairs where the bedrooms are was not cooled for our arrival. It took almost 24 hours to cool down the bedrooms jeopardizing a good first nights sleep after a long day of travel. We were told the futon in the 4th bedroom was very comfortable - it was not. It was incredibly uncomfortable. They really should put a bed in the 4th room. The pool furniture is in really bad condition - broken and unusable. We brought this to the management companies attention and they said maybe it would be replaced before we left. It was not. They had floats that were not usable as well. There were cleanliness issues including a dirty bathroom and a dirty pizza pie pan in the oven. After two days we asked about toilet paper and garbage bags...we were told where the store was. This is the first vacation rental where i've supplied my own toilet paper and garbage bags. This house has a lot of potential but it appears they don't want to spend the money to improve the guest experience. Rooftop and balcony are unusable as there is no furniture (or very uncomfortable) to sit on. The spiral staircases are difficult to get suitcases up. The toiletries provided were not what you would think you would receive - close to empty liquid soap bottles, used loofa scrubs. I would review reviews carefully and take seriously what is being said about this house.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments this guest experienced during their reservation with us. We are very sorry about the issues with cleaning and have followed-up with our housekeeping team. We did send a housekeeper out the same day to address the problems our guest discovered. It is standard policy not to run the air conditioner when guests are not in the home; we did start them just prior to guest arrival and apologize if it did not cool down quickly enough for guest comfort. The furniture the owner will be purchasing to replace what is currently at the home is only available for purchase in the village during the third week of each month. We apologize we were unable to purchase it in time for this guest to use and enjoy. We provide two trash bags per garbage can, and three rolls of toilet paper for each bathroom. If guests need additional supplies, they will need to procure them. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause our visitors. We hope to have another chance to impress this guest and look forward to sharing our home with others in the future. Thank you!
Virginia K. Apr 2018
The house is perfect for 3 couples with everything one could possibly need in the kitchen. The pool and beach are lovely. The house is conveniently located to a couple of fabulous restaurants.
Amadou D. Feb 2018
This is a beautiful and spacious house, very tastefully decorated. We cooked a lot of meals in the well-equipped kitchen and enjoyed the very comfortable beds. AC units were in every bedroom but we just opened the patio doors for the ocean breeze. We loved having the pool and the sunrise and sunset views over the sea were incredible.
Joseph H. Feb 2018
Exactly what we were hoping for. We would definitely stay at this property again!
Christina C. Feb 2018
We went here with another couple and loved it. The location is perfect—in walking distance of grocery, and a number of great restaurants, including the Maya Beach Bistro, which was fabulous. The property is secluded...you can't see the house to the north at all and the house to the south is mostly blocked by trees. While we were there, neither house was occupied, so we had the entire beach to ourselves. The water is very warm, no waves and shallow. The pool is cool-ish, but nice mid day or if it's very hot. The furnishings are beautiful, tasteful, amazing art...and AC works very, very well. Placencia is a fabulous place, great snorkeling, cute town, great seafood. There's good hiking, etc. but you have to drive an hour to get there. Check out Lyra and Taste Belize Tours. Loved our stay here!
Jennifer K. Feb 2018
We had this rental with two other couples. There was a lot of space and quiet for us to enjoy the stay. Loved how we were right on the beach. A quick drive to the wildlife reserve (about 20 minutes) or to Placencia (about 15 minutes) for groceries, restaurants and tours. Appreciated the hosts and how helpful and available they were. The better grocery stores are a bit farther down so don't stop at the first one you see.
Susan C. Jan 2018
We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Chachalaca in Placencia. The property managers were attentive and quickly resolved any issues we had, and the location was terrific. We enjoyed the beach access, and the activities and excursions offered nearby.
C B. Jan 2018
We have rented houses all over the world. Here are the pros and cons. We had two families, 8 people, kids were 18 to 22. Stayed one week. Dec 26, 2017 to Jan 2, 2018.

Pros:
Location, though a bit of a drive to Placencia, is right next to Mangos and the Bistro - two of the best restaurants in the general area.
Parking was good. House is beautiful inside and out.
Their price for the week was good.
Montse was extremely helpful before our arrival. Leonardo was very helpful upon our arrival. Both of them were out of town during our visit and it was unclear who to contact for minor concerns (blown fuse, animals in garbage).
The beach right out in front of the house is very nice and sand continues out for a bit then turns to grass - we brought a travel volleyball and badminton set and played tons of volleyball. The water right out front is excellent and swimmable.
Kayaking out to False Caye (the island you see from the beach) has good snorkeling. Takes 30 minutes to paddle out - so be ready for a workout - anchor around the north point on sand.
The house is very nice - I thought the artwork inside was the best of any house I have rented, but that's a matter of opinion. Furniture is comfortable. Kitchen was solid - easy to use - had good pots/pans. Table is big - seats 8 without being crammed. Bedrooms were good. Our bed in the master was comfortable. 3 bedrooms face the water. Sound of the ocean is great - but not too much because the water has very small waves (or none on some mornings when it is calmest).
Air conditioning in every room (via mini splits) but we didn't use it.
Hike to double waterfall (3 hours total - hike up, swim, hike back) at Cockscomb Reserve was exceptional. Hike is strenuous but the waterfalls are swimmable and absolutely spectacular - as is the jungle. Wear the lightest long pants you can find - bug bites are itchy.

Cons (nothing major):
Spiral staircases look great but are a pain with luggage and everyday use.
One bedroom has a futon, which is silly since there is no use for this room but as a bedroom. We brought an inflatable twin and am super glad we did.
The rooftop needs furniture and it's pretty much impossible to get any furniture up there. We ended up not using it much. There should be high bar stool furniture/tables so you can see out. Could use more outside furniture on the beach.
Pool is nice but would have preferred the pool to be heated (even if we paid extra)- wouldn't take much to heat it because it is not that big. Inflatable kayaks are not easy to inflate or use.
Monkey river tour - don't go on it if it is raining or it is pure hell. 40-mph with rain pelting you for 40 minutes to get to the island... Then do it again on the way back.

Overall this is a 4 rating. I recommend this property. We had an awesome vacation.
Sharyn N. Nov 2017
House was in a great location. Near grocery store and restaurants. The beach was great. Short walk to water.
David R. Nov 2017
well equipped beachfront home in maya beach
Mary P. Jun 2017
This
house was exactly as we saw it on Inet. There was plenty of room for all 8 of us. The open area concept worked great for entertaining and easy access to the pool and water. The balcony on the 2nd level allowed for awesome views of sunrises and sunsets. The house is absolutely amazing and the price is great!!! It was so awesome to end our trip here, especially since we were previously in San Ignacio staying in a lodge with no AC. So coming to a home with AC along with wifi, pool, ocean as your backyard, and especially a washing machine and dryer was all a welcomed sight. Definitely a sight to see!!!
Joann W. May 2017
The Casa was awsome, loved the pool and the location, on the water.
Julian T. Apr 2017
A little pricey but the location is lovely, the view is great, the pool is awesome, and a good house.

The people are really helpful as well.

(Loved that they had toys, kayaks, and goggles all available)