Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Waldport Listing #889

Mermaid's Lair - Waldport, OR

67 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
3405 NW Hidden Lake Dr., Waldport, OR 97394

Whimsical oceanview & dog-friendly home w/ private hot tub & close beach access!

Mermaids and sailors and sea creatures, oh my! This delightful, whimsical, and recently updated Waldport vacation home will awaken your senses with its one of a kind collection of mermaid and nautical displays. Boasting new flooring throughout, an adorable children's nook, and a selection of fun games, this dog-friendly rental is ideal for large families or groups of friends traveling together. Located in the Sandpiper neighborhood of Waldport, you're only a short two block walk to an incredible beach!

The living room has a comfortable sectional sofa, a flatscreen TV, and a media library. The walls display unique mermaid and ocean themed art, so there's always something interesting to catch your eye.

A fully stocked, eat-in kitchen will delight the designated cook, and formal dinnerware will set a lovely table for family gatherings. Just outside the kitchen, through sliding glass doors, you'll find plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy dinners along with colorful sunsets. An outdoor fireplace provides the perfect focal point to gather around on chilly nights and enjoy the salty, fresh ocean air. For a quick warm up, there is also a hot tub on the back deck!

One bedroom with a queen bed can be found downstairs, as well as a full bathroom with a shower. The additional three bedrooms are located upstairs, so the downstairs room is a good choice for anyone that wants a bit more privacy or guests with limited mobility. Please be aware that two of the bedrooms are pass-through rooms that are accessible from another room, so this setup might be best for families with children.

On the second level, one bedroom has two twin beds - ideal for the kids, while another bedroom has a full-size bed and more unique wall art. The spacious master bedroom has a full size bed with an eye-popping mermaid sculpture hanging over the bed, as well as a lovely ocean view from the window. A full bathroom on this level features a claw foot tub and there is a half bath at the bottom of the stairs for everyone's convenience.

With a total of four bedrooms and two sofabeds (recommended for children or smaller adults), your group of up to 10 guests will enjoy the many amenities offered at this home. Also available are a washer and dryer, as well as complimentary internet access, and the family dogs are also welcome here for a nightly fee.

Upstairs, you'll also find a comfortable sitting room with telescopes and binoculars for whale watching during the day or stargazing on clear nights. On rainy days, from here you'll be able to enjoy ocean views without getting wet. Not raining? The adjoining balcony is a great place to hang out any time of day, or view an evening sunset over the water while enjoying a glass of wine.

There are beach chairs, a kayak, and sand toys for the kids to play with down by the water. Pack a lunch and spend a day on the beach - and if you forget something, it's just a short, two block walk back to your home.

The town of Waldport is a quiet fishing village that boasts a pristine stretch of sand for beachcombing or just relaxing with a good book. The nearby Alsea River is a local favorite for fishing, crabbing, and even kayaking. And if you don't feel like cooking, dining options in town include the Azul Mexican restaurant, Carol's Cafe for hearty breakfasts and the Flounder Inn Tavern for dinner and drinks.

For an easy day trip, the bustling town of Newport is only 15 miles north, and with attractions like the Oregon Coast Aquarium, a lively bayfront downtown, and Rogue Brewery, Newport is a great destination, rain or shine. An equal distance to the south lies Yachats where you will find small shops, cafes, and more of that gorgeous Oregon coastline.

This whimsical Waldport vacation home definitely has it all - ocean views, a unique interior, and a great location for exploring the best of the central Oregon coast!

AMENITIES

Activities

Kayaks

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Cable : Charter

DVD player

VHS library

VCR

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Patio

Beach chairs

Deck

Firepit

Scenic

Water view

67 reviews

Autumn P. Dec 2019
We stayed for Thanksgiving 2019. Kitchen was well stocked with everything I needed to make thanksgiving for my family. Plenty of space for everyone, my kids love the double beds in the nook upstairs and my 3 yr old loved the playroom. I loved the claw foot bath tub. Short walk to the beach was perfect for our after thanksgiving dinner walk. My only complaints were that the hot tub wasn’t hot when we arrived even though I asked that it would be since I read in previous reviews that quite a few people were disappointed that they arrived to a cold hot tub. After tinkering with the hot tub we finally got it working and hot but we missed out on 2 days of use which was upsetting. My other complaint was that the dishwasher was full of dirty dishes that I had to was by hand because they were too dirty for the dishwasher to get clean, gross! Other than that our stay was nice and we would probably stay there again.
Jean S. Aug 2019
It was well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, utensils. Easy walk to the beach.
Dustin C. Jul 2019
It was nice to arrive to a clean hot tub that we could enjoy after a long drive. It was a short walk to the beach through a quiet neighborhood. It was nice that the home welcomed pets.
Jennifer W. May 2019
It was the best family vacation ever we are definitely planning on going back
Karl T. Apr 2019
Our family of 6 enjoyed our stay. The house is roomy with plenty of beds. The hot tub was wonderful. Waldport is a bit remote, but we did find a good grocery store in town. The ocean view is pretty limited, but the few block walk to the beach was easy, and the beach was almost empty of people. We would definitely stay here again. Plenty of parking if you have multiple cars. They have a large collection of VCR tapes, but we could not get the player to accept a tape. But they have Netflix available, so plenty to watch on the rainy days.
Jennifer W. Jan 2019
This is our go to place on the beach. We have stayed at several different rentals but always come back to this one.
chance m. Oct 2018
The view an roominess.
Melody A. Aug 2018
Upstairs deck is a great place for sunsets.
Khanh T. Aug 2018
House is close to everything and in the nice neighborhood. Mermaid on the ceiling in the bedroom is too much.
Cat M. Jun 2018
Lots of room for our 3 family extended brood. Space worked well for Little’s, our dogs and our beachcombers! Near good attractions, nice view of beach and the good sized hot tub was a hit. Had all we needed, except our food and clothes!
Maureen M. Mar 2018
Let's start with arrival. After traveling 8 long hours with 8 kids when we got to beach house i was going to get in hot tub! Was looking forward to it. Get there at 4(check in) and at445 i go out and take cover off the hot tub and it's freezing. Maintenance guy comes says they just cleaned it that morning. Every time someone checks out the hot tub should be cleaned (were charged a $40 hot tub cleaning fee?)it had not been rented the night before.. Or few nights before. So then night 2. The dryer starts eating our clothes. We didn't have a dryer the rest of our trip. Checked out wed. Had to go to laundry mat And some clothes are ruined from what the dryer did to them. The blinds on front door and front window are completely broken. There's chunks falling out of the wall. The pots, pans and cookie sheets need replaced.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was disappointed. We always do our best to clean the hot tub as close to guest arrival as possible so it's fresh and ready for incoming guests. Everything was heating properly when inspected. We also apologize about the dryer and are working on getting it fixed. We did offer to let this guest use our off-site dryers for housekeeping.
HannahShae M. Jan 2018
We chose this house over another less expensive house with better beach access because it had a hot tub.
We arrived on a Friday around 3 and the hot tub was green, smelled and had chunks floating in it. I am a hot tub technician and I take care of rental house hot tubs for a living. None of the tubs I care for would ever get even close to this condition. When we called they said that we would get the hot tub fee returned. $20 to make up for not being able to use the hot tub. It was not usable untill Sunday morning, if we had not chosen late check out we would not have been able to use it at all.
While the house it's self was nice and clean it is not 4 bedrooms. It has two bedrooms, and two annexes with sheets for doors that hold beds. If you need 4 bedrooms with doors do not chose this house.
Manager response:
We apologize the hot tub was not ready for this guest and agree the hot tub should never have been in this condition. It has been fixed and cleaned and is ready for more guests to enjoy it!
Kenneth A. Nov 2017
The House was most accommodating for our family.
It was very kid friendly, and it was equipped for the best of cooks.
Thank you.
Donna I. Oct 2017
It was a great place to get together with the family.
Gail K. Sep 2017
This was special. We felt like we were in a family home. Coats and robes in the closet. Bikes, kayak and pogo stick in the garage. Hostess dishes and cookware abounds. Toys for the kids. Books for everyone. VHS movies and players... In short, this was a home away from home. A delight and privilege. Thank you.
Courtney S. Sep 2017
Really loved the location and atmosphere of the house but it is slightly outdated and could use a little pick me up. The bedrooms were nice but the second upstairs bathroom was a little awkward with no real shower.
Tim D. Aug 2017
Ten of us (all adults) stayed here for the 2017 Solar Eclipse. The house is located in a quiet, private community, is a quick five-minute walk to nearest beach access point, and just a short, 5-10 minute drive to the shops and restaurants in downtown Waldport.

This house is an outstanding option for those who want all the amenities of a cozy beach house at an affordable price point. There are two full size rooms with private bathrooms, and two very small rooms that are more like alcoves with privacy curtains (one room has one bed, the other contains two beds). The alcove rooms would be great for kids or those who don't mind shared space.

There is plenty of space in the common areas downstairs (living room, dining room and kitchen), and a cozy common area upstairs.

While the furnishings are a bit dated and the mermaid/nautical decor a little extreme, the house was very clean and perfect for our needs. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again.
Heather O. Jul 2017
This house has everything you could want for a quiet beach getaway. We enjoyed all the space, the hot tub, and the short walk to the beach!
Eric J. Jul 2017
Wonderful location and great space for seven people and our three dogs. The beach was awesome and very close to the house. We had a great birthday celebration and very relaxing time at this place and would stay again for sure.
Greg G. May 2017
Older home but clean and comfy. Lots of character, although the mermaids were a bit much. Good location. Short walk to beach, about 2-3 blocks. Good ocean view and great hot tub!
Mary P. Apr 2017
Our stay was comfortable. The house has great amenities - and was a quick walk to the beach.
Carrie M. Apr 2017
This house was great! Plenty but if space for kids and adults to coexist both together and seperatelty! Fully stocked with everything you need from a playroom for the kids to movies, cable tv, kitchen supplies, extra jackets and robes and hats, blankets, towels, food processor, crockpot, electric skillet, outdoor fireplace! Don't forget to bring firewood! We really enjoyed our family time here!
Deidre M. Apr 2017
House was nice-location, size, layout, amenities. Easy access to the beach. Lots of towels for the hot tub. Plenty of room for 2 families to gather. Kids area upstairs was super nice. Room for them to play and lots of items to keep them occupied and entertained.
Katherine B. Mar 2017
Can not say enough good things about this house! Two adults and eight kids (teenagers) and we had plenty of room. The owner has put a lot of time and love into this home. Love, love, love this rental!
Michelle B. Feb 2017
The house was very clean. We loved that it had toys for the kids and fun décor. We will definitely be back!
Rebecca R. Jan 2017
Nice location
Clint M. Dec 2016
This place felt very comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. We especially loved the hot tub and outdoor fireplace. The staff was very helpful and prepared us ahead of time for what to bring and what to do in the area. I would highly recommend Vacasa to anyone that is visiting the coast of Oregon.
Melissa L. Nov 2016
We had a great thanksgiving family get away. The house was perfect for our small children. The beach access and quiet street were perfect. We were pleased with the kitchen and laundry room! Lots of fun and very comfortable.
Shannon S. Jul 2016
The perfect house to pack light and be ready to relax. This house has everything you need for a seafood feed, bbq, hot tub for ladies weekend, kayak, dog supplies, camp chairs, rubber boots, crab pots, 3 tv's, laundry supplies, dry goods like flour and sugar if you forgot something. Just bring your fridge items and clothes and swimsuit and you're ready for a fun time!
Stella M. Jun 2016
My boys pretty much went from hot tub to beach!! Loved it!!
Kelsy R. May 2016
The house was very comfortable. I felt that it's a great house for a family to stay in with kids.
Brandy W. May 2016
We had a great time. Plenty of parking, kitchen and dining were spacious. The hot tub was very inviting after a day of hiking. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Constance H. May 2016
This beach house had EVERYTHING you could possibly need or want while on vacation with the litter ones. We didn't need to bring anything but our bathing suits! The decor was a lot of fun, have never seen so many mermaids! Lol. My granddaughter loved the hot tub, and I REALLY loved relaxing in the claw foot tub! Great views, great house, great fun! Thank you for sharing your lovely home and collections!
Tina H. Apr 2016
Was a nice place very convenient!! Great view of ocean from upstairs. Only issues were plumbing and stove
Chelsea B. Apr 2016
Our stay at mermaids lair was awesome! I would recommend it to anyone, especially with a large family. My husband and I have 4 kids and there was more than enough room for all of us:) it was a great stay we just wish we could have stayed longer!
Sheri C. Mar 2016
My kids had a great time trying to pick out different types of mermaids and sea decorations in the house. Definitely had a fun time playing "I spy". The hot tub was perfect and was a great addition to the house accommodations!
Liesl M. Mar 2016
We had a wonderful weekend as a family celebrating my parents birthday. Great location in Waldport. A quick two and a half walk to the beach. Great view of the ocean from the upstairs balcony and from the downstairs living room. There were 7 adults and three kids under 8. Bed situation was not ideal. Only one queen bed, in the downstairs - perfect for my parents so they wouldn't have to walk upstairs. The other two couples had to snuggle on doubles in cubby-hole like areas, and one on a couch sleeper sofa that is in the middle of the upstairs living/play area. It would have been nice to have another queen bed in the upstairs bedroom. Interesting mermaid above the bed in that room. Two older kids loved having their own room with twin beds. Kids loved the selection of games and toys to play with. When we arrived the house didn't seem organized. I spent over an hour organizing the kitchen to put things in their labeled places, picked up the upstairs toy area, put away towels from the last guests in the laundry room, and cleaned up the living room with the books and magazines under the coffee table strewn about. House is cluttered with too many decorations, slightly overwhelming. Yet, made for a lot of conversations counting mermaids and laughing. We were excited to see that there was a newer couch (not as photographed), yet disappointment that the down feathers would poke out of it and like us when we sat on it. Many of the blinds are broken so we had to leave them open. Hot tub is a great addition - yet the lid didn't balance on the bar and would slide on to the ground. The kitchen had a nice variety of items to use in using pots and pans, serving dishes, bowls, etc.
Kate H. Feb 2016
Great house for a girls weekend. The decor was wonderful and we had lots of fun!
Ashley G. Jan 2016
This house is comfortable, has an excellent hot tub and the pretty much every single thing you could ever think of needing from dishes and kitchen gadgets to games and poker chips to a full library of movies. We didn't make it to the beach, but it isn't too long of a walk and the house has rubber boots and jackets available for use! Nice and friendly neighborhood. Will be renting again in the future and bring a large group next time! Fire pit would be fun in summer months, but not feasibly set up for winter use.
Miranda F. Dec 2015
We loved the house and all the eye catching decorations. It was fun just walking around and noticing all the trinkets. The extras like a spare coat, hats, or rain gear if needed was so cool. We flew kites and rode bikes and the walk to the beach was easy. We actually got married on the beach as the sun set in late November!! The weather was perfect and the house was just the right size to have our immediate close family come join us for dinner and cake. We will definitely be returning here for years to come.
Young L. Nov 2015
Close enough to the beach (wonderful beach)
Some real ocean view
Mary D. Aug 2015
We had the chance to drive by the location several weeks before we rented and loved the proximity to the beach and to Newport. We did over estimate our willingness to cook and learned the hard way that the local pizza place in Waldport that is reported to have most excellent pizza closes at 8pm on weeknights so be sure to get there early! The kitchen was fine but there was so much to do that we really didn't want to cook. Of course, the hot tub was the second best attraction after the beach.
Janet B. Apr 2015
I loved this house. I wish I could stay there always. It had everything you could need. My grandsons especially loved it. The only thing that was bad was the planter box on the front porch with ropes and buoys in it had a great big black widow in it. Thankfully my grandsons knew to come and tell me when they were looking at stuff in there. I guess my suggestion would be to clear it out.
Manager response:
Thank you for letting us know about the black widow. We will spray for spiders in the near future. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Charles N. Mar 2015
This was the best experience ever. It was a perfect location. A short distance from the beach and from town if you have to run to the store to get a few more groceries or drinks. My kids loved it. They were so excited. My two favorite things were the bathtub and the hot tub. I loved how the hot tub had the lights in it. It was very awesome at night and very relaxing. And the bathtub was very relaxing and I loved it. If I could have I would have taken both the hot tub and the bathtub home with me!! I wish we could have stayed longer. I would definitely recommend it and go back!!
Lynette T. Feb 2015
The Mermaids Lair was awesome...it had everything we needed for the 3 nights we stayed there...it was very comfy and relaxing...and Vacasa was an excellent place to go thru for rentals...thank you so.much for a great memory making weekend
Mike A. Feb 2015
The house was great. we had a wonderful time with the beach access just a short couple of blocks away. spent a lot of time in the hot tub, but there was one neighboring house that would have been nice to have a fence or hedge by so it would feel more secluded. But overall it was very relaxing. The kids had a great time with all toys that were there, I don't think they ever got bored. the décor was fun and made it feel homey and not plain and cold. We like to try new beach houses every year but I would still come back to The Mermaids lair.
Bunny K. Jan 2015
Everything was extremely clean!!!!!!
We would have loved to have 2 showers!!!!
The crock pot came in handy for cooking 2 of our meals.
We would like to have 3 separate bedrooms for the adults.
The noise from our game playing tended to drift upstairs where our little ones where sleeping.
Great selection of dishes, cups and glasses.
Used the hot tub a lot. Aslo it was nice to have a washer and dryer.
KATHRYN A. Dec 2014
We stayed at this property to celebrate Thanksgiving with our very good friends, and all our kids. The ease of reservations was great. The location was perfect and the property was overall a 9/10. I've stayed in many vacation rentals, and this one was the most "homiest and comfy". Felt like you were at Aunt Edna's for Turkey Day. Kudos to Donna and Larry for taking away trash left behind by previous renters and for bringing us a new coffee maker when the other one died. It was a great stay and we will definitely be back. Cheers!
Carol S. Oct 2014
House has a great view and cozy living area on the second floor. Kitchen has absolutely everything and it all works! Beach is broad and easy to walk on. Great place for a family gathering. CS
Eric F. Apr 2014
The Mermaid house was great for our trip! Our 2 & 4 year old loved the decorations in the house and we loved that there was plenty for them to play with. Hot tub was great & the kitchen was well stocked.
Thanks again!
Manager response:
Thanks for the great review! It's wonderful that the home was fun for the kids, with it's nautical decorations. We're glad that the adults were able to enjoy the hot tub and kitchen. Come again!
Daisy R. Dec 2013
We had family of 10 for Thanksgiving. It will probably be a comfortable place for a company of 8. It was a big crowded for 10. 2 bathroom are within 2 bedrooms which made shower/bathing not accessible for all quests at all time. However, this is a very kind place. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils, dishes. We had beautiful serving plates for our holiday dishes. The view is beautiful and beach access is one block away. The owner allows dogs so we were able to have our dog with us for the holiday. There is a good collection of DVDs, games, books for entertainment. The only problem we had was no cable TV, so our son and daughter had to go to a sports bar to watch the Ducks and Beaver civil war foot ball game. Overall it was a pleasant experience.I would be happy to return in the future.
Manager response:
We are happy that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving get away with your family and puppy too! Thanks for sharing your great feedback about your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Happy holidays!
Nancy C. Oct 2013
We had a surfing weekend for my daughter, and she really appreciated the hot tub. We all loved the fact that the house was fully stocked, everybody slept well, all beds are very comfortable and warm. We also enjoyed all the mermaids thru out the house. The kids had a great time playing with the toys that where already there for their enjoyment. We all discussed making this our house to return to every year. Thank you very much. Nancy
Debra S. Oct 2013
It was just perfect for our family get together. Everything you possibly need is there and more. The view was gorgeous too. Of course it would have been better if it was on the beach but the kids enjoyed the short walk to the beach anyway. We will have lasting memories from our stay.
Carol P. Sep 2013
We had a family get-together at Waldport, where one of my sons has an apartment. So we rented the Mermaid's Lair so that we could have a central meeting place. The place was so nice for us to spread out, play games, etc especially during the storm and the power was off for several hours. Hot tub a definite plus!